Tosh HD-XA2 1080p HD DVD - First End User Reports!: USERS ONLY PLEASE! - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gosawx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: other side of MA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fernalfer View Post

Ok i have the Yamaha RX-V1700 with the analog ins so it should not be an issue. Want to make sure i can reap all the benefits from the HD-DVD player before i go and spend this kind of money on it.


Just get two sets of Component cables to run the 5.1 audio ( about $30-$50). You won't be dissapointed.
gosawx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 08:18 AM
Senior Member
 
fernalfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gosawx View Post

Just get two sets of Component cables to run the 5.1 audio ( about $30-$50). You won't be dissapointed.

Component Cables for Audio?
fernalfer is offline  
post #543 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gosawx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: other side of MA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fernalfer View Post

Component Cables for Audio?


you really need just 6 RCA type cables, and I found that buying 2 sets of component cables made wire management easier.
gosawx is offline  
post #544 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 6,909
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 582 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by gosawx View Post

you really need just 6 RCA type cables, and I found that buying 2 sets of component cables made wire management easier.

Reasoable, custom and high quality..

Blue Jeans MC Audio Cables

Add techflex and it's all "one" cable.
FilmMixer is offline  
post #545 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 09:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,341
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 506 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trackman View Post

However, even with greater volume, the DD track on either LS or VH wouldn't have touched the DTS track on SPR, even though the bit rate is similar. I don't mean it was louder - I mean it was far more defined.

Different movie. Different sound mix. Apples and oranges.

Try comparing the HD DVD to the DVD edition of the same movie.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #546 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Gammans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Brambleton, VA (Suburban Washington, DC)
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FilmMixer View Post

Reasoable, custom and high quality..

Blue Jeans MC Audio Cables

Add techflex and it's all "one" cable.

I have three of these (two 7.1's and one 5.1) and they're great. Unfortunately, I'm probably going to wind up selling them very shortly, as I've come to the conclusion that there is just no satisfactory way to switch multi-channel surround sound using RCA-type cables (I only have one set of 7.1 inputs on my preamp and two high-def audio sources).

PM me if you might be interested in buying one of these cable sets.
Scott Gammans is offline  
post #547 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 01:44 PM
Member
 
sungear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I received my XA2 on Saturday.

After taking it out of the box I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the thing looks just sitting there powered off. The construction felt very rigid and sturdy as well.

Picture quality was great; the HDDVD transfer of the film-based source is a superior, high-fidelity transfer (even if some of the film-based source was less than pristine).

Audio was fine, but I am currently using SPDIF untill I can pick up another HDMI cable.

The player operated flawlessly with the five HDDVD titles that I watched this past weekend (Unforgiven, Sahara, MI3, Jarhead, Last Samurai).

Definitely an upgrade from SD DVD, although the SD DVDs that I sampled in it looked better than they have ever looked. Upconversion of SD DVD on my XA2 is better than it was on my Oppo 981, and the Oppo 981 is a very good upconverting player...
sungear is offline  
post #548 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gosawx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: other side of MA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Like most Dads, my vision of enjoying the latest in Hi-Def on my HD-XA2 vanished when my 6 year old brought me his copy of Scooby Doo and the Alien Invaders for us to enjoy together...Yikes

I took this opportunity to play with the noise reduction adjustments for the first time and...Wow!

(bear in mind that I've been playing with all sorts of noise reduction systems during a (recently finished) 20 year carreer in retail consumer electronics, remember the NEC DX-1000?)

This system really rocks! All edge noise was gone, images were cleaner. I don't mean "smushy" like most systems do, the image was just clean

Color me impressed
gosawx is offline  
post #549 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
usualsuspects's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 26
The Reon SD noise filters on the XA2 are the reason I went from an A1 to XA2. Worth every penny for someone who has a medium or larger DVD collection. The filters work, and I'm a little surprised to say that I like the "Egde Enhancement" set to 1 for some of my old soft DVD's.
usualsuspects is offline  
post #550 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
mediahound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'm convinced, I'm ordering an XA2!
mediahound is offline  
post #551 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gosawx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: other side of MA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mediahound View Post

I'm convinced, I'm ordering an XA2!


you wanna borrow my copy of Scooby Doo and the Alien Invaders?
gosawx is offline  
post #552 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 02:51 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mediahound View Post

I'm convinced, I'm ordering an XA2!

