Tosh HD-XA2 1080p HD DVD - First End User Reports!: USERS ONLY PLEASE! - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 4647 Old 01-21-2007, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GmanAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ridgewood, NJ
Posts: 1,793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

BenDover,
Do you have any way of determining what the XA2 is? The A1 is 4:2:2. (according to my plasma HDMI screen) For some reason, I'm thinking its 4:4:4.

Yes, can someone please check this out.

Stacey Spears, have you done an "objective measurement" with the XA2?
GmanAVS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 4647 Old 01-21-2007, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

BenDover,

Do you have any way of determining what the XA2 is? The A1 is 4:2:2. (according to my plasma HDMI screen) For some reason, I'm thinking its 4:4:4.


no, i don't have any way of determining that, unfortunately...
BenDover is offline  
post #453 of 4647 Old 01-21-2007, 07:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
J y E 4Ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Hello everyone.

I finally got rid of my 720p DVI only Samsung plasma and purchased a 1080p Sharp 52" LCD.

Want to laugh?

I went from my PS3 working fine with the 720p Samsung even though it was going thru my Onkyo 674 receiver and thru an HDMI to DVI adapter but the XA2 would only output 480p because of the HDMI to DVI adapter.

NOW, with my new 1080p HDMI only TV, the XA2 works flawlessly at 1080p but the PS3 can only output 1080i because the Onkyo is having trouble sending the 1080p to the TV therefore the 1080p setting is causing crazy video distortion and breakup as if the screen is having a seizure. Switch back to 1080i and it looks fine.

I know that it's the Onkyo because I connected the PS3 directly to the TV via HDMI and 1080p worked but when the Onkyo was introduced back into the equation the problem came back.

I CAN'T WIN!

Besides all that, one of the two HDMI inputs on the Sharp is dead. You can only hear audio, no video on the screen.

Replacement is already enroute.
J y E 4Ever is offline  
post #454 of 4647 Old 01-21-2007, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Lars158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

BenDover,

Do you have any way of determining what the XA2 is? The A1 is 4:2:2. (according to my plasma HDMI screen) For some reason, I'm thinking its 4:4:4.

For the XA2 it is also 4:2:2 (according to my ABT VP50)

Lars Berglund
Plano, TX
Lars158 is offline  
post #455 of 4647 Old 01-22-2007, 05:29 PM
Member
 
stevekaden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West LA
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just finished making an order with Value Electronics for an XA2 and some discs. Just as so many people said, they are great. I had some special situations to deal with and Graham, my CS person, was patient with those details AND my penchant for telling all the stories behind the points.

A pleasure to do business with them and a good deal too (not to mention it was in Stock!)

Now if shipping just doesn't make a mess of this...I might offer some observations in a few days.
stevekaden is offline  
post #456 of 4647 Old 01-22-2007, 11:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
bembol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: gta|brampton
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I should've waited for my HD-XA2 to arrive before selling my HD-A1! LOL

The store I deal with ran into some delay...should arrive by the end of this month. This is killing me, the reviews on this is really amazing!
bembol is offline  
post #457 of 4647 Old 01-23-2007, 04:09 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lars158 View Post

For the XA2 it is also 4:2:2 (according to my ABT VP50)

Is the YCbCr 4:2:2 8bit or 10bit? (if you can determine)

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #458 of 4647 Old 01-23-2007, 05:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lars158 View Post

For the XA2 it is also 4:2:2 (according to my ABT VP50)


If both XA2 and A1 are both 4:2:2, then my theory they were using different specs resulting in different "snap" is shot down. Although the different specs should result in the same picture, I can tell a difference on my display. My methodology is to put up a color bar pattern using a HD signal generator and photographing it with RGB and then 4:2:2 off of the screen. The difference although slight is probably attributable to how the display was calibrated at the factory.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #459 of 4647 Old 01-23-2007, 04:06 PM
Member
 
BadassBuddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
G-damnit! The device worked like a charm for several days. Got to enjoy Jet Li's Fearless in hi-def, several standard-def films, but started to watch Batman Begins today and stopped about 30 mins into the film. When firing it back up a couple hours later, the device no longer reads ANY hi-def DVDs. Getting the error: This disc is not DVD format. Cannot play the disc.

My a$$ it's not. The player has suddenly turned into a non-hi-def DVD player. Standards play fine. Fookin lemon. Toshi is going to fix the device but c'mon, 5 days after receiving it? Do I follow through with the Toshi service and settle for a 5-day-old refurbed device, or do I contact the vendor?

Thanks folks
BadassBuddy is offline  
post #460 of 4647 Old 01-23-2007, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadassBuddy View Post

G-damnit! The device worked like a charm for several days. Got to enjoy Jet Li's Fearless in hi-def, several standard-def films, but started to watch Batman Begins today and stopped about 30 mins into the film. When firing it back up a couple hours later, the device no longer reads ANY hi-def DVDs. Getting the error: This disc is not DVD format. Cannot play the disc.

