Does HD-A2 work with recorded HD DVDs? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-02-2007, 01:00 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
markwco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a HD-A2 and read how it of course plays HD DVD's but as well DVD's and DVD-R's but nothing about recorded HD DVD's. Does it play these recorded HD DVD's?
markwco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-02-2007, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsmith901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 8,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Where and how will you manage to produce a HD-DVD recording, unless you live in Japan maybe? Are there any HD-DVD burners available yet for the USA market?

"The truth is out there!"
dsmith901 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-06-2007, 03:49 PM
Member
 
deej84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also have a question about this player. I was just wondering if it produces 1080i over component for hd dvd playback or if its downconvertered to 480p for piracy regulations. I have the player and its at my girlfriends right now but my tv at home only has component output but is a 1080i display. Will I have to buy a new tv or will it work just fine?
deej84 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-06-2007, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Capek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by deej84 View Post

I also have a question about this player. I was just wondering if it produces 1080i over component for hd dvd playback or if its downconvertered to 480p for piracy regulations. I have the player and its at my girlfriends right now but my tv at home only has component output but is a 1080i display. Will I have to buy a new tv or will it work just fine?

It output at 1080i through component. The ICT flag hasn't been employed yet on any disks, and won't be for a while, so you have nothing to worry about.
Capek is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-06-2007, 03:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Richum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston
Posts: 858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markwco View Post

I just purchased a HD-A2 and read how it of course plays HD DVD's but as well DVD's and DVD-R's but nothing about recorded HD DVD's. Does it play these recorded HD DVD's?

You can record HD Video to Standard Definition DVD and play in your A2, here is a link to a sticky in the HD DVD software forum explaining the process and it limitations.

Record HD
Richum is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-06-2007, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gooki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe all the Toshiba's play HD-DVD recordable media. At a few of the insider events a lot of content appeared to be on recordable media, and no mention of "special" players was made.

Hopefully someone else will chime in with 100% confirmation.

International HDDVD Screenshot Archive (Full 1080p Images): www.hdmovies.co.nz
gooki is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off