Absolutely the best a/v device you could add to upgrade any HT system. Enjoy!

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #553 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 03:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mystery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought it, tried it, but couldn't see anything over HDMI, not even SD DVD. The XA2 just refused to play nicely with my Optoma H78 projector no matter what I tried, different cables, with and without the Monoprice 5 x 1 switcher, starting up source and display in different order, you name it, I tried it and I couldn't even get a snowy picture or sparklies.

So I had to return it and I'm presently evaluating both an A2 and an RCA HDV5000 (re-badged A1). The RCA connects immediately but the A2 takes a full 2 minutes to do the handshake each and every time I try, with and without the switcher.

By the way, while the XA2 was in my home, I did get a chance to try HD DVD over component and I've got to say that the XA2 puts out an image over component that rivals the A2's and RCA's image over HDMI.

I only wish it had worked for me. Maybe next projector.

Wayne
mystery is offline  
post #554 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gosawx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: other side of MA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mystery View Post

I bought it, tried it, but couldn't see anything over HDMI, not even SD DVD. The XA2 just refused to play nicely with my Optoma H78 projector no matter what I tried, different cables, with and without the Monoprice 5 x 1 switcher, starting up source and display in different order, you name it, I tried it and I couldn't even get a snowy picture or sparklies.

So I had to return it and I'm presently evaluating both an A2 and an RCA HDV5000 (re-badged A1). The RCA connects immediately but the A2 takes a full 2 minutes to do the handshake each and every time I try, with and without the switcher.

By the way, while the XA2 was in my home, I did get a chance to try HD DVD over component and I've got to say that the XA2 puts out an image over component that rivals the A2's and RCA's image over HDMI.

I only wish it had worked for me. Maybe next projector.

Wayne

did you make sure that the switch on the front was set to "2"?
gosawx is offline  
post #555 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mystery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh yes! Trust me. This XA2 just wasn't compatible with my projector. I guess I could have tried another one but I figured the chances of the first one being a bum unit were remote. Oh well. Maybe next generation and XA3?

Wayne
mystery is offline  
post #556 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 03:41 PM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,961
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:


By the way, while the XA2 was in my home, I did get a chance to try HD DVD over component and I've got to say that the XA2 puts out an image over component that rivals the A2's and RCA's image over HDMI.

That's not really a surprise. The A1 puts out excellent analog video as well. If the display handles component input competently, any difference is going to be minor, if noticeable, when comparing apples to apples (same resolution, etc).

larry

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #557 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 03:45 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wayne, I have one of my A2s connected to the Optoma HD79 and it works perfectly. I know the XA2 would perform as well on the HD79, but of course, I have not tried the HD78. I am very surprised you had any trouble.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #558 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 04:45 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
alfbinet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Old Brooklyn (Cleveland), Ohio
Posts: 3,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

Absolutely the best a/v device you could add to upgrade any HT system. Enjoy!

-Robert

Robert,

I am loving the XA2.

Jim

Chad Billheimer rocks as a ISF Calibrator for Ohio.
Roller Coaster season is upon us. Proud member of American Coaster Enthusiasts (ACE) Woodies Rule!
alfbinet is offline  
post #559 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 04:53 PM
Senior Member
 
mediahound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Does the XA2 come with an HDMI cable? Or should I plan to source this separately?
mediahound is offline  
post #560 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 04:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Bull1962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Jacksonville,Florida
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mediahound View Post

Does the XA2 come with an HDMI cable? Or should I plan to source this separately?

...I'm afraid it does'nt...
Bull1962 is offline  
post #561 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mystery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, Ontario Canada
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Robert,

I'm glad to hear that your H79 isn't misbehaving.

I don't know why the XA2 wouldn't work at all over HDMI. It seems each device reacts differently with my projector. I wish the A2 wouldn't take 2 minutes to sync with it. It's kind of weird I think that the HDV 5000 does the handshake better in my setup than the XA2 or A2.

By the way, I don't know if this should matter or not but I'm going HDMI to DVI. Two minute delay with the A2, no delay with the HDV 5000 and no picture at all from the XA2.

If/when you start shipping to Canada, let it be known!