My a$$ it's not. The player has suddenly turned into a non-hi-def DVD player. Standards play fine. Fookin lemon. Toshi is going to fix the device but c'mon, 5 days after receiving it? Do I follow through with the Toshi service and settle for a 5-day-old refurbed device, or do I contact the vendor?

Thanks folks

Try holding the power on button on the player in for ten seconds until it turns off. This will force a re-boot of the player.
Robert D is offline  
post #461 of 4647 Old 01-23-2007, 04:42 PM
Member
 
BadassBuddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That actually did something but it didn't resolve the problem. It recognized the GoodFellas Hi-Def DVD, but it didn't seem to want to play the disc. Then inserting the Batman Hi-Def resulted in the same error MSG. If this reboot method actually did prove to be helpful, do we spend the rest of our lives rebooting our thousand dollar machines like fools? Is this thing running Windows 95 or what?

Thanks for the advice brother.

EDIT: Correction! After soft-rebooting the machine, then hard-rebooting (leaving it unplugged for 5 mins), i'm able to watch Batman again! What a flakey machine! Do I wait for a firmware upgrade before sending this thing back to Toshi? Thanks again man!
BadassBuddy is offline  
post #462 of 4647 Old 01-23-2007, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lgans316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barking, Essex, London
Posts: 6,805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
At first my apologies for posting in spite of not being an End User. As a prospective customer I would like to mention the below.

Both XA-2 / XF2 (A2) shares the same HD DVD Drive. Being a Premium model I expected Toshiba to put a better drive. I am waiting for the mid range HD-A20 as it can output 1080p and may contain some upgrades over the HD-A2 / XA-2.

I think the HD-XA2 may arguably be the best upscaling DVD Player though HD DVD performance may just be equal to it's cheaper brother A2 which is not expected from a premium model.

I don't remember exactly where I saw but I am sure that HD-XF2 (A2) HD DVD drive is Made in Japan. However the HD-XA2 HD DRIVE seems to be completely Made in China. Pretty misleading at the moment. The Toshiba HQ is just few blocks away from my work place. If time permits and if possible let me check and revert back.

Blu-ray : 340
lgans316 is online now  
post #463 of 4647 Old 01-24-2007, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
mediahound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The A20 is supposed to have the same chipset as the A2. Whereas the XA2 has a different better chipset. You will probably still find that the XA2 upconverts standard def DVDS even better than the A20 or A2.
mediahound is offline  
post #464 of 4647 Old 01-24-2007, 11:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Gary Murrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 10,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bembol View Post

I guess I should've waited for my HD-XA2 to arrive before selling my HD-A1! LOL

The store I deal with ran into some delay...should arrive by the end of this month. This is killing me, the reviews on this is really amazing!

it will be worth your wait, the XA2 smokes the 1st Gens and the A2

-Gary
Gary Murrell is offline  
post #465 of 4647 Old 01-24-2007, 11:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
lorelevitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bembol View Post

I guess I should've waited for my HD-XA2 to arrive before selling my HD-A1! LOL

The store I deal with ran into some delay...should arrive by the end of this month. This is killing me, the reviews on this is really amazing!

You should have bought from Robert at VE....
lorelevitt is offline  
post #466 of 4647 Old 01-24-2007, 06:16 PM
Newbie
 
TurboVis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got mine (XA2) from Robert @VE today, running it through a 70" Sony SXRD.
AWESOME!! Player has been on several hours without a hitch, upscaled IRobot looked great and Waterworld and Riddick were excellent!! Robert's service is outstanding.

Upscaler is better than my Sony (keeping the Sony)or the Pio (both B-Ray) I will be taking back soon. Format Neutral!

Haven't really had a chance to play with it but any suggestions on settings overall as all I have done is plug and play?
TurboVis is offline  
post #467 of 4647 Old 01-24-2007, 10:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Gammans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Brambleton, VA (Suburban Washington, DC)
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my HD-XA2 from VE and have already noted two big problems:

(1) The audio on all multi-channel outputs (5.1 analog, optical and coaxial digital) has a bad distortion problem. With both of the discs I tried (Batman Begins and Brokeback Mountain) I had to turn the XA2 off and then on again because the first time I try to play the disc the audio sounds all scratchy and off-pitch.

(2) The player is connected to my Lumagen VisionHDP processor's DVI1 port (I run all my connections through the Lumagen--only one DVI cable runs to the projector). I have noted that if the projector and/or Lumagen are already on and I turn the XA2 on last, I get nothing but white snow. I have to physically unplug and plug in the HDMI cable for a picture to appear.

