hdmi and component active at same time - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 05-27-2007, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rbye05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Are the component and hdmi ouputs active at the same time. I would like to use component for hd discs and the hdmi for standard dvds without having to unplug connections. For some reason hddvd looks better on my display over component but I also want to take advantage of the upconverting. Sorry if asked before.
rbye05 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 05-27-2007, 08:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
sdlehman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: St. Charles, Missouri
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
They are not active at the same time. You have to switch between the two with the remote.

Stace
sdlehman is online now  
post #3 of 12 Old 05-27-2007, 08:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
homerx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: ramsey, MN
Posts: 4,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nope not active. But its eazy to switch on the remote...

Unprotected discs will upconvert over commponet. So that's a somthing to think about...

I have 2 players the toshibia A1 primarly for HD-DVD.
homerx is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 05-27-2007, 09:04 AM
jcg
AVS Special Member
 
jcg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you talking about the outputs from your A/V receiver or the HDDVD player? My Toshiba HD-D2 has both component and HDMI active at the same time.

jcg
jcg is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 05-27-2007, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryChanin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 6,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcg View Post

Are you talking about the outputs from your A/V receiver or the HDDVD player? My Toshiba HD-D2 has both component and HDMI active at the same time.

jcg

Good point.

I have both the HDMI to DVI and component video player outputs connected to the same projector. By selecting the appropriate input ON THE PROJECTOR I can switch on the fly between the two player outputs without making any changes to the HD player. Although not proof positive, this strongly suggests that both player outputs are active simultaneously.

Larry
LarryChanin is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 05-27-2007, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
geocab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryChanin View Post

Good point.

I have both the HDMI to DVI and component video player outputs connected to the same projector. By selecting the appropriate input ON THE PROJECTOR I can switch on the fly between the two player outputs without making any changes to the HD player. Although not proof positive, this strongly suggests that both player outputs are active simultaneously.

Larry


Same here. I usually stick to HDMI because the picture just seems more detailed to me, ever so slightly.
geocab is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 05-27-2007, 09:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Michael9009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My A20 outputs simultaneoulsy on both component and HDMI outputs as long as the 1080p setting is not selected (for which there is only output on the HDMI connection. However, I noticed that the Settings Menu letters appear with jagged edges on HDMI (pretty disturbing if viewed from a closer distance on my 133" diagonal projected image) but smooth and nice if I use the component connection.
Michael9009 is online now  
post #8 of 12 Old 05-27-2007, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryChanin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 6,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael9009 View Post

... I noticed that the Settings Menu letters appear with jagged edges on HDMI (pretty disturbing if viewed from a closer distance on my 133" diagonal projected image) but smooth and nice if I use the component connection.

Hi Michael,

Yes, the HD-A20 suffers deinterlacing problems in its 1080p implimentation. This is disturbing since the 1080p processing was the one added feature that was supposed to justify the higher price over the HD-A2. Hopefully, Toshiba will promptly issue a firmware upgrade to resolve the problem.

Toshiba HD-A20 1080p HD DVD player (Ultimate AV Review)

Toshiba HD-A20 HD DVD Player (Sound & Vision Review)

Larry
LarryChanin is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 05-27-2007, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rbye05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
thanks for all the response, so the consensus seems to be that they are both active. Anyone know of any signal degradation if connecting both?
rbye05 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 05-27-2007, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryChanin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 6,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbye05 View Post

thanks for all the response, so the consensus seems to be that they are both active. Anyone know of any signal degradation if connecting both?

Hi,

With both connections in place to my projector, and after adjusting the picture settings on my HD-XA2 to compensate for a colorspace problem over HDMI to DVI, the picture quality of the HDMI output looks the same to me as the component video output. The images from both connections are at least as good or superior to HD satellite reception.

Larry
LarryChanin is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 05-27-2007, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rbye05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks Larry, that clears it up for me
rbye05 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 05-27-2007, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mchuckp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Not sure why people are saying they aren't active. Maybe some models are. I think 1st gen players may have had to be switched on the remote.

I know for a FACT that I can watch both simultaneously on my A2 to my Samsung DLP. I've done it a million times while calibrating using DVE and comparing the PQ.

This is true for the assorted audio outputs as well. I've listened to the HDMI audio out and the L/R analog out at the same time as well.
mchuckp is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off