**Official Toshiba HD-A35 (ONLY) Thread** - Page 152 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4531 of 4877 Old 07-05-2009, 08:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Quentin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthWest USA
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super XP View Post

I wonder what Toshiba did with the 4th Gen HD DVD players?
The HD-A4, HD-A45 & HD-XA4 to name a few

Watch out, they're zombies and they're coming to get you!

2008 Samsung HLxxA650/Series 6 DLP Thread/FAQ
HD DVDs: 235
BD: 20
DVD: Too Many!

Free Men Do Not Ask Permission to Bear Arms
Quentin2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4532 of 4877 Old 07-05-2009, 09:23 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Were those players even announced and if so do you have the link???
Splicer010 is offline  
post #4533 of 4877 Old 07-06-2009, 12:49 AM
Senior Member
 
jedi.master.dre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super XP View Post

I wonder what Toshiba did with the 4th Gen HD DVD players?
The HD-A4, HD-A45 & HD-XA4 to name a few

Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

Were those players even announced and if so do you have the link???

These were never produced. Prototypes may exist but nothing ever was announced for retail.
jedi.master.dre is offline  
post #4534 of 4877 Old 07-06-2009, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedi.master.dre View Post

These were never produced. Prototypes may exist but nothing ever was announced for retail.

My guess is, they'll materialize later in the form of Blu-ray players. As I mentioned a while back, at this juncture there's simply no reason for Toshiba not to swallow its pride and get into the BD fray along with everyone else. Well, as I figured, it turns out they're contemplating doing just that. There's a small write up on it over at TheDigitalBits.com (Bill Hunt's 6/24/09 "My Two Cents" column).

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers

My DVD Collection

BasicBlak is offline  
post #4535 of 4877 Old 07-06-2009, 02:02 PM
Member
 
Allthings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: So. California
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johndn View Post

I must first say that I admire the way you quoted, and then thanked yourself in post #4500!

I'm now dual...and why not? Four HD players (over 400 discs...averaging about $5-$6 per w/ freebies) and now two BD players (including my new -83). Although not as economic, I scoop up the $10-$15 discs as they become available.

----------------------

I thought this was a pretty optimistic assessment.

what titles are you referring too (as they become available)?? As far as I have seen with any vendor, this is nothing new available (and there never will be).

As for people looking for software updates ... If your current player plays all the discs you have, why tempt fate on improving, which could lead to failure. This is a DEAD format. Simply enjoy what you have and move on. I can't think of the last time I fired up my A-35 to watch a movie. It has the original software, plays the discs I have ... done.
Allthings is offline  
post #4536 of 4877 Old 07-07-2009, 05:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Super XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON. Canada
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BasicBlak View Post

My guess is, they'll materialize later in the form of Blu-ray players. As I mentioned a while back, at this juncture there's simply no reason for Toshiba not to swallow its pride and get into the BD fray along with everyone else. Well, as I figured, it turns out they're contemplating doing just that. There's a small write up on it over at TheDigitalBits.com (Bill Hunt's 6/24/09 "My Two Cents" column).

I would have to agree, it's about time Toshiba moved into Blu-Ray waters, but at the same time, I beleive they are planning a massive Blu-Ray assault behind close doors. Who knows what Toshiba is doing right now. For Blu-Ray, they have no patents, and therefore they will only be able to make money with say, player sales etc. DVD is where they are making money. Who knows, maybe they are working on a special Hi Def Flash Player techie
Super XP is offline  
post #4537 of 4877 Old 07-22-2009, 10:47 PM
Member
 
fantao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My A35, which I bought as a demo unit, plays most HD-DVDs fine but it freezes about half a dozen times on every SD DVD I've tried (pristine discs, not scratched up). At first I thought it was a firmware issue so I tried upgrading that to various revisions - same problems.

I finally got tired of this and decided to buy a broken A3 which fortunately had an undamaged drive. The drive was easy to remove, only four screws and two cables. Exact same drive model in both units. The one difference was that the new drive had newer revision firmware on its label (sorry, I thought I wrote the revision numbers down but I can't find it now).

