HD-XA1 & HD-A1 v2.1 Firmware Updates is now available. Comments? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 09:18 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
e_professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the HD DVD Format Blog (http://hddvdformat.blogspot.com/2007...-firmware.html), the v2.1 updates is up...

Although I own the 2nd-gen equipment, it would be nice to hear if the HD DVD playback issues are resolved by this v2.1 firmware update... Anyone (who faces those problems on their HD DVD player) can confirm this?


DVI USERS SHOULD READ BEFORE UPDATING. Once you update you may not be able to go back to an earlier firmware version.
e_professor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 09:29 AM
Member
 
gonzalr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just called Toshiba and confirmed that the v2.1 firmware update will be available later today from their website for download.

disc copy of the firmware will be send to HD-DVD owner 3 wks. from today.
gonzalr is offline  
post #3 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
los seres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 1,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes Finally!
http://tacp.toshiba.com/tacpassets-i...vdfirmware.asp

Q1. What does this update do?

Quote:


A1. This firmware update adds support for certain anticipated network delivered content in future HD DVD discs, improves certain video and audio processing capabilities, as well as addresses certain disc playback and HDMI/DVI related problems identified by Toshiba.

los seres is offline  
post #4 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bradad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzalr View Post

just called Toshiba and confirmed that the v2.1 firmware update will be available later today from their website for download.

disc copy of the firmware will be send to HD-DVD owner 3 wks. from today.

Is Toshiba seriously putting this on their website for download? To burn to a disc that is?

Blu-ray and HD DVD supporter.
Bradad is offline  
post #5 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tundrSQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Vermont
Posts: 2,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradad View Post

Is Toshiba seriously putting this on their website for download? To burn to a disc that is?

I'm thinking he means download via ethernet to the player?

Tim
tundrSQ is offline  
post #6 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 09:41 AM
smc
Member
 
smc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Palatine, IL
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
In the processing of downloading now. Will update if I see any issues. I have been having issues. (A1).
smc is offline  
post #7 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Forceflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nice! after all the doom and gloom...

EDIT:

A friendly reminder to everyone updating: Take out any discs from your player before updating or your update may kill your unit.

***Warning*** Do not look into laser with remaining eye!!
Forceflow is offline  
post #8 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 09:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
hconwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Willow Grove, PA
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Except for "James Taylor - Musicare's Man Of The Year" and The Eagles "Farewell I", my HD-A1 has NO issues. But on those two discs, there are audio dropouts every time.

Plus, I've got a small group coming over Saturday night to screen "Ben-Hur" ... so I won't be doing any updates before then.

But I would be interested in anyone's experience with the two music discs listed above. Sure would be nice if the dropouts went away.

Hank Brown

"Being at the right place at the right time is purely a function of being at the right place a lot."

JPEG's of my Home Theater.
hconwell is offline  
post #9 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 10:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
kami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excellent!!!

I'm very anxious to get off work now and see if it fixes the Happy Feet freeze and also makes Stalingrad (Enemy at the Gates import) playable on the A1.
kami is offline  
post #10 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 10:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
rhcorolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: KnoxVegas, TN
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Per Tosh Customer Solutions, 2.1 disks not available for 3 weeks. Those of us that have received updates by disks prior, SHOULD automatically have new updates mailed to us.

from the link so graciously provided ...

Frequently Asked Questions:

Q1. What does this update do?

A1. This firmware update adds support for certain anticipated network delivered content in future HD DVD discs, improves certain video and audio processing capabilities, as well as addresses certain disc playback and HDMI/DVI related problems identified by Toshiba.


Q2. The HDMI output does not work or works intermittently with the HDMI or DVI input on my HDTV or monitor. Does the new firmware address that problem?

A2. The firmware update addresses and improves HDMI and DVI connectivity. If you still experience problems, try disconnecting and reconnecting the HDMI cable. Make sure your display input is set to HDMI (or DVI). If your display has more than one HDMI/DVI input, make sure that all connected HDMI/DVI source devices are powered on (even if not in use). If none of these solve the problem, please turn off the TV and the HD DVD player. Check all connections. Disconnect and reconnect the HDMI cable. Turn on the TV first and then turn on the HD DVD player. Should you continue to experience problems, please contact Toshiba Customer Solutions at (800) 319-6684.


Q3. During HD DVD playback I sometimes experience pixelization, block noise or audio dropouts. Sometimes playback stops. Sometimes, playback is not smooth. Does the new firmware address these issues?

A3. This firmware update, which includes material from prior updates, addresses various playability issues. You should also check to be sure that the disc is clean and, if the disc will not operate at all, that you are inserting the disc with the right side up. Should you continue to experience problems, please contact Toshiba Customer Solutions at (800) 319-6684.
rhcorolla is offline  
post #11 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gosawx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: other side of MA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Took about 20 minutes altogether. Boot up to splash screen now at 55 deconds. 1 minute 20 second from off to beginning of movie

played the trouble spot in Hollywoodland and it breezed right through
gosawx is offline  
post #12 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 10:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
cws_kahuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canyon Lake
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gosawx View Post

Took about 20 minutes altogether. Boot up to splash screen now at 55 deconds. 1 minute 20 second from off to beginning of movie

played the trouble spot in Hollywoodland and it breezed right through

Good news, that's the one disc I have not been able to play at all. Just curious, what was the boot up times before this update? Sounds like it's about the same amount of time as before but I really don't know.

