**Official Toshiba HD-A3/30/35 Thread** - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 3694 Old 09-15-2007, 10:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I got the new A30 from Robert. Robert is the man, great service
Alan Gouger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 3694 Old 09-15-2007, 11:32 PM
Member
 
avast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Gouger View Post

I got the new A30 from Robert. Robert is the man, great service

You've got it?


I thought they will be shipped later September from Value Electroincs.


.
avast is offline  
post #363 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 01:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone opened their HD-A30 to confirm:
  1. Is it still using a NEC decoder? If so, what part number?

  2. Is it using the same Anchor Bay ABT1018 or newer ABT2010?
bfdtv is offline  
post #364 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 05:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BillKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Got my A30 from Robert yesterday but couldn't get it hooked up until late last night. I'll try to tinker a bit today with it and post my thoughts later on. Very very initial feeling is very positive though.

Edit (more impressions):

This is my first HD-DVD player. The initial boot up time is painfully slow - like about 45 seconds from power on to the HD-DVD logo. Disc load times seem fair - much slower than my Oppo 970 - as I expected. Upconversion appears to be better than my Oppo - but I've only had the chance to try Curious George and Happy Feet (obviously my son is making the call there!). I'll have more time tonight to play with it but so far so good. I expected slow boot up and load times so I was prepared - the PQ from Planet Earth, 300 and Bourne seems to be excellent on my Pio Elite 940 (which can accept 1080p/24 over HDMI but is a 720p display).

~Bill
BillKen is offline  
post #365 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 07:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
SirJohnFalstaff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Well, we'll see how this goes...

I've just placed a pre-order for an A35 from B&H. I've bought from them before and they're the only place I can find on-line that'll ship to Canada. I hope they get there shipment shortly after these babies hit the streets next month. We always seem to be a month or two behind the US when it comes to release dates and I don't think I can wait this time. As long as the thing arrives in working condition I'll be relieved, or else this could turn into a real mess.

Wish me luck!

"Not throwing my hands up or my dress above my ears don't mean I ain't awestruck." Al Swearengen

SirJohnFalstaff is offline  
post #366 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,594
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where are the impressions of these players? What is the major difference between the A30, A35, and Xa2? I am going to upgrade for 1080p/24, but not sure which player best suits my needs for audio and video. I am using the Onkyo 805 as my receiver.
Andrew P is offline  
post #367 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Toeside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chesterfield, MO
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avast View Post

You've got it?


I thought they will be shipped later September from Value Electroincs.


.

He shipped out the A30 this past week. He said the A3 may start shipping on Monday. I'm keeping my fingers crossed, as I'm a bit anxious.

I should have bought the A30 to pair it with my 1080p Mits DLP, but I decided to enter the HD-DVD segment with the cheaper A3 for now. If I like it, and we get more studio support* in the near future, I'll trickle down the A3 to our rec room and get an A30 or 4th gen for the 1080p TV.

*In my opinion, all studios should be format neutral.

My Media Room Construction thread. Work began 2/15/05, finished 7.1 install 6/2005. Sold house 7/2007.
Toeside is offline  
post #368 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
John Ballentine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm surprised there are no early impressions of the A30 ...? It's been in many AVS'ers hands now for several days. Guess there's nothing groundbreaking (or exciting) to report. And on the other side of the coin ...no problems. Which is good. I guess no news is good news
John Ballentine is offline  
post #369 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 09:39 AM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by avast View Post

You've got it?


I thought they will be shipped later September from Value Electroincs.


.

avast, We've been shipping A30 since last Monday.

Alan thanks for the kind remark. We certainly work hard and try our best with everything we do.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #370 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 09:44 AM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkai View Post

Hi Robert,

I'm in the process of trying to figure out which HD-DVD player to get from you.
At the moment, I'm just sitting on an Olevia 537 (*sigh* to walk amongst all you giants) with the following specs:

37"
1366X768 pixels
1080i
800:1
9ms Gray to Gray response time

Here's my problem - I'm pretty settled on going third gen b/c I the movies are better on that list than the current one (silly huh?) and the aesthetics are nice. I know that my panel is 1080i and picking up the A30 is overkill, but here's the real question:

On my panel, am I going to see a difference in quality of the upconversion of SD-DVD's between the A3 and the A30? All over the board, I've read it's better on the A20 vs A2, so I can only assume it's the same for the 3rd gen. But then, considering my panel, would it even make a difference?

