**Official Toshiba HD-A3/30/35 Thread** - Page 125 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3721 of 3737 Old 09-10-2015, 04:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kkpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Will not open

Quote:
Originally Posted by moonbem451 View Post
Hi, I just found my old HD-A30 player and wanted to play a movie or two, and the tray will not open. I have taken it apart to look for any damage and couldn't find any. Anyone have any suggestions? Thank you in advance
Check and see if it is the drive belt. if you open the little door, you can look in and see. I have used a small o-ring for a drive belt and it works fine.
kkpro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3722 of 3737 Old 09-10-2015, 04:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Signs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Hi

we had a break in recently and the scum took a load of stuff including my EP35 remote control (left the player lol) is there an app for my ipad that i could use or any other recommendations ?

cheers
Signs is offline  
post #3723 of 3737 Old 09-10-2015, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signs View Post
Hi

we had a break in recently and the scum took a load of stuff including my EP35 remote control (left the player lol) is there an app for my ipad that i could use or any other recommendations ?

cheers
I'd get a Harmony remote. Depending on how many pieces you have connected determines which one would work. If you have @7 devices you can get the very inexpensive one.

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is offline  
post #3724 of 3737 Old 09-10-2015, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,365
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signs View Post
Hi

we had a break in recently and the scum took a load of stuff including my EP35 remote control (left the player lol) is there an app for my ipad that i could use or any other recommendations ?

cheers

Check eBay or your local classified ads. People are giving away Toshibas all the time. A remote from an A2 for example is identical to the A35. I could have sent you mine but I just sold it, player and all, for $5.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #3725 of 3737 Old 09-11-2015, 04:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Signs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wryker View Post
I'd get a Harmony remote. Depending on how many pieces you have connected determines which one would work. If you have @7 devices you can get the very inexpensive one.
thanks for the reply , but i could possibly buy four EP35's for the price of a harmony
Signs is offline  
post #3726 of 3737 Old 09-11-2015, 04:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Signs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
Check eBay or your local classified ads. People are giving away Toshibas all the time. A remote from an A2 for example is identical to the A35. I could have sent you mine but I just sold it, player and all, for $5.
yeah been looking on ebay?gumtree , but nothing yet , whats the A2 ? is it American version of our EP30 ?

Last edited by Signs; 09-11-2015 at 04:25 AM.
Signs is offline  
post #3727 of 3737 Old 09-11-2015, 05:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 2,365
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Signs View Post
yeah been looking on ebay?gumtree , but nothing yet , whats the A2 ? is it American version of our EP30 ?

It's just one older Toshiba model, there are many so you can broaden your search. Maybe do some googling or check with Toshiba to confirm remote part no. SE-R0252 works with your unit.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
post #3728 of 3737 Old 09-11-2015, 07:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Signs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
It's just one older Toshiba model, there are many so you can broaden your search. Maybe do some googling or check with Toshiba to confirm remote part no. SE-R0252 works with your unit.
been looking at sending Toshiba a email , but its a nightmare !, just get some robotic "woman" asking what's wrong with my laptop ! lol

http://www.toshiba.co.uk/innovation/generic/contact-us/

.

Last edited by Signs; 09-11-2015 at 07:58 AM.
Signs is offline  
post #3729 of 3737 Old 04-10-2016, 05:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kkpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 50
A-35 Not Working With RS-400 Projector

Is anyone using their A-35 with a JVC RS-400 (HDMI[I] 2.0) projector? I cannot get it to come up. I am running through a Denon 7200WA receiver. I can get the picture to come up if I turn on my zone 2 plasma tv. My guess that would make it a handshake issue. I tried switching edids with no different results. Even if I get the picture to come up, I can only get pcm to come out of the A-35. I checked, the firmware on the A-35 was at 4.0. Any ideas?
kkpro is offline  
post #3730 of 3737 Old 04-13-2016, 06:07 AM
Blu-ray Reviewer
 
