one and only 360 HD-DVD Drive thread & LINKS - Page 73 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2161 of 2184 Old 01-26-2011, 12:35 AM
Newbie
 
breed_zer0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Possibly dumb question to ask on here.

When the new 360 launched, on some of the early spec sheets I saw, the new 360 (supposedly) was now equipped with HDMI 1.3. This would (technically) allow bitstreaming of Dolby TrueHD and DTS MA.

First, can anyone confirm HDMI 1.3? Second, if it is true, would this mean we who still own the HDDVD drive would enjoy the next gen audio formats finally?
breed_zer0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2162 of 2184 Old 01-26-2011, 02:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joeydrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDMiller View Post

I know, I know, this thread is OLD, but I gotta say, I just got my HDDVD add on drive for the xbox and am amazed. I can't believe they weren't all bought up on amazon.com. Especially for how cheap movies can be found for. I will be enjoying blu-ray AND HDDVD.

Thst exactly what I did, $30 for a brand new player, 1-2$ disc, yeah!

Pioneer Kuro...your time is up...mwahahhahhha
joeydrunk is offline  
post #2163 of 2184 Old 01-26-2011, 05:14 AM
Senior Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by breed_zer0 View Post

Possibly dumb question to ask on here.

When the new 360 launched, on some of the early spec sheets I saw, the new 360 (supposedly) was now equipped with HDMI 1.3. This would (technically) allow bitstreaming of Dolby TrueHD and DTS MA.

First, can anyone confirm HDMI 1.3? Second, if it is true, would this mean we who still own the HDDVD drive would enjoy the next gen audio formats finally?


I can tell you definitively the add-on does not decode or bistream the lossless formats.Your choices are vanilla Dolby Digital(not Plus) or DTS.The capability for lossless audio was never patched in or enabled.
bradman is offline  
post #2164 of 2184 Old 01-26-2011, 06:46 PM
Newbie
 
breed_zer0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I knew it wasn't previously an option, but that was the first thing that popped into my head when I read the new 360 had HDMI 1.3.

Guess I'm still stupid enough to believe just because the tech is dead they wouldn't abandon the existing tech given the ability.
breed_zer0 is offline  
post #2165 of 2184 Old 01-28-2011, 11:56 AM
Nox
AVS Special Member
 
Nox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Central NY
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone even tried it yet? It wouldn't hurt to know for certain with and actual test.

It's got me curious.

-David
Nox is offline  
post #2166 of 2184 Old 02-22-2011, 07:24 PM
Member
 
Egleu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nox View Post

Has anyone even tried it yet? It wouldn't hurt to know for certain with and actual test.

It's got me curious.

I have an xbox 360 slim and the hddvd add-on, although I don't see any options other than dolby or dts I'll try a lossless disc to see if anything better streams.

Although I am curious if anyone with multiple hd-dvd drives can compare the ability of the drives to read scratched discs. I have a few with few minor scratches but the xbox add-on won't play them without stuttering terribly.
Egleu is offline  
post #2167 of 2184 Old 02-23-2011, 09:41 PM
Member
 
Egleu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just played Pan's Labyrinth, which has a DTS-MA audio track. All I got was the re-encoded DTS track the 360 put out. I'm using an hdmi receiver.

Looks like still a no go for lossless. DTS is still not bad for re-encodes. Better than standard dvd for sure and I would liken it to DD+. 1.5mbps bandwidth unless I'm mistaken
Egleu is offline  
post #2168 of 2184 Old 02-25-2011, 02:02 PM
Senior Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The Xbox 360 is incapable of lossless audio due to hardware limitations(audio data paths can't handle the required bandwidth).Only WMA.
bradman is offline  
post #2169 of 2184 Old 02-25-2011, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joeydrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradman View Post

The Xbox 360 is incapable of lossless audio due to hardware limitations(audio data paths can't handle the required bandwidth).Only WMA.

I read somewhere, I don't remember where it's been awhile, that it actually does get transferred to hd audio but then it has to get compressed back to the core track before it can be output, because of the hardware limitations. I'm not sure why it couldn't just be output once it was hd, like I said it's been to long. I just remember thinking it was interesting.

Pioneer Kuro...your time is up...mwahahhahhha
joeydrunk is offline  
post #2170 of 2184 Old 02-28-2011, 11:48 AM
Newbie
 
mrbojangles360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ah i miss HD DVD
mrbojangles360 is offline  
post #2171 of 2184 Old 03-08-2011, 11:03 AM
Member
 
zebrafetish2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Irondequoit, NY
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrbojangles360 View Post

ah i miss HD DVD

Are you Pete...Colin's friend from LII?
zebrafetish2000 is offline  
post #2172 of 2184 Old 04-29-2011, 11:30 PM
Member
 
Egleu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I only have the 360 add-on, but anyone with a standalone and the 360 player, how does the 360 player compare to various standalones in terms of scratched disks?
Egleu is offline  
post #2173 of 2184 Old 06-16-2011, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hello everyone. Please forgive me for not wanting to wade through the full thread - apologies if this has already been answered.

I've bought an Xbox 360 HD DVD drive. The idea is to rip my 100 or so HD DVDs using ToNMT.

