Tosh HD-XA2 1080p HD DVD - First End User Reports!: USERS ONLY PLEASE! - Page 156 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #4651 of 4671 Old 02-25-2015, 10:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian81 View Post
A couple years ago, I was running through testing/watching various WB discs for "rot". Had a high failure rate, around 50%. After going through about two dozen discs, I started to also have problems with other discs, seemingly my Studio Canal titles. Instead of the problems I had with WB titles (same error code ending playback, always at same timecodes, or discs not recognized), things would manifest in different ways. Discs would freeze up during playback occasionally, even during menus. Unlike the WB titles, there were no error codes you could exit out of - the player was frozen. Time codes where discs were locking up were varied (non-repeatable). When discs would lock up, I'd be forced to do a hard reset (holding in power button for several seconds), or unplugging the unit. In nearly all cases, I'd do the hard reset - because once the discs froze up, no number of trying to press 'Stop' would work. No other choice. At one point, I even updated the firmware from 2.7 to 4.0, which didn't change anything.

Eventually, the unit no longer booted properly, and was greeted with a 'Welcome' on the LCD screen and nothing else. It did not ever go away to the disc loading/recognition process, after quite a few tries of hard resets/unplugging. So it's sat unplugged for 2 years now.

Today, I finally decided to take it out of the rack for an A2 I have boxed away (bought first, kept only because it shares parts with the XA2). But first I decide to remove the top casing to see if there's anything noticeably different, like blown capacitors or the like. Nothing visibly cooked. So figuring I wouldn't be swapping parts with the A2 in the near future, I plugged it in and powered it up. Well, now it goes past 'Welcome' and to the 'Loading' and 'No Disc' screens.

So now I'm wondering what may be the case here. Any possibility that running it through many bad discs could have simply worn out the drive? I ask because I remember reading in the past about the 'Welcome' error being a power supply issue? I still think I'm going to throw the A2 into use, but now I'm left wondering if i'd be best swapping both the drive and power supply, or just the drive. After all, if it's the power supply that messed up the drive, I wouldn't want to throw in a good drive to be fried by bad power. But if the 'Welcome' error is actually just a generic error message for a variety of hardware failures, maybe it is just the drive on the fritz. I also wonder about overheating, as the first time I had a SC title freeze it, I didn't notice it because I'd fallen asleep watching the film and woke up to see it frozen mid-film with picture on screen, instead of it being on a looping menu as one would expect after the film finishes.
It is possible that the player simply reset itself after sitting for so long. That is something one should always try when one of these HD players gets weird.
Have you tried playing a disc in it yet?
musicalfox likes this.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4652 of 4671 Old 02-26-2015, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich86 View Post
It is possible that the player simply reset itself after sitting for so long. That is something one should always try when one of these HD players gets weird.
Have you tried playing a disc in it yet?

Not yet. I'm still planning on putting the A2 into use and put wear and tear on that, instead. I'd been using it on a DLP RPTV set that doesn't accept 24Hz input (only 1080p/60Hz) anyways, so it's not like I've been watching discs at their native frame rates, anyways. I still believe there's an issue with it, but at least it is not BRICKED! Quite a relief, as I thought it was after being stuck on 'Welcome'.
Brian81 is offline  
post #4653 of 4671 Old 04-25-2015, 07:32 PM
Member
 
Artstodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Russian xa2

I recently bought a hd-xa2 from a guy in Russia (yeah, I know I took a hell of a risk) but it came when it was supposed to and in perfect condition. I LOVE it-everything on it works and hd-dvds look terrific and sd dvds look great too. The only problem is that the osd, setup menus are all in Russian!! Any ideas as to how I can switch this thing to English??thanks
Artstodd is offline  
post #4654 of 4671 Old 04-26-2015, 01:51 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 23,487
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1785 Post(s)
Liked: 1039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artstodd View Post
I recently bought a hd-xa2 from a guy in Russia (yeah, I know I took a hell of a risk) but it came when it was supposed to and in perfect condition. I LOVE it-everything on it works and hd-dvds look terrific and sd dvds look great too. The only problem is that the osd, setup menus are all in Russian!! Any ideas as to how I can switch this thing to English??thanks
I would think there is something in the settings. I would need to look mine to be sure.
aaronwt is offline  
post #4655 of 4671 Old 04-26-2015, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shodoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artstodd View Post
I recently bought a hd-xa2 from a guy in Russia (yeah, I know I took a hell of a risk) but it came when it was supposed to and in perfect condition. I LOVE it-everything on it works and hd-dvds look terrific and sd dvds look great too. The only problem is that the osd, setup menus are all in Russian!! Any ideas as to how I can switch this thing to English??thanks
http://support.toshiba.com/support/s...mTOCLink=false