Success - first two regular DVDs played with no glitches! And the one HD-DVD I had a problem playing, a slightly scratched rental that froze repeatedly, only froze once. I guess I had an old version of firmware on the drive that didn't work so well, or perhaps just a bad drive.

Sorry if this had been posted before (super long thread) but it's worth trying for anyone who has a similar problem.
fantao is offline  
post #4538 of 4877 Old 07-23-2009, 01:55 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Just wanted to let everyone know that for those wishing to rollback their A35 FW to 1.3 that the following link is good and will not brick your player...I used it on my player today and it works like a charm:

http://cid-6948f2460bdd190c.skydrive...0&sa=742123595
Splicer010 is offline  
post #4539 of 4877 Old 08-29-2009, 02:23 AM
Member
 
FuneralDancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SA, TX
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm curious about the build quality. is it exactly the same as the A30, or does it feel sturdier?
FuneralDancer is offline  
post #4540 of 4877 Old 08-29-2009, 07:26 AM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Exactly the same quality which I think is sufficiently sturdy...
Splicer010 is offline  
post #4541 of 4877 Old 08-29-2009, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
laugsbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 2,675
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

Just wanted to let everyone know that for those wishing to rollback their A35 FW to 1.3 that the following link is good and will not brick your player...I used it on my player today and it works like a charm:

http://cid-6948f2460bdd190c.skydrive...0&sa=742123595

Thanks for posting this Splicer010...
laugsbach is offline  
post #4542 of 4877 Old 08-30-2009, 03:17 AM
Member
 
FuneralDancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SA, TX
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

Exactly the same quality which I think is sufficiently sturdy...

spanx for the info
FuneralDancer is offline  
post #4543 of 4877 Old 08-30-2009, 10:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
snowghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuneralDancer View Post

spanx for the info

It's also not a bad upscaler. Not quite as good as the XA2 but better than my Pioneer Elite BDP-95FD.

"The best long distance runners eat raw meat, run naked and sleep in the snow."
snowghost is offline  
post #4544 of 4877 Old 08-31-2009, 07:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
bimmerfreak0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
i think mine is a great upscaler...but then again i only have a 720p so whats it matter anyways
bimmerfreak0 is offline  
post #4545 of 4877 Old 09-02-2009, 06:23 PM
Member
 
spaghettisound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had this A35 since it came out. It works fine and have never had a problem with it. My Question is I have the 1.3 firmware, I never have upgraded it,should I upgrade it to the 4.0?
spaghettisound is offline  
post #4546 of 4877 Old 09-02-2009, 06:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by spaghettisound View Post

I have had this A35 since it came out. It works fine and have never had a problem with it. My Question is I have the 1.3 firmware, I never have upgraded it,should I upgrade it to the 4.0?

I'm happy with 4.0 on both the XA2 and A35. You can always roll it back if you don't like it.

"The best long distance runners eat raw meat, run naked and sleep in the snow."
snowghost is offline  
post #4547 of 4877 Old 09-14-2009, 05:06 PM
Member
 
RAMBOJVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hay guys!

IM thinking about going on ebay to buy the HD-A35. I think its the right time for me to purchase one since the prices ive seen are well within my price range.
some questions if you dont mind.

HOws the 1080p/24p playback, its hd audio rendering (i have the onkyo 606), ive read some comments here about 4:3 ratio issues which im still confused about, load times, and networking content?

I just want to make sure its the worth the buy since ive been using my 360 hd-dvd add on on my pioneer 720p. Ive had to watch my movies in 720p using i think the theater mode 72hz refresh rate and worse having to hear my movies in dts 5.1... oh the sadness!!

well i hope you guys can give me vote a confidence in the HD-A35! By the way wats the difference between firmware 1.3 and 4.0. I went to toshiba website looking for info on the firmware but no success.
RAMBOJVR is offline  
post #4548 of 4877 Old 09-14-2009, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Davidsonville, MD
Posts: 2,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just watched a 6 hour miniseries in recorded in 4x3. It was outstanding projected onto my 96" wide screen. I get black borders all around, as I should, and i love the picture. I use the A35 for all SD movies because I prefer its up-converted picture to that of the BD30 BluRay. I paid over $400.00 for it when it was new and have never regretted the purchase. The 24p is available but it will not "force" some sets into 24p. bottom line on 24p is that it works if your set is made to do 24p most of the time. My Optoma will not go into 24p even though it can with other players. I do not miss it.

