Which resolution should I set my XA2 at? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-19-2007, 03:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Dalat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kalifornia
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My projector is native 720p. Should I set the player's at same, or 1080i or 1080p?

Thanks,
Dalat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-19-2007, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tbase1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: medina Ohio
Posts: 2,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I would set it to 1080I ,but that is a shot in the dark because I don't know what kind of display you have.

tony4k
tbase1 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-19-2007, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WirelessGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Try 1080p and 720p and see if you can tell a difference. It's just a difference of which scaler is better, the projectors or the XA2's. I don't think anyone can give you an answer to your question except yourself.

Last Watched 3D: Oz the Great and Powerful

It should be called Violet-Ray

WirelessGuru is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 03-19-2007, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WirelessGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbase1 View Post

I would set it to 1080I ,but that is a shot in the dark because I don't know what kind of display you have.

Hmmm why 1080i? In theory you are introducing a deinterlace of the content, a downscale, and an interlace. The interlace and deinterlace steps can be taken out of the equation altogether which would limit the possibility of loss during those processes.

Last Watched 3D: Oz the Great and Powerful

It should be called Violet-Ray

WirelessGuru is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-19-2007, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Dalat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kalifornia
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbase1 View Post

I would set it to 1080I ,but that is a shot in the dark because I don't know what kind of display you have.

It's a Mitsu HD1000U front projector. HD DVDs are 1080i, so I don't think 1080p will do anything. The way I see it, the source 1080i will get deinterlaced, downscaled to the display's 720p. I can't tell any difference between 720p and 1080i settings.
Dalat is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-19-2007, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WirelessGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
HD-DVD content is 1080p.... did Best Buy tell you they are 1080i???

Last Watched 3D: Oz the Great and Powerful

It should be called Violet-Ray

WirelessGuru is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-19-2007, 05:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,277
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 553 Post(s)
Liked: 684
The content is 1080P but the ouput is 1080i. Even the XA2, the content comes out at 1080i and it is deinterlaced to 1080P before the final output.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off