one and only 360 HD-DVD Drive thread & LINKS - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 2184 Old 01-13-2007, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Returned my add-on today. The audio bug was driving nuts, regular DVD's sound better. Picked up a Tosh A2 instead and man, the sound it how it shoud be!. Honestly, $199 is too much for the add-on until the problem with the audio is fixed.
almostinsane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 2184 Old 01-14-2007, 12:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cnickersonjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Missouri City, Texas (Next door to SUGARLAND)
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by almostinsane View Post

Returned my add-on today. The audio bug was driving nuts, regular DVD's sound better. Picked up a Tosh A2 instead and man, the sound it how it shoud be!. Honestly, $199 is too much for the add-on until the problem with the audio is fixed.

Software update can take care of this. I'm sticking with the addon. It's not noticable with all of my disc, like HULK! But as long as you're supporting HD-DVD you're alright with me
cnickersonjr is offline  
post #543 of 2184 Old 01-14-2007, 07:25 PM
Member
 
pb32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know when the software update to fix the audio bug is coming out? i didnt really notice it at first but after comparing the hd-dvd drive to regular dvd's the bug is really annoying me. i'm trying to be patient but i was wondering if MS has said when they were releasing it (or even if they're aware of it).
pb32 is offline  
post #544 of 2184 Old 01-14-2007, 11:46 PM
Senior Member
 
my94r/t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They haven't released a date yet.
my94r/t is offline  
post #545 of 2184 Old 01-15-2007, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
speavler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Danville, CA
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I threw in a couple of my older dvds (Pulp Fiction, Good Fellas) this weekend and realized a limitation of the xbox/hd dvd drive add on - there is no zoom function for the xbox. So unless your display has one (I was using a benq pb7700 projector), you can't zoom non-anamorphic dvd's to fill the screen properly.
speavler is offline  
post #546 of 2184 Old 01-15-2007, 03:03 PM
Senior Member
 
my94r/t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by speavler View Post

I threw in a couple of my older dvds (Pulp Fiction, Good Fellas) this weekend and realized a limitation of the xbox/hd dvd drive add on - there is no zoom function for the xbox. So unless your display has one (I was using a benq pb7700 projector), you can't zoom non-anamorphic dvd's to fill the screen properly.

I noticed that too when watching an old copy of Top Gun. I have hundreds of DVDs, and I think maybe 4 or 5 are non-anamorphic, so it doesnt bother me too much.

OT: I wonder if and when they'll make Top Gun in HD...
my94r/t is offline  
post #547 of 2184 Old 01-15-2007, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Lodrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The only audio bug I have is voice comes in weak.
Lodrin is offline  
post #548 of 2184 Old 01-15-2007, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
scotty144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ottawa, ontario canada
Posts: 950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by speavler View Post

I threw in a couple of my older dvds (Pulp Fiction, Good Fellas) this weekend and realized a limitation of the xbox/hd dvd drive add on - there is no zoom function for the xbox. So unless your display has one (I was using a benq pb7700 projector), you can't zoom non-anamorphic dvd's to fill the screen properly.

Yes, there is a zoom function. Bring up your dvd options menu, it is in there.

Other areas of interest

http://my.T-Nation.com/scotty144

ClubWrx.net Scotty144
scotty144 is offline  
post #549 of 2184 Old 01-15-2007, 04:24 PM
Senior Member
 
speavler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Danville, CA
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty144 View Post

Yes, there is a zoom function. Bring up your dvd options menu, it is in there.

Cool, I figured I may just be missing something. I'll try it out this week.
speavler is offline  
post #550 of 2184 Old 01-15-2007, 04:26 PM
Senior Member
 
speavler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Danville, CA
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by my94r/t View Post


OT: I wonder if and when they'll make Top Gun in HD...

Love that movie. It's great for the cheesy lines and cheesy acting.

Where'd he go? Where'd WHO go?

That's right, Iceman. I am dangerous.

I feel the need. The need for speed.
speavler is offline  
post #551 of 2184 Old 01-16-2007, 12:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
nate358's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just watched Firewall HD.... didn't look so hot. It's really sharp and clear, but using my Oppo on the SD DVD side had better contrast and color. I think it really comes down to the connections though. If Microsoft would release a digital connection, this add-on would really shine. As for now... I feel I have a dust collector... I just can't seem to get my component input calibrated right.
nate358 is offline  
post #552 of 2184 Old 01-17-2007, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wittangamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate358 View Post

Just watched Firewall HD.... didn't look so hot. It's really sharp and clear, but using my Oppo on the SD DVD side had better contrast and color. I think it really comes down to the connections though. If Microsoft would release a digital connection, this add-on would really shine. As for now... I feel I have a dust collector... I just can't seem to get my component input calibrated right.

