2nd Gen Tosh HD DVD Firmware 2.5 is up (1080p/24 for A20 and XA2)! - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:24 PM
Member
 
fumoffu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the A20 and I am applying it now. I appear to be the first genni pig for this model.
fumoffu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:28 PM
Member
 
JDGJr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dx31698 View Post

mine a-2 still says it fully updated at 2.2. Did any of you guys update to 2.5 through the ethernet

my XA2 is saying the same thing. hmmm

wisdom is the domain of the wis (FZ)
some things i know some things i don't
JDGJr1 is offline  
post #93 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
8ohms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Davie, Florida
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoCheese View Post

XA2 all DONE...Now it says Blu ray on the welcome screen?...Kidding, all is well.


Hey! Don't give Sony any ideas. They could easily get some hacker in some far off eastern country to write a program to update Toshiba HD DVD players with some malicious virus and claim they know nothing and claim a victory.
8ohms is offline  
post #94 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
BuckNaked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moviegeek View Post

I would(and I did) update,v2.5 adds 1080p24Hz and enhanced RGB...it also adds an option to select format for combo discs.
BTW:I have a A20.

But the 1080p24 means nothing if my display is not 24fps compatible, correct?
BuckNaked is offline  
post #95 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:34 PM
Member
 
gixx1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fumoffu View Post

I have the A20 and I am applying it now. I appear to be the first genni pig for this model.

Ha! I'm at 5/5 on my A20. Try and catch up!
gixx1000 is offline  
post #96 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bferr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Somewhere in the back of my mind
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by moviegeek View Post

Wow v2.5 added what type of disc it is(ie HD-DVD or DVD) in General->Twin Format Disc.
Hopefully that fixes combo disc problems.

I think that was there before, but only visible if there was no disc in the player.
bferr1 is offline  
post #97 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hd nOOb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fumoffu View Post

I have the A20 and I am applying it now. I appear to be the first genni pig for this model.

I just updated mine, It seems to have made my player slower to boot and load.

If you hit display it does say 1080p24Hz.

I'm watching riddick, My Onkyo 705 reads 1080p24/>1080p so....

Blu ray is the best Blah, blah, blah.
hd nOOb is offline  
post #98 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rob316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What does the RGB setting do, I have a Panny 47x54 1080i RPTV.

Rob
rob316 is offline  
post #99 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:36 PM
Senior Member
 
BDP33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
FYI!

My A20 is updating right now via the ethernet connection.

details to follow
BDP33 is offline  
post #100 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rob316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hd nOOb View Post

I just updated mine, It seems to have made my player slower to boot and load.

If you hit display it does say 1080p24Hz.

I'm watching riddick, My Onkyo 705 reads 1080p24/>1080p so....

NICE! Now what Sony or Best Buy can't use the sales pitch HD-DVD is only 1080i anymore.

Rob
rob316 is offline  
post #101 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:38 PM
Member
 
gixx1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob316 View Post

What does the RGB setting do, I have a Panny 47x54 1080i RPTV.

Rob

I would also like to know this. Does it only affect analog connections?
gixx1000 is offline  
post #102 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ac388's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please advise which link you go to to get the ISO ?

THANKS !!!



Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

It worked!!!


Man see things as they were n say why. I dream of things that never were, n say why not ....... A Perfect PROJECTOR
ac388 is offline  
post #103 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
RGBHV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RGB settings are going to be for the folks who are connecting HDMI to a DVI display. Giving them an option of PC DVI or Video DVI standards. :-)
RGBHV is offline  
post #104 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gosawx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: other side of MA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My A20 and Xa2 are both updating now via the internet!!! After trying all day

But the Sox are down 4-0
gosawx is offline  
post #105 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rob316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGBHV View Post

RGB settings are going to be for the folks who are connecting HDMI to a DVI display. Giving them an option of PC DVI or Video DVI standards. :-)

Thanks for the info.

Rob
rob316 is offline  
post #106 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hd nOOb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac388 View Post

Please advise which link you go to to get the ISO ?

THANKS !!!


Here.

