THE Ultimate HD-DVD receiver!! $399! - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
heavyharmonies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Urbana, IL
Posts: 1,911
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Anyone seen pics of the backside of this beast anywhere? I want to verify that it indeed has preamp outs, or otherwise it's a nonstarter.

"But I want to do community service; I want to teach the handicapped how to yodel." - Hudson Hawk
heavyharmonies is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jack Gilvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Jersey,USA
Posts: 6,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Haven't seen anything to indicate pre-outs, except for another stereo zone.

Jack Gilvey
SVS Customer Service

Jack Gilvey is offline  
post #183 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
emptychair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cobblestone Way
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Gilvey View Post

The player needs HDMI 1.3 to send undecoded DTS HD/TrueHD bitstreams to a 1.3 receiver.
If the payer does the decoding, sending LPCM to the receiver, only HDMI 1.1 is needed.


Don't know much about the LG, but if it's not 1.3 it'll have to do all the decoding itself, rendering such in a receiver superfluous. Your question about the benefit of having decoding in the receiver is perceptive. There's a whole thread on it, actually, entitled "Why you don't need HDMI 1.3":

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=789994

Now, there's no reason to avoid 1.3 products, and the 605 might handle a LPCM input better than its predecessor as far as bass-managment (or do other cool stuff), but onboard decoding, or HDMI 1.3, is not as big a deal as people seem to think.

Gotcha. Thanks Jack for clearing that up and not embarassing me I do now recall reading that explanation but must have suffered a (hopefully) temporary brain cramp.

Ye who now will bless the poor shall yourselves find blessing.
emptychair is offline  
post #184 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
drj2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just order one online from JR and received a confirmation email. I was waiting to upgrade to the new Denon 3808CI. I lost the ability to do TrueHD when I upgaded to the A2 and of course need HDMI for the PS3, but for $399 this is a inexpensive stop gap until the Denon is released.
drj2000 is offline  
post #185 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ack_bk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maple Grove, MN
Posts: 8,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Thanks to all for posting this. I just pre-ordered one to replace my aging Onkyo 501 receiver. This is an amazing receiver for $399. This will be my fourth Onkyo receiver. I have been a very happy Onkyo customer.
ack_bk is offline  
post #186 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyharmonies View Post

Silly question: Why would you want to insert the HDMI switcher in the chain before the receiver rather than after?

Are the Monoprice switchers 1.3a compatible?

I've (perhaps erroneously) assumed that I want a direct path for audio & video via HDMI from the source to the receiver, and then introduce any switchers to the HDMI when it's video-only after leaving the receiver.

Also, by placing the switcher before the receiver, that means you can only have one set of audio settings/tweaks for both PS3 and XA2 on the Receiver (assuming there are any), whereas by having them going to separate inputs on the receiver, conceivably two sets of adjustments could be kept.

Or am I looking at this wrong?

I guess, to my eyes, if you add a switcher AFTER the receiver, you're limiting yourself to only 2 HDMI ports for audio. But I guess you might not need that. It's just tons easier for me to plug stuff into the switcher so I don't have to keep pulling my receiver out.

As for whether the Monoprice switcher is 1.3a, I don't think it matters? A switcher is just a switcher. But again, I'll let someone else chime in on this one.
WilliamG is offline  
post #187 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dawson, Georgia
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by drj2000 View Post

I just order one online from JR and received a confirmation email. I was waiting to upgrade to the new Denon 3808CI. I lost the ability to do TrueHD when I upgaded to the A2 and of course need HDMI for the PS3, but for $399 this is a inexpensive stop gap until the Denon is released.

I've never ordered anything from JR before, can anybody tell me if they charge you at time of order, or at time of shipping?

~Alan

DirecTV SUBSCRIBER since 1995!
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views
of Alan Gordon, Alan Gordon Enterprises, Alan Gordon, Inc., or Alan Gordon Amalgamated.
Alan Gordon is offline  
post #188 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 12:09 PM
 
Django's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gordon View Post

I've never ordered anything from JR before, can anybody tell me if they charge you at time of order, or at time of shipping?

