**Official Toshiba HD-A3/30/35 Thread** - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 08:46 AM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 3,998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks Robert, can't get any clearer than that
LJG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
moparfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I really do have to laugh at people whose primary issue is bootup time. Get over it. So you would buy the hd player for hours of enjoyment over the year but Won't because of an additional 15-30 secs??? lol

Granted the 1st gen player were bad in this regard, but the players are liveable right now.

Generally, it is still my assertion that the A35 will be > XA2. I'm basing that on the belief that new ABT chips can fully stand up to the reon and, if it doesn't, 7.1 and other benefits such as quicker booting etc will compensate for it for me. And who knows, the 24ps and other things might work better also...
moparfan is offline  
post #273 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 08:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
tmeader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert, a PM'ed you a couple questions yesterday, would you mind taking a look at your messages if you get a chance? Thanks in advance... looking forward to ordering
tmeader is offline  
post #274 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 09:07 AM
Toe
AVS Addicted Member
 
Toe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 445
Quote:
Originally Posted by moparfan View Post

I really do have to laugh at people whose primary issue is bootup time. Get over it. So you would buy the hd player for hours of enjoyment over the year but Won't because of an additional 15-30 secs??? lol

Granted the 1st gen player were bad in this regard, but the players are liveable right now.

Generally, it is still my assertion that the A35 will be > XA2. I'm basing that on the belief that new ABT chips can fully stand up to the reon and, if it doesn't, 7.1 and other benefits such as quicker booting etc will compensate for it for me. And who knows, the 24ps and other things might work better also...


The XA2 is still going to be considered the flagship from talking to the engineers at Cedia. It will do everything the A35 will do (including 7.1 bitstream with the October FW update), plus has the reon which according to them is a better chip for SD-DVD especially. They had the XA2 first in line in the display, then the A35, A30, etc....I would bet that the A35 will still be a great SD-DVD player though even if not quite up to the XA2. The one advantage the A35 MAY have is faster boot time, load time if you care about that more than better SD-DVD upconversion.

JVC 3D: Been there, done that, bought a DLP
Toe is offline  
post #275 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 09:55 AM
Member
 
stuartbrown21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It would be great to hear from anybody using the 1080p/24 output, how they rate the performance? I ask mainly as some users are reporting issues with the Gen 2 players and this feature.
stuartbrown21 is offline  
post #276 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Toeside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chesterfield, MO
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since I'm now in posession of my first HD-DVD, I'm suddenly impatient.

Any word on when the HD-A3 will ship?

/twiddles thumbs.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Work began 2/15/05, finished 7.1 install 6/2005. Sold house 7/2007.
Toeside is offline  
post #277 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 09:59 AM
Member
 
gixx1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd like to hear from anyone who had the A20 and noticed the de-interlacing issues with 1080p/60, and now has the A30 to compare. Or, maybe I'll just get impatient and go get the A30 tonight and report myself....
gixx1000 is offline  
post #278 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 10:01 AM
Member
 
gixx1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert,
Is there anyway to force any of the players to output 1080p/24? My receiver will pass it if the signal is forced, but will not negotiate to 1080p/24 during the handshake.
gixx1000 is offline  
post #279 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 10:06 AM
Member
 
dts.fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have the A30 hooked up to an Onkyo 605 via HDMI?

I'd like to know if "Dolby TrueHD" shows up on the reciever's screen instead of "Multich".
dts.fan is offline  
post #280 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 10:19 AM
Member
 
GDOK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert,

2 potential sales here. Just need a bit of help. Looking for the best match (hd-dvd to tv) for the following 2 TV's. Considering the A3 or A30, just need to match which would work best for each of these tv's. A one line reason why would also help!

Sharp Aquos LC-32D62U (has 3:2 pulldown from 1080p/24 to 1080p/30)
Sony Bravia KDL-40V2500 (has cinemotion 3:2 pulldown)

Jeff
GDOK is offline  
post #281 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 10:20 AM
Member
 
Jrek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah,I would also like to know if it passes the truehd track over bitstream to the new onkyos!
Jrek is offline  
post #282 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 10:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
dkny75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bonus View Post

Hello all

Many of us do not have receivers with HDMI. Thus we are very interested in the audio over optical when playing HD-DVD disks.
HD-A2 over optical transcodes Audio tracks to 1.5 Mbps DTS and some recievers have problems with this version of DTS
HD-A20 and HD-XA2 over optical both transcode tracks to 640 Dolby Digital and most recievers have no issures with this. However some have noticed a slight delay in audio over optical with the HD-A20. And if you have a receiver than cannot adjust for the delay you can have lip sync issues. Has the
HD-A30 fixed these audio delay issues?

HD-A3 over optical transcodes to 1.5 DTS or 640 Dolby Digital?

HD-A30 over optical transcodes to 1.5 DTS or 640 Dolby Digital?

HD-A35 over optical transcodes to 1.5 DTS or Dolby Digital?