I believe that link will take you to the "hd-ax2_om_e.pdf" owners manual in English.

There is some information on page 53 and then pages 57 and 58.

It might be enough to guide you through the menus to make the change.

Good Luck,
Doug
shodoug is offline  
post #4656 of 4671 Old 04-27-2015, 11:50 AM
Member
 
Artstodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shodoug View Post
http://support.toshiba.com/support/s...mTOCLink=false

I believe that link will take you to the "hd-ax2_om_e.pdf" owners manual in English.

There is some information on page 53 and then pages 57 and 58.

It might be enough to guide you through the menus to make the change.

Good Luck,
Doug
I downloaded the manual and tried to use it to change the settings, but since everything on the setup on the xa2 is in Russian-or some other language-I wasn't able to figure out what I was changing-guess I'm just stuck with it the way it is-or maybe find a Russian speaker to help me with it-thanks anyway.
Artstodd is offline  
post #4657 of 4671 Old 04-27-2015, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shodoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artstodd View Post
I downloaded the manual and tried to use it to change the settings, but since everything on the setup on the xa2 is in Russian-or some other language-I wasn't able to figure out what I was changing-guess I'm just stuck with it the way it is-or maybe find a Russian speaker to help me with it-thanks anyway.
I was hoping the buttons on your remote were in English and could get you to the right spot. Oh well.

There is a free google translator I downloaded on my android that works pretty well for spanish. I did not get to try it much when i was working with Russians.

It even has a feature that you can show a sign or word to the camera and it will translate it for you.

You would need the module for Russian, of course.

Good Luck,
Doug
shodoug is offline  
post #4658 of 4671 Old 04-27-2015, 01:32 PM
Member
 
Artstodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shodoug View Post
I was hoping the buttons on your remote were in English and could get you to the right spot. Oh well.

There is a free google translator I downloaded on my android that works pretty well for spanish. I did not get to try it much when i was working with Russians.

It even has a feature that you can show a sign or word to the camera and it will translate it for you.

You would need the module for Russian, of course.

Good Luck,
Doug
ok, I'll try the translator.. thanks Art
Artstodd is offline  
post #4659 of 4671 Old 04-29-2015, 08:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Worf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 2,188
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Hrm, you didn't happen to buy it from eBay did you? (I remember there was a xa2 from Russia for the longest time, then it disappeared).

And the manual should have a picture of the remote in English...
Worf is offline  
post #4660 of 4671 Old 04-29-2015, 11:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,171
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Tosh HD-XA2 1080p HD DVD - First End User Reports!: USERS ONLY PLEASE!

Why not get an A35?

I wonder if the Russian XA2 will need a North American firmware change?

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #4661 of 4671 Old 04-30-2015, 03:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shodoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artstodd View Post
ok, I'll try the translator.. thanks Art
I tried the camera feature for signs with the translator on some work I was doing that was commented in German.

The way it worked was really cool. If I held the camera on a small number of words, the view on my phone replaced teh German words with English ones.

Same thing for a small sign in Italian at a local restaurant.

Of course the translations are not perfect, but they have been very helpful.

Doug
shodoug is offline  
post #4662 of 4671 Old 05-20-2015, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Viking61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artstodd View Post
I recently bought a hd-xa2 from a guy in Russia (yeah, I know I took a hell of a risk) but it came when it was supposed to and in perfect condition. I LOVE it-everything on it works and hd-dvds look terrific and sd dvds look great too. The only problem is that the osd, setup menus are all in Russian!! Any ideas as to how I can switch this thing to English??thanks
Try doing a reset to factory setting. If I remember correctly, you should press Display, 7, 0, 1, Display on the remote. The player will then shut down and when you restart it will go through the initial setup. Hopefully you will be able to choose language in the setup.


