Tosh HD-A2 HD DVD - First End User Reports! - Page 157 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4681 of 5306 Old 12-27-2007, 06:57 PM
Member
 
hdtvdewd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does the a2 output a maximum of 1080i? i thought i read somewhere that updating the firmware will allow it to do 1080p.
hdtvdewd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4682 of 5306 Old 12-27-2007, 07:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvdewd View Post

does the a2 output a maximum of 1080i? i thought i read somewhere that updating the firmware will allow it to do 1080p.

1080i only, no firmware update will change this.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is offline  
post #4683 of 5306 Old 12-27-2007, 07:31 PM
Member
 
hdtvdewd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
then why does the lcd screen have the option to light up 1080p? why include that "p" if the hardware won't allow it?
hdtvdewd is offline  
post #4684 of 5306 Old 12-27-2007, 07:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvdewd View Post

then why does the lcd screen have the option to light up 1080p? why include that "p" if the hardware won't allow it?

it's just a "universal" display. that way they can use the same display on different dvd players. that doesn't mean that the hardware "inside" is capable of 1080p.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
post #4685 of 5306 Old 12-27-2007, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jgatie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvdewd View Post

then why does the lcd screen have the option to light up 1080p? why include that "p" if the hardware won't allow it?

Economy of scale. It's easier to make one screen with all options and install it on the whole line rather than make 3 different screens. It's the same reason your car dash will have an "ABS" light that is blacked out, even if you don't have ABS brakes.
Jgatie is offline  
post #4686 of 5306 Old 12-27-2007, 07:39 PM
Member
 
hdtvdewd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well that sucks.

so anyway is my tv (samsung lnt4661f) able to upconvert that to 1080p? the only hd movie i own, happy feet, shows it is being presented in 1920 x 1080i when i hit the info button on the tv remote. i wonder if i need to change a setting on the tv to deinterlace it.

using hdmi direct to tv.
hdtvdewd is offline  
post #4687 of 5306 Old 12-27-2007, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jgatie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvdewd View Post

well that sucks.

so anyway is my tv (samsung lnt4661f) able to upconvert that to 1080p? the only hd movie i own, happy feet, shows it is being presented in 1920 x 1080i when i hit the info button on the tv remote. i wonder if i need to change a setting on the tv to deinterlace it.

Your set is a fixed pixel display, it can't display anything but 1080p. The info button is showing you the input format only, the output is always 1080p, and all other resolutions/formats are upscaled and/or deinterlaced to 1080p.

The good thing is unless your set has a lousy deinterlacer, you will never see the difference between 1080i and 1080p. This is the dirty little secret the marketing types and sales people don't want you to know.
Jgatie is offline  
post #4688 of 5306 Old 12-27-2007, 07:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 3,656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvdewd View Post

well that sucks.

so anyway is my tv (samsung lnt4661f) able to upconvert that to 1080p? the only hd movie i own, happy feet, shows it is being presented in 1920 x 1080i when i hit the info button on the tv remote. i wonder if i need to change a setting on the tv to deinterlace it.

using hdmi direct to tv.


If you have a 1080p display then the 1080i is getting converted to 1080p. If you have a 720p display then the 1080i is getting converted to 720p.
primetimeguy is offline  
post #4689 of 5306 Old 12-27-2007, 07:53 PM
Member
 
hdtvdewd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah the display is 1080p. i believe it does 24fps also, but right now i dont care about that. maybe in a few years when hd players are more affordable and include all the features of the top of the line ones right now will i care to upgrade. just got the onkyo 605 for the upconversion of the wii and vcr via hdmi and also due to my need for a receiver with hdmi.

off topic, does anyone know what resolution vhs tapes are presented in? 480i? or is it even lower than that? would i want to use svideo instead of the composite cables or will it even make a difference since the receiver will upconvert the analog signal anyway?
hdtvdewd is offline  
post #4690 of 5306 Old 12-27-2007, 07:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 102
s-vid is better than composite

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
post #4691 of 5306 Old 12-27-2007, 07:57 PM
Member
 
hdtvdewd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

s-vid is better than composite

yeah i understand that but i dont have one lying around and i dont want to order one if its going to end up being upconverted by the receiver anyway.
hdtvdewd is offline  
post #4692 of 5306 Old 12-27-2007, 08:07 PM
Member
 
badandyho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by battscrew View Post

Can't you download the 2.7 firmware from toshiba then burn it to a cd? Nero works for me for burning?

Alternatively have you tried a reset (while on - hold power button on unit for 10-15 sec) or reinitialize from the menu?