It does sound like a calibration problem. I've never seen an HD DVD that didn't look noticeably better than the SD version, even upscaled.

Have you tried using DVE or Avia to tweak the component input for the 360 on your TV? It will be different than the settings for other players and inputs.

Fortunately my Sammy DLP has separate memory settings for each input. Once I dialed in the contrast, brightness and color using DVE, the HD DVDs on the Xbox blew my once-prized Tosh/Faroudja upconverter out of the water on flippers or discs I own in both formats.
wittangamo is offline  
post #553 of 2184 Old 01-17-2007, 09:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
nate358's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes.... I've tried calibrating it with the Getgrey calibration disc and Spyder 2 sensor. My projector also has separate memory settings for each input. I believe it might be because I need a HD calibration disc..... but I still know that it won't look as good as if it would be through DVI or HDMI. Dangit Mircrosoft get it together! I'll paste an email I got back from Microsoft.
Quote:


Hello Nathan,
Thank you for writing Xbox Customer Support!

I do apologize for the inconvenience. I understand that you have concerrn about the Xbox 360 console does not support an HDMI high-definition AV connector.

The Xbox 360 supports HD component video output. HD component video is compatible with most HD-ready TVs that are available today. The Xbox 360 console is designed for the HD market that exists when Xbox 360 is released. We will include HDMI high definition AV connector if and when it makes sense. You do not need HDMI for HD gaming.

For further assistance, please don't hesitate to write back or call Xbox Phone Support at 1-800-4MYXBOX (1-800-469-9269) at your earliest convenience, and we will be happy to help you. We are open everyday from 9am to 1am EST/ 6am to 10pm PST.
For more information about Xbox or Xbox360, please visit http://www.xbox.com.

Sincerely,
Zen
Xbox Customer Care Team


I love the part about "The Xbox 360 console is designed for the HD market that exists when Xbox 360 is released." Um... DVI has been out for so long and HDMI... while it's changing.... has also been out.
nate358 is offline  
post #554 of 2184 Old 01-18-2007, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wittangamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate358 View Post

I love the part about "The Xbox 360 console is designed for the HD market that exists when Xbox 360 is released." Um... DVI has been out for so long and HDMI... while it's changing.... has also been out.

You may not like it, but it's true. All HDTVs have component inputs. Some have DVI and some have HDMI, and reading a few of the threads here and in the display and DVD forums will quickly reveal how many of those generate complaints about HDCP, handshake and compatibility problems, different implementations of user settings, etc, that make support a thankless and expensive job.

The praises and pans of VGA connections in this thread -- based on individual display hardware -- are a small example of the headaches that can and would result from implementing HDMI. The standards are changing, and that would just multiply the problem.

The PS3 has HDMI, and people in those threads are bitching about problems they are having with it.

The Xbox 360 works, and works well, with component. HDMI would be nice, and there are growing rumors that a future model will have it.

Meanwhile I'm not sure having HDMI would automatically cure your calibration problem. We're all still waiting for the HD DVD version of DVE, but in the meantime I'm not seeing any lack of contrast or color from my 360 over component -- quite the opposite.

I've done the same back-to-back comparison on flippers and titles I own in both formats, and the HD DVD has noticeably better contrast, saturation and fidelity.

I have a good upscaler with HDMI and a digital display. I agree that -- at least in theory -- an all-digital signal path is the way to go. But in real life the 360 over component looks WAY better to me.

If you're not happy, by all means take it back. The Toshiba standalones have what you're looking for -- though at a significantly higher price.
wittangamo is offline  
post #555 of 2184 Old 01-19-2007, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ack_bk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 8,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I am on the fence.. I love my 360, and have a Samsung 56" DLP (not 1080p), but I cannot bring myself to pull the trigger on the HD-DVD add-on drive. Don't get me wrong, I think the price of the HD-DVD is good, it is the cost of the HD-DVD movies that trouble me. The thought of paying $25-35 for a movie seems really steep to me and I am still worried that Blu-Ray will come out to be the winner and then I am stuck with an obsolete player and movies (Betamax, Laserdisc, etc). I have seen Blu-Ray on display at CC and I was impressed, but have not seen HD-DVD yet (although from what I gather it is just as good, if not better)..

