My new XA2 turns itself off - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 10-13-2007, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
EvilRonin_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was in BestBuy last night killing some time and saw they had a new XA2 on the shelf. I had a 10% off coupon with me and made an impulse purchase (I was going to get an A35 but what the heck). I picked up a couple of HD-DVDs and brought it home. Every time I try and play an HD-DVD, the unit shuts itself off at random times, but never plays for more than a few minutes. The strange thing is that it plays standard DVDs just fine. I updated the firmware in it hoping this would make a difference, but it does the same thing. I guess I'll be bringing it back today and if they have another in stock I'll exchange it.

I did see a report on Amazon where someone else reported the same thing, but it doesn't look like a real common problem. Just my luck.
EvilRonin_ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 10-13-2007, 09:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
EvilRonin_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I spoke too soon - a lot of people appear to be having a problem with random power offs.
EvilRonin_ is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 10-13-2007, 09:20 AM
 
plazman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 6,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a thermostat that turns the power off if it gets too hot. The way to address this is to keep the player in a well ventilated area - keep door open if in a cabinet.

1080p runs hotter than 1080i.
plazman is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 10-13-2007, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bferr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Somewhere in the back of my mind
Posts: 3,388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've read that this will be addressed by a future firmware update. I hope that turns out to be true.
bferr1 is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 10-13-2007, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
darylc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just an observation...no offense intended...but: seems to me Toshiba has it's work cut out for it with these firmware updates to fix things. There are quite a few on that list and growing. And if the past is any indicator...it's not a quick turnaround.
darylc is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 10-13-2007, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
EvilRonin_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I didn't swap the unit out, but I did rearrange my rack so it's all by itself with nothing near it to keep it cooler and I did try the turn the unit on before the TV and receiver and was able to watch two complete movies without a power off. I'll play around tonight with the power on sequence to see if I can repeatedly make it happen. The only problem with the sequence is getting the kids and worse, the wife, to remember to do it. Maybe I should just switch to 1080i when I'm not there - it might save me some grief!
EvilRonin_ is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 10-13-2007, 03:42 PM
Member
 
120 inch lcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wouldn't start worrying until it starts talking to you,
120 inch lcd is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 10-13-2007, 03:45 PM
 
plazman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 6,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilRonin_ View Post

Well, I didn't swap the unit out, but I did rearrange my rack so it's all by itself with nothing near it to keep it cooler and I did try the turn the unit on before the TV and receiver and was able to watch two complete movies without a power off. I'll play around tonight with the power on sequence to see if I can repeatedly make it happen. The only problem with the sequence is getting the kids and worse, the wife, to remember to do it. Maybe I should just switch to 1080i when I'm not there - it might save me some grief!

I don't believe the sequence of turning the device on makes a difference. At least that is the case for me....the reason I got the XA-2 was because my wife found it too hard to operate the XA-1. I really liked the audio on the Xa-1 and the build quality....but the low WAF doomed it
plazman is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 10-13-2007, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
fst96se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by plazman View Post

I don't believe the sequence of turning the device on makes a difference. At least that is the case for me....the reason I got the XA-2 was because my wife found it too hard to operate the XA-1. I really liked the audio on the Xa-1 and the build quality....but the low WAF doomed it

What is it that your wife didn't like about it, and how did the XA2 improve that? I am thinking of getting the XA2, but may wait for the Sammy bd5000.
fst96se is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 10-14-2007, 10:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
shiznit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: somewhere
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by darylc View Post

Just an observation...no offense intended...but: seems to me Toshiba has it's work cut out for it with these firmware updates to fix things. There are quite a few on that list and growing. And if the past is any indicator...it's not a quick turnaround.

i had knocked up lock up on me twice last night, brand new copy in an xa2... the wife wasn't impressed and neither am i. i've also had my xa2 power off on me for no apparent reason, my xa2 sits on the top OPEN shelf, so heat is NOT the issue.
shiznit is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 10-14-2007, 01:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
rdjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 9,736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Mine doesn't power off by itself, but it makes a GREAT daquiri!