Not a good start for the HD-DVD half of my Neutral Zone, especially compared to the flawless performance I experienced with the other half. Hopefully the latest firmware update will fix both of these issues. I can live with the HD-DVD player having to be the first thing turned on, but that audio problem is a deal-killer.
Scott Gammans is offline  
post #468 of 4647 Old 01-24-2007, 10:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Gammans View Post

Just got my HD-XA2 from VE and have already noted two big problems:

(1) The audio on all multi-channel outputs (5.1 analog, optical and coaxial digital) has a bad distortion problem. With both of the discs I tried (Batman Begins and Brokeback Mountain) I had to turn the XA2 off and then on again because the first time I try to play the disc the audio sounds all scratchy and off-pitch.

(2) The player is connected to my Lumagen VisionHDP processor's DVI1 port (I run all my connections through the Lumagen--only one DVI cable runs to the projector). I have noted that if the projector and/or Lumagen are already on and I turn the XA2 on last, I get nothing but white snow. I have to physically unplug and plug in the HDMI cable for a picture to appear.

Not a good start for the HD-DVD half of my Neutral Zone, especially compared to the flawless performance I experienced with the other half. Hopefully the latest firmware update will fix both of these issues. I can live with the HD-DVD player having to be the first thing turned on, but that audio problem is a deal-killer.

How are you getting the audio to your receiver via Toslink or analogue? Have you tried changing the audio settings in the players setup?
Robert D is offline  
post #469 of 4647 Old 01-25-2007, 02:44 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Your best bet is to cycle thru the AUDIO button on the remote when the High screeching starts. It will go thru the 3 different languages but when it comes back to english it will stop. That should work for awhile. How long I am not sure. Just do it though...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #470 of 4647 Old 01-25-2007, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
 
applejackaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: In a Joshua tree forest
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Gammans View Post

Just got my HD-XA2 from VE and have already noted two big problems:

(1) The audio on all multi-channel outputs (5.1 analog, optical and coaxial digital) has a bad distortion problem. With both of the discs I tried (Batman Begins and Brokeback Mountain) I had to turn the XA2 off and then on again because the first time I try to play the disc the audio sounds all scratchy and off-pitch.

(2) The player is connected to my Lumagen VisionHDP processor's DVI1 port (I run all my connections through the Lumagen--only one DVI cable runs to the projector). I have noted that if the projector and/or Lumagen are already on and I turn the XA2 on last, I get nothing but white snow. I have to physically unplug and plug in the HDMI cable for a picture to appear.

Not a good start for the HD-DVD half of my Neutral Zone, especially compared to the flawless performance I experienced with the other half. Hopefully the latest firmware update will fix both of these issues. I can live with the HD-DVD player having to be the first thing turned on, but that audio problem is a deal-killer.

The white snow happens both with my XA2 and my DVI TV input and my A1 to my DVI computer monitor. Switching to another input and back solves the problem in both cases. Any one else?
applejackaz is offline  
post #471 of 4647 Old 01-25-2007, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Gammans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Brambleton, VA (Suburban Washington, DC)
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert D View Post

How are you getting the audio to your receiver via Toslink or analogue? Have you tried changing the audio settings in the players setup?

I'm not at home right now but I'm using whatever the default setting for audio is "out-of-the-box". When I get home tonight I'll try some of the other settings to see if that ameliorates the problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Your best bet is to cycle thru the AUDIO button on the remote when the High screeching starts. It will go thru the 3 different languages but when it comes back to english it will stop. That should work for awhile. How long I am not sure. Just do it though...

Sounds like you've encountered this issue before. Sorry, but that's not an acceptable solution... the screeching is REALLY bad. Hopefully Robert's suggestion will cure this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by applejackaz View Post

The white snow happens both with my XA2 and my DVI TV input and my A1 to my DVI computer monitor. Switching to another input and back solves the problem in both cases. Any one else?

And it sounds like you have encountered this issue before. I played with the unit some more this morning before coming to work, and the thing is, even if I turn on the XA2 first I'm not always guaranteed that I won't get snow. In other words, the snow workaround I described above isn't consistently occurring.
Scott Gammans is offline  
post #472 of 4647 Old 01-25-2007, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bwclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Redwood Empire
Posts: 1,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Installed the XA2 a couple of days ago and so far so good!
Excellent operation w/o any issues. PQ/SQ is great.

Very pleased with units operation and performance.....great job Toshiba

HD DVD ROCKS!
bwclark is offline  
post #473 of 4647 Old 01-25-2007, 08:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 19,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 291
The Firmware Update thread is swamped with posts about the A2 update, so I've stopped reading it. Can someone post here when the XA2 update is made available?

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #474 of 4647 Old 01-25-2007, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bferr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Somewhere in the back of my mind
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Gammans View Post

Just got my HD-XA2 from VE...