~Alan

I have bought my first HDTV from them, but it was not pre-ordered. I can assume that like every other retailer they wouldn't charge your card until the item is ready for shipping.
Django is offline  
post #189 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dawson, Georgia
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Django View Post

I have bought my first HDTV from them, but it was not pre-ordered. I can assume that like every other retailer they wouldn't charge your card until the item is ready for shipping.

Do they also provide a tracking number?

~Alan

DirecTV SUBSCRIBER since 1995!
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views
of Alan Gordon, Alan Gordon Enterprises, Alan Gordon, Inc., or Alan Gordon Amalgamated.
Alan Gordon is offline  
post #190 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 12:29 PM
 
Django's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gordon View Post

Do they also provide a tracking number?

~Alan

Off course they do. Who doesn't?
Django is offline  
post #191 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dawson, Georgia
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Django View Post

Off course they do. Who doesn't?

Believe it or not, I ordered from a few companies who don't.

~Alan

DirecTV SUBSCRIBER since 1995!
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views
of Alan Gordon, Alan Gordon Enterprises, Alan Gordon, Inc., or Alan Gordon Amalgamated.
Alan Gordon is offline  
post #192 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
drj2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alan

Per your previous question, JR does not charge your credit card until the item is shipped out.
drj2000 is offline  
post #193 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 01:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Christy Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Almaden Valley in San Jose, CA
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So which of these has 7.1 pre-outs?

I just preordered a 605 and then realized that it doesn't have that.
Christy Warren is offline  
post #194 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rambler358's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 1,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christy Warren View Post

So which of these has 7.1 pre-outs?

I just preordered a 605 and then realized that it doesn't have that.

Where did you see this?

XA2 + PS3 = Priceless
Rambler358 is offline  
post #195 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 01:28 PM
Member
 
rickyricardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the bottom line with this receiver (and all 1.3 receivers I suppose) is that unless you're hooking up an XA2 or PS3, there is no benefit since it has to be done in the player anyway.

Also, as many people have already stated, there will be no difference in sound even using the two players above (unless you're using DTS-MA) since the player would do the job just as well. The only advantage may be that the receiver can apply channel levels/bass management etc. but any half decent HDMI receiver out there should be able to do the same with PCM signals.

So to everyone who just purchased 1.1 equipment...DON'T WORRY!!...all you're missing is DTS-MA which will probably be included in a future PS3 update and Deep Color (if you have a 1.3 TV) which probably won't be implemented for awhile.
rickyricardo is offline  
post #196 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 01:34 PM
Member
 
lance_60031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if you do the bill me later (90 days) does that start clicking at the time of purchase or from the time of shipment. Just wondering. Thanks.

lance_60031 is offline  
post #197 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jack Gilvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Jersey,USA
Posts: 6,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickyricardo View Post

So the bottom line with this receiver (and all 1.3 receivers I suppose) is that unless you're hooking up an XA2 or PS3, there is no benefit since it has to be done in the player anyway.

Also, as many people have already stated, there will be no difference in sound even using the two players above (unless you're using DTS-MA) since the player would do the job just as well. The only advantage may be that the receiver can apply channel levels/bass management etc. but any half decent HDMI receiver out there should be able to do the same with PCM signals.

So to everyone who just purchased 1.1 equipment...DON'T WORRY!!...all you're missing is DTS-MA which will probably be included in a future PS3 update and Deep Color (if you have a 1.3 TV) which probably won't be implemented for awhile.

I think you've got it. In addition, it's my understanding that "deep color" isn't even part of the HD DVD or BD specs, so those sources wouldn't really benefit even with a capable signal chain and display.

Jack Gilvey
SVS Customer Service

Jack Gilvey is offline  
post #198 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 01:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
joffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickyricardo View Post

So the bottom line with this receiver (and all 1.3 receivers I suppose) is that unless you're hooking up an XA2 or PS3, there is no benefit since it has to be done in the player anyway.

for XA2 playback of advanced authored discs, the decoding has to be done in the player as well.