Ralph Potts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Middletown NY
Posts: 11,628
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 869 Post(s)
Liked: 2610
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkpro View Post
Is anyone using their A-35 with a JVC RS-400 (HDMI[I] 2.0) projector? I cannot get it to come up. I am running through a Denon 7200WA receiver. I can get the picture to come up if I turn on my zone 2 plasma tv. My guess that would make it a handshake issue. I tried switching edids with no different results. Even if I get the picture to come up, I can only get pcm to come out of the A-35. I checked, the firmware on the A-35 was at 4.0. Any ideas?
Greetings,

I have the Toshiba HD-XA2 and have the same problem. It will work if you connect it to the HDMI 2 input (EDID 2) but seeing as I am set up for UHD Blu-ray using that input on the projector isn't desirable. I found a better work around. When you want to watch HD DVD connect your player to the front panel HDMI input on the Denon. It works with no issue on my Marantz AV8802A and should work the same way with your Denon receiver.


Regards,

Ralph C. Potts
Blu-ray Reviews
AVS Forum
My Home Theater
My DVD/HD DVD/Blu-ray Collection
Ralph Potts is offline  
post #3731 of 3737 Old 04-14-2016, 03:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kkpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph Potts View Post
Greetings,

I have the Toshiba HD-XA2 and have the same problem. It will work if you connect it to the HDMI 2 input (EDID 2) but seeing as I am set up for UHD Blu-ray using that input on the projector isn't desirable. I found a better work around. When you want to watch HD DVD connect your player to the front panel HDMI input on the Denon. It works with no issue on my Marantz AV8802A and should work the same way with your Denon receiver.


Regards,
Watched a movie last night with no issues connected to the front HDMI input. Thanks for the information.
kkpro is offline  
post #3732 of 3737 Old 05-03-2016, 12:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
jkscherk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I was just about to throw my A-35 into the trash until I read these last two posts! I'll give it a try tonight...or soon. I couldn't get anything through my 7702mk2.....so I assume I'm in the same boat. However, I'm not interested or setup for UHD yet so I can run a second connection and use the HDMI2 input on the RS-400. Thanks for the tip!
jkscherk is offline  
post #3733 of 3737 Old 05-03-2016, 08:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkscherk View Post
I was just about to throw my A-35 into the trash until I read these last two posts! I'll give it a try tonight...or soon. I couldn't get anything through my 7702mk2.....so I assume I'm in the same boat. However, I'm not interested or setup for UHD yet so I can run a second connection and use the HDMI2 input on the RS-400. Thanks for the tip!
DON'T throw your HD-A35 into the trash . . I am sure someone in here would love to have it!
AVfile likes this.

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #3734 of 3737 Old 08-28-2016, 10:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rich86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA - California
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 61
For Love Of The Game

Well . . my Toshiba HD-A35 earned its keep this evening playing our "For Love Of The Game" HD-DVD with lossless audio perfectly.
Why this title has never been released on blu-ray is a mystery, especially given some of the drivel that gets released on blu-ray these days . . .

A long-time audio/video addict!
Rich86 is offline  
post #3735 of 3737 Old 09-08-2016, 11:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 24,662
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 788 Post(s)
Liked: 626
turned on my A35 for the first time in months and it always ask me to reset the date and time. Reverts back to 2007. Is there a replaceable battery inside? Hopefully one of those 2032 type coin batteries?

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
post #3736 of 3737 Old 09-08-2016, 02:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rachael Bellomy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Knocksville TN, capitol por republica de Polezannia
Posts: 8,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by afrogt View Post
turned on my A35 for the first time in months and it always ask me to reset the date and time. Reverts back to 2007. Is there a replaceable battery inside? Hopefully one of those 2032 type coin batteries?
Mine does the same thing. I had a Marantz processor repaired because it lost it's settings every time there was a power outage. A capacitor keeps memory in it. Mine started asking me to reset the date by the time it was 2 years old. .....and now it's near 10 years old. It still works. I just never reset the date.

In real life I am Dot Mongur champion of the International Pacman Federation. I don't play the game, I operate it.....no dot is safe from me....

Rachael Bellomy is offline  
post #3737 of 3737 Old 09-08-2016, 02:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 24,662
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 788 Post(s)
Liked: 626
yeah, I think A35 has been doing for at least 8 years. I used it so infrequently that's its not a big deal either.

Afro GT
afrogt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off