I think for now I am going to buy a VGA cable and see how my DVD's look after they are upconverted through the normal 360 DVD drive..

If I could find the HD-DVD add-on for $160-170 I might pull the trigger, but I cannot seem to find it for less than $199...
ack_bk is offline  
post #556 of 2184 Old 01-19-2007, 11:03 AM
Senior Member
 
tcrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ack_bk View Post

I am on the fence.. I love my 360, and have a Samsung 56" DLP (not 1080p), but I cannot bring myself to pull the trigger on the HD-DVD add-on drive. Don't get me wrong, I think the price of the HD-DVD is good, it is the cost of the HD-DVD movies that trouble me. The thought of paying $25-35 for a movie seems really steep to me and I am still worried that Blu-Ray will come out to be the winner and then I am stuck with an obsolete player and movies (Betamax, Laserdisc, etc). I have seen Blu-Ray on display at CC and I was impressed, but have not seen HD-DVD yet (although from what I gather it is just as good, if not better)..

I think for now I am going to buy a VGA cable and see how my DVD's look after they are upconverted through the normal 360 DVD drive..

If I could find the HD-DVD add-on for $160-170 I might pull the trigger, but I cannot seem to find it for less than $199...

Lots of people have success using the $40 off $199 and up coupon from Circuit City. Plus Amazon.com has most HD DVD's at $19.99.....plus if you buy three together you'll get 10% off your future HD DVD purchases for 2007.
tcrews is offline  
post #557 of 2184 Old 01-19-2007, 11:04 AM
Member
 
jkhering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rather than buying the HD-DVDs, which I agree are too expensive, you can rent them from Blockbuster online and Netflix. Some Blockbuster stores even carry them offline now.

Search some of the other threads, there is a printable coupon available now that can get you $40 off a purchase of $199 or more at Circuit City.
jkhering is offline  
post #558 of 2184 Old 01-19-2007, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ack_bk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 8,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcrews View Post

Lots of people have success using the $40 off $199 and up coupon from Circuit City. Plus Amazon.com has most HD DVD's at $19.99.....plus if you buy three together you'll get 10% off your future HD DVD purchases for 2007.

Thanks for the replies. I will search for the coupon... The Amazon discount helps, but even at that price it is $8-12 more a movie than I spend on an SD DVD.. I guess my real question is do you guys that own these players and movies really feel it is worth the extra cost for the movies? I could do Netflix, but I went that route before and did not really feel like I was getting the value. We go 1-2 months without watching a movie and sometimes we will watch 1 or 2 a week...

Aggh...
ack_bk is offline  
post #559 of 2184 Old 01-19-2007, 11:14 AM
Senior Member
 
tcrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Personally, I think it's worth it. I'm buying more movies now than I did on DVD.
I don't watch a lot of movies but for the ones I do watch I tend to do so many times.

I love HD DVD and I'm completely enjoying my HD DVD addon to my X360.

Tom Crews
tcrews is offline  
post #560 of 2184 Old 01-19-2007, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
my94r/t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also think the extra cost is worth it. The diference in detail is so great at times that i couldn't imagine going back and watching it in SD again.

And when I hear all this talk about the discs being obsolete it drives me nuts.

Last time I checked, the HD DVDs will still play the same whether or not HD DVD wins the war. Now the player on the other hand could be justified as obsolete since they will stop making movies for it, but if/when that happens, I will just enjoy the 50% off HD DVDs that look and sound every bit as good as the BD versions.
my94r/t is offline  
post #561 of 2184 Old 01-19-2007, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ack_bk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 8,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by my94r/t View Post

I also think the extra cost is worth it. The diference in detail is so great at times that i couldn't imagine going back and watching it in SD again.

And when I hear all this talk about the discs being obsolete it drives me nuts.

Last time I checked, the HD DVDs will still play the same whether or not HD DVD wins the war. Now the player on the other hand could be justified as obsolete since they will stop making movies for it, but if/when that happens, I will just enjoy the 50% off HD DVDs that look and sound every bit as good as the BD versions.

Hmm.. That is how I felt when I went from VHS to DVD. I pretty much unhooked and sold my VHS player as soon as I bought a DVD player (I was a pretty early adopter for DVD. I think I paid like $800-900 for my first DVD player). Dropping $160 (thanks for those who told me about the CC $40 off coupon, it is good though March) is not that big of a deal.. But potentially dropping a ton more on movies is..

