one and only 360 HD-DVD Drive thread & LINKS - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 01:18 PM
Member
 
david803sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is awesome, it comes with the XBOX 360 Media Center Remote Control and King Kong HD-DVD movie. it was real easy to hookup a special USB cable from the drive to the 360 and than a CD you put in the console which gives you a special dash board update.

load time is very fast, PQ and Sound is top notch, it blows my HDTV programing from Dish Network out of the water. I had the regular HD-DVD player but brought it back as I had to many problems trying to get it to work.

This was quick and easy to setup and looks good in my audio rack.

David
david803sc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 02:00 PM
 
quickfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NorthEast Tennessee
Posts: 1,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One question I need answered please.........what does the insect/bug scene look like!!!!!It freaked me out on the sd version .....especially when the bug larvae swallowed the guy!!!!!!GROSS
quickfire is offline  
post #63 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 02:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How bad is the stutter problem?
Andrew P is offline  
post #64 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
LAGOSIAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NEW ORLEANS/ HOUSTON
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Htdude14 View Post

Looks bigger then the PS3 to me, let's not forget the add-on is a paper weight without the 360 itself. If you're comparing then compare the entire unit.

1, This is a HD DVD forum and I was talking to buyers of the HD DVD Add-on drive. Not to PS3 fans.
2, When describing the size I was referring to the size of the drive itself, owing to the fact that everyone I know and most HD DVD Add-on buyers already OWN the 360!


Quote:


BTW, way to buy your love

To each his own.

What are you getting your nephews and nieces for Xmas?

KEEP BOTH FORMATS ALIVE!
This translates to better PQ & AQ.
LAGOSIAN is offline  
post #65 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
LAGOSIAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NEW ORLEANS/ HOUSTON
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by quickfire View Post

What about the Kong disc???



GIVE US SOME DETAILS!!!!
P L e a s e

All the details that you will ever need is posted by another member in this thread: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=748512

KEEP BOTH FORMATS ALIVE!
This translates to better PQ & AQ.
LAGOSIAN is offline  
post #66 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 03:16 PM
Member
 
Jinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rexdigital View Post

Thats true right now!



haha you know what i mean tho! i dont know if nipples could ever be too high res for me!

back on topic, yea is there stutter? i've seen a couple posts on this... I would hope with a 192 megs of memory or whatever it has, it could buffer and keep from seeing layer changes and such
Jinx is offline  
post #67 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 03:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Evan S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a little stutter the first time I popped Kong in too, but then I shut down the system, cleaned the disc, put it back into the player and noticed no issues whatsoever after that. I didn't notice any issues on a real brief spin (5-10 minutes) through "Ray" earlier today either.

I will post back in both threads once I have watched a full movie on this puppy which should happen this weekend.

Still searching for that elusive, "perfect" sound
Gamertag: Going Top Shelf
Evan S is offline  
post #68 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nataraj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: WA
Posts: 8,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Cordingley View Post

I really don't get this North American attitude. You buy it - you keep it. Why the complication?

Its actually not a complication. It is designed to increase sales - if I know that I can return something if it doesn't work for me - then there are better chances of me buying things I'm marginal sure of. Of such things I'm going to definitely keep some - so on the whole I'd buy more.
nataraj is offline  
post #69 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
pernar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're supposed to power off the system and turn it back on after using the "install CD".
pernar is offline  
post #70 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WirelessGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Cordingley View Post

I really don't get this North American attitude. You buy it - you keep it. Why the complication?

You got issues bud. Don't hate on an entire continent.

Last Watched 3D: Oz the Great and Powerful

It should be called Violet-Ray

WirelessGuru is offline  
post #71 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 04:24 PM
Senior Member
 
dfmcki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not an audiophile, so the sound thru the TV works fine for me. The picture of the one movie I've watched (Batman Begins) looked really nice. I have a westy 37w1 and the 360 hooked up via the VGA. The fact that it is an LCD limits the picture a little bit in you trade off a little detail to get better blacks. Also the viewing distance on my 37" is about 10' and I notice that I can really see a lot more detail at about 5'-6'. At 10' the improvement is still there over SD DVD, it just didn't seem as apparent to me. For $200 though it seemed to work well and will hopefully tide me over until the standalone players get a lot cheaper. So I'll be keeping it.
dfmcki is offline  
post #72 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you need to use the install CD if you are connected to Live?
Andrew P is offline  
post #73 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ileff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Yuba City, CA
Posts: 1,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
>> many scenes that look fake or overly CGI

I think its just working so well that it exposes the truth.

To me the sound was awesome!

Very happy with the Add-on.

Now I just need to upgrade from 720P to 1080P and get better black levels/detail than my current LCD rp can do....

xbl/gamecenter:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

psn/twitter: ileff
my app:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ileff is offline  
post #74 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 05:22 PM
Senior Member
 
OconRecon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hank527 View Post

...Anyway I hooked it up put it up via component...

