**Official Toshiba HD-A3/30/35 Thread** - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 3694 Old 09-20-2007, 08:23 PM
Member
 
zebracrackhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PerryD View Post

30 seconds for the PS3.

1 minute and 11 seconds for the A2

1 minute 5 seconds to 1 minute 15 seconds for the A30

I originally posted that I thought my PS3 took only 5 seconds to start a movie. Yes, I now realize that I was way off.

My measured time (broken down in similar fashion as A1/A2 measurements:
Power on: 12 seconds
Blu-Ray movie starts: 13 seconds
Total time is around 25 seconds.

I just measured my A1:
Power on: 42 seconds
Movie starts: 75 seconds
Total time: approx 2 minutes

I don't mean this to be a pro-Blu post, I am just showing my disappointment so far by the initial Gen3 boot times. I was really hoping for the initial startup time to be cut down in these new units. Now my last hope is that these units will play the combo movies more reliably than the G1 and G2 units, but initial reports are so far not any better either. I hate to wait until Gen4, but I may have to consider it. Let's see how the A35 turns out.

For what it's worth I'd like to add my timing anaylsis of both the A30 and the PS3 from powering up to the first sign of the movie playing.

A30 - Powered on with 300 (Non-Combo) already sitting inside the player took 1 minute and 23 seconds till the FBI warning appeared on screen.

PS3 - With Underworld: Evolution already inside the player, it took 30 seconds to begin the Sony Pictures intro.
zebracrackhead is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 3694 Old 09-20-2007, 08:40 PM
TRT
AVS Special Member
 
TRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was just wondering; Time to boot--Who cares! If you're in that big of a hurry you probably don't have time to watch the movie anyway! OK, the reason for my post: I wonder if the Integra/Onkyo offerings will be worth the extra money over the Toshiba HD A-35. Particularily if you have a receiver that decodes the new CODEC's. I'll pay for build quality, but not for name.
TRT is offline  
post #543 of 3694 Old 09-20-2007, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tokerblue View Post

- I had the A2 for about a week, but sold it and bought the A30. The responsiveness is virtually the same as the A2, if not slightly better. I haven't had any problems pausing, FF, etc.

It's not as responsive as the PS3, but I am able to do two things with the A30 that I am not able to with the PS3. Fully control it with my Harmony 880 and... play HD-DVD's.

Thanks dude...sounds like the G3s are just cost reduced versions of the G3 (no substantial performance improvements).

I'll probably pickup an A3 once they hit best buy (have some GC to burn). I'm glad I held off on 300 on BD (one of the few movies I care about extras or IME).
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #544 of 3694 Old 09-20-2007, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRT View Post

I was just wondering; Time to boot--Who cares!

The fact that it doesn't let you open/close the disc drawer during boot makes this quite an annoyance (and completely turned me off when I tried out the A1). All the disc players I've ever owned (and the PS3) have allowed me to insert/eject discs within the first few seconds of powering up. Most even allow you to power on by pressing the OPEN on the remote or player (man do I miss my Denon DVD 3800).

If the A35 doesn't improve on this I doubt the Onkyo player will either (since it likely is just an rebadged player manufactured by Toshiba). The Samsung BD-UP5000 may very well become the best HD DVD player available.
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #545 of 3694 Old 09-20-2007, 09:09 PM
Senior Member
 
threefirstnames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikeb View Post

i have the a30 and a pioneer 5080 - 1080p/24 is fantastic, 1080i is very good, 1080p/60 is unviewable.

i tried auto and film same with both

no way to change settings for 1080p, 1080i etc via a remote press - only within the setup menu from what i can tell

but 1080p/24 is so good, you will not want to change it

thanks for the quick response to my questions! just one thing i'd like to have clarified - do the menus and video-based extras look OK with 1080p24 selected for output or is it necessary to change it to get the proper display?

thanks!

--kevin--
threefirstnames is offline  
post #546 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 05:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not completely sure of the mechanics involved (muxing?) but all the interactivity goodies I've tried work without a hitch, including PIP. The output remains @ 1080p/24.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #547 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 06:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Don H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Eatontown,NJ,USA
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebracrackhead View Post

But this is only via Robert.

I was simply saying that Don H stated the rebate form must be postmarked September 30th. This is not true, if you want to buy a 3rd gen machine and get the current 5 free rebate then it must be postmarked by "October 31st" not September 30th.

Heres whats on the form:

Player must be bought between 3-1-07 and 9-30-07 and postmarked on or before 10-31-07.

That's my story and I'm sticking to it.
Don H is offline  
post #548 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 08:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
John Ballentine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post

The fact that it doesn't let you open/close the disc drawer during boot makes this quite an annoyance (and completely turned me off when I tried out the A1). All the disc players I've ever owned (and the PS3) have allowed me to insert/eject discs within the first few seconds of powering up. Most even allow you to power on by pressing the OPEN on the remote or player (man do I miss my Denon DVD 3800).

If the A35 doesn't improve on this I doubt the Onkyo player will either (since it likely is just an rebadged player manufactured by Toshiba). The Samsung BD-UP5000 may very well become the best HD DVD player available.