Look, I think it will be at least 1-2 more years before either side (Blu-Ray/HD-DVD) really can be declared a winner in the HD space. I have always leaned towards HD-DVD just due to the fact that it is cheaper and Sony seems to botch just about every format they try to push to the masses. Now that the porn industry is going HD-DVD (and not BR), I think this will have a huge impact on HD-DVD (looks like VHS/Betamax again). I read an article not too long ago that basically stated that when the porn industry was forced to go VHS, it basically was the beginning of the end for Betamax. Until I read that article I did not really understand how huge of an impact the porn industry had on the format war..

I really like the fact that I can watch all my old DVD's on an HD-DVD player so I do not have to start over again...

I am going to keep reading on this site and pickup a VGA cable this weekend to see how much better my SD DVD's look through upconversion. I really do not see the price of the 360 HD-DVD add-on dropping too much over the next year, and the fact that I get KK, the player, and a remote for $160 is pretty tempting. That means the player and remote is really only costing me about $130-135..
ack_bk is offline  
post #562 of 2184 Old 01-20-2007, 03:43 AM
Newbie
 
Audioslavery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am extremely happy with the value of this player.

Especially at this price

I am on a measly 26 inch Sharp Aquos, but how could you pass it up?!

I just got the Bourne Supremacy today, PQ was decent, not half as good as KK though.

I can't wait for The Departed next month! =]
Audioslavery is offline  
post #563 of 2184 Old 01-20-2007, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
XboxEboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have this HD-DVD add-on connected to the

Panasonic PX5060u?

If so, what are your settings?

I have just finished break-in and just hooked up the HD-DVD drive.

I selected 720p..should I switch to 1080i?

What are you picture settings with the plasma? Did you use a calibration disk to get them?
XboxEboy is offline  
post #564 of 2184 Old 01-21-2007, 05:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Richum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by XboxEboy View Post

Does anyone have this HD-DVD add-on connected to the

Panasonic PX5060u?

If so, what are your settings?

I have just finished break-in and just hooked up the HD-DVD drive.

I selected 720p..should I switch to 1080i?

What are you picture settings with the plasma? Did you use a calibration disk to get them?

I am struggling with the same issue, except on a front projector setup. I have drawn two conclusions about the choice of output from my 3 devices, XBox, cable(Scientific Atlanta HD3250) box, Oppo 971 DVD player going to my Sanyo Z4 front projector.

I need to choose which does the scaling my display device projector/TV or my source XBox-Cable Box - Oppo player.

How far should I sit from the screen.

I have made the following assumptions, and I may be wrong.

1. Since my projector's native display is 720P any thing I send it will be displayed at that resolution by its scaling hardware. So the question becomes which does the better job of scaling, the source or the projector.

2. Since the display is at 720P I have chosen the sitting distance based on that resolution.

In my case I am experimenting with each source switching between 1080i and 720 P to see which looks better to my eye at the recommended sitting distance which is based on my screen size (100 inch diagonal).

Below are links to understand seating distance and screen size based on resolution.

http://www.carltonbale.com/blog/2006...p-does-matter/

http://www.soundandvisionmag.com/hit...esolution.html
Richum is offline  
post #565 of 2184 Old 01-21-2007, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wittangamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richum View Post

I am struggling with the same issue, except on a front projector setup. I have drawn two conclusions about the choice of output from my 3 devices, XBox, cable(Scientific Atlanta HD3250) box, Oppo 971 DVD player going to my Sanyo Z4 front projector.

I need to choose which does the scaling my display device projector/TV or my source XBox-Cable Box - Oppo player.

How far should I sit from the screen.

I have made the following assumptions, and I may be wrong.

1. Since my projector's native display is 720P any thing I send it will be displayed at that resolution by its scaling hardware. So the question becomes which does the better job of scaling, the source or the projector.

2. Since the display is at 720P I have chosen the sitting distance based on that resolution.

In my case I am experimenting with each source switching between 1080i and 720 P to see which looks better to my eye at the recommended sitting distance which is based on my screen size (100 inch diagonal).

Below are links to understand seating distance and screen size based on resolution.

http://www.carltonbale.com/blog/2006...p-does-matter/

http://www.soundandvisionmag.com/hit...esolution.html

You're on the right track. Use your own eyes to decide, but I suspect you'll find the projector beats the cable box, while the Oppo and Xbox beat the projector for scaling. The Xbox and Oppo will be close, but the Oppo is more convenient as an upscaler and saves wear and tear on the Xbox.

