HD DVD's burned on SD DVD on Xbox 360 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-16-2007, 09:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
psevey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For a few months now I have been burning HD DVD's onto SD DVD's. Of course only holds about 25 minutes of HD DVD footage on a SD DVD. These play great on my Toshiba A1. Excellent close to HD DVD quality. Today I bought the XBox 360 with HD DVD add on. None of "fake" HD DVD's I made on SD DVD will play back on the XBox 360 HD DVD add on but King Kong HD DVD played fine. Has anyone else tried this yet? All my HD footage comes from Canon XHA1 cameras that we use in studio.
psevey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-17-2007, 12:52 AM
Member
 
Peak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since the Fall Dashboard update the 360 can play Windows Media files in their native resolution. You probably burned a file from your Canon camera onto a DVD-R. This is not technically the same as an HD DVD.

Probably, the functionality the 360 provides to play hi-def WMV files only applies to the internal DVD, not the HD DVD add-on.

To my knowledge their is no way to author a proper HD DVD today, but correct me if I'm wrong.
Peak is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-17-2007, 01:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Capek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peak View Post

Since the Fall Dashboard update the 360 can play Windows Media files in their native resolution. You probably burned a file from your Canon camera onto a DVD-R. This is not technically the same as an HD DVD.

Probably, the functionality the 360 provides to play hi-def WMV files only applies to the internal DVD, not the HD DVD add-on.

To my knowledge their is no way to author a proper HD DVD today, but correct me if I'm wrong.

If by proper you mean having HDi functionality, then you're right. But there is a whole thread devoted to the authoring of HD-DVD9's. All the G1 players can play them, and it sounds like the G2 players will be able to with the upcoming firmware update.
Capek is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-17-2007, 03:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bud-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is HD Ulead Movie factory software that will aurthor them to a proper HD-DVD standard.
When i had my A1 it would play .ts files burned on a dvd, dont know if the 360 can do that.

Rumor has it HD-DVD encryption was cracked back in Dec.
Bud-man is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-17-2007, 04:05 AM
Member
 
DigitalMovie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The HD-DVD-Specs allow HD-DVD Content on Standard-DVDs if the size is low, so no HD-DVD is needed. Thx X360 don't support such discs which is a bug. If it has the HD-DVD-Logo it must support these kind of discs.
DigitalMovie is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-17-2007, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wittangamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's no such bug.

The Xbox 360 add-on DOES play HD DVDs on standard DVD-+R blanks IF they are properly authored. I have about a dozen single- and dual-layer discs of HDTV shows recorded OTA. All work fine on my 360.

There's a sticky thread in the HD DVD software forum containing a guide with specific instructions. Follow them exactly and you'll have no problems.
wittangamo is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-17-2007, 11:35 AM
Member
 
DigitalMovie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well okay, then it doesn't player SD-DVDs with HD-Content authored with DVD Studio Pro 4 (Mac).
DigitalMovie is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off