Are you sure it is an American XA2 and not the European model XE1? If it is the XE1 you can install the regionfree firmware.

Last edited by Viking61; 05-20-2015 at 11:31 AM.
Viking61 is offline  
post #4663 of 4671 Old 08-04-2015, 06:16 PM
Member
 
KristinaAlexis6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Does anyone know if the XA2 has been dethroned in terms of upconversion? I know the Oppo's do a damn good job, BUT... I was thinking of picking one up from eBay, I think the guy wants $100.. I own a few players (Sony, Oppo, getting a new Sony, model 2014, possibly 2015).. Is this worth buying for upconverting? All my HD-DVD's are stored somewhere in a bin, and buried.

Display: Sony KDL-55W802A
Sound Bar: Sony HT-CT150
Players: Sony BDP-S5100
Sony BDPS1000ES
Oppo BDP-83
PS3 Slim

KristinaAlexis6 is offline  
post #4664 of 4671 Old 08-04-2015, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
humbland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by KristinaAlexis6 View Post
Does anyone know if the XA2 has been dethroned in terms of upconversion? I know the Oppo's do a damn good job, BUT... I was thinking of picking one up from eBay, I think the guy wants $100.. I own a few players (Sony, Oppo, getting a new Sony, model 2014, possibly 2015).. Is this worth buying for upconverting? All my HD-DVD's are stored somewhere in a bin, and buried.
That's a very good question. We still have our XA2 in the component rack. My Oppo has been acting up as of late, perhaps I should just shift over to the XA2. Back in the day, I compared the upconversion and it was very close. Perhaps a slight edge (DVD humor ) to the Oppo. Now days, we watch mostly Blu-rays anyway. So it's not much of an issue...
I am curious though, is DVD upconversion quality still a "feature" of Blu-ray players? Oppo probably still makes the best, but are there other good choices?
humbland is online now  
post #4665 of 4671 Old 08-04-2015, 08:53 PM
Member
 
KristinaAlexis6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by humbland View Post
That's a very good question. We still have our XA2 in the component rack. My Oppo has been acting up as of late, perhaps I should just shift over to the XA2. Back in the day, I compared the upconversion and it was very close. Perhaps a slight edge (DVD humor ) to the Oppo. Now days, we watch mostly Blu-rays anyway. So it's not much of an issue...
I am curious though, is DVD upconversion quality still a "feature" of Blu-ray players? Oppo probably still makes the best, but are there other good choices?
I actually still own an XA2, it's been put away in a closet (long story short, right now I'm living somewhere else without a LOT of my stuff, until I get a uhaul to get it all back)
Oppo problems, huh? I had that same exact thing happen to me! I had an Oppo-93? I think the model is. It was somewhat of a disaster for me.. I remember AT LEAST 10 blu-rays NOT playing! I updated FW, etc.. NOTHING worked, and I was forced to watch 'em on a different player (sony) They also froze a LOT!
I ended up losing patience and eventually sold on eBay, and saying it had problems with discs, but the unit was in excellent shape and functional etc, it sold for around $300 some. Not bad at all
I think DVD upconversion is still pretty important for me, I own TONSSS of DVD's, so I'd like 'em to look the best possible

Display: Sony KDL-55W802A
Sound Bar: Sony HT-CT150
Players: Sony BDP-S5100
Sony BDPS1000ES
Oppo BDP-83
PS3 Slim

KristinaAlexis6 is offline  
post #4666 of 4671 Old Yesterday, 03:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 128
It does not even matter. They are all better than you can see.
Gary J is offline  
post #4667 of 4671 Old Yesterday, 10:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 237
^ ^ ^ ^ ^

The XA-2 is a very good player for DVDs. The Oppo players will be better though.
It's not just about the upconversion, and doing a quick comparison to other players doesn't always reveal the whole picture.
Other factors are to be considered, like deinterlacing, especially on some discs that have odd cadences.

If you aren't going to play HD-DVDs, I wouldn't bother with an XA-2 or any other player.
I do still have mine in my a/v rack, but not sure why since I haven't played any HD-DVDs in a long time.

