VERSION 2.0 FIRMWARE FOR THE A2, XA2, A20, A2W, and D2 (Fixes Chroma Bug!) With link - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cybersoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just updated my Toshiba HD-E1 from 1.5 to 2.0/T22M. No idea what the improvements are.


Here is a link to official downloads:
http://209.167.114.38/support/ceg/downloads/index.asp
LL
cybersoga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 07:12 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cybersoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Digital Video Essentials works properly now. HD Chroma bug is fixed. Woohoo!
cybersoga is offline  
post #3 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
HighDeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybersoga View Post

Digital Video Essentials works properly now. HD Chroma bug is fixed. Woohoo!

Wunderbar.....
HighDeff is offline  
post #4 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 08:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cybersoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
And here's proof that the chroma bug is now fixed, photographs of my LCD screen displaying a test pattern in Digital Video Essentials. Red in the opening titles of 12 Monkeys and Total Recall looks much better.
LL
cybersoga is offline  
post #5 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeInNVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Limington, Maine
Posts: 2,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybersoga View Post

And here's proof that the chroma bug is now fixed, photographs of my LCD screen displaying a test pattern in Digital Video Essentials. Red in the opening titles of 12 Monkeys and Total Recall looks much better.

OW! My eyes hurt now!

Arrive
Raise Hell
Leave
JoeInNVa is offline  
post #6 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My HD-A2 is updating as I type this. Don't know to what version yet. I'm currently at 1.6.
slimm is offline  
post #7 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 09:05 AM
Member
 
k00k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A few of us here in Australia have downloaded this tonight. Not fully tested yet, but one user reports that it looks as though it now fully supports 24fps. Will confirm tomorrow.
Boot time is slightly faster.
Apart from that, I cant see much else thats new.
k00k is offline  
post #8 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rover2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
E1 @ 11/38 and plodding along !
Has enyone checked for SD DVD playback? ie region free now, if we should be so lucky
rover2002 is offline  
post #9 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's also out for the HD-A2, HD-A20 and HD-XA2

http://www.tacp.com/tacpassets-image...d2firmware.asp
slimm is offline  
post #10 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 09:17 AM
Member
 
Chris West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cyber, let us know if the boot times are faster?, that was a big topic for the new firmware.
Chris West is offline  
post #11 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 09:21 AM
Member
 
k00k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks slimm, I didn't realise it was over there already. I thought us Aussies were special for once!
k00k is offline  
post #12 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by k00k View Post

Thanks slimm, I didn't realise it was over there already. I thought us Aussies were special for once!

You are special, you were the first one to post
slimm is offline  
post #13 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 1,348
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 144
I'm updating my A2 as we speak. I may see if this 2.0 firmware fixes the HDMI->DVI black crush problem.

I'll report back later.

Chris


Theater 1: LG OLED55E6P 4K TV, Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray player, Dune HD Solo 4K
Theater 2: Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 / 93 (ISO firmware) / 103D (CFW), Dune Base 3.0 / Smart units, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is online now  
post #14 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rover2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by k00k View Post

Thanks slimm, I didn't realise it was over there already. I thought us Aussies were special for once!

2.0 should add something. I remember 2.0 added THD to the 1st gen units.
rover2002 is offline  
post #15 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cybersoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris West View Post

cyber, let us know if the boot times are faster?, that was a big topic for the new firmware.

Seems about the same to me
cybersoga is offline  
post #16 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 1,348
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Is it absolutely necessary to do an "Initialize" after the update in order for the firmware changes to take effect?

Chris


Theater 1: LG OLED55E6P 4K TV, Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray player, Dune HD Solo 4K
Theater 2: Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 / 93 (ISO firmware) / 103D (CFW), Dune Base 3.0 / Smart units, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is online now  
post #17 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank Derks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Region A,B,C
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Children of Man 'Disc not DVD error' now gone.
Disc starts normal now.
Frank Derks is online now  
post #18 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVFAN0001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
THERE IS NOW A VERSION 2.0 FIRMWARE FOR THE A2, XA2, A20, A2W, and D2 located on the Toshiba support page...