Wayne
mystery is offline  
post #562 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 05:34 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wayne, I love my northern brothers, but Toshiba and most other CE companies do not permit their USA dealers to ship outside of the US.

BTW, I also have my A2 connected to the Optoma HD79 via HDMI-DVI.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #563 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 08:44 PM
Newbie
 
mikemtl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's been a week since i brought an XA2 home,

And it's very impressive, i recommend this unit to anyone thinking about hd-dvd,

I originally planned on waiting till summer to see what comes out of the blu-ray camp, and maybe the onkyo hd-dvd player announced, but a customer where i work bought the only one we had, and then brought it back after one night when he couldnt get it working with his projector.

after testing it in the store on variopus displays via hdmi and component, i decided the problem was not with the XA2, So what the heck i took the plunge and have not regreted it, this player is quite amazing.

Right out of the box it impresses, the entire machine is shelled in a beautiful brushed "gun" metal finish, and sports an impressive weight!!, and a beautiful black remote, that is very nicely backlit i might add, to bad i won't be using it, using my harmony 880pro instead..

As for performance, so far i'm blown away, i havent tried hdmi as my pio pro-520 only supports component ( i've ordered an hdmi to component converter on ebay). some of the movies i've tested so far include, the mummy, king kong, the hulk, superman returns, casino, serenity, fear and loathing in las vegas, batman begins. All have played flawlessly and have never looked better..load times are reasonable and the fast forward and rewind are acceptable, when you hit FF it pauses for a sec then clunkily forwards ahead, oh well.

One main reason I decided to go ahead and buy one was it seems pretty future proof, it has hdmi 1.3, supports deep color, and dolby true HD.

But I do have one question and maybe someone can answer it, the manual says it only supports DTS core streams and not DTS-HD loseless, BUT if in the future if i buy an A/V reciever that decodes DTS-HD loseless and the fact that it's equipped with HDMI 1.3, will i be able to pass the DTS-HD stream to my amp for external decoding.?

also the only glitch i've noticed, and i don't think it can even be considered a glitch, maybe someone else can report seeing this, when i first turn it on, the unit says WELCOME on its display, but on the tv screen i see a weird bar going down the middle of the screen for about 15 seconds then it disapears and the hd-dvd logo appears, thats it?, a little weird.

Over all i love my new XA2, especially that cool blue light under the unit!!!, owners will know what i'm talking about.
mikemtl is offline  
post #564 of 4649 Old 01-29-2007, 10:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
REFLEX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB - Canada
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I too love my XA2 it is a wonderful player! Great for SD DVDs as well

I support High Definition Content regardless of color!
ISF Calibration is my friend, and should be yours too
Enjoying TrueHD, DTS:MA and LPCM
OAR - What else is there!?
REFLEX is offline  
post #565 of 4649 Old 01-30-2007, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemtl View Post

i've ordered an hdmi to component converter on ebay

Is it HDCP compliant?
Gary J is online now  
post #566 of 4649 Old 01-30-2007, 04:04 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
alfbinet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Old Brooklyn (Cleveland), Ohio
Posts: 3,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemtl View Post

It's been a week since i brought an XA2 home,

And it's very impressive, i recommend this unit to anyone thinking about hd-dvd,

I originally planned on waiting till summer to see what comes out of the blu-ray camp, and maybe the onkyo hd-dvd player announced, but a customer where i work bought the only one we had, and then brought it back after one night when he couldnt get it working with his projector.

after testing it in the store on variopus displays via hdmi and component, i decided the problem was not with the XA2, So what the heck i took the plunge and have not regreted it, this player is quite amazing.

Right out of the box it impresses, the entire machine is shelled in a beautiful brushed "gun" metal finish, and sports an impressive weight!!, and a beautiful black remote, that is very nicely backlit i might add, to bad i won't be using it, using my harmony 880pro instead..

As for performance, so far i'm blown away, i havent tried hdmi as my pio pro-520 only supports component ( i've ordered an hdmi to component converter on ebay). some of the movies i've tested so far include, the mummy, king kong, the hulk, superman returns, casino, serenity, fear and loathing in las vegas, batman begins. All have played flawlessly and have never looked better..load times are reasonable and the fast forward and rewind are acceptable, when you hit FF it pauses for a sec then clunkily forwards ahead, oh well.