As for how the Oppo players operate... if you ever have issues that you can't resolve,
there are owner threads for every model of Oppo player right here on AVS where you can get help.
You can also always contact Oppo customer support which is known for being very helpful and proactive.
If one of their player's is in need of service and under warranty, just send it in and it's fixed fast.
Even if the player is out of warranty, they have low flat-rate fees for fixing their players too.
Of course if you really feel you have to sell it off, they do have great resale value too.

I'm sure there are other players out there that also do a decent job with DVDs,
but Blu-ray has taken over the market so much, that no one ever talks about how to get the most out of your DVDs.
Now of course we also have UHD on the horizon too.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #4668 of 4671 Old Yesterday, 07:28 PM
Member
 
KristinaAlexis6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
^ ^ ^

But the XA2 is a such a sexy piece of machinery, lol. Seriously, I wish more companies would build players like an XA2, built like a tank, metal brushed aluminum, and feels sturdy/heavy! I guess the Oppo's come close in build-quality, but I just LOVE the build of the XA2. I doubt we'll ever see another player built like that. All Sony blu-ray players feel like really cheap plastic, extremely light, i'm afraid if it drops it'll shatter!

Display: Sony KDL-55W802A
Sound Bar: Sony HT-CT150
Players: Sony BDP-S5100
Sony BDPS1000ES
Oppo BDP-83
PS3 Slim


Last edited by KristinaAlexis6; Today at 12:11 AM.
KristinaAlexis6 is offline  
post #4669 of 4671 Old Today, 03:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 198 Post(s)
Liked: 128
That build came at a VERY HIGH PRICE.
Gary J is offline  
post #4670 of 4671 Old Today, 04:12 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 23,487
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1785 Post(s)
Liked: 1039
Quote:
Originally Posted by KristinaAlexis6 View Post
^ ^ ^

But the XA2 is a such a sexy piece of machinery, lol. Seriously, I wish more companies would build players like an XA2, built like a tank, metal brushed aluminum, and feels sturdy/heavy! I guess the Oppo's come close in build-quality, but I just LOVE the build of the XA2. I doubt we'll ever see another player built like that. All Sony blu-ray players feel like really cheap plastic, extremely light, i'm afraid if it drops it'll shatter!
Look how ancient the XA2 is. Today it is very unusual to have an electronic device built that way.
aaronwt is offline  
post #4671 of 4671 Unread Today, 06:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,710
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by KristinaAlexis6 View Post
^ ^ ^

But the XA2 is a such a sexy piece of machinery, lol. Seriously, I wish more companies would build players like an XA2, built like a tank, metal brushed aluminum, and feels sturdy/heavy! I guess the Oppo's come close in build-quality, but I just LOVE the build of the XA2. I doubt we'll ever see another player built like that. All Sony blu-ray players feel like really cheap plastic, extremely light, i'm afraid if it drops it'll shatter!
I would say the newest generation of Oppo players are on par with the build quality of the XA-2.
They do not skimp on quality and use a metal faceplate and metal housing too.
Of course not all players are built to such high standards, but not all cheap players are junk either.
Using a plastic face and housing gives it a cheaper feel and makes it lighter and cheaper to build too,
but the quality of inner parts and software engineering is what matters.
Many times though a lot of small things add up, and with the Oppo players, they check so many boxes and are so full of features<
including build quality, that is why they are known to be the best players on the market.
Of course they don't play HD-DVDs which is unfortunate.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
That build came at a VERY HIGH PRICE.
That is very true when it was first released, it was not close to cheap, and the high quality came at a high price.
Another thing some people might say, is that the HD-DVD players and Blu-ray players that were released in the
first couple years when those formats came to market, were built to very high standards since both formats were
competing for the public's approval and money. If you make a cheap product that breaks easily, it would not look good for your cause.
Of course there were cheaper players like the HA-1, HA-2 etc, that were not built to as high of a standard,
but even those players were very solid.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Look how ancient the XA2 is. Today it is very unusual to have an electronic device built that way.
I think yes and no. For the most part most players aren't built to the same standards I describe above,
but there are still higher end players that a built pretty well.
However the number of "cheap" players far overshadows the number of high quality players.

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off