I'm more than willing to go for the A30 since it would get to me sooner, and could grow with my HT setup (when I finally get out of grad school, haha).

Thanks!

Dominic

Dominic, The A3 is perfect with your current display, but if you want to begin adding components to future proof your system go for the A30.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #371 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hd nOOb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

avast, We've been shipping A30 since last Monday.

Alan thanks for the kind remark. We certainly work hard and try our best with everything we do.

-Robert


any new word about the Onkyo player?

And any new info on the Chinnese players that were wanting to get into?

THX.

Blu ray is the best Blah, blah, blah.
hd nOOb is offline  
post #372 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 09:48 AM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post

Apologies if this has been asked before. But other than possible faster load times, case size and 2 free discs are there any other differences between the A2 and A3. I have a Panasonic TH-50PH9UY so right now I am not too concerned about 1080p.

Thanks, Bill

Nothing in regard to feature set, but I always like to get the latest modes. And faster load times, nicer slim-line low profile and two additional great titles sound good to me.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #373 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 09:54 AM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dysfunction26 View Post

Do you have any word on the groupings, for the new 5 free movies promo? I am using this as a deciding factor on how soon I buy a gen 3 player.

No need to wait. When the complete new list comes out and if you prefer those titles just PM or email me and we'll take care of your request. Just include your VE order # in your request for the new titles rebate.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #374 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 09:55 AM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew P View Post

Where are the impressions of these players? What is the major difference between the A30, A35, and Xa2? I am going to upgrade for 1080p/24, but not sure which player best suits my needs for audio and video. I am using the Onkyo 805 as my receiver.

The A35 or current XA2 is the bet match for your TX SR805.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #375 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bferr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Somewhere in the back of my mind
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert, a little off-topic, but do you know when the firmware for Hi BitRate Audio is going to be issued for the XA2?

I'm debating the merits of keeping the XA2 or upgrading to the A35, as well as the merits of firmware upgrades versus a player that comes "fully cooked." Thanks for any response/help!
bferr1 is offline  
post #376 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 10:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

Nothing in regard to feature set, but I always like to get the latest modes. And faster load times, nicer slim-line low profile and two additional great titles sound good to me.

-Robert

Robert,

Once again thank you for your help. The two additional movies makes the choice that much easier.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #377 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 11:43 AM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bferr1, ^ sorry to say I do not know exact release dates, but I have been told by the end of this month.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #378 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 11:55 AM
Member
 
haylo75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG ED View Post

Don't you EVER sleep?!?!?!

I did check yours out when first posted, thanks.
However, had not kept up w/the updates.
Well done, just where is the A35?

Get some rest!!!

Replace the "0" in A30 in the URL with a "5", or you can use the URL I already modified here.

Robert - FYI -- The A35 datasheet's header states it's for the A30, though all references after that are for the A35. Further, the picture of the front of the unit is an A30, though I've seen numerous high-res pics of the A35 front on the web.

haylo75
Webmaster - GTVault.com
haylo75 is offline  
post #379 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
kevinuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portsmouth (England)
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

bferr1, ^ sorry to say I do not know exact release dates, but I have been told by the end of this month.

-Robert

And about another month on top of that for us guys in the Uk
kevinuk is offline  
post #380 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 12:49 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by haylo75 View Post

Replace the "0" in A30 in the URL with a "5", or you can use the URL I already modified here.

Robert - FYI -- The A35 datasheet's header states it's for the A30, though all references after that are for the A35. Further, the picture of the front of the unit is an A30, though I've seen numerous high-res pics of the A35 front on the web.

Thanks haylo75, I'll fix it this afternoon.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #381 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
dmcfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered mine and was supposed to get it last Thursday but FedEx really messed up and sent it back because they said I requested it to be returned. Yeah right. So now I have to wait until hopefully Tuesday to get it. I appreciate what Robert and his staff was trying to do to get it back to me last week. The best customer service I have ever experienced.

