Tosh HD-XA2 1080p HD DVD - First End User Reports!: USERS ONLY PLEASE! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4647 Old 12-14-2006, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
InYourEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I see we don't have a thread for this yet, but how about we discuss our reports on the upcoming Toshiba HD-XA2. Mines is scheduled to deliver in two weeks. Let's have some feedback on the first 1080p HD-DVD player ever made.

Cheers!!!
InYourEyes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 09:02 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 256
reopened: I hear some XA2's have been received

Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
Link to sponsors
good to be back to vBulletin
markrubin is offline  
post #3 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
InYourEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I luckily found and bought a HD-XA2 today. The store I bought it from just got it this morning and only received five. I paid $999.99 plus tax for it ($1,080 total). I didn't get much time to play with it, but here are the specs.

1. Structure is very similar to the HD-A2, except in a different top cover and the nice aluminum door at the front.

2. Loading time appears to be two seconds faster with a HD-DVD disc than the HD-A2.

3. Feels three pounds heavier than the HD-A2.

4. Picture quality is slightly better in 1080i (not much difference at all) than the HD-A2.

It was hooked up with my Toshiba MW26H82 26" HD CRT TV/DVD/VCR combo. The TV doesn't accept 1080p resolution, so I'll let someone post another review.

Will get back to you guys later tonight.
InYourEyes is offline  
post #4 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 09:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 377
I would imagine it would be very difficult to tell the difference between these players on a 26" screen.

DavidHir is offline  
post #5 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 09:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 34,645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by InYourEyes View Post

I luckily found and bought a HD-XA2 today. The store I bought it from just got it this morning and only received five. I paid $999.99 plus tax for it ($1,080 total).

This is the AVS Forum equivalent of a religious person seeing the Virgin Mary on a toast (or a profile of Jesus in a spot of grease on the grill). It's a sign from above people, convert to HD-DVD or else!
dad1153 is offline  
post #6 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 09:21 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 256
sticky

Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
Link to sponsors
good to be back to vBulletin
markrubin is offline  
post #7 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 09:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
InYourEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Forgot to mention. My HD-XA2 is Made in China.
InYourEyes is offline  
post #8 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 11:15 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 256
mod

could we please limit posts to USER REPORTS on the XA-2


Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
Link to sponsors
good to be back to vBulletin
markrubin is offline  
post #9 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by markrubin View Post

mod

could we please limit posts to USER REPORTS on the XA-2


Yes!!

So anyone have it paired with a 1080p display?

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #10 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rambler358's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by InYourEyes View Post

I luckily found and bought a HD-XA2 today. The store I bought it from just got it this morning and only received five.

Do you mind telling what store had it?

XA2 + PS3 = Priceless
Rambler358 is offline  
post #11 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
InYourEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rambler358 View Post

Do you mind telling what store had it?

Fry's Electronics in Anaheim, CA. Not sure if they have anymore, so call before you go. Good luck.
InYourEyes is offline  
post #12 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rambler358's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by InYourEyes View Post

Fry's Electronics in Anaheim, CA. Not sure if they have anymore, so call before you go. Good luck.

Was just curious, I've actually already ordered mine from Robert @ VE and should have it this Friday.

XA2 + PS3 = Priceless
Rambler358 is offline  
post #13 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 07:41 PM
Newbie
 
Edward Klehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up the HD-XA2 tonight

Just to preface I am a big DVD collector that only recently starting getting AV equipment to boost the movie viewing experience. As a result may not know that many technical details but will try to make a few comments

Build: Not the armor plated HD-A1 but quite solid. Still a fairly large unit compared to the other DVD players that I have had. Slimmer then the A-1 with what I would call a typical height and fairly deep. Certainly much cooler looking then the A-1

Remote: Same style as the A-1 but much more responsive. Not exactly what I was expecting but an improvement. Better and more readable labels. Personally I do not really care for this style of directional control but maybe that is because I rarely play video games

SetUp: Screens are simular to the A-1 but with a few more options

StartUp: My times were about 30-35 seconds to the welcome screen and about 45 seconds to begin play of HD DVD[King Kong] from power on

Picture: On my 42 inch 1080p LCD I noticed an upgrade in picture over the A-1 via the HDMI output. More then I was expecting Detail and depth in King Kong seemed better to my eyes with more robust blacks

Audio: Functions differently over the analog outputs then the A-1. Hard to specify but the default base level is certainly different

Overall I am pretty pleased with this player so far. Note that in addition to the A-1 which I am now retiring I have the PS3 60 -- Ed
Edward Klehr is offline  
post #14 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 07:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
J y E 4Ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Excellent looking player, feels solid and is rather wide.