Any information on this would be helpful in deciding which to purchase.

Thanks
Bonus

Bonus, does your receiver has analog inputs? If it did and the HD DVD player had analog outs (don't remember which models do) then this would be the better way in terms of audio. You would be able to listen to TrueHD audio tracks at a rate higher than 1.5 DTS.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Wii number: 8635 5577 9502 4722
dkny75 is offline  
post #283 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 10:37 AM
Senior Member
 
moparfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Toe,

I've been under the impression that one of the reasons why the Reon was considered better for SD dvd was because of the noise reduction options you can flip on and off. Do you know if the A20/30/35 might not have that level of picture adjustment flexibility?

Anyway, I keep posting on and hoping the A35 will be better even though I picked up a Best buy XA2 last week. Just like The Samsung BDP1200 had the REon and didn't implement it as well as the XA2, I'm thinking that Toshiba has a fresh try at an optimized implementation with the new powerful ABT chips and will better the Reon implementation in the XA2. In a way, kind of the optimization Oppo does to their players. I have to figure there is a learning curve for toshiba here also and each gen will be better in this regard while also taking care of videophile sensibilities in the details.

To me it really makes no sense if Toshiba wants to keep or consider the XA2 as top of the line and let Best buy blow them out at the same price as the new A35 players.
moparfan is offline  
post #284 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dobieck1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal, CA
Posts: 3,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by dts.fan View Post

Does anyone have the A30 hooked up to an Onkyo 605 via HDMI?

I'd like to know if "Dolby TrueHD" shows up on the reciever's screen instead of "Multich".

It can't. Jeez guys. Remember, all HD-DVD's are advanced authored requiring the player to decode. Our Dolby TrueHD lights WILL NOT GO ON until a disc is released that IS NOT advanced autohored OR that allows the player to bypass this flag on the DISC.

Its the same freaking lossless sound anyway. (Sorry, I really don't know why everyone is so jazzed about their receivers saying TrueHD)!

I have the 805 and as long as I am getting lossless, I don't care what the reciever face says.

Here to help and learn. Thanks AVS.
XBL: HoosierInOhio

dobieck1 is offline  
post #285 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
littlesaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brunswick, Ohio
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dobieck1 View Post

It can't. Jeez guys. Remember, all HD-DVD's are advanced authored requiring the player to decode. Our Dolby TrueHD lights WILL NOT GO ON until a disc is released that IS NOT advanced autohored OR that allows the player to bypass this flag on the DISC.

Its the same freaking lossless sound anyway. (Sorry, I really don't know why everyone is so jazzed about their receivers saying TrueHD)!

I have the 805 and as long as I am getting lossless, I don't care what the reciever face says.

I agree with you in theory, but some "in the know" have claimed there is a way around it. Easiest way to find out is for someone with a new player and an HDMI 1.3 receiver to try it. Then we'll know for sure.

The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.
littlesaint is offline  
post #286 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dobieck1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal, CA
Posts: 3,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlesaint View Post

I agree with you in theory, but some "in the know" have claimed there is a way around it. Easiest way to find out is for someone with a new player and an HDMI 1.3 receiver to try it. Then we'll know for sure.

I guess we shall see...wonder what the trick may be.

Here to help and learn. Thanks AVS.
XBL: HoosierInOhio

dobieck1 is offline  
post #287 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 12:14 PM
Member
 
BoostGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up a Toshiba HD-A30 at Best Buy. Does anyone know where to get the new rebate form that lists the HD-A30 for the five free HD DVDs?
BoostGeek is offline  
post #288 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 12:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dobieck1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal, CA
Posts: 3,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostGeek View Post

I just picked up a Toshiba HD-A30 at Best Buy. Does anyone know where to get the new rebate form that lists the HD-A30 for the five free HD DVDs?

I beleive the new promo is for purchases after 10/01/07, so you are stuck with the old choices.

Here to help and learn. Thanks AVS.
XBL: HoosierInOhio

dobieck1 is offline  
post #289 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
littlesaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brunswick, Ohio
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostGeek View Post

I just picked up a Toshiba HD-A30 at Best Buy. Does anyone know where to get the new rebate form that lists the HD-A30 for the five free HD DVDs?

Toshiba Rebate

The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.
littlesaint is offline  
post #290 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 12:21 PM
Member
 
BoostGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've seen that one but it doesn't list the HD-A30 so I don't want to end up being screwed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by littlesaint View Post

Toshiba Rebate

BoostGeek is offline  
post #291 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
littlesaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brunswick, Ohio
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostGeek View Post

I've seen that one but it doesn't list the HD-A30 so I don't want to end up being screwed.

I see. You may have to wait until 10/1 when the current offer expires. It's not like your going to get the discs anytime this year anyway.

The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.
littlesaint is offline  
post #292 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 12:32 PM
Member
 
LMS252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Toshiba's top-of-the-line HD-A35 HD DVD player also has support for Deep Color via HDMI. This allows compatible display devices to deliver outstanding video quality, displaying billions of possible colors.

