Toshiba: 1st gen FW 2.2 available- see first post for FW ISO - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 744 Old 07-04-2007, 11:02 PM
Senior Member
 
SDouglas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One thing that FW 2.3 did for me is "fix" my version of The Good Shepherd HD DVD. Apparently there is an exchange program for the title, but after the FW 2.3 update, the disc played fine all the way through tonight. Before, the same disc would throw an error and simply not play.

I used the downloaded FW copy from the Toshiba website on my HD-D1 and updated via CD, FWIW. I also cleared persistent memory and soft-initialized the player as suggested by others, although I don't know if these additional steps are critical or not.

SCD
SDouglas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 744 Old 07-05-2007, 06:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 424
none74, thank you very much for the link. I have now updated the download link at the first page of this thread to reflect the link you provide us. Again, thank you very much.

I'm downloading the file as I type this.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #723 of 744 Old 07-05-2007, 06:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

none74, thank you very much for the link. I have now updated the download link at the first page of this thread to reflect the link you provide us. Again, thank you very much.

I'm downloading the file as I type this.

What Happened David - you are USUALLY First to find the Update
drhankz is offline  
post #724 of 744 Old 07-05-2007, 07:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post

What Happened David - you are USUALLY First to find the Update

LOL!

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #725 of 744 Old 07-05-2007, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drhankz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post

LOL!

I had it posted days ago on my FTP Server
drhankz is offline  
post #726 of 744 Old 07-05-2007, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post

I had it posted days ago on my FTP Server

SHOW OFF!

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #727 of 744 Old 07-05-2007, 03:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
hatchback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I upgraded from 2.2 to 2.3 via the ISO download. No problems at all. Start up time is slightly slower than before -- it is now back up to roughly 49 seconds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hatchback View Post

I just upgraded from 2.0 to 2.2 via the internet without any problems on my HDMI->DVI connection. Start up time is faster but disk load time is unchanged. I measure start up time from pushing the "open" button on an off machine to the tray being fully opened. For the 2.0 firmware, start up time was consistently 49 secs and now it is down to 40 secs. Time from when I push the "close" button to when the dvd starts playing is unchanged at 27 secs.

I must say this is the best supported AV product I have ever owned. Toshiba has earned my loyalty. Go Toshiba!

hatchback is offline  
post #728 of 744 Old 07-05-2007, 04:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 195
They must have added back some necessary code.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #729 of 744 Old 07-05-2007, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Ted_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dover, NH
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed no real difference; if anything a couple of seconds less than 2.2 (about 34 seconds to "No Disc").
Ted_K is offline  
post #730 of 744 Old 07-06-2007, 05:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatchback View Post

I upgraded from 2.2 to 2.3 via the ISO download. No problems at all. Start up time is slightly slower than before -- it is now back up to roughly 49 seconds.


same here. But no more SD clicking on my player.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #731 of 744 Old 07-25-2007, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
TWISTED BULLET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by none74 View Post

Firmware version 2.3 is now posted. http://tacp.toshiba.com/tacpassets-i...ngfirmware.asp

I've tried it, it writes to disc quick and easy, and works even burned at 16x onto CD-R.

So far, it plays "made" HD DVD's great, which 2.2 simply wouldn't do....

I don't know how it plays real HD DVD's, I've only got two so far...


Is it CD-R only from the web? Or can I just use my ethernet?

TWISTED BULLET is offline  
post #732 of 744 Old 08-05-2007, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhankz View Post

I bought an EXTRA one by mistake.

This is the UNOPENED Copy - $15.

you've got PM

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #733 of 744 Old 08-05-2007, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nakedeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cant tell ya, not realy sure myself
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can this thread not be sticky any more?
nakedeye is offline  
post #734 of 744 Old 08-25-2007, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,973
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 363 Post(s)
Liked: 876
I received 2.3 in the mail unsolicited from Toshi today. 2.2 had still been giving me a lot of problems with lockups on my HD-A1. I installed it and played a very badly scratched Netflix copy of The Lake House. It was in such bad shape I doubt it would have played at all with 2.2. I tried to find the area with the scratch and playback was flawless. My wife wants to watch he entire movie tonight so I'll report if anything goes wrong. Fingers crossed.