I can only acheive 480p on my 50" 720p DVI only Samsung Plasma via my HDMI-DVI adapter coming out of the Onkyo 674 which then connects to the DVI input on the TV.

Yet I switch to the PS3 with the same connection and I can get 1080i.

I can't wait to purchase a 1080p HDMI Plasma or LCD and I might not even wait for HDMI 1.3, that's how much this DVI connection bothers me.

Oh well.

P.S. That is the longest Remote I have ever used! It's like a sword! Looks and feels good though.
J y E 4Ever is offline  
post #15 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 07:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HPforMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you have a digital camera please post pictures if you can.
HPforMe is offline  
post #16 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 07:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gosawx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: other side of MA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by J y E 4Ever View Post

Excellent looking player, feels solid and is rather wide.

I can only acheive 480p on my 50" 720p DVI only Samsung Plasma via my HDMI-DVI adapter coming out of the Onkyo 674 which then connects to the DVI input on the TV.

Yet I switch to the PS3 with the same connection and I can get 1080i.

I can't wait to purchase a 1080p HDMI Plasma or LCD and I might not even wait for HDMI 1.3, that's how much this DVI connection bothers me.

Oh well.

P.S. That is the longest Remote I have ever used! It's like a sword! Looks and feels good though.

Sorry if this is insulting...

Do you go into the menu of the HD-XA2 and ensure that the resolution is set propery...I think it's "up to 720p", or "1080i"?...
gosawx is offline  
post #17 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 08:00 PM
Senior Member
 
dlhoppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by J y E 4Ever View Post

Excellent looking player, feels solid and is rather wide.

I can only acheive 480p on my 50" 720p DVI only Samsung Plasma via my HDMI-DVI adapter coming out of the Onkyo 674 which then connects to the DVI input on the TV.

Yet I switch to the PS3 with the same connection and I can get 1080i.

I can't wait to purchase a 1080p HDMI Plasma or LCD and I might not even wait for HDMI 1.3, that's how much this DVI connection bothers me.

Oh well.

P.S. That is the longest Remote I have ever used! It's like a sword! Looks and feels good though.

This might already be obvious to you, but did you try changing the video output setting to something higher than 480p?
dlhoppe is offline  
post #18 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 08:03 PM
Newbie
 
Edward Klehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alas I do not have any means of digital photography
Edward Klehr is offline  
post #19 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 08:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
J y E 4Ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by gosawx View Post

Sorry if this is insulting...

Do you go into the menu of the HD-XA2 and ensure that the resolution is set propery...I think it's "up to 720p", or "1080i"?...

Not insulted, sometimes the basic things are overlooked.

I do have the setting to 1080i.

As Yoda would say, "Very unfortunate this is".

Will take pics tomorrow. It's a really sexy looking player and yes I just said sexy, sorry, but it is.
J y E 4Ever is offline  
post #20 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ac388's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Made in China = $999
Made in Japan = $499

Something is wrong here. Is it possible that HQV chip worth that much more?