I have a 720p display and output the Xbox HD DVD player over component at 1080i, a Tosh upscaling player at 720p over HDMI, and a Motorola cable box over DVI at 1080i (sometimes switching for 720p movies and sports.)
wittangamo is offline  
post #566 of 2184 Old 01-21-2007, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Richum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wittangamo View Post

You're on the right track. Use your own eyes to decide, but I suspect you'll find the projector beats the cable box, while the Oppo and Xbox beat the projector for scaling. The Xbox and Oppo will be close, but the Oppo is more convenient as an upscaler and saves wear and tear on the Xbox.

I have a 720p display and output the Xbox HD DVD player over component at 1080i, a Tosh upscaling player at 720p over HDMI, and a Motorola cable box over DVI at 1080i (sometimes switching for 720p movies and sports.)


I thought so. I made an error by omission in the original post, I am using the XBox 360 HD-DVD drive and that is what I meant by XBox.

So change it to read;

HD Cable Box, Oppo, HD-DVD Xbox.

I have all three set to 1080i output which tasks the display (Z4 projector) with the scaling and deinterlacing. I am going to play with the Oppo to see if I should hand over those tasks to it.

Projector Central in their review of the Z4 stated it does a good job of scaling and deinterlacing with its on board hardware.

I am leaning toward the other two passing 1080i to the projector based on my observations.
Richum is offline  
post #567 of 2184 Old 01-21-2007, 07:23 PM
Senior Member
 
GlennRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Although Projector central mentioned the Z4 having a good scaler does not automaticly mean it is the better scaler as oposed to your equipment. I own a Panasonic AE900 wich is also mentioned as having a good scaler but i can tell you that outputting my 360 and my Oppo 971H at 720P produces a much cleaner and sharper picture.

Also you have all these devices scaling to 1080 and re-scaled to 720P.If you really want to take advantage of the Z4's scaler you would need to set them to 480P.Re-scaling can never be a advantage.
GlennRW is offline  
post #568 of 2184 Old 01-21-2007, 07:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Richum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlennRW View Post

Although Projector central mentioned the Z4 having a good scaler does not automaticly mean it is the better scaler as oposed to your equipment. I own a Panasonic AE900 wich is also mentioned as having a good scaler but i can tell you that outputting my 360 and my Oppo 971H at 720P produces a much cleaner and sharper picture.

Also you have all these devices scaling to 1080 and re-scaled to 720P.If you really want to take advantage of the Z4's scaler you would need to set them to 480P.Re-scaling can never be a advantage.

I understand what you are saying, once again it all goes back to which device does the best job.

It is easy for me to believe that the Oppo 971 will out perform my Z4, the abilities of the cable box and the XBox / HD-DVD drive I am not sure about.

In the case of the HD Cable box, it would depend on the broadcast res would it not? Some channels, ESPN ect are native 720P I believe, and some are 1080i such as HD Net. I suppose you could switch the cable box between 720P and 1080i based on what it was sending, not too convenient when channel surfing.

I will experiment and see what looks best with my equipment combinations.
Richum is offline  
post #569 of 2184 Old 01-21-2007, 09:42 PM
Senior Member
 
GlennRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its absolutely true what you say about the cable box.that was a oversight on my part sorry for that.
I dont think you need to switch back and forth every time on your cable box.Once you have determined wich scales better ,you're Z4 or the box then you are set i would say.

After my post i thought i test out how HD-DVD would look if i set my 360 to 1080i since i had not done that yet.I can see how you would think it looks fine but it remains alot softer then 720P.Ofcourse i am using the panny right now but i had alot of time with the Z4 before that and to me there was no real difference in their scaling ability's.

The softness you can see on the dashboard at 1080 actually remains while playing a HD-DVD even though the source material in this case is 1080P.one might think because the 360 is just a console the scaler is not up to the job but it really has a very good one i must say.

Im very curious about your results.
GlennRW is offline  
post #570 of 2184 Old 01-21-2007, 11:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
UxiSXRD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone experience any playback problems with Hulk? I watched the main title again the whole way through, then watched some deleted scenes and then documentary. I went into Hulk View and had a play back problem problem when trying to go BACK to the main menu. I got error c667000b. The only thing I could do was exit to the dashboard as no other remote option did anything (just a white screen after saying ok).

Looks like a similar problem noted here, though my circumstances are different.

http://forums.xbox.com/8690919/ShowPost.aspx

Anyone experience anything similar?

-- "No matter where you go, there you are."

SXRD/Denon/Polk/PS3/360/WiiU
Blu-ray bliss
SXRD Owner's Thread
PSN: Uxi

UxiSXRD is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off