XBox 360 HD DVD Addon FAQ. Please posts questions here! - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bkilian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kent, WA, 98031
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arya Stark View Post

has pal playback been confirmed?

PAL playback of what? For DVDs, since it's the 360 doing the playing, it'll play whatever your 360 can.
bkilian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 07:39 PM
Member
 
BLK 04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have link showing VGA can output 1080P. I thought max resolution for 360 was 1080i.

Dear BLK 04,

You have received a warning at AVS Forum.

Reason:
-------
Signature Rule Violation
BLK 04 is offline  
post #33 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 07:50 PM
Member
 
TheCHAMPisHere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
::In Borat Voice:: Very Nice!
TheCHAMPisHere is offline  
 
post #34 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 07:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gooki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Posts: 3,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


What about ICT?
If a disc has the ICT flag, it will be displayed in a degraded form over analog connections. No current HD DVDs have this flag, and the studios have mentioned that they do not have any plans to turn this flag on in the near future.

Might want to get confirmation on that. Last offical word i heard was that ICT flag had no effect on the VGA output - ie you still get full 1080P res.

Quote:


Does anyone have link showing VGA can output 1080P. I thought max resolution for 360 was 1080i.

Latest live update adds 1080p support to the xbox 360. FYI VGA can go even further if it wanted to.

International HDDVD Screenshot Archive (Full 1080p Images): www.hdmovies.co.nz
gooki is offline  
post #35 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 07:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 7,913
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLK 04 View Post

Does anyone have link showing VGA can output 1080P. I thought max resolution for 360 was 1080i.

That all changed with the last update. 1080p is now supported.
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
post #36 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 08:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gooki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Posts: 3,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


It may accept both resolutions, but your TV has a native resolution doesn't it?

CRTs don't have a native resolution. As per the psoters answer i would have bet on 1080i being the better looking image as 1080i does not reduce the quality of the image where as 720p is effected by down scalling.

International HDDVD Screenshot Archive (Full 1080p Images): www.hdmovies.co.nz
gooki is offline  
post #37 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 08:01 PM
Member
 
BLK 04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuGsArEtAsTy View Post

That all changed with the last update. 1080p is now supported.

awsome, thnx guys.

Dear BLK 04,

You have received a warning at AVS Forum.

Reason:
-------
Signature Rule Violation
BLK 04 is offline  
post #38 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 08:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
apodaca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What are the load times as compared to HD-A1 assuming both units start from power up.

The first gulp from the glass of natural sciences will turn you into an atheist, but at the bottom of the glass God is waiting for you.

-Werner Heisenberg
apodaca is offline  
post #39 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 08:36 PM
Member
 
tclp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aparently Nvidia 'PureVideo' allows for playback of HD-DVD, mind you -- you need a supporting video card. Anyone happen to have both (MS HD DVD & Supporting video)

~T
tclp is offline  
post #40 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 08:49 PM
Member
 
tclp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
apparently someone over at TheGreenButton.com has gotten it to work in Vista...

Quote:



SUCCESS!!!

I re-installed the Japanese version I downloaded in September since Chris didnt seem to think that downloaded version wouldn't work. And low and behold everything works perfectly! I am watching an HD-DVD on my PC for the first time...

Setup was easy, just plugged the xbox hd-dvd drive in, XP found it quickly. It couldnt find an Xbox 360 HD-DVD Memory driver, but it doesnt appear to be needed.After the drive was connected I re-installed WinDVD 8 HD, rebooted and all is good with the world!

Thanks M$!!!

Charles


The japanese version (http://www.intervideo.co.jp/products/wd8p/) of WinDVD 8. I purchased it back in September when I pulled my HD-DVD drive out of my HD-A1, but was unsuccessful in getting it to work.

I am running XP MCE as there are no Nvidia Purevideo HD drivers out yet for Vista As soon as they are available I will be installing on another drive to try it out.

As Bryan mentioned you have to have a HDCP compliant video card, Nvidia Purevideo HD drivers, HD-DVD drive and software to run it. Unfortunately the HD-DVD drive has to be one supported by the WinDVD software, which the Toshiba is but the NEC is not.



Charles



P.S. I also have the blu-ray drive working with Cyberlink Powerdvd as Bryan mentioned above.



~T
tclp is offline  
post #41 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 08:53 PM
Member
 
ShinHed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tclp View Post

Aparently Nvidia 'PureVideo' allows for playback of HD-DVD, mind you -- you need a supporting video card. Anyone happen to have both (MS HD DVD & Supporting video)

I met all the credentials but, you still need HD-DVD playback software.
ShinHed is offline  
post #42 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 09:29 PM
Member
 
Spiderman2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Local Sears, Wal-Mart and Gamestop don't have it? Will Best Buy have a big supply of them? I have to drive bout 50 miles to the nearest one.
Spiderman2006 is offline  
post #43 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 09:31 PM
 
amirm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 19,042
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1334 Post(s)
Liked: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiderman2006 View Post

Local Sears, Wal-Mart and Gamestop don't have it? Will Best Buy have a big supply of them? I have to drive bout 50 miles to the nearest one.

