1st gen A1/XA1 firmware 2.3 is out - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 09:12 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Pitou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Trois-Rivieres,QC,Canada
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's on the Toshiba official website

http://209.167.114.38/support/ceg/downloads/index.asp

Pitou!
Pitou is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, what does this do again (compared to 2.2)?
J
Big J is offline  
post #3 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 09:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JOHNnDENVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 13,377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I don't know if it matters, but that says Tosh Canada?

Not that it matters, I do mine by ethernet / internet.
JOHNnDENVER is offline  
post #4 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 10:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrkrispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I assumed as much when the G2 firmware came out, Toshiba seems to always release these on Tuesday. Weird. Interesting to see if it is more than a single disc fix.
mrkrispy is offline  
post #5 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
candyrocket786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll stay with 2.0 (since I'm having 0 problems now).

360/ PS3 GamerTag : DVDVampire

HD-DVD: 181
Blu-Ray: 70
candyrocket786 is offline  
post #6 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 10:10 AM
Member
 
Nasra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone try out the new firmware, i hope it Enables DTS-HD ?
Nasra is offline  
post #7 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 10:18 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,406
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 139
69.7 MB Pretty big file. I'll check it out. I'm brave.

S~

Edit: Just got off the phone with Toshiba. The fix addresses HDMI handshake issues that some users are still experiencing and Sound dropouts.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #8 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
Massimo N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanx! Downloading now. Definitely going to update to see if it fixes my HDMI - DVI issue that stopped working (BENQ8700+).
Massimo N is offline  
post #9 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried downloading through the player? I would try but my HD-A1 is in the closet
slimm is online now  
post #10 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
jmlevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: willowbrook, IL
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its for the Blood Diamond movie and some Anime movie released last week. Just enables certain internet features.
jmlevy is offline  
post #11 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 11:01 AM
Member
 
pfontainejr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can anyone confirm if it fixes the spinning of sd dvd's?
pfontainejr is offline  
post #12 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 11:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Ted_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dover, NH
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No update through the player (at least in the U.S.) as of 2:05 PM.
Ted_K is offline  
post #13 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted_K View Post

No update through the player (at least in the U.S.) as of 2:05 PM.

Thanks.
slimm is online now  
post #14 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 11:22 AM
Member
 
static14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just tried updated my player in the U.S. and nothing yet
static14 is offline  
post #15 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
hakstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Jax, FL.
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone using wireless to update ?
I bought a SMC audio adapter to play music from my computer thru my stereo in another room. Can I also use it to update my A1 in the same room ?

hakstone is offline  
post #16 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I cant seem to make this one work. Managed to make 3 or 4 other image files versions burn OK in the past.
Krobar is offline  
post #17 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 12:33 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,406
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krobar View Post

I cant seem to make this one work. Managed to make 3 or 4 other image files versions burn OK in the past.

Nero worked fine for me. Haven't played with the update yet to see if anything changed. We'll see how it works with Blood Diamond.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #18 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
venk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Troy, MI
Posts: 1,459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
downloading iso now.
venk is offline  
post #19 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitou View Post

It's on the Toshiba official website

http://209.167.114.38/support/ceg/downloads/index.asp

Pitou!

Thanks for posting !

I just checked the Toshiba Support site and they don't even have an update notice for 2.3 yet. They still show 2.2! I wonder if the internet update service is also still 2.2?

Thanks again -- my ISO download is in progress!
TrevorS is offline  
post #20 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 12:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 4,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nasra View Post

Can someone try out the new firmware, i hope it Enables DTS-HD ?

You mean DTS-MA. DTS-HD is already supported. I do not think that an upgrade can be done to enable MA on any of the G1 or G2 players.
JWhip is offline  
post #21 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmlevy View Post

Its for the Blood Diamond movie and some Anime movie released last week. Just enables certain internet features.

If you're guessing, it's best to acknowledge it rather than possibly spread incorrect info as fact. 2.2 already enabled interactive web access features (though 2.3 could include tweaks), and Toshiba support told teachsac something very different from what you posted.

Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

69.7 MB Pretty big file. I'll check it out. I'm brave.

S~

Edit: Just got off the phone with Toshiba. The fix addresses HDMI handshake issues that some users are still experiencing and Sound dropouts.

TrevorS is offline  
post #22 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TrevorS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWhip View Post

You mean DTS-MA. DTS-HD is already supported. I do not think that an upgrade can be done to enable MA on any of the G1 or G2 players.


Why's that?
TrevorS is offline  
post #23 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobgpsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 2,733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWhip View Post

You mean DTS-MA. DTS-HD is already supported. I do not think that an upgrade can be done to enable MA on any of the G1 or G2 players.

Really? Do you mean dts-HD HRA (High Resolution Audio) or rather just the legacy 1509 kbps dts "core"?
bobgpsr is offline  
post #24 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 4,217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 240
It was my understanding that there is a difference between DTS-HD and DTS-MA and that DTS-HD High Resolution Audio was supported by the HD-DVD players but not DTS-HD MA. Maybe I am wrong. If so, let me know! I am pretty sure that the chip sets used in the players can't and will not ever be able to decode DTS-HD MA.
JWhip is offline  
post #25 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Do NOT update from 2.2 if you use this with a Lumagen HDP, it breaks 4:2:2 support. Looks like DVI has regressed to V2.1 behaviur, I suspect the Benqs will work OK now.
Krobar is offline  
post #26 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Do NOT update from 2.2 if you use this with a Lumagen HDP, it breaks 4:2:2 support. Looks like DVI has regressed to V2.1 behaviur, I suspect the Benqs will work OK now.
Krobar is offline  
post #27 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Do NOT upgrade if you are a Lumagen HDP user, this update breaks 4:2:2 support. It seems to return DVI behaviour to how it was with V2.1.
Krobar is offline  
post #28 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
2.2 royally screwed my player. I had no problems, really, until that. Since, it's been completely wasted. I can't watch HD movies nor SD ones.

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #29 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 01:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
rickforrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: winston-salem, nc
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalfreakNYC View Post

2.2 royally screwed my player. I had no problems, really, until that. Since, it's been completely wasted. I can't watch HD movies nor SD ones.

Why don't you burn a 2.0 ISO from the internet and revert your player? That's what I did.
rickforrest is offline  
post #30 of 598 Old 07-03-2007, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickforrest View Post

Why don't you burn a 2.0 ISO from the internet and revert your player? That's what I did.

I had to find it. A good friend emailed it to me. I'm going to have to try re-doing it tonight. It seriously killed my player whereas before, I had VERY few problems.

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off