**Official Toshiba HD-A3/30/35 Thread** - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 3694 Old 09-26-2007, 07:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mbw23air's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: KY
Posts: 2,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by dude2006 View Post

I just got an email saying the A35 was shipped to me this evening. Boy that was fast

Ditto that! Nothing like getting it 3 weeks early.

Mike

WTB: DPI Cine LED 1000 projector
mbw23air is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 3694 Old 09-26-2007, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevivoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dude2006 View Post

I just got an email saying the A35 was shipped to me this evening. Boy that was fast

Me too. Came to my blackberry 2 minutes ago. I will be billed Oct. 1st to get the new movie selection.

I think he is nuts for shipping before billing ... but I am trustworthy!

k
kevivoe is offline  
post #633 of 3694 Old 09-26-2007, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
John Ballentine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dude2006 View Post

I just got an email saying the A35 was shipped to me this evening. Boy that was fast

Please give us a full report when you receive/test your A35.
John Ballentine is offline  
post #634 of 3694 Old 09-26-2007, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevivoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by philosoninja View Post

Im at work right now(BB) and I need some knowledge about a product Tosh hd-a30.

Is it HDMI 1.3?
Is is deep color compatible?
It is 24P compatible?
Is it better than the xa2?
I would read the whole post but I have to get back to work.

whoops I first answered about HD-A35.

HD-A30 is unknown to me.
kevivoe is offline  
post #635 of 3694 Old 09-26-2007, 08:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HiHoStevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas & Cedar Hills
Posts: 3,920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Robert..........

Do you have a link to the succinct differences between the A30/A35/XA2??

An earlier post alluded to the fact that the A30 would not be HDMI 1.3, but that is about all I have found.....

Do either the A30 or 35 use the Reon for scaling/de-interlacing?

There are just two theories for successfully quarreling with a woman -- neither one works!
The Barn - Use Password = AVSForum
HiHoStevo is offline  
post #636 of 3694 Old 09-26-2007, 08:58 PM
Member
 
philosoninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We have several on the shelf already. The box for the A30 doesn't mention anything about 1.3. I can't open it up to look at the manual and we haven't put it on display yet.
philosoninja is offline  
post #637 of 3694 Old 09-26-2007, 09:03 PM
Member
 
philosoninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm also going to assume that since the Toshiba sit mentions Deep Color specifically for the A35 but not for the A30, the A30 is not HDMI 1.3.
philosoninja is offline  
post #638 of 3694 Old 09-26-2007, 09:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
arbitrage000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Whitehorse
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiHoStevo View Post

Robert..........

Do you have a link to the succinct differences between the A30/A35/XA2??

An earlier post alluded to the fact that the A30 would not be HDMI 1.3, but that is about all I have found.....

Do either the A30 or 35 use the Reon for scaling/de-interlacing?

Check his website for the specs. No Reon in 30/35. Both have Anchor Bay. A30 definetely same as A20, A35 may have newer/better AB chip but I think Robert said it was the same also. XA2 will still be the flagship from what I have read.

Blue Discs: 28....Next purchase...The Rock
Red Discs: 7....Next purchase...Is there a need to?
PS3 Games: 4....Next purchase...GT5
Just a bluish shade of purple....Neutrality is calming!
arbitrage000 is offline  
post #639 of 3694 Old 09-26-2007, 11:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chris0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boogie7910 View Post

I just read through this intire thread in one sitting and I'm disappointed that only 10% of the posts actually talk about Gen 3 players.

I hear the same questions being asked numerous times. Tons of OT posts that make anyone trying to find good information, much harder.


Before I bought the A30 I came here looking for info and felt exactly as you do. Hopefully once people get their hands on them this will change.

Pics from my TV here and here.
chris0 is offline  
post #640 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 12:46 AM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The A3, A30 and A35 all have the same Anchor Bay video processor. The A30 is HDMI 1.2a and the A35 and XA2 are HDMI 1.3a.

We still have some A35s left from our first allocation and all A35 orders will ship tomorrow.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #641 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 12:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MovieSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Gothenburg
Posts: 6,773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Robert what would you recommend between the XA2 and A35 if you take PQ, 24P and upscaling as the most important specs.
MovieSwede is offline  
post #642 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 03:54 AM
Member
 
haylo75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boogie7910 View Post

I just read through this intire thread in one sitting and I'm disappointed that only 10% of the posts actually talk about Gen 3 players.

I hear the same questions being asked numerous times. Tons of OT posts that make anyone trying to find good information, much harder.