What's more; the HD-A35 player offers 5.1 channel analog output and High Bit Rate Audio (up to 7.1 channel) once again via HDMI. With content encoded in 7.1ch, this advanced surround sound is achieved through the HDMI connection bypassing the player's internal audio processor and sending the signal to a 7.1 capable A/V receiver. High Bit Rate Audio will allow the consumer to integrate the HD-A35 with the latest multi-channel A/V receivers and enjoy a whole new dimension of high definition home entertainment.

I have a Mitsubishi WD-65833 that has Deep Color, HDMI 1.3. I also have an Onkyo TX-SR605 A/V Receiver. I'm trying to decide if the A35 is worth it over the A30. It seems like the features of my equipment are compatible with the upgrades of the A35 over the A30.

Thoughts?
LMS252 is offline  
post #293 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 12:34 PM
Member
 
dts.fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dobieck1 View Post

It can't. Jeez guys. Remember, all HD-DVD's are advanced authored requiring the player to decode. Our Dolby TrueHD lights WILL NOT GO ON until a disc is released that IS NOT advanced autohored OR that allows the player to bypass this flag on the DISC.

Its the same freaking lossless sound anyway. (Sorry, I really don't know why everyone is so jazzed about their receivers saying TrueHD)!

I have the 805 and as long as I am getting lossless, I don't care what the reciever face says.

I know it's lossless either way, so wanting to see "TrueHD" is a bit superficial, but I don't care. To each his own.

It seems pretty close-minded to bite people's heads off for having different desires than you.
dts.fan is offline  
post #294 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 12:41 PM
spa
Senior Member
 
spa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlesaint View Post

I see. You may have to wait until 10/1 when the current offer expires. It's not like your going to get the discs anytime this year anyway.

Except if you buy from Robert at Value Electronics he'll forward date your receipt.

Steve
spa is offline  
post #295 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
littlesaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brunswick, Ohio
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMS252 View Post

I have a Mitsubishi WD-65833 that has Deep Color, HDMI 1.3. I also have an Onkyo TX-SR605 A/V Receiver. I'm trying to decide if the A35 is worth it over the A30. It seems like the features of my equipment are compatible with the upgrades of the A35 over the A30.

Thoughts?

Deep Color playback requires Deep Color content, of which, there is none. Odds are you will upgrade your player again before Deep Color content surfaces. The Audio Sync features might be desirable though.

The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.
littlesaint is offline  
post #296 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 12:47 PM
Member
 
daFlave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Montreal
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GmanAVS View Post


Albeit short and not comprehensive, it was the 1st review.

Where are those other 100 owners?

(mods feel free to delete all posts, including mine that aren't review related, ty)

DO PEOPLE THINK BEFORETHEY POST ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kshipe View Post

Yes, I got mine from Robert today. I only had a few minutes to play with it. I was pleased when I opened the box and saw the the two DVD's sitting on top. I have an XA-1 and the boot time and start time is worlds apart, the A-30 is approaching a regular dvd player. Also my player is properly outputting 1080p/24 after selecting it in the menu, so I am happy. Picture looked excellent, but again I only had time to play with for about 10 minutes.


THERE YOU GO! Any more doubt ???
daFlave is offline  
post #297 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 12:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,376
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 637 Post(s)
Liked: 1276
Quote:
Originally Posted by fafner View Post

Just got my A30 from Robert and have it playing 300. Here are a few observations:

(snip)

Thanks for the review fafner -- could you (and everyone else who posts reviews) please note your setup?

It's very helpful to know, for example, if you're running optical audio or HDMI etc.

Thanks!

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
batpig is offline  
post #298 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
SirJohnFalstaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
In case no one else has noticed, all these models are now listed on the Toshiba US websites.

"Not throwing my hands up or my dress above my ears don't mean I ain't awestruck." Al Swearengen

SirJohnFalstaff is offline  
post #299 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 01:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
naschbac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland, OR (updated)
Posts: 634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It would be really nice if someone would take the case off theirs (it's about 7 easy to remove screws) and, provide us with some pictures of the circuit-board layout; along with relative close-ups of the larger chips.

I'd really REALLY like to know if these new players are using the ABT1018 scaling chip like the A20 did or, if they're using the newer ABT2010 scaling/de-interlacing chip.

Thanks!
naschbac is offline  
post #300 of 3694 Old 09-14-2007, 02:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dobieck1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SoCal, CA
Posts: 3,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by dts.fan View Post

I know it's lossless either way, so wanting to see "TrueHD" is a bit superficial, but I don't care. To each his own.

It seems pretty close-minded to bite people's heads off for having different desires than you.

I wasn't biting your head off and I apologize if I came off that way. There are several threads/posts about TrueHD and the "light". It just won't happen when the Media (HD-DVD) is authored to FORCE the player to decode it.

Here to help and learn. Thanks AVS.
XBL: HoosierInOhio

dobieck1 is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off