However, upon connecting to my Windows XP PC it just shows as a CD drive, and when I try to use Auto Source on ToNMT it shows as 'No HD Media Found'. I understand this is a problem with XP, but there are drives out there which can be used.

Anyone got any ideas and/or links?

Many thanks.

Steve W
Pecker is offline  
post #2174 of 2184 Old 06-16-2011, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Did you install the UDF 2.5 Reader? http://www.videohelp.com/tools/UDF_Reader
vladd is online now  
post #2175 of 2184 Old 06-16-2011, 06:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joeydrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pecker View Post

Hello everyone. Please forgive me for not wanting to wade through the full thread - apologies if this has already been answered.

I've bought an Xbox 360 HD DVD drive. The idea is to rip my 100 or so HD DVDs using ToNMT.

However, upon connecting to my Windows XP PC it just shows as a CD drive, and when I try to use Auto Source on ToNMT it shows as 'No HD Media Found'. I understand this is a problem with XP, but there are drives out there which can be used.

Anyone got any ideas and/or links?

Many thanks.

Steve W

I have windows 7 and it saw it as soon as I connected the USB chord, it found the correct drivers. You say it reads it as a cd drive, do you have a player for it such as tmt5? I'm not at home so I'm not sure what mine is read as. Just download a trial copy of tmt 5 and see if a disc will play. Other than that just google xbox HDDVD drive and windows xp driver, hack, fix, etc.

Pioneer Kuro...your time is up...mwahahhahhha
joeydrunk is offline  
post #2176 of 2184 Old 06-16-2011, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Cheers chaps.

I've found this:

http://www.digital-digest.com/articl...ows_page1.html

I'll give it a go when I get home and let you know how I get on.

Steve W
Pecker is offline  
post #2177 of 2184 Old 06-16-2011, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeydrunk View Post

I have windows 7 and it saw it as soon as I connected the USB chord, it found the correct drivers. You say it reads it as a cd drive, do you have a player for it such as tmt5? I'm not at home so I'm not sure what mine is read as. Just download a trial copy of tmt 5 and see if a disc will play. Other than that just google xbox HDDVD drive and windows xp driver, hack, fix, etc.

Tried UDF 2.5.

Tried tmt5.

No joy.

Still says 'DVD XDrive (F CD Drive'.

When I click on it (with HD DVD of Blade Runner in) it comes up with an error message: 'Windows cannot read from this disk. The Disk might be corrupted, or it could be using a format that is not compatible with windows.'

Steve W
Pecker is offline  
post #2178 of 2184 Old 06-16-2011, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joeydrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pecker View Post


Tried UDF 2.5.

Tried tmt5.

No joy.

Still says 'DVD XDrive (F CD Drive'.

When I click on it (with HD DVD of Blade Runner in) it comes up with an error message: 'Windows cannot read from this disk. The Disk might be corrupted, or it could be using a format that is not compatible with windows.'

Steve W

What is UDF?

Pioneer Kuro...your time is up...mwahahhahhha
joeydrunk is offline  
post #2179 of 2184 Old 06-16-2011, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
It's the file system used by HD DVDs
vladd is online now  
post #2180 of 2184 Old 06-16-2011, 03:19 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't give up. I still have an XP system and it works fine. http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=15597

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
post #2181 of 2184 Old 06-16-2011, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joeydrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 1,752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

It's the file system used by HD DVDs

Blurays can use it to, I was just wondering what UFD 2.5 was. I wasn't thinking about one of the revisions, the context he used it in sounded like he was talking about some sort of player he tried using to get his HDDVD playing.

Pioneer Kuro...your time is up...mwahahhahhha
joeydrunk is offline  
post #2182 of 2184 Old 06-16-2011, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Ah, gotcha. Yeah, 2.5 was just the driver version from Toshiba that could be used for the xbox drive.
vladd is online now  
post #2183 of 2184 Old 06-17-2011, 03:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davinleeds View Post

Don't give up. I still have an XP system and it works fine. http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=15597

Cheers Dave in Leeds (from Steve in Huddersfield).

Steve W
Pecker is offline  
post #2184 of 2184 Old 08-13-2011, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
iontyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pecker View Post

Hello everyone. Please forgive me for not wanting to wade through the full thread - apologies if this has already been answered.

I've bought an Xbox 360 HD DVD drive. The idea is to rip my 100 or so HD DVDs using ToNMT.

However, upon connecting to my Windows XP PC it just shows as a CD drive, and when I try to use Auto Source on ToNMT it shows as 'No HD Media Found'. I understand this is a problem with XP, but there are drives out there which can be used.

Anyone got any ideas and/or links?

Many thanks.

Steve W

You definitely need to install UDF filesystem drivers to use the XBOX 360 drive on Windows XP. Went through that process myself a ways back, but I have Windows 7 now and the drive is natively supported.

I am having a problem though. Going through my Warner HD DVD's and backing them up since I am seeing reports of problems with these discs. Most have been fine, but the Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix refuses to be recognized by the XBOX 360 drive connected to my PC. All my other HD DVD's are recognized fine, and this disc seems to load and play fine in the Toshibe HD-A30. I cleaned the disc just in case, but that did not help. Anyone know of a particular problem with this disc on this player?
iontyre is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off