I ask this in all sincerity. How is this different from the majority of "owners" or "official" product threads on AVS?

haylo75
Webmaster - GTVault.com
haylo75 is offline  
post #643 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 04:11 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I plan to do a good side by side comparison between the A35 and XA2. I will also post a pic of the A35 sending the Dolby TrueHD into the onkyo 905...

For my latest Reviews and Stuff google -> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com
Check out my Dolby Atmos/Surround first take:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1409517748063
joerod is offline  
post #644 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Artslinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 1,575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I plan to do a good side by side comparison between the A35 and XA2. I will also post a pic of the A35 sending the Dolby TrueHD into the onkyo 905...

Cool. I'm still deciding between these two players.

I know your 905 has the Reon, will you be doing scaling/de-interlacing comparisons also?
Artslinger is offline  
post #645 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I plan to do a good side by side comparison between the A35 and XA2. I will also post a pic of the A35 sending the Dolby TrueHD into the onkyo 905...

I'm also curious if the DTHD will sound any different processed through the 905 versus in player processing. Hopefully we'll get this soon for the XA2 along with a fix for the 24p.

Clark
Clark Burk is offline  
post #646 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 08:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
sl@cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Are there any reasons I should get the HD-A3 over the HA-A2? Most inportantly, does the HD-A3 have 24 FPS which the HD-A2 didn't have?
sl@cker is offline  
post #647 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
onthecake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

The A3, A30 and A35 all have the same Anchor Bay video processor. The A30 is HDMI 1.2a and the A35 and XA2 are HDMI 1.3a.

We still have some A35s left from our first allocation and all A35 orders will ship tomorrow.

-Robert

Any word on when you are getting the A3's?
onthecake is offline  
post #648 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Big Worms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brighton, CO
Posts: 1,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I plan to do a good side by side comparison between the A35 and XA2. I will also post a pic of the A35 sending the Dolby TrueHD into the onkyo 905...

Nice! Thanks ahead of time for doing that.

Ernie
.: DVD Profiler :.

Big Worms is offline  
post #649 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Urza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,131
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

The A3, A30 and A35 all have the same Anchor Bay video processor. The A30 is HDMI 1.2a and the A35 and XA2 are HDMI 1.3a.

We still have some A35s left from our first allocation and all A35 orders will ship tomorrow.

-Robert

Hi Robert!

Thanks for all your help. Got my notice it is shipping.

Will it be billed for the first? I want to get the NEW 5 free deal.

I'd love to get my hands on a Blu Monster's Ball.-LilStinky

Refering to a possible release of said movie on BD LOL
Urza is offline  
post #650 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 01:57 PM
Member
 
derubermensch1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased an Integra 8.8 which has the Reon HQV in it. Don't ask how it is, it is still on backorder, lol.

I am wondering, if the Reon is superior, can I disable the Anchor Bay upconversion on the A35 and have the player pass a 480i signal via HDMI so the Reon in the 8.8 can handle the upconversion?

If I can indeed disable the AB, but the player can only pass 480p via HDMI, would it be better to use AB instead of having the Reon interlace the 480p signal then de-interlace it up to 1080p?

Thanks
derubermensch1 is offline  
post #651 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 03:34 PM
Member
 
koherp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: "Da Burg" (St Pete, FL)
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


I am wondering, if the Reon is superior, can I disable the Anchor Bay upconversion on the A35 and have the player pass a 480i signal via HDMI so the Reon in the 8.8 can handle the upconversion?

If I can indeed disable the AB, but the player can only pass 480p via HDMI, would it be better to use AB instead of having the Reon interlace the 480p signal then de-interlace it up to 1080p?

good question.
I have a 905 (I think that's 8.8's cheaper twin).
but why would it need to interlace first and then de-interlace ? my understanding of the REON (which is limited, admittedly) is that will upscale and deinterlace (as needed) anything below 720p

KO
koherp is offline  
post #652 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 03:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
arbitrage000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Whitehorse
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by koherp View Post

good question.
I have a 905 (I think that's 8.8's cheaper twin).
but why would it need to interlace first and then de-interlace ? my understanding of the REON (which is limited, admittedly) is that will upscale and deinterlace (as needed) anything below 720p

KO

Just to chime in, I think you're right and that it wouldn't rip apart the progressive first, but would just scale it up to 1080p. So the OP would be better off using his Integra as long as its possible to turn off scaling in the HDDVD player (I have no idea if it is or not).