Buzz

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #735 of 744 Old 08-25-2007, 09:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Anyone who has had trouble with Happy Feet freezing find 2.3 to correct it?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #736 of 744 Old 08-26-2007, 05:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 9,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Anyone who has had trouble with Happy Feet freezing find 2.3 to correct it?

I've FW updated about 10 machines to FW 2.3 and tested them immediately with Happy Feet. No more freeze/skip.

follow my A/V tweets @davidsusilo

ISF, THX, CEDIA, Control4 & HAA certified
Reviewer for TED, QAV, AUVI & DownUnder Audio Magazine

my (yet to be completed) BD list
my home theatre

David Susilo is offline  
post #737 of 744 Old 09-03-2007, 03:50 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,000
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by nakedeye View Post

can this thread not be sticky any more?

unstuck
markrubin is offline  
post #738 of 744 Old 09-03-2007, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ILJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Anyone who has had trouble with Happy Feet freezing find 2.3 to correct it?

I just went from 2.0 to 2.2 (didn't get the 2.3 disc from Tosh yet, will download it this week if I don't) and no longer have that dreaded Happy Feet freeze/hiccup! 2.2 fixed it for me, the only reproduceable problem I've had with any discs.


*************************************************

Still looking for a movie theatre that shows movies the way they're SUPPOSED to be viewed...



...with a bitrate meter and screencaps.
ILJG is offline  
post #739 of 744 Old 09-03-2007, 11:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 195
You know what it feels like to have what must be one of the only A1s in the world that continues to freeze at the 28 minutes mark of Happy Feet, even with the 2.3 firmware update?

Anyone else notice something different in the picture quality of 2.3? Maybe less detail or tonality?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #740 of 744 Old 10-18-2007, 09:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
deewan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 1,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 62
PLEASE HELP! I just got a used A1 from a friend and I was not able to play the only HD DVD I currently own (Bourne ID). I saw on this thread about firmware updates and downloaded 2.3 since I saw my player only had F/W 2.0. I was never able to get a disc to update the F/W, player kept saying "NO READ". Now I have an update disc in the player now and the player displays reads "WELCOME". No matter what I do that player does nothing. I can't get the tray to open to remove the disc. I can't get the player to do anything. I've unplugged the player and hit the open/close button after plugging it back in, but the player just turns on the displays "WELCOME".

Any ideas? PLEASE HELP!!!
deewan is offline  
post #741 of 744 Old 10-19-2007, 03:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Yeah, find new friends.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #742 of 744 Old 10-19-2007, 03:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sherardp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
unplug for a few minutes about 5 mins. Then try it again. If that doesnt work then you screwed something up during update, and should send it in to Toshiba. Once you get it back you should never attempt to do an update again.

Click the link to see pics of my home theater

http://s450.photobucket.com/albums/q...oom/?start=all
Sherardp is offline  
post #743 of 744 Old 10-19-2007, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jameskollar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lakewood, WA
Posts: 1,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I always have done my updates via th internet. That said, even though this is not in anyway the same player, I bricked my blu ray player with an update disc. It was totally my fault. It had the same symptoms you have on your A1 after bricking.

I'm pretty sure you're going to have to get that disk out of there. Powering off, unplugging, waving a dead chicken over it did not fix it. So I took it apart and got to the drive and removed the disk. Put everything back togerther, and it's worked flawlessly since. If you don't feel comfortable doing that with your A1 then IMO the options you have is to trash it or send it in for repair. If you're leaning towards trashing it, send it to me and I'll give it a go for free. Obviously no gaurentees though.

BTW: My Phlilps did have the latest firmware after that.
jameskollar is offline  
post #744 of 744 Old 10-19-2007, 11:55 AM
Member
 
nizzan4u2nv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To take the disc out of a bricked a1, stick a paper clip/pin in side the little hole once you pull down the front cover for the disc drive. Once you pull the disc drive cover down you should see the hole. I also bricked an a1 using an update disc and have been reluctant to send it in for service. Im contemplating taking the disc drive out and installing it on my PC. I now have an xa2 and do all my updates via ethernet and never have a problem.
nizzan4u2nv is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off