**Official Toshiba HD-A3/30/35 Thread** - Page 124 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 3717 Old 11-25-2013, 03:57 PM
Member
 
KOTULCN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Goldsboro, NC
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is just collecting dust but since the Xbox One isn't compatible with the 360 HD DVD player I guess my Toshiba will be moved back into my rack.
KOTULCN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 3717 Old 01-03-2014, 02:39 PM
Member
 
tmuller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If someone needs the HD-A35 firmware's, I keep an archive of them in ISO format. I have 1.1, 1.3, 2.0 and 4.0.

Send me a PM.
tmuller is offline  
post #3693 of 3717 Old 01-08-2014, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
brettwf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Huntsville, AL (Monorovia area)
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Been looking for an A-35 to replace my possibly ailing A-30. Someone beat out my max bid by a $1 but then got a 2nd chance offer at $75 as the winning bidder backed out. Started to accept the offer until a little sleuthing showed that this buyer had multple losing bids on items by same seller. So, instead, found one for $50 from a Canadian seller and its on its way. Tmuller, expect a PM.smile.gif
brettwf is offline  
post #3694 of 3717 Old 01-24-2014, 12:35 PM
Senior Member
 
brettwf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Huntsville, AL (Monorovia area)
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
My Canadian A-35 arrived in near mint condition w/ The Fountain combo disc in it. Updated with the firmware from TMuller and now just need to recalibrate with DVE Essentials.I'll store the A-30 for backup purposes. Now, I am a proud, or misguided, owner of an XA-1, A-30, A-35, and two LG BH-200's. I recently acquired an Xbox 360. Any one see a reason to get the ext HD-DVD player for it? It would share the same TV w/ the XA-1.

Brettwf
brettwf is offline  
post #3695 of 3717 Old 03-22-2015, 05:59 AM
Member
 
spectre08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I'm watching Transformers (the first one) on my HD-A3 right now so I thought I would come in and drop a note of appreciation.

I watched the other 3 Transformers movies on Blu-ray in the last few days, and the HD-DVD still impresses. Call me crazy, but I think the HD-A3 and HD-DVD has deeper blacks and better contrast than the Blu-rays.
spectre08 is offline  
post #3696 of 3717 Old 03-23-2015, 09:57 AM
Senior Member
 
slots1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
is that like saying beta is better the vhs. yes, so what... I gave up hd player years ago..
slots1 is offline  
post #3697 of 3717 Old 03-30-2015, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by spectre08 View Post
I think the HD-A3 and HD-DVD has deeper blacks and better contrast than the Blu-rays.

Calibration?

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #3698 of 3717 Old 03-31-2015, 07:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Every time a play a HD DVD (every 2-3 months) the disc freezes half way through. If I take out and put back it usually makes it for another 1/2 hr before doing this again. Is it an over heating issue? Any thoughts?
cdnscg is online now  
post #3699 of 3717 Old 03-31-2015, 08:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nascar Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
Every time a play a HD DVD (every 2-3 months) the disc freezes half way through. If I take out and put back it usually makes it for another 1/2 hr before doing this again. Is it an over heating issue? Any thoughts?
Rip the HD DVD to an MKV file and then you can watch it anywhere on anything without wearing out your HD DVD player.

MKVToolNix -- Cross-platform tools for Matroska

JRiver Media Center
Nascar Dog is offline  
post #3700 of 3717 Old 03-31-2015, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
Every time a play a HD DVD (every 2-3 months) the disc freezes half way through. If I take out and put back it usually makes it for another 1/2 hr before doing this again. Is it an over heating issue? Any thoughts?

I have that problem with a lot of Warner titles. I think they are rotting.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #3701 of 3717 Old 03-31-2015, 09:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascar Dog View Post
Rip the HD DVD to an MKV file and then you can watch it anywhere on anything without wearing out your HD DVD player.

MKVToolNix -- Cross-platform tools for Matroska

JRiver Media Center
How do you rip a HD DVD if all that plays it is a HD DVD player?
cdnscg is online now  
post #3702 of 3717 Old 03-31-2015, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nascar Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdnscg View Post
How do you rip a HD DVD if all that plays it is a HD DVD player?
With a computer and an HD DVD drive.
Nascar Dog is offline  
post #3703 of 3717 Old 04-02-2015, 12:40 PM
Member
 
dkg228's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have had some disk do that. I cleaned them with alcohol and they worked fine after that.
dkg228 is offline  
post #3704 of 3717 Old 04-02-2015, 12:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkg228 View Post
I have had some disk do that. I cleaned them with alcohol and they worked fine after that.
Thanks for the tip. Do you clean them while drinking alcohol, or with it
cdnscg is online now  
post #3705 of 3717 Old 04-07-2015, 06:25 PM
Member
 
spectre08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
Calibration?
identical calibration to the input with my blu-ray player. It could also just be those particular films. I haven't repurchased any of my HD-DVD titles on blu-ray, so I can't truly compare. The new Apollo 13 that's due out in a few months will be the first, I look forward to comparing the two.
spectre08 is offline  
post #3706 of 3717 Old 04-15-2015, 12:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Toshiba HD A35 Firmware updating

Hi All,

I'm new to this group. I just bought an HD A35 from a Craigslist ad here in Fort Worth.
My old Toshiba HD A1 finally quit working.