Blue Discs: 28....Next purchase...The Rock
Red Discs: 7....Next purchase...Is there a need to?
PS3 Games: 4....Next purchase...GT5
Just a bluish shade of purple....Neutrality is calming!
arbitrage000 is offline  
post #653 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 03:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
arbitrage000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Whitehorse
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MovieSwede View Post

Robert what would you recommend between the XA2 and A35 if you take PQ, 24P and upscaling as the most important specs.

I'm not Robert but I like to pretend to be, so I will say that 24p should be identical. PQ can be improved even on HD-DVD by the REON and should be better than the A35s anchorbay chip. Upscaling has always been best with the XA2's REON, hands down. I think you'll only be happy with the XA2.

Blue Discs: 28....Next purchase...The Rock
Red Discs: 7....Next purchase...Is there a need to?
PS3 Games: 4....Next purchase...GT5
Just a bluish shade of purple....Neutrality is calming!
arbitrage000 is offline  
post #654 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 03:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 25,008
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1145 Post(s)
Liked: 1589
Quote:
Originally Posted by haylo75 View Post

I ask this in all sincerity. How is this different from the majority of "owners" or "official" product threads on AVS?

Ain't that the truth....

And then you have to deal with the jerkoffs who get mad at you for asking a question, as though we all should be required to wade through a 5,000 post owners thread of which maybe 200-300 posts are useful....

Anyway, in that spirit, let's keep the information coming!

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is offline  
post #655 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 03:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
sbddvm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by derubermensch1 View Post

..., can I disable the Anchor Bay upconversion on the A35 and have the player pass a 480i signal via HDMI so the Reon in the 8.8 can handle the upconversion?

I asked Robert the same question but haven't received a reply. It would be nice if the A35 could output 480i in order to compare the scaling/deinterlacing ability of the Onkyo 905's Reon with that of the A35's AB.

"Oh what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive." -Sir Walter Scott

sbddvm is offline  
post #656 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 04:58 PM
Member
 
koherp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: "Da Burg" (St Pete, FL)
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


I asked Robert the same question but haven't received a reply. It would be nice if the A35 could output 480i in order to compare the scaling/deinterlacing ability of the Onkyo 905's Reon with that of the A35's AB.

so you want an A/B of A.B.? (ha get it?)

maybe avs maniac Joerod can add that to his to-do list of comparisons?

I'd volunteer, but I would't have the necessary vocabulary to explain results.

If I had to guess at results, I think the outcome is going to depend on the extent of each VP's UI. ie the 905 REON UI has more configurable settings than 805 etc and who knows what will be adjustable in AB's UI.

KO
koherp is offline  
post #657 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
John Ballentine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 5,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arbitrage000 View Post

I'm not Robert but I like to pretend to be, so I will say that 24p should be identical. PQ can be improved even on HD-DVD by the REON and should be better than the A35s anchorbay chip. Upscaling has always been best with the XA2's REON, hands down. I think you'll only be happy with the XA2.

IIRC, the HD-DVD signal path (@1080p24) completely bypasses the Reon chip. Reon is active and useful only during SD DVD playback.
John Ballentine is offline  
post #658 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 09:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
arbitrage000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Whitehorse
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Ballentine View Post

IIRC, the HD-DVD signal path (@1080p24) completely bypasses the Reon chip. Reon is active and useful only during SD DVD playback.

That's what I used to think but other posters have said that some of its functions are still active for HD-DVD and that they have seen a difference. They were pretty convincing, so I don't know 100% for sure. I can't remember what thread it was in.

Blue Discs: 28....Next purchase...The Rock
Red Discs: 7....Next purchase...Is there a need to?
PS3 Games: 4....Next purchase...GT5
Just a bluish shade of purple....Neutrality is calming!
arbitrage000 is offline  
post #659 of 3694 Old 09-27-2007, 09:21 PM
Newbie
 
blueeyedbanditt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urza View Post

Hi Robert!

Thanks for all your help. Got my notice it is shipping.

Will it be billed for the first? I want to get the NEW 5 free deal.


I ordered the A3 from VE today and called to ask if they could date the receipt for Oct. 1 or later. They said they would have no problem doing so and asked that I just put it in the comment field when placing the order.

Just an FYI in case anyone was wondering, I was too.
blueeyedbanditt is offline  
post #660 of 3694 Old 09-28-2007, 07:31 AM
Member
 
stpetematt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious if anyone has theirs yet? Has it been tested with the Onkyo's yet?

Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 HDTV
Onkyo TX-SR805 THX Ultra 2
Axiom M60 Towers
Axiom VC-160 Center
Axiom QS8 Surrounds
HSU Engineering VT-15 Sub
PS3/360
stpetematt is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off