**Official Toshiba HD-A35 (ONLY) Thread** - Page 146 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4351 of 4877 Old 11-11-2008, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
johndn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not to play mod, but deal talk is strictly prohibited (and enforced). You may want to move your post to the deals thread. Otherwise this forum becomes a classifieds section.
johndn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4352 of 4877 Old 11-29-2008, 09:28 PM
 
dogone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes...and if someone were to want one they should just PM me
dogone is offline  
post #4353 of 4877 Old 12-07-2008, 07:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
slow ride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I just now have gotten around to downloading the firmware updates. I didnt realize that there have been two( 3.0 & 4.0 ) I assume that I should skip the 3.0 and just add the 4.0.
anybody have a problem with that ? what should I expect with the new 4.0 firmware update. thanks
slow ride is offline  
post #4354 of 4877 Old 12-08-2008, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow ride View Post

I just now have gotten around to downloading the firmware updates. I didnt realize that there have been two( 3.0 & 4.0 ) I assume that I should skip the 3.0 and just add the 4.0.
anybody have a problem with that ? what should I expect with the new 4.0 firmware update. thanks

Indeed skip 3.0 and go directly to 4.0. You should experience increased stability and (finally) flawless 24fps playback of AVC/MPEG-4 HD DVDs.

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers

My DVD Collection

BasicBlak is offline  
post #4355 of 4877 Old 12-08-2008, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
slow ride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by BasicBlak View Post

Indeed skip 3.0 and go directly to 4.0. You should experience increased stability and (finally) flawless 24fps playback of AVC/MPEG-4 HD DVDs.


ok, thanks
slow ride is offline  
post #4356 of 4877 Old 12-08-2008, 02:49 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
When you install 4.0FW all previous update components are also installed...
Splicer010 is offline  
post #4357 of 4877 Old 12-09-2008, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Carey P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Tucson, AZ USA
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
All I can find is the old 2.0 Firmware when I select HD-A35 and click on Download File. Where is the 4.0 FW? Is there a secret link to this firmware?
UPDATE: Never mind. I found it. Thanks. http://www.tacp.toshiba.com/customer...p?model=hd-a35
Carey P is online now  
post #4358 of 4877 Old 12-10-2008, 11:41 AM
Senior Member
 
LOOKHEAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone please confirm for me that the 4.0 fw is, in fact, for both the XA2 and the A35, even though my copy says XA2 on the disc. Tks in advance.

SEEING IS BELIEVING

Phil
LOOKHEAR is offline  
post #4359 of 4877 Old 12-10-2008, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by LOOKHEAR View Post

Could someone please confirm for me that the 4.0 fw is, in fact, for both the XA2 and the A35, even though my copy says XA2 on the disc. Tks in advance.

Each model has it's own version for any given firmware update. So no, you would not be able to use the XA2's 4.0 f/w on the A35 player (or vice-versa).

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers

My DVD Collection

BasicBlak is offline  
post #4360 of 4877 Old 12-10-2008, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Wryker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 2,404
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by BasicBlak View Post

Each model has it's own version for any given firmware update. So no, you would not be able to use the XA2's 4.0 f/w on the A35 player (or vice-versa).

You are incorrect - taken straight from Toshiba's website:
Applicable Models: HD-A1, HD-XA1, HD-D1, HD-A35, HD-A2, HD-A2W, HD-A2C, HD-D2, HD-A20, HD-XA2, HD-A3, HD-D3, HD-A30.
http://www.tacp.toshiba.com/resource.asp?resourceid=71

"..where you will never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy."

Wryker is online now  
post #4361 of 4877 Old 12-10-2008, 12:45 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wryker View Post

You are incorrect - taken straight from Toshiba's website:
Applicable Models: HD-A1, HD-XA1, HD-D1, HD-A35, HD-A2, HD-A2W, HD-A2C, HD-D2, HD-A20, HD-XA2, HD-A3, HD-D3, HD-A30.
http://www.tacp.toshiba.com/resource.asp?resourceid=71

YOU are the one that is incorrect...The OP has an original Toshiba update disc and these discs CLEARLY WARN AGAINST USING THAT FW IN ANY OTHER MACHINE THAN THE INTENDED MODEL...There is indeed a version 4.0 for all models but each version is model specific...
Splicer010 is offline  
post #4362 of 4877 Old 12-10-2008, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
^Thank you, Splicer... Saved me the effort.

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers

My DVD Collection

BasicBlak is offline  
post #4363 of 4877 Old 12-10-2008, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

YOU are the one that is incorrect...The OP has an original Toshiba update disc and these discs CLEARLY WARN AGAINST USING THAT FW IN ANY OTHER MACHINE THAN THE INTENDED MODEL...There is indeed a version 4.0 for all models but each version is model specific...