PLZ note this is for the Toshiba HD-A20 only


http://tacp.toshiba.com/tacpassets-i...-A20-2501N.zip

Blu ray is the best Blah, blah, blah.
hd nOOb is offline  
post #107 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:48 PM
Member
 
fumoffu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have the A20 connected to a Toshiba 46HX83 (yea, I know I have no reason for 1080p but it was the same price as the A2 at BB the other week). This uses the HDMI->DVI connection. I beleive I was having the BTB issue before. After turning on the Enhanced RGB setting it (with or with out setting the Enhanced Black Level option) I am able to see the BTB on a THX optimizer screen test with the brightness turned up all. I never thought this issue really hurt my image jus tmade it difficult to adjust the settings.

It worked
fumoffu is offline  
post #108 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
spectra57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDGJr1 View Post

my XA2 is saying the same thing. hmmm

Same thing here, my A2 says that I'm already updated and I'm still at 2.2v over internet. Anyone figure a way around this?

Ron
spectra57 is offline  
post #109 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Works great on my Mits DLP. Hot Fuzz looks great. Many thanks to usualsuspects, I'd a been up all night hitting the refresh button with one hand and trying to connect via ethernet with the other.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
post #110 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Will Munshower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tobes of Hades, Central Florida
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm attempting to update via ISO on my A2. I am getting error 2007c00f. Anyone heard of that one? Thanks...Will

Red was my first love. Blu is my new wife!
HD DVD-117
Blu-Ray-287
SD DVD-544

You can't have everything. Where would you put it? Steven Wright
Will Munshower is offline  
post #111 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
spectra57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Munshower View Post

I'm attempting to update via ISO on my A2. I am getting error 2007c00f. Anyone heard of that one? Thanks...Will

Where did you download the file from?
spectra57 is offline  
post #112 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 06:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGBHV View Post

RGB settings are going to be for the folks who are connecting HDMI to a DVI display. Giving them an option of PC DVI or Video DVI standards. :-)

The RGB and WTW/BTB issue does not only impact users connecting HDMI>DVI. Connection to my display (Westy 42w2) via HDMI>HDMI experiences the same issue.

Back off man, I'm a scientist.
sharkcohen is offline  
post #113 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 06:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Will Munshower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tobes of Hades, Central Florida
Posts: 1,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I downloaded it from Tosh. I just now finally got it going...After making 6 coasters! I hope us poor A2 owners got some goodies as well...Will

Red was my first love. Blu is my new wife!
HD DVD-117
Blu-Ray-287
SD DVD-544

You can't have everything. Where would you put it? Steven Wright
Will Munshower is offline  
post #114 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
primetimeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 3,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked: 158
No BTB for me even after the update. Tried all combinations of Enhanced black and RGB output. This is going HDMI to DVI on Sony KP-57WS510 RP CRT. Everything looks fine over component as before.

Forgot to add this is with the A2.
primetimeguy is online now  
post #115 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 06:10 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I downloaded the zipped ISO from the below link using a Mac, and the ISO "mounting failed". What does that mean? I am unable to burn via Disk Utility, because it does not see the ISO on the desk top, probably because it "mounting failed".

Any ideas?

http://tacp.toshiba.com/tacpassets-i...-XA2-2501N.zip

Thanks.

Mark
giomania is offline  
post #116 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
mw390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Levittown, NY
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Earlier poster was right...by doing a view source you can see the target URL. For A2 it's

http://tacp.toshiba.com/tacpassets-i...D-A2-2501N.zip
mw390 is offline  
post #117 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Out Yonder
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGBHV View Post

RGB settings are going to be for the folks who are connecting HDMI to a DVI display. Giving them an option of PC DVI or Video DVI standards. :-)

Which setting is which.

KJ
kjohn is offline  
post #118 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 06:17 PM
Senior Member
 
The Main Event's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the XA2, and it's currently updating.
The Main Event is offline  
post #119 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 06:18 PM
Member
 
gixx1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I'm annoyed to report that this update did nothing for the A20's de-interlacing issues in 1080p/60. Using 1080i and letting my tv do the interlacing still results in a better image. My tv doesn't support 1080p/24 btw.
gixx1000 is offline  
post #120 of 1263 Old 09-12-2007, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrgribbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Decatur, IL
Posts: 2,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting I'm getting 24fps off of Kill Kill, SD material. Looks pretty good on the Mits DLP.

Some days it's hardly worth chewing through the restraints.
mrgribbles is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off