I downloaded to my A2 minutes ago.
HDTVFAN0001 is offline  
post #19 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 1,348
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 144
I just updated my A2 from 1.6 to 2.0. I did not do an "initialize" after updating (not sure if you have to or not).

Boot time and disc loading time does not seem to be any better.

Tried HDMI->DVI again. With 1.6, I had black crush to my Sony KF50-WE610.

I still have black crush. King Kong is WAY too dark. DVE pluge pattern doesn't even display the blacker than black bars. I cranked my brightness up 20 "notches" and couldn't see anything.

Everything still looks good through Component, which is what I've been using and what I'll continue to use, I guess.

Not sure what this update adds in terms of major functionality. I would think it must be something significant to warrant the 2.0 number.

Chris


Theater 1: LG OLED55E6P 4K TV, Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray player, Dune HD Solo 4K
Theater 2: Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 / 93 (ISO firmware) / 103D (CFW), Dune Base 3.0 / Smart units, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is online now  
post #20 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank Derks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Region A,B,C
Posts: 2,253
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by k00k View Post

A few of us here in Australia have downloaded this tonight. Not fully tested yet, but one user reports that it looks as though it now fully supports 24fps. Will confirm tomorrow.
Boot time is slightly faster.
Apart from that, I cant see much else thats new.

Checked for 24p support on Euro XE1. Projector still reports 60Hz.
Frank Derks is online now  
post #21 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 10:20 AM
 
plazman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 6,813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What does this fw fix/enable?
plazman is offline  
post #22 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 10:23 AM
Member
 
MacFreibier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Derks View Post

Checked for 24p support on Euro XE1. Projector still reports 60Hz.

Sony Pearl still reports 1080p/60 as well.
MacFreibier is offline  
post #23 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Sarcoptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
This firmware looks like it was designed for Blood Diamond that is coming out next week...a lot of network fixes
Sarcoptic is offline  
post #24 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 10:35 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 25,321
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 1802
duplicate

please take the high road in every post
Please do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it to Mods to handle
new forum:High Dynamic Range (HDR) & Wide Color Gamut (WCG)
HDMI.org:what a mess
markrubin is offline  
post #25 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 10:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
hconwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Willow Grove, PA
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there an ISO somewhere ... or do you need to ehternet download it?

Link?

Hank Brown

"Being at the right place at the right time is purely a function of being at the right place a lot."

JPEG's of my Home Theater.
hconwell is offline  
post #26 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
thehun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Drought and flood at the same time. CA
Posts: 8,524
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 533 Post(s)
Liked: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post

Is it absolutely necessary to do an "Initialize" after the update in order for the firmware changes to take effect?

Chris


No, just a restart/reboot which happens every time you power on.

De sagittis Hungarorum libera nos, Domine!

The Hun
thehun is online now  
post #27 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JoeInNVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Limington, Maine
Posts: 2,203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since the Mods want this thread to be used, how bout changing the title to encompass all gen2 players.

Arrive
Raise Hell
Leave
JoeInNVa is offline  
post #28 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybersoga View Post

There's a Film option under Picture Mode that wasn't there before...

FWIW -- My A2 included that option with both rev 1000 (original) and 1.6.
TrevorS is offline  
post #29 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LarryChanin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 6,825
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post

I'm updating my A2 as we speak. I may see if this 2.0 firmware fixes the HDMI->DVI black crush problem.

I'll report back later.

Chris

Hi Chris,

This update didn't address the incorrect colorspace problems, at least not on my setup.

Larry
LarryChanin is offline  
post #30 of 682 Old 06-25-2007, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cybersoga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorS View Post

FWIW -- My A2 included that option with both rev 1000 (original) and 1.6.

OK, thanks, thought it was just video and auto before. I'll delete that part of this post.
cybersoga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off