**Official Toshiba HD-A35 (ONLY) Thread** - Page 153 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4561 of 4877 Old 11-24-2009, 10:46 PM
Member
 
58inches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
of all the ones i watched....planet earth, galapagos included.
58inches is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4562 of 4877 Old 12-04-2009, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
audiophreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know the xa2 has the all region firmware mod, does the a35 had a firmware mod like the xa2? Iirc i thought there was a page for this, but i cant find it any more. Thanks
audiophreak is offline  
post #4563 of 4877 Old 12-04-2009, 05:52 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiophreak View Post

I know the xa2 has the all region firmware mod, does the a35 had a firmware mod like the xa2? Iirc i thought there was a page for this, but i cant find it any more. Thanks

HD DVD is region free, no mod needed.
Splicer010 is offline  
post #4564 of 4877 Old 12-05-2009, 12:57 AM
Member
 
Viking61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiophreak View Post

I know the xa2 has the all region firmware mod, does the a35 had a firmware mod like the xa2? Iirc i thought there was a page for this, but i cant find it any more. Thanks

Yes, you can make it regionfree for SD DVD. But your TV or projector has to support PAL.
Viking61 is offline  
post #4565 of 4877 Old 12-11-2009, 04:54 PM
Member
 
sleepdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just hooked up my toshiba a-35 - NOS - sitting in my basement for 2 years to my just purchased onkyo 3007 receiver. With HDMI, while the a-35 is running, I see nothing on the screen. Can't bring up menu either. Do I just give up the ghost on HDMI and switch to component at this point?
sleepdoc is offline  
post #4566 of 4877 Old 12-11-2009, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepdoc View Post

I just hooked up my toshiba a-35 - NOS - sitting in my basement for 2 years to my just purchased onkyo 3007 receiver. With HDMI, while the a-35 is running, I see nothing on the screen. Can't bring up menu either. Do I just give up the ghost on HDMI and switch to component at this point?

You may need to pay special note to the order in which the components are turned on. With HDMI (and the A35 in particular), the HDCP handshaking requirements often make for very iffy connections with other related components; I find the A35 in conjunction with my Onkyo 805 to be an especially sensitive combination.

Try turning your display device on first, then your HDMI-capable AVR, and then the A35. That way, by the time the A35 is powered up, a clear and complete handshaking path is established. If you should lose the signal during connection, try switching the input on your AVR to another source temporarily; then with your TV remote, switch to another input; on the AVR, switch back to the A35, and then switch the TV back to the AVR. You should immediately regain connection. You may have to experiment with the switching order (HDMI is flaky like that) for your specific setup, but that should do it provided nothing else is wrong with any of your associated components.

Also (and I should have probably mentioned this first) make sure the HDMI settings on your AVR are correct, e.g. disabling HDMI Audio Out so that the AVR can decode hi-rez audio and enabling HDMI Monitor so that your TV can receive the A35's video signal.

I wouldn't give up on HDMI just yet....

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers

My DVD Collection

BasicBlak is offline  
post #4567 of 4877 Old 12-20-2009, 05:20 PM
Member
 
johnnyjt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Philly
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally got my Samsung UN46B8500 Led Local Dimming HDTV.
Hooked up my Samsung BD-P2500 and Tosh A35 and was
totally blown away that the A35 turns on and off with AnyNet+
I never expected that to happen. WoW.
Picture is gorgeous in 1080P/24. I just love it.


JohnnyJT
South Philly
johnnyjt is offline  
post #4568 of 4877 Old 12-27-2009, 10:14 AM
Newbie
 
Crawlinta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the last year or so my HD-a35 has had the audio slightly off going through my onkyo 805 (i think) receiver. It wasn't ever too bad, but lately it seems to be getting worse. I can't find a way to delay the video enough to match the audio (picture is quicker). I don't watch a lot of movies, maybe one a month. It happens with regular dvds and HDdvds. I have never updated the firmware, would this help it? The player is original, like 2 years old now maybe. Any suggestions?
Crawlinta is offline  
post #4569 of 4877 Old 12-27-2009, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crawlinta View Post

For the last year or so my HD-a35 has had the audio slightly off going through my onkyo 805 (i think) receiver. It wasn't ever too bad, but lately it seems to be getting worse. I can't find a way to delay the video enough to match the audio (picture is quicker). I don't watch a lot of movies, maybe one a month. It happens with regular dvds and HDdvds. I have never updated the firmware, would this help it? The player is original, like 2 years old now maybe. Any suggestions?

I would try updating, it can't hurt.

lujan
664 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #4570 of 4877 Old 12-27-2009, 10:25 AM
Newbie
 
Crawlinta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can i update by hooking directly to the net? Never even looked into it. seen downloads, but imagine it would be quicker the other way.
Crawlinta is offline  
post #4571 of 4877 Old 12-27-2009, 10:48 AM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Does your TV have a 'sync' funtion/feature? Usually that is where the problem lies. Also check for this function in your Onkyo AVR.
Splicer010 is offline  
post #4572 of 4877 Old 12-27-2009, 10:58 AM
Newbie
 
Crawlinta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dont remember ever seeing that function on the tv. I think it is a Sharp LC46D64U
Crawlinta is offline  
post #4573 of 4877 Old 12-27-2009, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crawlinta View Post

can i update by hooking directly to the net? Never even looked into it. seen downloads, but imagine it would be quicker the other way.