Man see things as they were n say why. I dream of things that never were, n say why not ....... A Perfect PROJECTOR
ac388 is offline  
post #21 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, eh?
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
silly things to check for, you lucky XA2 owners:

1) HDMI>DVI conversion, they get the Studio/PC levels thing sorted out yet?
2) Any hiccups/audio skips/barfs?
3) Do the menus in AVIA line up correctly?
4) Do the CD and DVD layers of DualDiscs play? Does the player magically decode DVD-A?
5) Is there better bass/speaker management facilities in the audio setup?
6) Load times: Can we get standardized testing? for example:

a) time from pressing eject on a powered off machine 'till the tray opens
b) time from when the tray closes after pressing play to when the title screen comes on for HD
c) ditto, but for DVD

thanks ahead of time, kids...

sharkshark is offline  
post #22 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 08:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
J y E 4Ever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkshark View Post

silly things to check for, you lucky XA2 owners:

1) HDMI>DVI conversion, they get the Studio/PC levels thing sorted out yet?
2) Any hiccups/audio skips/barfs?
3) Do the menus in AVIA line up correctly?
4) Do the CD and DVD layers of DualDiscs play? Does the player magically decode DVD-A?
5) Is there better bass/speaker management facilities in the audio setup?
6) Load times: Can we get standardized testing? for example:

a) time from pressing eject on a powered off machine 'till the tray opens
b) time from when the tray closes after pressing play to when the title screen comes on for HD
c) ditto, but for DVD

thanks ahead of time, kids...

As far as I can tell the load times on the XA2 are just as quick as I remember my XBOX 360 add on HD-DVD drive being. Seriously, after reading so many horror stories on how slow the first generation players were, I was pleasantly surprised with the quickness on the XA2! Excelsior!
J y E 4Ever is offline  
post #23 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 09:00 PM
Newbie
 
Edward Klehr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkshark View Post

silly things to check for, you lucky XA2 owners:

1) HDMI>DVI conversion, they get the Studio/PC levels thing sorted out yet?
2) Any hiccups/audio skips/barfs?
3) Do the menus in AVIA line up correctly?
4) Do the CD and DVD layers of DualDiscs play? Does the player magically decode DVD-A?
5) Is there better bass/speaker management facilities in the audio setup?
6) Load times: Can we get standardized testing? for example:

a) time from pressing eject on a powered off machine 'till the tray opens
b) time from when the tray closes after pressing play to when the title screen comes on for HD
c) ditto, but for DVD

thanks ahead of time, kids...

So far no hiccups or audio skips of any kind. Only about 1 hour of movie play and testing with 3 movies but so far very encouraging. By this time my A-1 would have had some type of hiccup

Bass speaker management options in the audio set up appear to be the same as far as I can tell. The default bass level seems lower

There is a setup option for Twin Format Disc with HD DVD or DVD options that the A-1 did not have. I have no such disks to test

I do not use DVI

Will try and do more load time testing tomorrow when I have more play time
Edward Klehr is offline  
post #24 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 09:10 PM
Senior Member
 
brogan2424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up an XA2 tonite from VE (you're the man Robert & it was a pleasure meeting you Kosty) Have it hooked up through a Sony 5200ES receiver (via HDMI) going to a 42" 1080P Westinghouse...i've almost finished watching Serenity (HD-DVD) & the picture is phenomenal!! I have a XA1 hooked up to a Sony 60" SXRD & the Xbox 360 add-on already connected to the Westy...ive compared the add-on (hooked up w/VGA 1080P & component upconverted to 1080P through the 5200ES) & the XA2 (I have 2 copies of Serenity) w/some interesting results...as good as the add-on looked, the XA2 just beats the crap out of it...the picture is w/out a doubt brighter & sharper...really pops off the screen, more so than the add-on which i've been thrilled with (up until now, anyway) i'll try to do some more comparisons as soon as possible....just my initial reactions, but wow...i'm sitting here w/an ear to ear grin like some mental patient enjoying my new toy
brogan2424 is offline  
post #25 of 4647 Old 01-03-2007, 10:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
motoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: California
Posts: 1,622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by J y E 4Ever View Post

Excellent looking player, feels solid and is rather wide.

I can only acheive 480p on my 50" 720p DVI only Samsung Plasma via my HDMI-DVI adapter coming out of the Onkyo 674 which then connects to the DVI input on the TV.

Yet I switch to the PS3 with the same connection and I can get 1080i.

I can't wait to purchase a 1080p HDMI Plasma or LCD and I might not even wait for HDMI 1.3, that's how much this DVI connection bothers me.

Oh well.