Peter
dmcfan is offline  
post #382 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 04:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
arbitrage000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Whitehorse
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So does the A35 pass dts-ma fully via bitstream and/or does it decode it? (Hey someday FOX might go neutral and then you'll need this feature!! ) The Toshiba site says DTS core only, is this via PCM and then it can still pass the full bitstream or is dts-ma a lost cause. I do realize there aren't really any hd-dvd with this codec but who knows about the future. So far I don't own any hd-dvd but I think its about time to go neutral and give my PS3 a new friend. I also just got a onkyo 705 to feed everything through!

Blue Discs: 28....Next purchase...The Rock
Red Discs: 7....Next purchase...Is there a need to?
PS3 Games: 4....Next purchase...GT5
Just a bluish shade of purple....Neutrality is calming!
arbitrage000 is offline  
post #383 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 04:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
bfdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 13,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arbitrage000 View Post

So does the A35 pass dts-ma fully via bitstream and/or does it decode it?

Passes it.

The Toshiba HD-A35 will decode DTS core only, but will pass DTS-HD MA over HDMI 1.3 to a HDMI 1.3 receiver.
bfdtv is offline  
post #384 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bferr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Somewhere in the back of my mind
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^ Do we know if the A35 passes DTHD and DTS-HD MA out of the box, or after firmware upgrade?
bferr1 is offline  
post #385 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 05:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
gully_foyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fafner View Post

Not the the same with my A30. Faster load time after disc is inserted, better PQ and more setup options compared to my A2. You don't have to mis quote what others have said in the several gen3 threads to justify your staying wiht your A2.

It does look like A2 to A3 is pretty much a wash. A2 to A30 or A35 is a different story.
gully_foyle is offline  
post #386 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 06:26 PM
Member
 
S Varney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Hillsboro, Oh 45133
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great player... with some issues:
  1. Still stops on Happy Feet.
  2. I can't see the menu selections on SD discs. I have to navigate blind. Fortunately, most discs seem to start up with "Play" as the default.

Also, 30 Rock SD discs will not play correctly at 24P... I'm assuming the discs are flagged incorrectly and this is not a player issue.

Anybody else having the issue with SD menu selections?
S Varney is offline  
post #387 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 09:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIG ED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California Wine Country
Posts: 3,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by haylo75 View Post

Replace the "0" in A30 in the URL with a "5", or you can use the URL I already modified here.

'Hay', thanks a bunch!
Found the 35 will pass HBR (for "any" lossless audio).
However, still am looking to find if the video DAC is 11 bit (A30) or 12 bit (XA2).

"I wonder if any of the releases had slipcovers though."
"Are these comfirmed to have slipcovers?"
"They look nice in those slips."
"This slipcover looks too good to pass up."
BIG ED is offline  
post #388 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 10:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Shag1077's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
"No need to wait. When the complete new list comes out and if you prefer those titles just PM or email me and we'll take care of your request. Just include your VE order # in your request for the new titles rebate."

Robert, I PM'd you about these movies and you responded with a question, "What free movies?" and then said I should fill out a form from Toshiba. Does your above quote not apply to me as well since I ordered the A30 from you?
Shag1077 is offline  
post #389 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 10:33 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by destiny 21 View Post

hi robert if i order the a 30 tonight how do i go about getting the 5 free movies and what movies can i pick from. thank you,

Everyone who orders from me can chose between the current offer and the next 10/01 offer for 5 free titles. Just put a note in the comments section if you want the 10/01 offer and we'll take care of it.

If you want to pay via Pay Pal, just enter all 111's for the credit card # and exp date is 11/11 and we'll send you a Pay Pal invoice.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #390 of 3694 Old 09-16-2007, 10:36 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shag1077 View Post

"No need to wait. When the complete new list comes out and if you prefer those titles just PM or email me and we'll take care of your request. Just include your VE order # in your request for the new titles rebate."

Robert, I PM'd you about these movies and you responded with a question, "What free movies?" and then said I should fill out a form from Toshiba. Does your above quote not apply to me as well since I ordered the A30 from you?

You're 100% OK. If you like the current selection of 5 free titles just go ahead and do the current mail-in rebate. If you don't want the current selection of titles and want the 10/01 selection let me know and I'll take care of it.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off