XA2 With Pio Elite 74TXVi Issue! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 03-03-2007, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey Guys,
Im having a problem that I was not experiencing with my A1. I just received teh XA2 today and it seems that the picture is not getting passed through my receiver to my plasma. I have a Pio Elite 74TXVi HDMI receiver and a Pio PDP-5051 Plasma. When I hook the HDMI cable directly to the plasma I get a picture. When I hook it up to my receiver I get the sound from the receiver but no picture on the plasma. All other HDMi sources (HTPC and Sammy Blu Ray BD-P1000) work fine through the receiver. Any ideas guys? Thanks.
-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 03-03-2007, 10:11 AM
AST
Senior Member
 
AST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought I read about a guy on another home theater forum that had an issue like this and he needed a ROM update. Have you had the receiver more than one year?
AST is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 03-03-2007, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes I have. I ahve ahd the receiver for a little more than a year but I when I bought it it was an open box so it is actually older than that. Do I just call Pioneer about updating my receiver?
-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is online now  
post #4 of 23 Old 03-03-2007, 10:20 AM
AST
Senior Member
 
AST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evangelo2 View Post

Yes I have. I ahve ahd the receiver for a little more than a year but I when I bought it it was an open box so it is actually older than that. Do I just call Pioneer about updating my receiver?
-Evangelo2


Sent you a PM.
AST is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 03-03-2007, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cvetan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I had the same problem! Same receiver I have, everything else works fine besides the XA2. I ended up returning my player back to Amazon, thought it was defective?

AST-

Is there something you know about this?? How do I go about getting this "ROM" update?

Thanks,

Mike
Cvetan1 is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 03-03-2007, 11:26 AM
AST
Senior Member
 
AST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cvetan1 View Post

I had the same problem! Same receiver I have, everything else works fine besides the XA2. I ended up returning my player back to Amazon, thought it was defective?

AST-

Is there something you know about this?? How do I go about getting this "ROM" update?

Thanks,

Mike


Sent you a PM.
AST is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 03-06-2007, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My receiver is in for firmware/ROM updating. I will report back as soon as it is back from being fixed if this solved my issues with the HD-XA2.
-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is online now  
post #8 of 23 Old 03-06-2007, 01:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cvetan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Hello Evangelo2,

Please report back and let us know the turn around time on this also?

Thanks,

Mike
Cvetan1 is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 03-06-2007, 01:56 PM
Member
 
hays0023's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is interesting....I am having the same issue with my Anthem AVM-40. I first thought it was the XA2 + just received a new one....My Anthem will pass my BD, DVD, Sat + A2, but not the XA2....I just sent the Anthem in to see if the problem is here.....very odd!
hays0023 is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 03-06-2007, 04:17 PM
AST
Senior Member
 
AST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool. You guys keep us posted, it sure would be a big help to everyone else if the ROM update fixes your problem.
AST is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 03-11-2007, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Update:
OK guys, the first repair center Pioneer sent me to have taken a 5 days to tell me they do not have the equipment to update firmware and I have to go somewhere else. So here is some bad word of mouth for the slow service at
Superior Electronics
2312 Newbridge Road
Bellmore, NY
If you live in the New York Long Island area and Pioneer tells you to take the teceiver to Superior you now know that they can not help you adn you dont have to wait 5 days. I will try my luch with the other store and have the firmware upgraded this week (Ill be dropping the receiver off at the other store on Tuesday).
-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is online now  
post #12 of 23 Old 03-12-2007, 06:01 AM
Member
 
bhain333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pottstown PA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this a problem with the VSX-84TXSi as well? I am thinking about getting one of these players but I don't want it to have these problems.
bhain333 is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 03-12-2007, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't think it is bhain but you should do a quick search for the 84 on this board and see what owners are saying.
-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is online now  
post #14 of 23 Old 03-16-2007, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey Guys,

The update seemed to have fixed my HDMI compatability issues. The Toshiba HD-XA2 now works flawlessly with the 74TXVi. The XA2 and my Sammy BD player are going through a Monoprice 5x1 HDMI switcher to my receiver and this is working without issue. My Media Center PC is also going through the 74TXVi without any issue (I expected this since it had no issues before).

One thing I noticed that seems a little quirky is that when I select Auto mode for the signal, the 74TXVi no applies DPLIIx Movie mode on my HDMI PCM signals. This is great as before it would only go into DPL EX Matrix mode. The reason why it behaved strangely was because I only have a 6.1 speaker configuration going to my receiver. The strange thing is, if I go to Pure signal mode, I can not select and of the DPLIIx modes again unless I select Auto Select. I can select the THX DPLIIx modes but not the regular DPLIIx modes. I suspect all of this wacky behavior will disssapear when I go to a 7.1 speaker setup.

