A2/XA2 firmware upgrade 1.2/1.3 [ remove disc first!] - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 07:34 AM - Thread Starter
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tell us what you think about the latest upgrade and fixes.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 07:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,829
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 132
where is it?

Post a link?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #3 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 08:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 17,575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Robert....I've haven't been teased like that since High School.

"Retired" AVS Moderator
rboster is offline  
post #4 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 210 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Hi Robert,
Just sent u an email at your business address with some questions.

ss9001

Steve
ss9001 is online now  
post #5 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrkrispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope this means there will be an update for the G1 players soon.
mrkrispy is offline  
post #6 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jwv651's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 5,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just tried...nothing yet. "could not find out server" ????

Joe V.
jwv651 is offline  
post #7 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
dlhoppe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: WI
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why do you suppose they won't announce exactly when it will be available? To prevent overloading their server? That almost doesn't make sense. As soon as the word is out here on AVS, everyone will go after it in a mad rush. It's just odd with all this teasing and hinting going on.
dlhoppe is offline  
post #8 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 5,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwv651 View Post

I just tried...nothing yet. "could not find out server" ????

you shouldn't be getting that message if everything is setup properly and you don't have a disc in the player when you try to update...you should be getting a message that the firmware has been updated already or something along those lines.

i was getting that message and had made certain that the network was configured properly (either putting all numbers, including dns, in manually or selecting DHCP "on" AND DNS "on"; when i had problems with the xa1 it was due to dns settings) which it was; then someone posted that if you have a disc in the player while trying to update, which you shouldn't (and i did ), you will get that message...sure enough, i ejected the disc this morning (actually left the tray open with the disc sitting in the tray) and when i tried to update i got the already updated message instead of the can not find out server message.
BenDover is offline  
post #9 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jwv651's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 5,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenDover View Post

you shouldn't be getting that message if everything is setup properly and you don't have a disc in the player when you try to update...you should be getting a message that the firmware has been updated already or something along those lines.

i was getting that message and had made certain that the network was configured properly (either putting all numbers, including dns, in manually or selecting DHCP "on" AND DNS "on"; when i had problems with the xa1 it was due to dns settings) which it was; then someone posted that if you have a disc in the player while trying to update, which you shouldn't (and i did ), you will get that message...sure enough, i ejected the disc this morning (actually left the tray open with the disc sitting in the tray) and when i tried to update i got the already updated message instead of the can not find out server message.

No disk in player I didn't have this problem with my A1 updates...I will try adding the DNS manually and see if that helps ...Thanks

Joe V.
jwv651 is offline  
post #10 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Schils's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is it to soon to look/search/ask for the downloadable-burn to disc method file? I also get the "could not find out server" thing.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Latest Blu-Rays Bought: Star Trek Into Darkness, World War Z, Iron Man 3, Halloween 35th, This is The End, The Conjuring, The World's End, You're Next, Thor 2, Gravity, Noah, Cpt. America Winter Soldier
Schils is online now  
post #11 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vancouver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 3,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Strange. My gut tells me Robert would not start this thread unless there was an update, but I check like you guys and nothing.

mmmm
vancouver is offline  
post #12 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 08:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rboster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 17,575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by vancouver View Post

Strange. My gut tells me Robert would not start this thread unless there was an update, but I check like you guys and nothing.

mmmm

I agree. My guess is we'll know shortly who is hosting it or if it's available through ethernet connection.

"Retired" AVS Moderator
rboster is offline  
post #13 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JeffY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schils View Post

Is it to soon to look/search/ask for the downloadable-burn to disc method file? I also get the "could not find out server" thing.

I had a few problems... but the following worked for me.

After changing the ethernet settings reboot to make them apply.

If you set DCHP to ON, also set DNS to ON in the DHCP settings.
JeffY is offline  
post #14 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So, has anyone actually been able to DL the update yet?

I just tried at 9:30 am pacific time and it says there is no update....

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #15 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JeffY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: England
Posts: 3,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe you already have it? I downloaded it Yesterday, mines an E1 though.
JeffY is offline  
post #16 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Schils's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffY View Post

I had a few problems... but the following worked for me.

After changing the ethernet settings reboot to make them apply.

If you set DCHP to ON, also set DNS to ON in the DHCP settings.

Thank you! Will try this pronto! =)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Latest Blu-Rays Bought: Star Trek Into Darkness, World War Z, Iron Man 3, Halloween 35th, This is The End, The Conjuring, The World's End, You're Next, Thor 2, Gravity, Noah, Cpt. America Winter Soldier
Schils is online now  
post #17 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffY View Post

Maybe you already have it? I downloaded it Yesterday, mines an E1 though.


No my version is still 1.0...thank you though.

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #18 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 10:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,829
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 132
I just connected to the internet via broadband, and tried an update a minute ago. None is yet available (already updated mesage).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #19 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebland View Post

I just connected to the internet via broadband, and tried an update a minute ago. None is yet available (already updated mesage).

Same here....

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #20 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
uzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will they post it someplace on the Toshiba site as an ISO or something? It's such a hassle for me to drag ethernet into the AV area.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
uzun is offline  
post #21 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rambler358's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 1,010
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uzun View Post

It's such a hassle for me to drag ethernet into the AV area.

Try the powerline ethernet adapters - makes it very easy to get your ethernet connection just about anywhere in your house or apt.

XA2 + PS3 = Priceless
Rambler358 is offline  
post #22 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jack Gilvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Jersey,USA
Posts: 6,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Do I need to be connected to my display to do this? Computer's on another floor...

Jack Gilvey
SVS Customer Service

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jack Gilvey is offline  
post #23 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gosawx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: other side of MA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Gilvey View Post

Do I need to be connected to my display to do this? Computer's on another floor...


unless you can memorize the keystroke sequence to perform the upgrade...
gosawx is offline  
post #24 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 94
I'll wait for some of you guys to do it first. Then when I get home, I'll try it.
metalsaber is offline  
post #25 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 10:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
thebland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Detroit, Michigan USA
Posts: 23,829
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Still not posted...


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


There are more than a handful of [op amps] that sound so good that most designers want to be using them as opposed to discreet transistors. Dave Reich, Theta 2009
thebland is online now  
post #26 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jack Gilvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Jersey,USA
Posts: 6,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gosawx View Post

unless you can memorize the keystroke sequence to perform the upgrade...

Gotcha.

Jack Gilvey
SVS Customer Service

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jack Gilvey is offline  
post #27 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 10:59 AM
Member
 
mattalgrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm excited! I don't see it yet.

More content (COUGH) does not equal better content.
Better movies (COUGH) equal better content.
Awesome PQ/AQ are just bonuses.
mattalgrand is offline  
post #28 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jack Gilvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Jersey,USA
Posts: 6,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is one of the most exciting things I've ever been part of, and I want you guys to know I wouldn't want to go through it with anyone else. Now, back to memorizing...

Jack Gilvey
SVS Customer Service

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jack Gilvey is offline  
post #29 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
deez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca.
Posts: 2,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Gilvey View Post

This is one of the most exciting things I've ever been part of, and I want you guys to know I wouldn't want to go through it with anyone else. Now, back to memorizing...


Listen this isn't the birth of a baby or anything.....

XBOX Gamertag:deezusmusic
deez is offline  
post #30 of 1198 Old 01-18-2007, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, guys, I should have said, I am expecting the update by the end of business tomorrow.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
Closed Thread HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off