The A35 has firmware 1.1/1.1 installed

When I tried to do the update via the internet it responds that the update has already been done.

Two questions.

1. What is the newest firmware for this model?

2. Does someone have it on CD-Rom that they would be willing to send to me in Fort Worth, Tx.

I have tried to download it from Toshiba site but it wont properly mount up on my computer so that I can burn it to disc.

I would be willing to pay for this if someone would send me an update disc.

I could pay with paypal or send you cash.

any help would be appreciated as I would like to be current with my firmware,

regards,
Richard Parks
Fort Worth, Tx.
Richard Parks is offline  
post #3707 of 3717 Old 04-15-2015, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SanchoPanza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Beauvoir, Mississippi
Posts: 3,093
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Rich'd think 4.0 is the last.

Will Toshiba still send one?
SanchoPanza is offline  
post #3708 of 3717 Old 04-15-2015, 01:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanchoPanza View Post
Rich'd think 4.0 is the last.

Will Toshiba still send one?
I had terrible luck with Toshiba on the phone, they just directed me to the site to download the iso file that will not mount up on my Mac.
Richard Parks is offline  
post #3709 of 3717 Old 04-15-2015, 01:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Parks View Post
I had terrible luck with Toshiba on the phone, they just directed me to the site to download the iso file that will not mount up on my Mac.
maybe I need a better telephone number for Toshiba support.
Richard Parks is offline  
post #3710 of 3717 Old 04-15-2015, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Parks View Post
maybe I need a better telephone number for Toshiba support.

Better software more like it. You should be able to burn a CD from the ISO. Sorry I don't use a MAC so I can't be more helpful.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #3711 of 3717 Old 04-21-2015, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Did you try the link in the "sticky"? HD-DVD Firmware links for all models

HT, Mitsubishi HC6500, 106" screen, Samsung 32" LCD, Oppo BDP83, Toshiba A35, Panasonic LX-1000U, Panasonic LX-900, DirecTV H21-100, CElabs HDTV tuner, PS3, Yamaha Aventage RX-A1030-972, Def Tech; SM 450, SM 350, CLR 2002, BP2X, Pro Sub 100, Klipsch KSB1.1, Infinity PS12
Living Room, Mitsubishi HD4000, 92" screen, Samsung 40" LCD, Panasonic DMP-BT330, DirecTV HR24-200, Pioneer Elite VSX-53, Polk; CS1, RC80i (4), Klipsch Sub10
bguzman is online now  
post #3712 of 3717 Old 04-21-2015, 02:13 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just did and my computer responded with failed to mount ISO.

frustrating to say the least.

Would someone be willing to make me a CD-Rom that I could just put in the player to do the update, I'll pay 10 bucks via PayPal to that person.

thanks,
Richard Parks

I tried to PM the member above who has them archived but I have to post 15 times here on the page before I can send PM's.

that's frustrating too.
Richard Parks is offline  
post #3713 of 3717 Old 04-21-2015, 03:06 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,342
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 220
With a Mac, you should be able to drag and drop. Are you using Toast?

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #3714 of 3717 Old 04-21-2015, 06:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
cdnscg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
With a Mac, you should be able to drag and drop. Are you using Toast?
whats toast?
cdnscg is online now  
post #3715 of 3717 Old 04-21-2015, 07:31 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 5,342
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Software by Roxio for copying discs, files etc.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #3716 of 3717 Old 04-22-2015, 04:42 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have Toast on my Mac, but my problem is that the ISO will not load up on my computer because I cannot go past OS 10.5.8 on my computer its a six or seven yr. old Imac and it's maxed out to the system software.

That's why I was asking above for someone to mail me a CD-Rom.
Richard Parks is offline  
post #3717 of 3717 Old 04-24-2015, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Parks View Post
I have Toast on my Mac, but my problem is that the ISO will not load up on my computer because I cannot go past OS 10.5.8 on my computer its a six or seven yr. old Imac and it's maxed out to the system software.

That's why I was asking above for someone to mail me a CD-Rom.
I sent you a PM but perhaps you didn't see it or can't reply.

What country are you in? You can add this to your profile so people can see it under your name/avatar, and someone local may offer to mail you a disc.

I think your Mac is trying to mount the ISO as a virtual drive which is the wrong thing to do. Do not click on the file. You should open your burning software first and then select the ISO to burn through the program's interface. I don't think it matters how old your computer is. Any more computer questions please find the appropriate forum so we can keep this thread on-topic.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off