how many megapixels is 1080P? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 05-25-2007, 05:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
draithby123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: milton, ontario, canada
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

I have some background in serious digital photography and own 2 A2's.

I was thinking about 1920x1080.

Does this mean that if you multiply this spec and get approx 2,000,000 pixels that a still 1080P frame is 2 megapixel?

formula 1, cart, wrc, scuba diving, photography, home theater .......... all are great hobbies
draithby123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 05-25-2007, 06:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cybersoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
yep!
cybersoga is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 05-25-2007, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
draithby123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: milton, ontario, canada
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that doesn't seem like much when we have camera sensons cheap at 6 MP.

I assume the sensors for 1080P video have to be of higher quality and frame rate than camera sensors and thats why not used to get more data?

Or maybe then would be too much data to store practically.

formula 1, cart, wrc, scuba diving, photography, home theater .......... all are great hobbies
draithby123 is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 05-25-2007, 06:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank Derks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Region A,B,C
Posts: 1,897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 89
It's 6.2 Megapixels on a plasma or lcd screen.
Frank Derks is online now  
post #5 of 17 Old 05-25-2007, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank Derks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Region A,B,C
Posts: 1,897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by draithby123 View Post

that doesn't seem like much when we have camera sensons cheap at 6 MP.

I assume the sensors for 1080P video have to be of higher quality and frame rate than camera sensors and thats why not used to get more data?

Or maybe then would be too much data to store practically.

Well the 6MP camera spec = mostly marketing.

The 6MP doesn't translate to an equavalent screen resolution.

In most digital '6MP' cameras about 4MP are used to code the green color while the other 2MP are used to encode the blu and red color component.
Frank Derks is online now  
post #6 of 17 Old 05-25-2007, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael TLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: THX/ISF Calibrationist/Instructor, Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Greetings

6 meg image even with more extreme compression puts it down to 1 meg for a file.

1 meg = 1 frame of time. 24 frames per sec for film ... = 24 meg/sec.

24 per sec = 1.44 gb per minute.

1.44 gb per min = 86.4 gb per hour

typical film then needs 173 gb for two hours.

What format gives you 173 gb?

This is one reason why 1080p is 1080p.

Add to that ... people sitting at home at 8 feet away from a 40" TV can't tell the difference between 2 meg or 6 meg images.

Regards

Michael Chen @ The Laser Video Experience
ISF/THX/TLV Video Instructor
The Video Calibration Education Hub - www.TLVEXP.com

Michael TLV is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 05-25-2007, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 7,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by draithby123 View Post

that doesn't seem like much when we have camera sensons cheap at 6 MP.

I assume the sensors for 1080P video have to be of higher quality and frame rate than camera sensors and thats why not used to get more data?

Or maybe then would be too much data to store practically.

Have you ever looked at a night shot from a cheap 6 MP consumer digital. Absolutely unusable IMO. Noise galore. And yeah, they don't do 24 fps either. And 6 MP on a digital camera is partially interpolated, since they don't use 3-colour pixels.

BTW, Corpse Bride was shot at 8 MP using Canon digital SLRs. That's different though, since it's stop action animation.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Derks View Post

It's 6.2 Megapixels on a plasma or lcd screen.

Huh?
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 05-25-2007, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank Derks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Region A,B,C
Posts: 1,897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 89
1080x1920x3 for a color screen.
Frank Derks is online now  
post #9 of 17 Old 05-25-2007, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 7,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 05-25-2007, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
DeathKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Derks View Post

Well the 6MP camera spec = mostly marketing.

The 6MP doesn't translate to an equavalent screen resolution.

In most digital '6MP' cameras about 4MP are used to code the green color while the other 2MP are used to encode the blu and red color component.

Where are you coming up with this stuff?

Take my Nikon D50 for example. It's a 6 megapixel digital SLR. It's max resolution is 3008x2000 which is equivalent to 6,016,000 pixels or 6 megapixels. There's no interpolation going on to create a higher resolution image out of a lower res one.
DeathKnight is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 05-25-2007, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 7,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathKnight View Post

Where are you coming up with this stuff?

Take my Nikon D50 for example. It's a 6 megapixel digital SLR. It's max resolution is 3008x2000 which is equivalent to 6,016,000 pixels or 6 megapixels. There's no interpolation going on to create a higher resolution image out of a lower res one.

Frank is correct. Your Nikon D50 interpolates the colours. It has to, because it does not have a 3 CCD sensor. Effectively, your Nikon D50 is equivalent in some ways to a 2 megapixel 3 CCD camera.

In other words, your Nikon has 6 million subpixels, but it takes 3 subpixels to make a true full colour single pixel.
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 12-09-2011, 03:35 PM
Newbie
 
AgentSanchez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuGsArEtAsTy View Post

Frank is correct. Your Nikon D50 interpolates the colours. It has to, because it does not have a 3 CCD sensor. Effectively, your Nikon D50 is equivalent in some ways to a 2 megapixel 3 CCD camera.

In other words, your Nikon has 6 million subpixels, but it takes 3 subpixels to make a true full colour single pixel.

You guys really don't know what you're talking about contextually. If a camera is a '16 megapixel camera', it means the final images it produces (on high quality), will contain approximately 16 million pixels. Likewise, a 16 mp sensor, will produce images containing approximately 16 million pixels.

A fuji F200 EXR point and shoot, for instance, is at least 12mp in normal mode, but drops to 6mp in 'exr' mode, where the sensor doubles up pixels and then interpolates, gathering more light, and producing a 6mp image in the process. You will notice that megapixel, by the makeup of the very word itself, refers to pixel count. It refers to the final image, however, in the context of digital cameras. Make sense? Frank is absolutely incorrect -at least contextually.
AgentSanchez is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 12-09-2011, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
You do know you resurrected thread that has been dead for more than 4 years, don't you?
Colm is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 12-10-2011, 11:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm View Post

You do know you resurrected thread that has been dead for more than 4 years, don't you?

Makes sense, because he/she joined AVS over 6 years ago and that was the first post. Maybe a time warp?

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 12-10-2011, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken H View Post

Maybe a time warp?

Maybe slow reader?
Colm is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 12-12-2011, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
William's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 8,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm View Post

Maybe slow reader?

...or fast searcher.
William is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 12-15-2011, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
iamian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
He wanted to make sure his first post was awesome?


iamian is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off