I agree.
(and I'm gonna have to check into that Samsung)
John Ballentine is offline  
post #549 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Brahmzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
When's the Sammy supposed to be coming out?
Brahmzy is offline  
post #550 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kevivoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post

Most even allow you to power on by pressing the OPEN on the remote or player

Works with any generation Tosh HD DVD player also ... did you try it?
kevivoe is offline  
post #551 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 10:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
ikeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Corona Del Mar, CA
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i see everything properly - with no exceptions

just as a side note - i was watching planet earth's shallow seas and it looked like i had a window looking into a real aquarium.

Quote:
Originally Posted by threefirstnames View Post

thanks for the quick response to my questions! just one thing i'd like to have clarified - do the menus and video-based extras look OK with 1080p24 selected for output or is it necessary to change it to get the proper display?

thanks!

ikeb is offline  
post #552 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Toeside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chesterfield, MO
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My A30 arrived about 30 minutes ago. I set it up and dropped in TMNT.

"No Disc"



I did the reset/power button sequence, and still "No Disc".

I put in The Bourne Identity.

"No Disc"

I had Annie sitting here from Netflix, put it in, and it played.

Now TMNT and BI play just fine.

Has anyone seen this?

My Media Room Construction thread. Work began 2/15/05, finished 7.1 install 6/2005. Sold house 7/2007.
Toeside is offline  
post #553 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
impetigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by tokerblue View Post

It's not as responsive as the PS3, but I am able to do two things with the A30 that I am not able to with the PS3. Fully control it with my Harmony 880 and... play HD-DVD's.

Do you have the Nyko bluwave PS3 IR remote? If not, I highly recommend it. Can't turn on/off the PS3 (or the "PS" button), but otherwise works flawlessly with the PS3. Totally worth $20.

edit: I meant that with the Nyko, your Logitech 880 (I also use the same) will control the PS3 perfectly. Besides the "PS" button, though, it unfortunately won't be able to use the bluetooth PS3 remote functions like display, subtitles, etc.
impetigo is offline  
post #554 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Toeside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chesterfield, MO
Posts: 1,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now that my initial issue is out of the way, time to play.

TMNT: Looks amazing.
Bourne Identity: So far, very good. I'm only a few minutes in, but it's great.


HD-DVD experience: I never even tested a player before. The way the menu overlays a movie as it's playing is very cool.

I have the player set to 1080p/24 and it's playback is excellent on my Mitsubishi WD-52631.


My only complaint so far (and it's minor) is not startup time, but the time to actually display something. I would have thought the Toshiba logo would appear sooner, even as the machine boots.

My Media Room Construction thread. Work began 2/15/05, finished 7.1 install 6/2005. Sold house 7/2007.
Toeside is offline  
post #555 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by impetigo View Post

Do you have the Nyko bluwave PS3 IR remote? If not, I highly recommend it. Can't turn on/off the PS3 (or the "PS" button), but otherwise works flawlessly with the PS3. Totally worth $20.

I agree! Just got mine today.
slimm is offline  
post #556 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 10:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
impetigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post

If the A35 doesn't improve on this I doubt the Onkyo player will either (since it likely is just an rebadged player manufactured by Toshiba).

Where did these rumors of the Onkyo being a rebadged Toshiba player come from? That seems unlikely, unless you mean it's analogous to an Infiniti G35 coupe being built on the same platform as a Nissan 350Z (which I don't even know is true). Same platform, but higher build quality/components, etc. Just doubt that Onkyo will rest its reputation on Toshiba's products.
impetigo is offline  
post #557 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
littlesaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brunswick, Ohio
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by impetigo View Post

Where did these rumors of the Onkyo being a rebadged Toshiba player come from? That seems unlikely, unless you mean it's analogous to an Infiniti G35 coupe being built on the same platform as a Nissan 350Z (which I don't even know is true). Same platform, but higher build quality/components, etc. Just doubt that Onkyo will rest its reputation on Toshiba's products.

The components that count (processors, decoders, etc.) will most likely be the same as the XA2. The platform isn't mature enough to have much delineation in components.


The G35 is the same platform as the 350Z/Altima.

The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.
littlesaint is offline  
post #558 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ILJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgribbles View Post

I'm not completely sure of the mechanics involved (muxing?) but all the interactivity goodies I've tried work without a hitch, including PIP. The output remains @ 1080p/24.

Which movies did you watch with the IME/PiP on? What is your display that is 24p capable?

I've been wondering about this too since the content for PiP and other stuff may not be at 24fps.

Good news, indeed.

*************************************************

Still looking for a movie theatre that shows movies the way they're SUPPOSED to be viewed...



...with a bitrate meter and screencaps.
ILJG is offline  
post #559 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 11:55 AM
Newbie
 
Prodigious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question regarding what would be the best purchase and setup decision for my situation. I just bought a Sharp Aquos LC32-GP1U(which I love oh so much). As I understand it, my display can accept 1080p/60 over hdmi but not 1080p/24.

Would getting the A30 be of any benefit to me at all under these circumstances? In this situation what hd-dvd player would give me the best bang for my buck and with what output settings?