"Why am I Mr. Pink?"
joffer is offline  
post #199 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
drj2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickyricardo View Post

So the bottom line with this receiver (and all 1.3 receivers I suppose) is that unless you're hooking up an XA2 or PS3, there is no benefit since it has to be done in the player anyway.

Also, as many people have already stated, there will be no difference in sound even using the two players above (unless you're using DTS-MA) since the player would do the job just as well. The only advantage may be that the receiver can apply channel levels/bass management etc. but any half decent HDMI receiver out there should be able to do the same with PCM signals.

So to everyone who just purchased 1.1 equipment...DON'T WORRY!!...all you're missing is DTS-MA which will probably be included in a future PS3 update and Deep Color (if you have a 1.3 TV) which probably won't be implemented for awhile.


I agree; With the player doing the decoding, HDMI 1.3 offers no advantage over previous versions and according to those in the know HD DVD and Blu Ray will never include deep color because it is not part of the eithers specs.

The question I have is will the PS3 currently pass the DTS-MA in bitstream and thus allow the receiver to decode it? I realize this may not be the best solution as I understand you require the player to decode all the audio info if you wish to use some of the upcoming BD interactive features. Since the current Fox titles do not include any of these advanced features, one would not need to decode the DTS-MA in the player. Correct? I know the point will be moot if and when there is a PS3 update which allows the DTS-MA to be decoded in the player or better yet when a fully featured standalone or universal player is released.

Man you guys are fast. By the time I replied to ricky's post two people already chimed in with the same thing. I need to improve my typing skills.
drj2000 is offline  
post #200 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
leibniz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnickersonjr View Post

This is because the 604 doesn't process the TrueHD. The 605 does! With the 604 and your A2, the A2 processes the TrueHD and sends it to your 604 to play. You get what I'm saying?

example. Your 604 needs a translator(A2) to understand TrueHD, the 605 doesn't!

slow down a minute...

the A2 is NOT able to send TrueHD. the Onkyo 605 might be a better "future proof" solution, but don't expect it to work differently with current players than the 604. LPCM via HDMI will still be the only method for TrueHD delivery with an A2 or A20.
leibniz is offline  
post #201 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 01:50 PM
Immaculate Grand Phoobah
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,663
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 20
just saw this on the receiver thread... where it belongs!

http://thisisnotapornsite.info/OOT-S...07_END_WZ_.pdf

pay particular attention to the "...entry point..." sentences...

Rem facias, rem
si possis, recte, si non, quocumque modo, rem.
grubavs is offline  
post #202 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
paintit77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Broomfield, CO
Posts: 1,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Gilvey View Post

I think you've got it. In addition, it's my understanding that "deep color" isn't even part of the HD DVD or BD specs, so those sources wouldn't really benefit even with a capable signal chain and display.

HD-DVD and BR are both 8 bit color! No more, no less! The only thing that will be encorporating deep color in the future will be a few Sony HDV Camcorders or maybe a HTPC that offers it!
paintit77 is offline  
post #203 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 01:56 PM
Member
 
2004ex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: California
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
H.C.P.S. (High-Current Power Supply)
...
Weight: 20.9 lbs.

Also starting looking for a hdmi receiver. My several years old Pioneer weighs in 43lb, and the 605 is only 21? Could it be a digital amp or comes with a switching power supply, lowering the manufacturing cost?
2004ex is offline  
post #204 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dawson, Georgia
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Django View Post

I have bought my first HDTV from them, but it was not pre-ordered. I can assume that like every other retailer they wouldn't charge your card until the item is ready for shipping.

Quote:
Originally Posted by drj2000 View Post

Alan

Per your previous question, JR does not charge your credit card until the item is shipped out.

Thanks guys, I just pre-ordered it!