I also can not comment on if the LFE levels have been improved yet over HDMI as I really did not do enough critical listening last night to look for differences.

Hope this helps guys.

-Evangelo2

PS. If anyone is looking for a shop on Long Island to do the work, I can recommend Peter at Sound Surgeon. They are a Certified Pio Repair center and I saw a good ammount of Elite AV Receivers in there wen I was there. Here is the stores information...

Sound Surgeon
1041 West Jericho Tpk
Smithtown, NY 11787
631-864-2450
Evangelo2 is online now  
post #15 of 23 Old 03-16-2007, 02:26 PM
AST
Senior Member
 
AST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm happy that fixed your problem.
AST is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 03-16-2007, 04:32 PM
Member
 
Jaws17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Westbury NY
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received this e-mail on Thursday

March 15, 2007


Dear Valued Customer:

Re: Free Firmware Upgrade for Certain 2005 and 2006 Pioneer Home A/V Receivers

We would like to inform you of the availability of a free firmware upgrade to address a potential service issue with the following Pioneer home A/V receivers:


VSX-72TXV VSX-74TXVi
VSX-81TXV VSX-82TXS
VSX-84TXSi VSX-9110TXV-K

Pioneer has become aware that in some circumstances the above-listed receivers may experience certain audio and/or video symptoms related to the use of an HDMI port on the receiver. The symptoms include (1) picture quality issues (dark screen image, no video image, white screen and/or intermittent picture) when the input signal to the receiver is connected through an analog port (component, S-Video, composite) and the output signal from the receiver is connected though an HDMI port, or (2) low subwoofer speaker sound level when the input signal to the receiver is connected through an HDMI port. Importantly, this potential service issue does not pose any health or safety risk.

If you have an affected home A/V receiver and you are experiencing a service issue as described above, please contact Pioneer Customer Service toll free at 800-421-1404 to arrange for a free firmware upgrade. Pioneer service representatives are available Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. (Eastern Time).

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this potential service issue may cause you, and we thank you for your cooperation and continued support of Pioneer.

Sincerely,

Pioneer Electronics (USA) Inc.


This may address that type of problem.

Paul Newman RIP I wish I was that cool.
Jaws17 is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 03-16-2007, 11:03 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mark Booth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Beautiful California
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Pioneer has it posted on their web site as well:

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pn...940998,00.html

I've got the 72TXV and I'm really not looking forward to disconnecting all of the cables, hauling the thing to a service center, and being without it for a week or more. I sure wish Pioneer had some way for it to be upgraded at home.

Mark
Mark Booth is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 03-17-2007, 05:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cvetan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 46
^ I have the 74TXVi, and that's my problem as well! I do not have a spare receiver laying around to use while this one is gone for weeks.

Might have to go to BB and grab a receiver for two weeks.
Cvetan1 is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 03-20-2007, 10:58 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mark Booth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Beautiful California
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
My 72TXV is shipping to Bestec for the firmware upgrade today. And since I had to pull the TV stand/equipment rack away from the wall and disconnect all of those cables to ship the receiver, I went ahead and "rewarded" myself by ordering a Toshiba HD-XA2 to add to the equipment rack when I put it all back together. Might as well only have to do this once.

The sub-$600 price for the XA2 at Amazon didn't hurt the decision either.

Mark
Mark Booth is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 09-05-2007, 09:59 PM
Member
 
Choots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Apple Valley, MN and Calgary, AB
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got an XA2 and seem to have this problem as well. My 74txvi was purchased in November of 2005. I just tried playing a regular DVD (Breach) in the XA2, and had no video through HDMI into the receiver on to my AE700U.

One other thing I noted, was that it kept seeming to skip around though. The playback would play some portion of audio, then after about 5-10 seconds, it would skip to another part of the DVD (I assume)... I'm not sure this behaviour is reported on this thread, or if this is related to the HDMI issue on the receiver...

Any ideas? Obviously, I'll be calling Pioneer for an update.
Choots is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 09-06-2007, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Choots,
I have not had one issue since upgrading the firmware on my XA2 and my 74TXVi. I use audio through HDMI as well.
-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is online now  
post #22 of 23 Old 09-06-2007, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 30
same here. 74 with software upgrade and XA2 working like a charm. Thank you ,Evangelo2, for avoiding my 74 to be sold on Ebay.

Sergio

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 09-06-2007, 01:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Fezmid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's a thread that talks about the receiver (including upgrades) here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...6#post11332826
Fezmid is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off