P.S. That is the longest Remote I have ever used! It's like a sword! Looks and feels good though.

I think you have the same bug many A2 users have reported with HDMI>DVI setups. If you set the player to "up to 1080i" it will still default to 480p on some DVI equipped displays.

Jim
motoman is offline  
post #26 of 4647 Old 01-04-2007, 03:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
jasonDono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can somebody please tell us how the XA2 handles fastforward and rewind? The A2 pauses first then does a choppy rewind then pauses again when play is resumed then there is no audio for a cople of seconds before normal play. I find it very annoying and am returning my A2 becasue of it. If this does not happen with the XA2, VE here I come! I know it might sound like a petty consideration, but it drives me crazy.

Thanks,
Jason
jasonDono is offline  
post #27 of 4647 Old 01-04-2007, 03:40 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kosty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North East USA
Posts: 14,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by brogan2424 View Post

Picked up an XA2 tonite from VE (you're the man Robert & it was a pleasure meeting you Costi) Have it hooked up through a Sony 5200ES receiver (via HDMI) going to a 42" 1080P Westinghouse...i've almost finished watching Serenity (HD-DVD) & the picture is phenomenal!! I have a XA1 hooked up to a Sony 60" SXRD & the Xbox 360 add-on already connected to the Westy...ive compared the add-on (hooked up w/VGA 1080P & component upconverted to 1080P through the 5200ES) & the XA2 (I have 2 copies of Serenity) w/some interesting results...as good as the add-on looked, the XA2 just beats the crap out of it...the picture is w/out a doubt brighter & sharper...really pops off the screen, more so than the add-on which i've been thrilled with (up until now, anyway) i'll try to do some more comparisons as soon as possible....just my initial reactions, but wow...i'm sitting here w/an ear to ear grin like some mental patient enjoying my new toy

Great to have met you at VE.

Have you tried the standard DVD upconversion yet? I am dying to hear about the Silicon Optix Reon HQV chips performance.

very very jealous of you guys

.
"A lot of good arguments are spoiled by some fool who knows what he is talking about." - Miguel de Unamuno


follow me on Twitter
Kosty is offline  
post #28 of 4647 Old 01-04-2007, 04:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
lastxbr960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glendale, Wi
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brogan2424 View Post

Picked up an XA2 tonite from VE (you're the man Robert & it was a pleasure meeting you Costi) Have it hooked up through a Sony 5200ES receiver (via HDMI) going to a 42" 1080P Westinghouse...i've almost finished watching Serenity (HD-DVD) & the picture is phenomenal!! I have a XA1 hooked up to a Sony 60" SXRD & the Xbox 360 add-on already connected to the Westy...ive compared the add-on (hooked up w/VGA 1080P & component upconverted to 1080P through the 5200ES) & the XA2 (I have 2 copies of Serenity) w/some interesting results...as good as the add-on looked, the XA2 just beats the crap out of it...the picture is w/out a doubt brighter & sharper...really pops off the screen, more so than the add-on which i've been thrilled with (up until now, anyway) i'll try to do some more comparisons as soon as possible....just my initial reactions, but wow...i'm sitting here w/an ear to ear grin like some mental patient enjoying my new toy

Can you or someone else who has extra time in the future, compare 1080i thru component with the 360 addon vs the XA2 for HD and SD using a double layer DVD backup disk with out copy protection?
I am really more interested in SD and component output to see how the special DAC's work.
Thanks ahead of time.
lastxbr960 is offline  
post #29 of 4647 Old 01-04-2007, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bwclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Redwood Empire
Posts: 1,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by motoman View Post

I think you have the same bug many A2 users have reported with HDMI>DVI setups. If you set the player to "up to 1080i" it will still default to 480p on some DVI equipped displays.

Jim

So what will happen if I use an AVR as a switcher with the XA2 HDMI>HDMI on the AVR, and then HDMI>DVI to the HDTV (Panny 1080p)?
bwclark is offline  
post #30 of 4647 Old 01-04-2007, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thehun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wine country CA
Posts: 7,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
What's the load time on this.Can somone clock it?

The Hun
thehun is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off