A2 / XA2 1.2 , 1.3, and 1.5 ISO available for download - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
squidboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Toshiba has finally made OFFICIAL ISOs available for download:

http://209.167.114.38/support/ceg/downloads/


This thread has outlived it's usefulness, but I'll leave the information below for historical purposes and ISO burning info.


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


We now have unofficial ISOs of the Toshiba HD-A2 firmware upgrade, versions 1.2 and 1.3 and XA2 version 1.3. These are images of the discs mailed by Toshiba. The U.S. and Canadian versions are apparently different, but we have no specifics.

Canadian A2 1.2 ISO file (ripped by AESO)

MD5 => 60a8df0eb61dd1778440f122f03f2b75

U.S. A2 1.2 ISO file (ripped by Litespeed)

MD5 => d059ba69fa0e6f6555e27792d134695d

U.S. A2 1.2 NRG file (ripped by Litespeed)

MD5 => 3cb328ae4c73251d4cdebb098dd8d644

U.S. A2 1.3 ISO file (ripped by TheCrow1994)

MD5 => fc20dc05cc7fa7333f864be99fa5aaad

U.S. XA2 1.3 NRG file (ripped by scorpion90)

MD5 => 5bbed0028beed0bb1b289ee3a50c83a5

Official XA2 upgrade instructions (also apply to A2)

Instructions on use:
  • Download above file
  • Burn ISO as an image to disc
  • Insert in A2/XA2
  • Confirm that you want to upgrade (TV needs to be on)

Some extra tips, courtesy ADBNZ:
  • Use a good quality, unscratched blank CD-ROM.
  • Burn at a slow speed (4-8x).
  • Take the disc straight to the player and upgrade.
  • If the update fails and your machine freezes, hard reboot it. It will remain at its current firmware version.
  • Try again with a new CD-ROM.

If you don't know how to burn an ISO properly, see this link. Mac OS X users see here.

ADBNZ has also created a nice webpage with more detailed instructions

MagicISO doesn't seem to like the ISO, even though that is what was used to create it.

Success has been reported with this. Others have had success with Nero, OS X and the Linux "cdrecord" tool.
squidboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, eh?
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
thank you for this, my player's out a friends right now (useless to me pending the update) but it is much appreciated the work you and others put in to host this (besides broken promises from others to have this up sooner in the week).

Cheers!

sharkshark is offline  
post #3 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 04:19 PM
Senior Member
 
ADBNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I burned this to CD-ROM using Nero Express image burner with no problems. Don't have an A2, so can't test it, however.
ADBNZ is offline  
post #4 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, eh?
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Burned the ISO with Nero, inserted disc and got a "do you want to update?" screen... Currently sitting on "Updating, do not turn off..."

Curious about when kartman got the error along the process.

*****

Step 1-4 successful, sitting at 'step 5/5' with the power button blinking and "updating..." still on the screen.

********

HEY HEY!!!!

"Update 1.2/T19M"!!!

Step 5/5 finished, the tray ejected and the power went off... I pulled out the disc, pushed power, and the tray closed...

About to test HDMI>DVI now.

sharkshark is offline  
post #5 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 05:00 PM
Member
 
baymanm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sharkshark did it finish? I got an error when I tried.
baymanm is offline  
post #6 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 05:16 PM
Newbie
 
450slc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Burned the ISO to a CD, loaded it up and follwed the prompts. Steps 1-4 took less than 5 min...step 5 maybe another 4. Ver 1.2 upgrade a success.

thanks a bunch
450slc is offline  
post #7 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
ADBNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it's anything like the HD-XA1 firmware upgrade, things to try:
  • Use a good quality, unscratched blank CD-ROM.
  • Burn at a slow speed (4-8x).
  • Take the disc straight to the player and upgrade.
  • If the update fails and your machine freezes, hard reboot it. It will remain at its current firmware version.
  • Try again with a new CD-ROM.
ADBNZ is offline  
post #8 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 05:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, eh?
Posts: 2,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
1080i over DVI: Confirmed on my Sony RPTV

as above, burned at 4x speed (always burn slowest for FW discs, of course), 10 minutes tops and the thing was done.

Huzzah! Here's hoping that Toshiba gets their heads out of their asses and does this right, the fact that its not working for some people is a bit distressing...

sharkshark is offline  
post #9 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 05:30 PM
Member
 
jellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Athens, Ga
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Burned the ISO with Mac OS X, updated A2 with no problems. The A2 is now at 1.2/T19M.

Thank you to squidboy for hosting the file and the helpful instructions.
jellow is offline  
post #10 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
ADBNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool. It looks like it's a successful file. I will begin mirroring it shortly.
ADBNZ is offline  
post #11 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 05:48 PM
Member
 
buonforte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I had no problem either. Used Nero Express. Popped it in the player, and in 5 minutes I had version 1.2. Everything seems fine.

Thanks,
Alan
buonforte is offline  
post #12 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
jedi.night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I burn it to a DVD+R?
jedi.night is offline  
post #13 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
ADBNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mirror 3
Mirror 4

Note, these ISOs are zipped for file integrity purposes. Unzip before burning!

Adam
ADBNZ is offline  
post #14 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 06:08 PM
Member
 
baymanm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: California
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, update - IT WORKED. I had to burn it at 4X and burn the disc at once, but it worked just fine. The first time through I burned it at 24X and track by track. Enjoy, Upgraded and working.
baymanm is offline  
post #15 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 06:13 PM
Newbie
 
450slc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats what I tried first, it just put a message on the screen saying it was the wrong type of disk.
450slc is offline  
post #16 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
jedi.night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I downloaded from mirror 1 and 2, it said that there weren't any files in the Zip and that there was an error.

Going to try mirror 3 and 4 now...


