HD-A1 Multichannel Help! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 12-05-2006, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rare1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last night I tried to hook up my HD-A1 with the 5.1 analogs. I hooked them directly to the Onkyo (TX-SR602) multi-channel in with some monoprice cables.

I tried the test tone option within the HD-A1 and ALL of the speaker tones came out of the center speaker.

Everything works fine with optical but this is my first experience with multichannel.

Are there any options within the A1 I need to change to make this output correctly?


Any ideas????


Thanks!
Rare1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 12-05-2006, 10:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It is well doccumented that the A1's internal test tones do not work.


Your best bet is to find an SD-DVD that has the THX optimizer on it and use those test tones as they work like a champ.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 12-05-2006, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rare1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHNnDENVER
It is well doccumented that the A1's internal test tones do not work.


Your best bet is to find an SD-DVD that has the THX optimizer on it and use those test tones as they work like a champ.
Excellent, I shall try this tonight.

Thanks for the fast response :cool:
Rare1 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 12-05-2006, 10:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Your welcome and it will fix you right up. :)
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 12-05-2006, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slider33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you sure the tones are coming out only the center? If you have the receiver set to analog (instead of analog 5.1 multi), they'll come out the front three, but not the surrounds. If it's only coming out the center, something is off.
slider33 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 12-05-2006, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rare1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slider33
Are you sure the tones are coming out only the center? If you have the receiver set to analog (instead of analog 5.1 multi), they'll come out the front three, but not the surrounds. If it's only coming out the center, something is off.
Yup, all the tones came out of the center. It was very strange.
Rare1 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 12-05-2006, 12:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Have you updated yoru firmware?
Update firmware, verify proper operation with the THX optimizer.

Hard to imagine there could actually be something wrong with the A1 causing this.

Re-check your 5.1 cables at the AVR, many are confusing and it's easy to not have it hooked up correctly.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-05-2006, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slider33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rare1
Yup, all the tones came out of the center. It was very strange.
What firmware is the A1? I have only heard the tones at 2.0 firmware, and although they did come out the different speakers, they still weren't right. Maybe before 2.0 they only come out the center?
slider33 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 12-05-2006, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rare1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
2.0 Firmware, I can test the thx optimizer tonight when I get home and post my findings.
Rare1 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-05-2006, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rare1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like it is working now. I tried the thx optimizer and all is well.

Thanks for the help.
Rare1 is offline  
Closed Thread HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off