If you have compusa near you, go online and check their web site. They show what stock they have at different stores...
amirm is offline  
post #44 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 09:36 PM
Member
 
tclp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinHed View Post

I met all the credentials but, you still need HD-DVD playback software.


can you give the Japanese version of WinDVD 8 a try and let us know ?

~T
tclp is offline  
post #45 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 09:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
vinodk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Camarillo, California
Posts: 2,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Anybody using X360 HD-DVD connected to Sammy HLS series dlp at 1080p? Sammy can accept 1080p via component. I am wondering if I can connect X360 to Sammy via either PC input or via component input with VGA to component breakout cable.

Vinod
vinodk is offline  
post #46 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 09:50 PM
Member
 
ShinHed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately, there's no download link to the Japanese WinDVD 8. Only an update and older versions.
ShinHed is offline  
post #47 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 09:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
venk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Local Best Buy told me they wont get them until the 17th. GRRRRRRR!!!!!! I need to go there since i've got about $60 in gift cards to spend and not much else to spend it on.
venk is offline  
post #48 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 09:53 PM
Member
 
cliftonrouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got mine from EB Games website. They are still shipping in 24hrs. You can get next day shipping for like $9.99 + Tax.
cliftonrouse is offline  
post #49 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 10:00 PM
Member
 
knpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if you have a circuit city in your area, you can check online for availability and order one for in store pick up
hope you find one.
knpm
knpm is offline  
post #50 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 10:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Robert D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How about the Target stores?
Robert D is offline  
post #51 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 10:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MidnightWatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 5,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Someone got it to work with the Japanese version..

http://thegreenbutton.com/forums/per...ad.aspx#148368

That's it, gotta get me one of these babies and upgrade my video card to HDCP
MidnightWatcher is offline  
post #52 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 10:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Robert D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the xBox player can be made to work on PC's imo Microsoft will sell millions of them.
Robert D is offline  
post #53 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 10:17 PM
Member
 
tclp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert,

The drives work just fine with PC's, it's just the software that is an issue (assuming you have supporting hardware). I just tried to buy one online BB Canada with a $25 off coupon (had to spend $250+, was ordering two hd-dvd movies and the xbox to make use of coupon) .... but I'm too late they aren't even taking orders anymore.

I've already seen/heard of tons of people buying them just because they want them for PC, but I do agree unless another company like LG/Toshiba/Sony/LiteOn/etc starts offering a 'desktop' drive for cheaper MS will sell a few extra million ontop of the millions that they will sell due to xbox owners

~T
tclp is offline  
post #54 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 10:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Robert D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amazon says they have two of them http://www.amazon.com/Xbox-360-HD-DV...8&s=videogames
Robert D is offline  
post #55 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 10:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
candyrocket786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightWatcher View Post

Someone got it to work with the Japanese version..

http://thegreenbutton.com/forums/per...ad.aspx#148368

That's it, gotta get me one of these babies and upgrade my video card to HDCP


Christ! The price of the Video Cards are as much as a 360 console.

360/ PS3 GamerTag : DVDVampire

HD-DVD: 181
Blu-Ray: 70
candyrocket786 is offline  
post #56 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 11:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Robert D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by candyrocket786 View Post

Christ! The price of the Video Cards are as much as a 360 console.

Here is a HDMI HDCP video card for $140 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102032
Robert D is offline  
post #57 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 11:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MidnightWatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 5,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by candyrocket786 View Post

Christ! The price of the Video Cards are as much as a 360 console.

Some, yes, some are even more (for hardcore gamers), but some are MUCH less as well.
MidnightWatcher is offline  
post #58 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 11:14 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 10,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by tclp View Post

apparently someone over at TheGreenButton.com has gotten it to work in Vista...

RESULT! Yes!

I saw someone on another thread also got the drive running with no work at all under Media Center.

However, he did not have HD DVD playback software installed.

He ran the POWERDVD (or somesuch) HD player test and it "passed" the add-on drive as a valid HD DVD player.

Sounds like it'll work fine and we'll probably have a poster here soon to that effect. Seems all you'll need is a decent graphics card capable of AVC decoding, and the playback software.
rdjam is offline  
post #59 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 11:17 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 10,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert D View Post

Here is a HDMI HDCP video card for $140 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102032

I like... I buy...
rdjam is offline  
post #60 of 652 Old 11-10-2006, 11:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
candyrocket786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdjam View Post

RESULT! Yes!

I saw someone on another thread also got the drive running with no work at all under Media Center.

However, he did not have HD DVD playback software installed.

He ran the POWERDVD (or somesuch) HD player test and it "passed" the add-on drive as a valid HD DVD player.

Sounds like it'll work fine and we'll probably have a poster here soon to that effect. Seems all you'll need is a decent graphics card capable of AVC decoding, and the playback software.

Lets say I pickup the HDCP Card, Software and compliant display device.... am I still screwed because I'm running a P4 @3ghz with 1gig of RAM?

360/ PS3 GamerTag : DVDVampire

HD-DVD: 181
Blu-Ray: 70
candyrocket786 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off