Ahh... F1 in full HD 3D with
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


The
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


The
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rdjam is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 10-16-2007, 10:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
EvilRonin_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, as I mentioned in another thread, my XA2 power off problem has returned. This time in the movie Transformers. I had previously moved it to a shelf far away from any heat and tried the power on sequence and the movie turned itself off 3 times. The funny thing is it did it about 22 minutes into the movie. The case didn't feel hot or anything. I switched to 1080i and it played the movie with no issues. Firmware or defective player? I am still within my return window at BB, so I guess I should try swapping it for another player.
EvilRonin_ is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 10-16-2007, 11:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would either exchange the player if possible or send it to Toshiba for repair (about a two week turn around). This seems to be a problem with a few XA2 as reported here. My XA2 has never had the problem even with my cat sleeping on top of it lol.
Robert D is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 10-16-2007, 11:33 PM
Senior Member
 
cambrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you should show us the picture of that cat sleeping on the player lol.
cambrian is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 10-17-2007, 07:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
ravenous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northern Germany
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cambrian View Post

you should show us the picture of that cat sleeping on the player lol.

You mean like this
LL

HD-EP35 & PS3 & (soon to be) Regionfree Oppo BD-93. 148 : 481
ravenous is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 10-17-2007, 07:19 AM
 
plazman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 6,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilRonin_ View Post

Well, as I mentioned in another thread, my XA2 power off problem has returned. This time in the movie Transformers. I had previously moved it to a shelf far away from any heat and tried the power on sequence and the movie turned itself off 3 times. The funny thing is it did it about 22 minutes into the movie. The case didn't feel hot or anything. I switched to 1080i and it played the movie with no issues. Firmware or defective player? I am still within my return window at BB, so I guess I should try swapping it for another player.

I would recommend that you swap it.
plazman is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 10-17-2007, 07:22 AM
 
5thDanMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by plazman View Post

I would recommend that you swap it.

I Agree.

And if the problem still persists, I suggest that you call an exorcist.
5thDanMaster is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 10-17-2007, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
the crane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wheaton, IL
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same problem, but it isn't a heat problem.

Let the player power up, put in the disc and let it boot. THEN change your AVR or TV to the input. Works every time for me and I have my XA2 sitting on top of my ONKYO 705.

I Golf
the crane is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 10-17-2007, 07:24 AM
 
plazman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 6,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fst96se View Post

What is it that your wife didn't like about it, and how did the XA2 improve that? I am thinking of getting the XA2, but may wait for the Sammy bd5000.

It was mostly the slow response to the remote. She would always press too many buttons and the player would hang. The Xa-2 remote response is fine and my wife seems to have no problems operating it. Plus the footprint is a little smaller and it fits nicely on the shelf...

I'd say the Sammy BD 5000 looks like an excellent choice.

Overall though I really like the XA-2. But my own feeling is that dual format player is the way to go, with the Sammy having the Reon chip making it probably my top 'next upgrade' item.
plazman is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 10-17-2007, 09:06 AM
Member
 
swpsacs1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cedar Hills, UT
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had this problem with my first XA2, I sent it in to Toshiba for repair. They said it is a fault in the scaler when the unit is set to 1080p, something with the unit thinks its overheating when it really isn't. Try setting it to 1080i and if it doesn't shut off then that is the problem. The only solution is a new player. Toshiba sent me a new one outright, not a refurb. So if you can exchange it I would definitely do it.

Good luck!

Format Neutral BD-UP5000, JVC XV-BP1, HD-A35, HD-D3, Xbox 360 Add-on

HD DVD: 87
Blu-Ray: 96
swpsacs1 is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 10-18-2007, 07:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
EvilRonin_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I went back to BestBuy and of course, they had no more XA2s in stock. A check around nearby stores showed nothing in them either. So, I swapped it out for an A35. I just finished updating it and I'll see how it looks. I tell you one thing, the XA2 is certainly much beefier than the A35 is!
EvilRonin_ is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 10-18-2007, 08:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steven975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hehe the XA2 also has a few bucks in scrap aluminum when you decide you're done with it.
steven975 is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 10-19-2007, 08:09 PM
Member
 
arefog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Longmont, CO.
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine died during the layer change on a standard DVD, then worked for a movie or two, and then tonight it turned off a couple of times with an HD-DVD. It is in an open faced cabinet with plenty of space above it, so I don't think it is a heat issue. Happily I have 3 days left on my 30 day return. Thanks guys for documenting this - at least I know it is a known issue but not too common so hopefully the next one won't do it. (I downloaded the 2.5 firmware when I first got it, for whatever that's worth)

Dick Fogg
arefog is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off