One main reason I decided to go ahead and buy one was it seems pretty future proof, it has hdmi 1.3, supports deep color, and dolby true HD.

But I do have one question and maybe someone can answer it, the manual says it only supports DTS core streams and not DTS-HD loseless, BUT if in the future if i buy an A/V reciever that decodes DTS-HD loseless and the fact that it's equipped with HDMI 1.3, will i be able to pass the DTS-HD stream to my amp for external decoding.?

also the only glitch i've noticed, and i don't think it can even be considered a glitch, maybe someone else can report seeing this, when i first turn it on, the unit says WELCOME on its display, but on the tv screen i see a weird bar going down the middle of the screen for about 15 seconds then it disapears and the hd-dvd logo appears, thats it?, a little weird.

Quote:


Over all i love my new XA2, especially that cool blue light under the unit!!!, owners will know what i'm talking about

.

I think it should be red

Chad Billheimer rocks as a ISF Calibrator for Ohio.
Roller Coaster season is upon us. Proud member of American Coaster Enthusiasts (ACE) Woodies Rule!
alfbinet is offline  
post #567 of 4649 Old 01-31-2007, 04:57 AM
Newbie
 
mikemtl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GARY

In the description, it says it completely bypasses hdcp. i read the guys feedback for that product and it seems to work like a charm based on the feedback from past customers
mikemtl is offline  
post #568 of 4649 Old 01-31-2007, 06:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikemtl View Post

Over all i love my new XA2, especially that cool blue light under the unit!!!, owners will know what i'm talking about.

One push on the display button and the blue light is gone. It does make a nice flashlight to tell which side of the combo disc to face up though.

Clark
Clark Burk is offline  
post #569 of 4649 Old 01-31-2007, 10:00 AM
Newbie
 
bmeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just upgraded my HD-A1 to an HD-XA2 two days ago. My display is a Samsung HL-S 5687W (56" DLP) that is supposed to accept 1080P input through HDMI (so says the owner's manual). The XA2 is feeding into a Panasonic Digital receiver on HDMI and from there the signal goes HDMI to the Samsung display.

After setting the XA2's resolution to "Up to 1080P" in the Setup Menu, I loaded my first HD DVD for the new player, The Mummy Returns. The movie played flawlessly and the PQ and audio were excellent, however, the indicator light on the XA2 stayed on 1080i throughout the playback.

Yesterday I called Toshiba and asked them about this and they were unable to shed any light on it. The rep that I spoke to didn't seem too knowledgeable, in fact he suggested I upgrade the firmware (hard to do, since there is not a firmware upgrade available for the XA2 yet!).

Last night I watched Brokeback Mountain and had the same experience - played flawlessly, great PQ and audio, but still no 1080p light on the XA2.

Has anyone had the same experience? Does anyone know why the XA2 won't feed the Samsung 1080p?

Thanks in advance!
bmeli is offline  
post #570 of 4649 Old 01-31-2007, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gosawx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: other side of MA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmeli View Post

I just upgraded my HD-A1 to an HD-XA2 two days ago. My display is a Samsung HL-S 5687W (56" DLP) that is supposed to accept 1080P input through HDMI (so says the owner's manual). The XA2 is feeding into a Panasonic Digital receiver on HDMI and from there the signal goes HDMI to the Samsung display.

After setting the XA2's resolution to "Up to 1080P" in the Setup Menu, I loaded my first HD DVD for the new player, The Mummy Returns. The movie played flawlessly and the PQ and audio were excellent, however, the indicator light on the XA2 stayed on 1080i throughout the playback.

Yesterday I called Toshiba and asked them about this and they were unable to shed any light on it. The rep that I spoke to didn't seem too knowledgeable, in fact he suggested I upgrade the firmware (hard to do, since there is not a firmware upgrade available for the XA2 yet!).

Last night I watched Brokeback Mountain and had the same experience - played flawlessly, great PQ and audio, but still no 1080p light on the XA2.

Has anyone had the same experience? Does anyone know why the XA2 won't feed the Samsung 1080p?

Thanks in advance!

Perhaps the receiver can't accept/re-send 1080p. Have you tried going directly to the TV?
gosawx is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off