I won't be home until Friday to try this out but I am excited to see what it does.

Thanks Richard

They've done studies, you know. 60% of the time it works, every time.
cws_kahuna is offline  
post #13 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 10:47 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 257
sticky

other thread:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&#post10166264

closed with redirect here

Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
Link to sponsors
good to be back to vBulletin
markrubin is online now  
post #14 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gosawx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: other side of MA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cws_kahuna View Post

Good news, that's the one disc I have not been able to play at all. Just curious, what was the boot up times before this update? Sounds like it's about the same amount of time as before but I really don't know.

I won't be home until Friday to try this out but I am excited to see what it does.


If memory serves, boot to splash is about 20 seconds faster, and boot to movies is about 20 seconds faster

Maybe someone can do a direct before and after...
gosawx is offline  
post #15 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
rickforrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: winston-salem, nc
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gosawx View Post

Took about 20 minutes altogether. Boot up to splash screen now at 55 deconds. 1 minute 20 second from off to beginning of movie

played the trouble spot in Hollywoodland and it breezed right through

Great!

Now we need to hear from more users! I'm dying to hear reports, as I can't update my A1 until late tonight.
rickforrest is offline  
post #16 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
billymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: the mostest funnest place ever
Posts: 2,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oh happy days. i can't wait to try this out. please oh please fix my colorspace issues.

"the one who has the most fun wins."
billymac is offline  
post #17 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 11:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
luismanrara's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Guys, I can't do this, I am frustrated by the HDCP, IP address, DNS, Proxy setting. what the heck is all that about? Pardon my ignorance, are there simple steps that I can follow in order to get this done? The manual is worthless to me at this point.

Do not steal, The powers that be do not like the competition.
luismanrara is offline  
post #18 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 11:22 AM
Member
 
Nasra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im updating right now at 20% now, i post later if i notice something.

lusimanrara:
You have to put DHCP ON and DNS also ON thats it then update it but do you have a router so it can give you a internal ip if you are connecting direct to modem put into your ip & other stuff try with that.
I have Proxy OFF.
Nasra is offline  
post #19 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
for best results, plug the player directly into the modem AFTER you have power cycled the modem. This will make an update as smooth as possible

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
post #20 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
barhoram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Any chance this will give us a discrete off via remote or the rs-232 port??

I don't really like talking about my flair

My Home Theater Project:
barhoram is online now  
post #21 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
boblinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
My update via ethernet/broadband took about 30 minutes.

I've always had troublefree playback from my HD-A1 so I'm don't expect to see performance improvements. (For instance, I watched a rented "Hollywoodland" this weekend with no problems at all.)

For what it's worth, after the update, my power-up took one minute to "No Disk" and it took an additional 70 seconds from disk-in to FBI warning. So, if there is boot-up speed improvement, it's modest.
boblinds is offline  
post #22 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon Spackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post

Any chance this will give us a discrete off via remote or the rs-232 port??


As soon as i update mine tonight, ill try discrete off IR and see if it works and report back the results. Unless someone home can try it for us and share if discrete is finnaly working on the 1st gens.

Just enjoy HD in whatever form you can (Sat, Cable, D-VHS, OTA, HD DVD, or BD).
Jon Spackman is offline  
post #23 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Poolrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My player will be a good one to test this update on, it has reliably skipped in the last 20+ movies I have played. Doom is horrible and has so many skips I have to turn it off within the first 10 minutes and get another movie...

Once I update I'll post my results.
Poolrad is offline  
post #24 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 12:04 PM
Senior Member
 
LordofDoubleD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Download in progress. Sweet!!!
LordofDoubleD is offline  
post #25 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Desmo888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: N'awlins
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Updating at 20%!!

Quote:


Any chance this will give us a discrete off via remote or the rs-232 port??

I hope, for all of us, that it is; however, I would hold my breath on this one.

I have my problematic media ready and will post back with results.
Desmo888 is offline  
post #26 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 12:13 PM
Member
 
venturevul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Download completed. Took about 45min. Firmware Code now reads 2.1/1.0A/2.0T.

Haven't noticed any significant increase in boot up time.

My A1 has had few freeze, sync issues since August purchase. I've recently watched Hollywoodland and had no issues at all. Only disc which had previously skipped was MI3 - The Bridge shoot out. Just played it with new firmware and no issues at all.

Batman Begins look sharper but that could be just imagination.
venturevul is offline  
post #27 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poolrad View Post

My player will be a good one to test this update on, it has reliably skipped in the last 20+ movies I have played. Doom is horrible and has so many skips I have to turn it off within the first 10 minutes and get another movie...

Once I update I'll post my results.

either you are using dirty rentals all the time or you need to send this to toshiba for a repair. i'd be surprised if firmware made your issues go away.

edited for typos

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
post #28 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 12:20 PM
Senior Member
 
CJPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, going by lookings at, 2.0T is the new drive firmware (as Ive pulled a drive from a 2.0 model, thru a PC it shows revision at 2.0R, R S T) so we can assume a new one, and hopefully much more reliable!
CJPC is offline  
post #29 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
candyrocket786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tested Enemy at the Gates (Stalingrad) with the latest fw release?

360/ PS3 GamerTag : DVDVampire

HD-DVD: 181
Blu-Ray: 70
candyrocket786 is offline  
post #30 of 723 Old 04-03-2007, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Damnationdoormat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any word on the rumored DTS-HD Master Audio support?

I know, probably a pipedream...
Damnationdoormat is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off