Tried everything. For some reason the burner on my laptop will only write at 24X speed, with every program I've tried. I've read here that 2X or 4X is the way to get it to work that way.

I figure I'll call Toshiba this weekend and see if I can't get it to work or send it in.

I'm up to 45 HDDVDs and 10 Blu-Rays. Hooray for the purple pill.
badandyho is offline  
post #4693 of 5306 Old 12-27-2007, 08:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
danmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvdewd View Post

yeah i understand that but i dont have one lying around and i dont want to order one if its going to end up being upconverted by the receiver anyway.

S-Video is a slightly better analog cable than a standard yellow (composite RCA) S-Video (Separate Video) - carries Brightness and color separately wheras traditional RCA carries entire signal together. I can not image a situation in which your eyes would discern any difference when using digital equipment, s-Video is definately better for analog transfer of information, but if you don't have a cable laying around I think you'll be equally underwhelmed with the quality of either.
danmen is offline  
post #4694 of 5306 Old 12-27-2007, 08:30 PM
Member
 
steverichmond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Morehead, KY
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,
I'm having trouble entering my user id on the web enabled option for Eastern Promises. I created an account a few movies ago (can't remember which one) anyway when I go to the web enabled options there are 2 options. 1 create a account or you can log in. I've tried logging in and no matter how many time I select the user id inout box the A2 (running 2.7) never allows me down to the keyboard. If I slelect create an account I can enter the user id fine but it tells me my account already exists. Is this a A2 problem, or HD DVD problem or am I just not getting it? Thanks.
steverichmond is offline  
post #4695 of 5306 Old 12-28-2007, 12:57 AM
Senior Member
 
DocCasualty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Harbor Springs, MI
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvdewd View Post

off topic, does anyone know what resolution vhs tapes are presented in? 480i? or is it even lower than that?

Horizontal resolution of VHS is 240 lines.

“A great thunderstorm of sound gushed from the walls. Music bombarded him at such an immense volume that his bones were almost shaken from their tendons; he felt his jaw vibrate, his eyes wobble in his head.” ― Fahrenheit 451
DocCasualty is offline  
post #4696 of 5306 Old 12-28-2007, 05:41 AM
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvdewd View Post

yeah i understand that but i dont have one lying around and i dont want to order one if its going to end up being upconverted by the receiver anyway.


S-video will look better. I have a 46" Mits LT-46231 and have used s-video to it from a Sony and Mits S-VHS VCR. It looks much better with s-video providing the tape is in good shape, and was recorde using good quality video. I used these to dub family videos, a few DVDs, and other program material to use on video editing system I have. Better than SD satellite or regular TV (analog) in most cases.

You can get an s-video cable from Target, walmart, etc for a few $. Or order from Monoprice, very reasonably.
Phase700B is offline  
post #4697 of 5306 Old 12-29-2007, 05:30 PM
Newbie
 
Rally13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Preface: I have read alot of threads and am still in need of your expert advice.

I have an HD-A2 with a Rotel 1055 hooked up via optical. I only have a two channel setup and would really like to know what settings I should be using.

Does it matter if the content of the disc is TrueHD or DD+? From what I have read it does not matter for me since 2 channel TrueHD can be sent via optical in both formats but does it matter what my rec. is sent (ie. DD or PCM). Am I correct on any of this? I have tried a million different settings and wire combinations (optical, RCA etc) and I am beyond confused on how it should be set up and what I even think sounds better or not. Should the settings change dependant on the disc content? Please help.

Ken
Rally13 is offline  
post #4698 of 5306 Old 12-30-2007, 08:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Eddie39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Beaufort, SC
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have both the A2 and the S300. My HDTV is a HP 42" plasma which only has one HDMI input so I run them though a Xtreme 4 position HDMI switcher. I have the audio connected with digital out to my Pioneer receiver which is pushing a set of Bose AM 10 speakers. The pictue (color) and sound are breathtaken. I keep my firmware up todate and I've only had one problem and that was with a damaged netflix dvd. I really enjoy the threads that are posted here and I learned a lot from them. Please keep the questions coming so the ones who know the answer will keep responding to them.

I hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas and I would like to wish each of you a Happy & Safe New Year!!!
Eddie39 is offline  
post #4699 of 5306 Old 12-30-2007, 10:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Buckeye911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 3,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie39 View Post

I have both the A2 and the S300. My HDTV is a HP 42" plasma which only has one HDMI input so I run them though a Xtreme 4 position HDMI switcher. I have the audio connected with digital out to my Pioneer receiver which is pushing a set of Bose AM 10 speakers. The pictue (color) and sound are breathtaken. I keep my firmware up todate and I've only had one problem and that was with a damaged netflix dvd. I really enjoy the threads that are posted here and I learned a lot from them. Please keep the questions coming so the ones who know the answer will keep responding to them.

I hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas and I would like to wish each of you a Happy & Safe New Year!!!

If you want to continue enjoying the threads you may not want to mention the Bose speakers. There's a lot of hate for Bose on this forum.

The measure of a man's character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.
Buckeye911 is offline  
post #4700 of 5306 Old 12-30-2007, 10:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Bose Suck !!!!!

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
post #4701 of 5306 Old 12-30-2007, 10:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MarketingProf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

Bose Suck !!!!!

I believe that should be "Bose Sucks!!!!"

Marketing Professor
Music, then Movies...
MarketingProf is offline  
post #4702 of 5306 Old 12-30-2007, 11:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 102
I was useing the Bose name in the plural form, which is still Bose. Therefore Bose Suck is in fact correct. Another way to say the same thing would be...
Bose speakers suck !!!!!

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
post #4703 of 5306 Old 12-30-2007, 11:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pugnax555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

I was useing the Bose name in the plural form, which is still Bose. Therefore Bose Suck is in fact correct. Another way to say the same thing would be...
Bose speakers suck !!!!!

Actually, I believe Bose is an irregular noun, so the plural form would be Bosen.
Pugnax555 is offline  
post #4704 of 5306 Old 12-30-2007, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pugnax555 View Post

Actually, I believe Bose is an irregular noun, so the plural form would be Bosen.

Bose is a singularly irregular company with plurally irregular products.
So two or more products are Bosi?

Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #4705 of 5306 Old 12-30-2007, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
khanmotorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys,
i was watching a movie with family yesterday and it locked up and then stopped putting out audio for a bit. i turned off the player and turned it back on and it played fine...actually it sounded a bit better.

Is the reliability something i should be worried about or nope?
khanmotorsport is offline  
post #4706 of 5306 Old 12-30-2007, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Eddie39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Beaufort, SC
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry but I will continue to enjoy my speakers and the threads. Tell me whats the problem with Bose speakers?
Eddie39 is offline  
post #4707 of 5306 Old 12-30-2007, 01:51 PM
Senior Member
 
khanmotorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie39 View Post

Sorry but I will continue to enjoy my speakers and the threads. Tell me whats the problem with Bose speakers?

nothing...if you own them... go ahead and enjoy them. If you got a deal for them, even better. In canada though, for the price of a good bose setup, i could have gone with a custom built system from various components.

I have a lot of bose stuff in my sports cars and their just fine. also, if you havn't noticed...most people on AVS forum are really anal about things that even they won't admit they can't even hear.

You enjoy your Bose system, i will enjoy my B&W's, the others will enjoy their magnepans, and most importantly, we will all enjoy good movies!
khanmotorsport is offline  
post #4708 of 5306 Old 12-30-2007, 02:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie39 View Post

Sorry but I will continue to enjoy my speakers and the threads. Tell me whats the problem with Bose speakers?

To make it short and sweet...
The purpose of speakers is to reproduce the sound just as the artist/producer/studio/etc... intended. Therefore the speakers should be as "transparent" as possible while still be able to produce "appealing" sound at different volume levels.
Bose are anything but transparent. Some say they like the sound, but it does not sound natural.
Now while Bose does not have what Audiophiles consider good sound, they use marketing techniques to make their products appear much, much better.
They put a TON of money into marketing, and charge outrageous prices to make unsuspecting consumers believe that they are buying a PREMIUM speaker. A person who doesn't know much about speakers look at Bose and think, "They're expensive, so they must be good... and look how stylish too." Not to mention that salesman at the Bose store blowing smoke up your but too. Now a lot of companies use the same marketing techniques you might say. It's just that Bose takes it to a whole new level. They are 90% marketing.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
post #4709 of 5306 Old 12-30-2007, 02:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Add this...
You can buy a nice inexpensive pair of quality speakers for $100 that will run circles around a pair of Bose that cost $500.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is online now  
post #4710 of 5306 Old 12-30-2007, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

They put a TON of money into marketing, and charge outrageous prices to make unsuspecting consumers believe that they are buying a PREMIUM speaker. A person who doesn't know much about speakers look at Bose and think, "They're expensive, so they must be good... and look how stylish too."

Some others with good marketing -- Monster, Sony....shall I go on

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off