Yes, this is correct. I found out the hard way. One time, I put in the A35 disk into the A30 or vice versa and it gave me some sort of error message so the code for each update must be set for the specific model.

lujan
657 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #4364 of 4877 Old 12-10-2008, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
LOOKHEAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks all for the help and especially Splicer. Originally when I ordered the 4.0 disc (and a friend and member had burned a copy for me already), I asked Tosh for each models 4.0 disc and the rep (a lady) told me that the XA2 disc would also work in the A35. I said . . . "hmmm, are you sure". She assured me that was correct. Well, still not sitting right and since the disc itself says to not use with any other player except the XA2, I questioned it. I also called Tosh earlier today (right after my post here) to again check in the meantime and the rep (a guy) this time, said "NO". Otherwise, he said I'd be sending the player in for another one.

I drive myself nuts triple checking everything anyway and this is why. Thanks again everyone.

SEEING IS BELIEVING

Phil
LOOKHEAR is offline  
post #4365 of 4877 Old 12-20-2008, 06:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HMenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Kentucky (Greater Cincinnati)
Posts: 1,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Why does the HD-A35 limit component output from DVDs to 480p, but will output 1080i/60 over component from an HD-DVD? Is this something in the authoring of DVDs?
HMenke is offline  
post #4366 of 4877 Old 12-20-2008, 07:06 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by HMenke View Post

Why does the HD-A35 limit component output from DVDs to 480p, but will output 1080i/60 over component from an HD-DVD? Is this something in the authoring of DVDs?

Copy protection...
Splicer010 is offline  
post #4367 of 4877 Old 12-20-2008, 10:27 PM
Senior Member
 
jedi.master.dre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HMenke View Post

Why does the HD-A35 limit component output from DVDs to 480p, but will output 1080i/60 over component from an HD-DVD? Is this something in the authoring of DVDs?

HDCP (High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection)!
jedi.master.dre is offline  
post #4368 of 4877 Old 12-21-2008, 02:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HMenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Kentucky (Greater Cincinnati)
Posts: 1,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Sure, but what's weird is that the 480p content on standard-def DVD is being "protected" from being upscaled to 1080i/60, 1080p/30, or 1080p/24 over component... yet the 1080p/24 content on HD-DVD is allowed to pass out through component as 1080i/60. That doesn't make sense.
HMenke is offline  
post #4369 of 4877 Old 12-30-2008, 12:52 PM
Member
 
AvGrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NE
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried to download FW 4.0 but the Toshiba web site doesn't seem to be working right. I list 4.0 but I can not find anyway of getting the download version. I found the older versions but not the 4.0. Has anyone been able to download it. The links on here take me to a page that shows it but no where to click to get download.
AvGrog is offline  
post #4370 of 4877 Old 12-30-2008, 12:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by AvGrog View Post

I tried to download FW 4.0 but the Toshiba web site doesn't seem to be working right. I list 4.0 but I can not find anyway of getting the download version. I found the older versions but not the 4.0. Has anyone been able to download it. The links on here take me to a page that shows it but no where to click to get download.

Try this link. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...A2%2FA20%2FXA2

"The best long distance runners eat raw meat, run naked and sleep in the snow."
snowghost is offline  
post #4371 of 4877 Old 01-02-2009, 09:04 AM
Member
 
DUCeditor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Monadnock Region, NH
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HMenke View Post

what's weird is that the 480p content on standard-def DVD is being "protected" from being upscaled to 1080i/60, 1080p/30, or 1080p/24 over component... yet the 1080p/24 content on HD-DVD is allowed to pass out through component as 1080i/60. That doesn't make sense.

I expect it was a compromise made with marketing in mind. IF HD discs used with older, non hdmi, monitors only could show the same definition as regular dvds many folks would not have bought into the system.

-don
DUCeditor is offline  
post #4372 of 4877 Old 01-02-2009, 09:16 AM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:


Quote:
Originally Posted by HMenke
what's weird is that the 480p content on standard-def DVD is being "protected" from being upscaled to 1080i/60, 1080p/30, or 1080p/24 over component... yet the 1080p/24 content on HD-DVD is allowed to pass out through component as 1080i/60. That doesn't make sense.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I expect it was a compromise made with marketing in mind. IF HD discs used with older, non hdmi, monitors only could show the same definition as regular dvds many folks would not have bought into the system.

-don

What it really was/is all about is the studio's don't want upconverted copies made andthen sold as HD...Pretty simple actually...
Splicer010 is offline  
post #4373 of 4877 Old 01-03-2009, 03:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Super XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON. Canada
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

What it really was/is all about is the studio's don't want upconverted copies made andthen sold as HD...Pretty simple actually...