Am I missing something? I thought we had to use VGA?
OconRecon is offline  
post #75 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 05:32 PM
 
vick vega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hank527 View Post

I soo want to see a porn in HD

In the older titles you'll probably see herpes and sores you didn't see before

No I think its just King Kong the film look in the theatre masked its imperfections. Now you've eliminated the haze with most film and it looks different. Some shots look incredible other well look fake. Its a great title to include, but I would have like to have seen Harry Potter 4 or something like that to show off HD. Kong doesn't do HD justice except the first boring 45 minutes

I think Vivid already signed a deal with blu-ray.
vick vega is offline  
post #76 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 05:34 PM
Member
 
JWLou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OconRecon View Post

Am I missing something? I thought we had to use VGA?

Component and VGA are both options.

VGA can output 1080p.
JWLou is offline  
post #77 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 05:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
LAGOSIAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NEW ORLEANS/ HOUSTON
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAVEN56706 View Post

Ok some people have already received the add-on and are testing it and i know alot more will be receiving it this weekend and today but so far

will you be keeping it ? why or why not?

Absolutely! I am so impressed with it that I am ordering another one with the 360 just to connect it to my PC.

KEEP BOTH FORMATS ALIVE!
This translates to better PQ & AQ.
LAGOSIAN is offline  
post #78 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 06:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
BioSehnsucht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't really need the CD, I don't think. Some have just hooked it up and live updated and it worked.

I had one stutter myself on Kong, none on Tokyo Drift. I have no other HD-DVDs yet though. I am thinking its the old case of making sure discs are clean? I didn't eject the disc clean it and try again, I don't even remember when it was, and while that was an awsome movie it was an awsome 3 HOUR movie so I'm not testing again anytime soon. Next time I watch I'll def make sure its clean.
BioSehnsucht is offline  
post #79 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 06:51 PM
Member
 
ShinHed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own one just, for PC use.

I'd do anything for some HD-DVD playback software.

ANYTHING
ShinHed is offline  
post #80 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 06:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scherer326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my panasonic th-42px60u plasma has a native resoluton of x768. What should I set the xbox 360 to so I will get the best possible picture from the hd-dvd player and games from the xbox 360 itself.

720p?
1080i?
scherer326 is offline  
post #81 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RAVEN56706's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jersey City, NJ, USA
Posts: 4,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since i received it on tuesday(dont ask) i havent had the time to test and hear the sounds and stuff.... but here is my review


Tv:Samsung 4095d 1080p
XBOX 360 via VGA cable.

Movies: King Kong and MI 3

Setup: So easy, popped in the cd and it said to plug in the hd-dvd drive. Took maybe 2 minutes tops..

First Movie: King Kong. OK i have seen the movie like 5 times and i just wanted to do testing to see the pq. So i jumped from scene to scene to see the results

Scene: Arriving at Skull Island: I have to say the colors and the detail was awesome. Since via vga it comes out 1080p, i was loving it all. The details of the water and the rocks was excellent. I couldnt believe it. So i asked my father to look as well. He couldnt believe how it felt like real time. So weird. But all and all i great. No static or artifacts... just smooth.

Scene: T Rex battle: the flys and the mosquitos on the t rex was so noticable... on the dvd they were just specs.... It was weird to see how good the picture looked. As she ran and the scene went from place to place, there was no loss in picture, just smooth moving. It did show how cgi the movie really is but it didnt matter... the picture was great..

Scene: King Kong vs the planes: The lighting and texture of the buildings was surreal... i couldnt believe how great a picture can come out of the xbox. It was just awesome to see how detailed the planes looked.


Next Movie: MI3. Same thing here... going from scene to scene


Scene: Beginning scene: Now here is what i will want to ask everyone. in the beginning of the movie with tom talking to davin, was the camera shaky.... i mean i didnt think the camera was this shaky but in the hd-dvd version it was... is it just me or was it supposed to be like that. Oh well, it looked great. From the blood and the tear coming from his eye, nothing was bad from it.

Scene: Helicopter chase: Reference material, to see the explosions and the vivid pictures, it was incredible.... i was amazed at how detailed in hd the movie really is...

Scene: Attack on the bridge: Reference material: Now i know why everyone is praising this movie for reference material.... wow was this scene great... from the water to the explosions... nothing looked greater then this... the tv also gives it an extra push but it was beautiful...

Scene in Japan: Wow... so Japan is full of bright lights and different colors, but man was it incredible to see all of that in great detail... i cant believe how great this hd dvd player is doing the job.

BTW, for any new hd owners, get MI3.... its freaking money.

Ok all and all i made a great investment and i also couldnt believe my eyes... i was ready to throw all the sd verisions of my movies away because i was about to double dip....

Anyways... tomorrow i will test The fast and Furious , Troy and Batman Begins... i hope i can actually take pictures tomorrow but i will try...