Art Neill
a.k.a.
Mr. HiFi
MrHifi is offline  
post #4549 of 4877 Old 09-15-2009, 04:57 AM
Senior Member
 
Super XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON. Canada
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Toshiba's HD-A35's 1080p/24p playback is awesome. It plays very nice with my Onkyo 605 and my Toshiba HDTV 46" LCD which also accepts 24p.
Super XP is offline  
post #4550 of 4877 Old 09-15-2009, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super XP View Post

Toshiba's HD-A35's 1080p/24p playback is awesome. It plays very nice with my Onkyo 605 and my Toshiba HDTV 46" LCD which also accepts 24p.

(Emphasis mine.)

+1!!

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers

My DVD Collection

BasicBlak is offline  
post #4551 of 4877 Old 09-15-2009, 01:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHifi View Post

I just watched a 6 hour miniseries in recorded in 4x3. It was outstanding projected onto my 96" wide screen. I get black borders all around, as I should, and i love the picture. I use the A35 for all SD movies because I prefer its up-converted picture to that of the BD30 BluRay. I paid over $400.00 for it when it was new and have never regretted the purchase. The 24p is available but it will not "force" some sets into 24p. bottom line on 24p is that it works if your set is made to do 24p most of the time. My Optoma will not go into 24p even though it can with other players. I do not miss it.

I force my SDs to 24fps into my Sony Bravia and get good results. The TV recognizes the 24hz and since it uses a 5:5 pulldown I'm quite happy with the video chain. The A35 is a great little player.

"The best long distance runners eat raw meat, run naked and sleep in the snow."
snowghost is offline  
post #4552 of 4877 Old 09-29-2009, 11:21 AM
Member
 
jeremy nebraska's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. I'm getting an error that reads 2007C023.
anyone know what that means? When I power it up, it just reads Welcome until that error comes up. and No Signal on the tv.
thank you. i'm using an a-30. thanks.
jeremy nebraska is offline  
post #4553 of 4877 Old 11-12-2009, 04:04 PM
Member
 
jeremy nebraska's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone?
jeremy nebraska is offline  
post #4554 of 4877 Old 11-12-2009, 08:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
jdmac29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy nebraska View Post

anyone?

I searched that error code on the web and I got nothing that would be helpful.
Can you get into setup as soon as you turn it on?
I figure if you could maybe run the firmware update to see what happens.
Sorry but maybe someone else has had this issue.


found this for a FACTORY RESET Pressing Display, 7, 0, 1, Display would do a factory reset on a working player.
jdmac29 is offline  
post #4555 of 4877 Old 11-12-2009, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Jeremy, you might want to give Toshiba CS a call. I'm sure they still have an error code index at their disposal. Otherwise, since yours is an A30, try combing the A30 thread to see if someone else there may have experienced the same error message.

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers

My DVD Collection

BasicBlak is offline  
post #4556 of 4877 Old 11-12-2009, 09:44 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy nebraska View Post

Hi. I'm getting an error that reads 2007C023.
anyone know what that means?

It means you need to call Toshiba cust service and see what they say.
Splicer010 is offline  
post #4557 of 4877 Old 11-13-2009, 02:36 AM
Member
 
jeremy nebraska's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thank you, all, for the replies. i will give them a ring in the morning.
jeremy nebraska is offline  
post #4558 of 4877 Old 11-18-2009, 05:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Super XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON. Canada
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Let us know how it goes. Hope they remember HD DVD though
Super XP is offline  
post #4559 of 4877 Old 11-24-2009, 07:05 PM
Member
 
58inches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an A35 hooked directly to my tv (panny 850U series) via HDMI. While watching heroes, the volume is really low and i have to crank it up on the tv to hear dialogue. any ideas of how i can get this to have "normal" volume? thanks in advance.
58inches is offline  
post #4560 of 4877 Old 11-24-2009, 07:30 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Is the volume low with all HD DVD or just Heroes?
Splicer010 is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off