Need help with my 5.1 analog audio from my XA1 and Onkyo Reciever - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2007, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
grif32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys I am confused and was hoping someone could help me hook-up my 5.1 analog output from my XA1 correctly.

I have the Onkyo HT-r540

On the back of the XA1 I see

Front:
Surround:
Center:

ON the back of the receiver I see

Front:
Surround:
Center/Subwoofer

I have 3 sets of RCA red/white cables from mono price.

I hooked up the first set of rca cables to:

Front on the back of the XA1 and Front on the back of the reciever and I get sound from every speaker including the sub

Confussed I thought I need to hook up all 3 sets of cables

Also no matter what I click on on the reciever

Optical 1, Optical 2 Optical 3 , Coax I get sound out of everyone.

Please help me understand what is going on.

How do I hook this up correctly to take advantage of the 5.1 analog outputs

Thanks for any help
grif32 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-18-2007, 04:43 PM
Member
 
dklayn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're wanting to use analog inputs, not any of the digital inputs (optical, coax, etc).

It looks like you need to enable Multichannel input on your receiver. From the manual that I found online, it says:

"Press the [RECEIVER] REMOTE MODE button, followed by the [MULTI CH] button. The MULTI CH indicator appears on the display." It also looks like you need to be using the "DVD" input source.
dklayn is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
grif32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried using the multichannel input but the problem is when people talk no matter how loud I turn the reciever up you can barely here them.

Thanks for the help
grif32 is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:22 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Sounds like you have the center channel connected to different input(s). Also you may have to go in the XA1 menu to switch audio output from digital to analog...
Splicer010 is offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 06:36 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
grif32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Didnt see anywhere to switch to analog in the menu on the xa1

Thanks
grif32 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 03:41 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
grif32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone?
grif32 is offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 05:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,664
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Make sure the "center" output from the A1 is connected to the "center" multichannel input of the receiver. Also, check the receiver's "center channel" setup and increase the volume.
Ratman is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off