I keep hearing about how A20 has an issue with processing and outputting 1080p/60 and that this issue carries over to the A30 which uses the same processing hardware as the A20 for converting 1080p24 off the disc to a 1080p60 output(I believe it involves coverting it to 1080i before deinterlacing it and outputting as a 1080p signal). It seems to me that a lot of users recommend just setting it to 1080i and letting the tv deinterlace it. If that's the case I would imagine there wouldn't be much benefit in spending a lot of extra money on a 1080p capable hd-dvd player(I'm not going to upgrade to a 1080p/24 display for quite some time).

I'm mainly concerned with getting the best picture I can given my equipment(without spending over $500).
Prodigious is offline  
post #560 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILJG View Post

Which movies did you watch with the IME/PiP on? What is your display that is 24p capable?

I've been wondering about this too since the content for PiP and other stuff may not be at 24fps.

Good news, indeed.

I've been screwing around with this over the last few days and with quite a few different movies but I'm pretty sure it was in MI III (I was checking out the Vatican staircase moire effect) but it could have been Hot Fuzz. I have a Mits WD-52631 DLP. I can assure you that whatever flick it was I did turn on PIP and then I checked my AVR and it was displaying 1080p/24. I'll certainly try it out again later today or this weekend.

I just looked at what thread I'm in! I need to point out that I have the XA2 with v 2.5.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #561 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by impetigo View Post

Where did these rumors of the Onkyo being a rebadged Toshiba player come from?

Because Onkyo rebadged top of the line Toshiba DVD players in the previous generation (just like RCA did initially this generation). Toshiba SD-9200 and Onkyo DV-939 for example. I hope they are vastly superior to the Toshiba players but I have a feeling that they won't be much improvement over the XA2 or A35 other than the name and aesthetics.
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #562 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevivoe View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post

Most even allow you to power on by pressing the OPEN on the remote or player

Works with any generation Tosh HD DVD player also ... did you try it?

Does the drawer eject and accept a disc immediately, or after the player powers up? This is what I am referring to.
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #563 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevivoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prodigious View Post

I have a question regarding what would be the best purchase and setup decision for my situation. I just bought a Sharp Aquos LC32-GP1U(which I love oh so much). As I understand it, my display can accept 1080p/60 over hdmi but not 1080p/24.

Would getting the A30 be of any benefit to me at all under these circumstances? In this situation what hd-dvd player would give me the best bang for my buck and with what output settings?

I keep hearing about how A20 has an issue with processing and outputting 1080p/60 and that this issue carries over to the A30 which uses the same processing hardware as the A20 for converting 1080p24 off the disc to a 1080p60 output(I believe it involves coverting it to 1080i before deinterlacing it and outputting as a 1080p signal). It seems to me that a lot of users recommend just setting it to 1080i and letting the tv deinterlace it. If that's the case I would imagine there wouldn't be much benefit in spending a lot of extra money on a 1080p capable hd-dvd player(I'm not going to upgrade to a 1080p/24 display for quite some time).

I'm mainly concerned with getting the best picture I can given my equipment(without spending over $500).

The A2 or A3. Don't bother with the A20 or A30. You will not have analog outputs unless you use A35 or XA2 however but since you don't care about 1080p/24fps you probably don't care about TrueHD either.
kevivoe is offline  
post #564 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 01:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevivoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post

Does the drawer eject and accept a disc immediately, or after the player powers up? This is what I am referring to.

No, always a boot time first ....
kevivoe is offline  
post #565 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brahmzy View Post

When's the Sammy supposed to be coming out?

Before XMAS.

HD Guru Exclusive- First Review of Samsung's BD-UP5000 Combo HD DVD/Blu-Ray/DVD Player 9/15/07

being discussed here - http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=908610

Rumor is that the Samsung will be able to decode True-HD and DTS-HD MA for output analog or PCM. If this is true, this may be the most desireable player from either side of the fence (until a Denon multi-player is available ).
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #566 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nosferax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Beauharnois, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevivoe View Post

The A2 or A3. Don't bother with the A20 or A30. You will not have analog outputs unless you use A35 or XA2 however but since you don't care about 1080p/24fps you probably don't care about TrueHD either.

eh? Those two things aren't related. Take me for instance I don't care about 24fps since my projector can't process it anyway but I do want TrueHD.

I don't have the finance right now to upgrade the proj but i'm planning to upgrade my old pio amps soon for an HDMI equiped model that can process TrueHD.
Nosferax is offline  
post #567 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 01:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
crussell1492's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
is there a feature matrix comparing the new gen of players anywhere
thanks
crussell1492 is offline  
post #568 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by crussell1492 View Post

is there a feature matrix comparing the new gen of players anywhere
thanks

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=908939

.

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #569 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 03:32 PM
Member
 
agentq232's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you buy an A30 you can participate in the 5 free HD-DVD deal right?
agentq232 is offline  
post #570 of 3694 Old 09-21-2007, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 4,721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by agentq232 View Post

If you buy an A30 you can participate in the 5 free HD-DVD deal right?

- You're eligible for the existing 5 free offer or the new 10/1/07 offer.
tokerblue is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off