~Alan

DirecTV SUBSCRIBER since 1995!
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views
of Alan Gordon, Alan Gordon Enterprises, Alan Gordon, Inc., or Alan Gordon Amalgamated.
Alan Gordon is offline  
post #205 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 02:02 PM
Member
 
rickyricardo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Gilvey View Post

I think you've got it. In addition, it's my understanding that "deep color" isn't even part of the HD DVD or BD specs, so those sources wouldn't really benefit even with a capable signal chain and display.

So I guess 1.3 isn't necessary until the successor to HD DVD/BD comes along or if cable/satellite/on demand companies have enough bandwidth to support Deep Color and lossless audio codecs; which is probably at least 15-20 years away.

Speaking of codecs, does anyone notice that there is no mention of decoding the most used audio format of HD DVD, Dolby Digital Plus? I guess the players will have to do the encoding which pretty much puts these new receivers back on the same level anyways.
rickyricardo is offline  
post #206 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
FoolintheRain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm pretty sure when you pay for TrueHD decoding, you pay for the whole package (DD, DD-EX, DDPLIIx, DD+). I don't think I know of a single case where something decodes a new codec but not a legacy one.

I'm pretty sure the same is true with DTS. If you pay for DTS-HD MA, you will get the whole package so to speak as well (DTS, DTS-ES, DTS-NEO6, DTS 96/24). I get that impression from the DTS website as well.

Long story short...I'm sure there will be DD+ decoding.


I might consider replacing my Denon 3805/3910 and my Toshiba XA1 with Onkyo if they come out with a matching HD DVD player that is universal (beside BD of course...DVD, DVD-A, SACD, CD, HDCD). The prices are SOOO much more reasonable than Denon.

Coach Jim Tressel:
1 National Title
5 Big Ten Titles
7-1 vs. M*ch*g*n
83-19 (.814)
FoolintheRain is offline  
post #207 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 02:37 PM
Member
 
Toshiro_Mifune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickyricardo View Post

Speaking of codecs, does anyone notice that there is no mention of decoding the most used audio format of HD DVD, Dolby Digital Plus? I guess the players will have to do the encoding which pretty much puts these new receivers back on the same level anyways.

Any receiver capable of decoding TrueHD by default is capable of decoding DD, DDEX, DD+.
Toshiro_Mifune is offline  
post #208 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WirelessGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by joffer View Post

for XA2 playback of advanced authored discs, the decoding has to be done in the player as well.

Joffer, you have got me curious on this. I know there are certain things that are decided by the authoring process (ie; not allowing you to skip the FBI warning). So are you saying that 99% of current HD-DVD media itself is authored to prevent the decoded bitstream to transfer over HDMI 1.3? I just wanted to get clarification on this. If so... in theory at this point in time, there really is no benefit to having a receiver that can decode the advanced audio codecs... at least on HD-DVD. Can you elaborate?

Last Watched 3D: Oz the Great and Powerful

It should be called Violet-Ray

WirelessGuru is offline  
post #209 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 03:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cnickersonjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Missouri City, Texas (Next door to SUGARLAND)
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cnickersonjr View Post

This is because the 604 doesn't process the TrueHD. The 605 does! With the 604 and your A2, the A2 processes the TrueHD and sends it to your 604 to play. You get what I'm saying?

example. Your 604 needs a translator(A2) to understand TrueHD, the 605 doesn't!

Quote:
Originally Posted by leibniz View Post

slow down a minute...

the A2 is NOT able to send TrueHD. the Onkyo 605 might be a better "future proof" solution, but don't expect it to work differently with current players than the 604. LPCM via HDMI will still be the only method for TrueHD delivery with an A2 or A20.

Well, you just said what I said. " LPCM via HDMI will still be the only method for TrueHD delivery with an A2 or A20"
Isn't this saying that the A2 is able to send TrueHD? Damn, read this post and get back to me!
cnickersonjr is offline  
post #210 of 590 Old 04-11-2007, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cnickersonjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Missouri City, Texas (Next door to SUGARLAND)
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cnickersonjr is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off