But stupid at the same time. Good for the studios and bad for people that buy the movie. I am sure there is a by-pass for this unnecessary inconvenience.
Super XP is offline  
post #4374 of 4877 Old 01-03-2009, 05:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HMenke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern Kentucky (Greater Cincinnati)
Posts: 1,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 50
It doesn't make sense to "protect" the 480i content on SD DVD from being upconverted and copied over component...when the same content on 1080p HD-DVD (or Blu-ray) could be copied from component in actual hi-def.
HMenke is offline  
post #4375 of 4877 Old 01-03-2009, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super XP View Post

But stupid at the same time. Good for the studios and bad for people that buy the movie. I am sure there is a by-pass for this unnecessary inconvenience.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HMenke View Post

It doesn't make sense to "protect" the 480i content on SD DVD from being upconverted and copied over component...when the same content on 1080p HD-DVD (or Blu-ray) could be copied from component in actual hi-def.

Be that as it may, these are the restrictions on which the content providers have decided. You're preaching to the choir, folks, so don't shoot the messengers....

Besides, it's my understanding that 1080p from component cannot be copied unless (1) DMR has somehow been hacked (most of us are not technically astute enough to do that), or (2) the 1080p source in question is not copy protected to begin with. And even if it could be copied, 1080p over component is not identical to 1080p over HDMI/DVI, the latter of which is 100% pure digital. It's the signal in pure digital form that studios are most concerned with.

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers

My DVD Collection

BasicBlak is offline  
post #4376 of 4877 Old 01-07-2009, 01:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
abeas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If this has been asked, I apologize. Is it me, or does the "auto" setting under frame rate not work? I have the resolution setting set at up to 1080p/24, and my television (Sony KDL-46V4100) does do 24fps. When I select auto under frame rate, the TV still states 1080p. When I change frame rate to 1080/24p, my TV does display 1080/24p. Seems like the auto is not working. I have tried several movies like HArry Potter, Batman Begins, Friday Night Lights, they all show up 1080p under auto.
My PS3 is set to auto, and it shows blu-rays in1080/24p when appropriate.
abeas is offline  
post #4377 of 4877 Old 01-07-2009, 02:26 PM
Member
 
lateralis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
someone will correct me if this is wrong but I seem to remember reading that the "auto" frame rate was a feature being setup to be implemented in the future with discs that supported it but since discs aren't being authored anymore, we probably won't ever see it working. I just remember a similar issue that when you set "up to 1080p24" SD content looked jittery and I'd have to go turn it back to plain 1080p to get it to go away.
lateralis is offline  
post #4378 of 4877 Old 01-07-2009, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by lateralis View Post

someone will correct me if this is wrong but I seem to remember reading that the "auto" frame rate was a feature being setup to be implemented in the future with discs that supported it but since discs aren't being authored anymore, we probably won't ever see it working. I just remember a similar issue that when you set "up to 1080p24" SD content looked jittery and I'd have to go turn it back to plain 1080p to get it to go away.

The Auto Frame Rate works, but only if you're set to 1080p/24hz. The player will change to 1080p/60i if the content is not 24fps. It won't go the other way unless the DVD has a flag to tell the player. I know of no HD DVDs released with such a flag, although there may be some out there.

Basically it was for "future use" that never came to be.

"The best long distance runners eat raw meat, run naked and sleep in the snow."
snowghost is offline  
post #4379 of 4877 Old 01-07-2009, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowghost View Post

The Auto Frame Rate works, but only if you're set to 1080p/24hz. The player will change to 1080p/60i if the content is not 24fps. It won't go the other way unless the DVD has a flag to tell the player. I know of no HD DVDs released with such a flag, although there may be some out there.

Basically it was for "future use" that never came to be.

Actually, Lateralis has it correct. Indeed Auto doesn't work--not in the way Blu-ray has implimented it, at least. At present, when set to "Up to 1080p/24Hz", everything is played back at 1080p/60Hz when "Auto" refresh rate is selected REGARDLESS of whether or not the source is 24fps. As mentioned, however, it would have detected 24fps material in future specifically-flagged HD DVDs had the format survived.

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers

My DVD Collection

BasicBlak is offline  
post #4380 of 4877 Old 01-07-2009, 05:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
abeas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BasicBlak View Post

Actually, Lateralis has it correct. Indeed Auto doesn't work--not in the way Blu-ray has implimented it, at least. At present, when set to "Up to 1080p/24Hz", everything is played back at 1080p/60Hz when "Auto" refresh rate is selected REGARDLESS of whether or not the source is 24fps. As mentioned, however, it would have detected 24fps material in future specifically-flagged HD DVDs had the format survived.

Thanks everybody for the info.
abeas is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off