The audio on all multi-channel outputs (5.1 analog, optical and coaxial digital) has a bad distortion problem. With both of the discs I tried (Batman Begins and Brokeback Mountain) I had to turn the XA2 off and then on again because the first time I try to play the disc the audio sounds all scratchy and off-pitch.

Not a good start for the HD-DVD half of my Neutral Zone, especially compared to the flawless performance I experienced with the other half. [That] audio problem is a deal-killer.

I encounted the exact same issue with my XA2, along with several other issues, and it was a deal-killer for me since there was no rhyme or reason to it that I could detect. I went back to the A2 and all has been well since.
bferr1 is offline  
post #475 of 4647 Old 01-25-2007, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Gammans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Brambleton, VA (Suburban Washington, DC)
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bferr1 View Post

I encounted the exact same issue with my XA2, along with several other issues, and it was a deal-killer for me since there was no rhyme or reason to it that I could detect. I went back to the A2 and all has been well since.

A coworker of mine also has the HD-A2 and reports no problems with his player, either. I'll tell you what, if I can't get this thing to work I'm sending it back to VE for an A2. This was supposed to be an interim player anyway, since I was planning on selling it as soon as an HD-DVD player with 7.1 analog outputs surfaces.
Scott Gammans is offline  
post #476 of 4647 Old 01-25-2007, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
hdtvhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadassBuddy View Post

G-damnit! The device worked like a charm for several days. Got to enjoy Jet Li's Fearless in hi-def, several standard-def films, but started to watch Batman Begins today and stopped about 30 mins into the film. When firing it back up a couple hours later, the device no longer reads ANY hi-def DVDs. Getting the error: This disc is not DVD format. Cannot play the disc.

My a$$ it's not. The player has suddenly turned into a non-hi-def DVD player. Standards play fine. Fookin lemon. Toshi is going to fix the device but c'mon, 5 days after receiving it? Do I follow through with the Toshi service and settle for a 5-day-old refurbed device, or do I contact the vendor?

Thanks folks


This is why more CE companies should step into the Production of HD DVD players.
Giving the consumer choices. As of today Toshiba being the only player in the game, does not pressure them into extensive Quality and control before releasing on the market.
Another thing,. Most of you should not be all that surprise with Toshiba anyway. It's not like they have been known for putting out top notch products prior to HD DVD. They have always been a so so brand in terms of real good quality.
They just happen to be the only player in town making the stand alone players, so therefore we are forced to go with them should we want one.
hdtvhdtv is offline  
post #477 of 4647 Old 01-25-2007, 02:59 PM
Member
 
BadassBuddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvhdtv View Post

This is why more CE companies should step into the Production of HD DVD players.
Giving the consumer choices. As of today Toshiba being the only player in the game, does not pressure them into extensive Quality and control before releasing on the market.
Another thing,. Most of you should not be all that surprise with Toshiba anyway. It's not like they have been known for putting out top notch products prior to HD DVD. They have always been a so so brand in terms of real good quality.
They just happen to be the only player in town making the stand alone players, so therefore we are forced to go with them should we want one.

After a couple of hard/soft resets the unit is working flawlessly and totally mind-blowing, but i agree, it's too bad Toshi is the only competitor in the market. If you have the cash and are dying for Hi-Def ASAP, get this unit. Patience, however, is a virtue, especially in the electronics industry.
BadassBuddy is offline  
post #478 of 4647 Old 01-25-2007, 03:10 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 89
I agree 100% with your post!

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is online now  
post #479 of 4647 Old 01-25-2007, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Gammans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Brambleton, VA (Suburban Washington, DC)
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good news! I figured out both issues with my HD-XA2.

The white snow issue was caused by the Lumagen VisionHDP scaler being turned on before the HD-DVD player was fully booted up. The XA2 has to be turned on and must go through enough of its boot-up sequence to get to the point where "HD-DVD" shows on the display. Once it's gotten that far, I can turn on the VisionHDP. I'll just have to program the startup macro on my MX-3000 universal remote to start the XA2 and then wait about a minute before turning on the scaler. It doesn't seem to matter whether my InFocus 333 projector is on before or after any of this, btw... it's the scaler timing that's key.

The sound issue was solved exactly the opposite way: the Outlaw 990 preprocessor has to be on before the XA2 is turned on. It doesn't matter whether I'm using the SPDIF or 5.1 analog outputs, and it doesn't matter whether the SPDIF is set for Bitstream or PCM.

So to summarize, the startup sequence needs to be:
  • Projector (can come on at any time)
  • Audio preprocessor/amplifier
  • HD-XA2
  • Wait ~ 1 minute
  • Scaler
The next test will be whether the XA2 works with the HDMI switcher I bought to switch three of my three high-def sources (the XA2, my DMP-BD10, and my high-def TiVo). I'm crossing my fingers!
Scott Gammans is offline  
post #480 of 4647 Old 01-25-2007, 06:25 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great detective work Scott. Very happy you solved the issues.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off