1 and 2 gave me that it's an unknown format or damaged message.
jedi.night is offline  
post #17 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
ADBNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mirrors 1 and 2 aren't zipped: they are the intact, uncompressed ISOs. 3 and 4 are the ISO compressed as a ZIP file (to be sure the files remain fully intact).
ADBNZ is offline  
post #18 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 06:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
jedi.night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADBNZ View Post

Mirrors 1 and 2 aren't zipped: they are the intact, uncompressed ISOs. 3 and 4 are the ISO compressed as a ZIP file (to be sure the files remain fully intact).


mirror 1 and 2 showed up as being zipped for me once they were finished.

nevermind...opps...
jedi.night is offline  
post #19 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
jedi.night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using nero I burned the ISO to a CD-R and DVD+R and in both cases I got the message " This Disk in not DVD format cannot play the disk"
jedi.night is offline  
post #20 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
ADBNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Burn only to CD-ROM: DVD doesn't work. That error message sounds like the CD-ROM hasn't been burnt as an image but as a data disc. Are you simply dragging the file onto the CD and burning, or are you telling Nero that you are burning an ISO image, then asked to locate it ('File' > 'Burn Image' then change file format to 'All Files' and browse to the ISO on mine)?

Adam
ADBNZ is offline  
post #21 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 06:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
jedi.night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADBNZ View Post

Burn only to CD-ROM: DVD doesn't work. That error message sounds like the CD-ROM hasn't been burnt as an image but as a data disc. Are you simply dragging the file onto the CD and burning, or are you telling Nero that you are burning an ISO image, then asked to locate it?

Adam


Did it as a CD and using nero for a CD ISO. Then selected the File and added to the process and hit burn....

Not sure what's wrong.
jedi.night is offline  
post #22 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 06:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
jedi.night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADBNZ View Post

Burn only to CD-ROM: DVD doesn't work. That error message sounds like the CD-ROM hasn't been burnt as an image but as a data disc. Are you simply dragging the file onto the CD and burning, or are you telling Nero that you are burning an ISO image, then asked to locate it ('File' > 'Burn Image' then change file format to 'All Files' and browse to the ISO on mine)?

Adam

I will try all files and see if that works
jedi.night is offline  
post #23 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 07:01 PM
Senior Member
 
ADBNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the image is burnt correctly you shouldn't see any files listed on the burnt CD through Windows Explorer (it should appear to be a blank CD-ROM, the actual content can only be viewed with software such as Alcohol 120%). If you see the ISO file, the disc has been burnt as a data disc, not as an image, and won't work.

Mirror 5 (for luck )

Adam
ADBNZ is offline  
post #24 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 07:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
jedi.night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADBNZ View Post

If the image is burnt correctly you shouldn't see any files listed on the burnt CD through Windows Explorer (it should appear to be a blank CD-ROM, the actual content can only be viewed with software such as Alcohol 120%). If you see the ISO file, the disc has been burnt as a data disc, not as an image, and won't work.

Mirror 5 (for luck )

Adam


Somethings not right then...

I can see the file and it looks like a zip file on the disk. When I access it through windows.

Even though the image was burns from mirror 1. It still looks like a zip once downloaded to the desktop.

I will download the zip file from your mirror 5 and unzip and go for it again.
jedi.night is offline  
post #25 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 07:10 PM
Senior Member
 
ADBNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm. Take a look here or here. Might help. Also, I'm assuming that the file you are using as an image source has a .iso extension (ie. that you unzipped the iso file first, if you downloaded from 3,4 or 5)?

Adam
ADBNZ is offline  
post #26 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
squidboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedi.night View Post

Did it as a CD and using nero for a CD ISO. Then selected the File and added to the process and hit burn....

Not sure what's wrong.

When you bring up Nero, a wizard will pop up. Hit cancel. Then hit (at least in my version) "Recorder->Burn Image". Pick the ISO, and you should be good to go. Make sure you pick the slowest speed you can, usually 4X these days. Also pick "Disc-At-Once".
squidboy is offline  
post #27 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Snickering Hound's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Slowest my burning software would go was 8x.

Burned my disc, finished steps 1-5 in about 20minutes.

Update 1.2/T19T

Thanks for hosting this!

"We did not have business relations with that company, Fuh Yuan."
Snickering Hound is offline  
post #28 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 07:32 PM
Senior Member
 
ADBNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick steps to burn an ISO to CD-ROM:

1) Download and install ISO Recorder (for Windows XP SP2 and W2K3 only. 360KB).
2) Load a blank CD-ROM into your burner.
3) Browse to the ISO file on your computer using Windows Explorer.
4) Right-click the ISO file.
5) Select 'Copy Image to CD'. The application will start.
6) Click the 'Next' button. The image will be burnt and the CD-ROM ejected. Done.

Adam
ADBNZ is offline  
post #29 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 08:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
jedi.night's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADBNZ View Post

Quick steps to burn an ISO to CD-ROM:

1) Download and install ISO Recorder (for Windows XP SP2 and W2K3 only. 360KB).
2) Load a blank CD-ROM into your burner.
3) Browse to the ISO file on your computer using Windows Explorer.
4) Right-click the ISO file.
5) Select 'Copy Image to CD'. The application will start.
6) Click the 'Next' button. The image will be burnt and the CD-ROM ejected. Done.

Adam



This seems to have worked....

I must have been doing something wrong with nero.

But now the disk is recognized by the player.

Thanks for the help.

Everyone else, thanks as well. Still a bit frustrated I couldn't get the ISO to work with nero....

Thanks all.

Currently at "updating, do not turn off" screen for several minutes.
jedi.night is offline  
post #30 of 312 Old 02-02-2007, 08:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 21,990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Very informative thread! Thanks guys...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off