My verdict: Anyone who wants to experience HD at its finest, has an XBox 360 and cheap... Get the HD Add on...worth every penny.

2011 SUPERBOWL CHAMPIONS- New York Giants!!!

Gamertag: GENERAL CUPKAKE
RAVEN56706 is offline  
post #82 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 08:21 PM
Member
 
Arpeggio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tracy California USA
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scherer326 View Post

my panasonic th-42px60u plasma has a native resoluton of x768. What should I set the xbox 360 to so I will get the best possible picture from the hd-dvd player and games from the xbox 360 itself.

720p?
1080i?

Hmmm,

I would say through Component use 1080i (hopefully your TV has a good scaler)

Trough VGA use 1024 x 768

I am NOT fat, my aspect ratio is just set wrong....

-=[Arpeggio]=-
Arpeggio is offline  
post #83 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Hastley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey raven . Nice review. I watched Mi:3 on my samsung 4095D tonight on the 360 addon. I was very impressed as well.

I am on component and did notice a little color saturation, but im going to pick up the vga cord tommorow.

What settings are you using for the HD-DVD (brightness, contrast etc)

Thanks
Hastley is offline  
post #84 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 08:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Stupac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just watched the 2nd half of King Kong on my new 360 HD-DVD. Amazing picture. Better than my DVD version for sure.

Initially it stuttered after I installed the disk and did the update. So I restarted my 360 and all was gravy from there.

Very happy with my decision.

Watched it on a Sammy 4095d using component cables at 1080i. Yup no 1080p with HD-DVD over component.

Did I use VGA for the 1080p? No, I think it looks washed out in games so I didn't even bother trying it.

Did I use the Psize on the remote to get rid of the black bars? No, I wanted the real image without stretching.


TV on sale at Fry's. CC did a price match plus 10% difference.
http://shop2.outpost.com/product/4889750
Stupac is offline  
post #85 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 09:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
amirm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 18,091
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 757 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Thanks for the review. BTW, I have the 4095. Alas, it does not do 1:1 pixel mapping and stretches the video by close to 10%. This means that it does not resolve full 1080p. So the picture you are seeing, is actually softer than what the 360 feeding it!

Mind you, I love the display otherwise. It is beautiful and puts out a great image. But the overscan is a shame.

Amir
Founder,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Insist on Quality Engineering"

amirm is online now  
post #86 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 09:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scarpad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
So far on my Sammy LN32W thru component I find it looks better at 1080i than 720p. I have to give the VGA cable a try tommorrow.
Scarpad is offline  
post #87 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 09:41 PM
Member
 
testikoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by amirm View Post

Thanks for the review. BTW, I have the 4095. Alas, it does not do 1:1 pixel mapping and stretches the video by close to 10%. This means that it does not resolve full 1080p. So the picture you are seeing, is actually softer than what the 360 feeding it!

Mind you, I love the display otherwise. It is beautiful and puts out a great image. But the overscan is a shame.

Over RGB input this panel does 1920x1080p with no overscan (1:1 mapping). You're referring to component and HDMI inputs most likely.
testikoff is offline  
post #88 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 10:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by testikoff View Post

Over RGB input this panel does 1920x1080p with no overscan (1:1 mapping). You're referring to component and HDMI inputs most likely.

Correct, the 4095, 4096, 4695, 4696 and 5296 all seem to do 1:1 on the VGA ports but 2% overscan on the HDMI ports.

I'm at a loss as to why, but I'm hoping they'll fix itsoon. I have the 4695...

Maybe I'm just too used to how responsive Toshiba has been

EDIT: I am a VERY happy man The Samsung "JustScan" firmware update has fixed my overscanning issues!! This is just what I was hoping for. THANK YOU to those of you who posted these firmware updates (1026 for the xx95 and 1024 for the xx96).

And THANK YOU to Samsung for this very important release!

Enjoy this great TV!

Ahh... F1 in full HD 3D with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


The
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


The
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rdjam is offline  
post #89 of 2184 Old 11-10-2006, 11:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
maverick0716's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
720p should look better since there's pretty much no scaling of the image involved (1280x720p vs. 1366x768p)

Panasonic 42PX75U Plasma
PS3 60 GB
Xbox 360 Elite
Toshiba HD-A2
Pioneer VSX-1018
Polk Audio RM6750
maverick0716 is offline  
post #90 of 2184 Old 11-11-2006, 12:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
LAGOSIAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NEW ORLEANS/ HOUSTON
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdjam View Post

I realize that everyone is really excited and I hope I'm not out of line for mentioning this, but if someone buys a lot of these players for one household it's going to prevent other households, and therefore hurt the disc attach rate

Mine are for 5 households.

KEEP BOTH FORMATS ALIVE!
This translates to better PQ & AQ.
LAGOSIAN is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off