Yes, that's how I get my downloads.

lujan
664 Blu-ray
19 HD DVD
6 DVD
lujan is offline  
post #4574 of 4877 Old 12-27-2009, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Davidsonville, MD
Posts: 2,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crawlinta View Post

For the last year or so my HD-a35 has had the audio slightly off going through my onkyo 805 (i think) receiver. It wasn't ever too bad, but lately it seems to be getting worse. I can't find a way to delay the video enough to match the audio (picture is quicker). I don't watch a lot of movies, maybe one a month. It happens with regular dvds and HDdvds. I have never updated the firmware, would this help it? The player is original, like 2 years old now maybe. Any suggestions?

I use an Integra 9.9 Processor. Timing is perfect because they include a "fast", low latency switch. It was designed to be used for game devices like a PS3. The Integra 9.8 did not incorporate this feature and the video was always ahead of the sound. While both processors allow you to delay audio, this does no good when the video is already ahead of the audio. I fear your Denon suffers from the same problem. Look for a current model Onkyo or Integra processor or receiver. There is nothing you can do otherwise except bypass the receiver nd go directly to your monitor.

Art Neill
a.k.a.
Mr. HiFi
MrHifi is offline  
post #4575 of 4877 Old 12-28-2009, 03:23 PM
Newbie
 
Crawlinta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHifi View Post

I use an Integra 9.9 Processor. Timing is perfect because they include a "fast", low latency switch. It was designed to be used for game devices like a PS3. The Integra 9.8 did not incorporate this feature and the video was always ahead of the sound. While both processors allow you to delay audio, this does no good when the video is already ahead of the audio. I fear your Denon suffers from the same problem. Look for a current model Onkyo or Integra processor or receiver. There is nothing you can do otherwise except bypass the receiver nd go directly to your monitor.

I have an onkyo sr805
Crawlinta is offline  
post #4576 of 4877 Old 12-28-2009, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crawlinta View Post

I have an onkyo sr805

Verify your 805's firmware. If you aren't at Main Firmware v1.08, you may want to update it.

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers

My DVD Collection

BasicBlak is offline  
post #4577 of 4877 Old 12-29-2009, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrHifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Davidsonville, MD
Posts: 2,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The 805 is a contemporary of the Integra 9.8. The 9.8 suffered from the same problem you describe. I upgraded to a 9.9 and my delay problem was resolved. I do not believe you will resolve the problem with a software fix but I guess it is worth a try.

Art Neill
a.k.a.
Mr. HiFi
MrHifi is offline  
post #4578 of 4877 Old 12-29-2009, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BasicBlak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thing is, the only time I've ever experienced delay with the 805 (even with early f/w version 1.04) was when I plugged a video component such as the A35 into an audio input. In other words, if I plugged the A35 into, say, the CD input, a horrible delay would then ensue when playing movies. Utilizing the proper input, however, resolved that issue. (Not to mention the fact that my v1.04 unit automatically and internally calculated the necessary delay compensation; with v1.08, the internal calculation somehow changed to 0ms on its own. Now, I can't say I know or understand exactly what was going on there, but it was what it was. Either way, I never experienced any sort of overt or untoward delay when components were properly connected. This is why I suggested the firmware update. For indeed it couldn't hurt.)

Panasonic PT-AX200U

Da-Lite Model B 106" HCMW
Sony KDS-60A3000

VIP 3D Theater Plus Converter w/ MonsterVision Max 3D Eyewear
Onkyo TX-SR805 (v1.08 w/DSP & HDMI Updates)
Oppo BDP-103
Sony PS3 Slim (v4.50)
Toshiba HD-A35 (v4.0)
Polk Audio RTi8 / CSi5 / FXi3
Boston 595x Subwoofers

My DVD Collection

BasicBlak is offline  
post #4579 of 4877 Old 12-31-2009, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Super XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON. Canada
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

Does your TV have a 'sync' funtion/feature? Usually that is where the problem lies. Also check for this function in your Onkyo AVR.

Yes my Toshiba has one.
Toshiba 46HDTV LCD 46RF350U
Super XP is offline  
post #4580 of 4877 Old 01-02-2010, 03:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Super XP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON. Canada
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any way in moding the A35 so we can make use of the USB2.0 port it has?
Super XP is offline  
post #4581 of 4877 Old 01-04-2010, 03:28 PM
Newbie
 
Crawlinta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crawlinta View Post

For the last year or so my HD-a35 has had the audio slightly off going through my onkyo 805 (i think) receiver. It wasn't ever too bad, but lately it seems to be getting worse. I can't find a way to delay the video enough to match the audio (picture is quicker). I don't watch a lot of movies, maybe one a month. It happens with regular dvds and HDdvds. I have never updated the firmware, would this help it? The player is original, like 2 years old now maybe. Any suggestions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BasicBlak View Post

Verify your 805's firmware. If you aren't at Main Firmware v1.08, you may want to update it.

I spent the weekend researching all this, i am awaiting a dongle now. My boot load is 1.00 and my main is 1.04.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHifi View Post

The 805 is a contemporary of the Integra 9.8. The 9.8 suffered from the same problem you describe. I upgraded to a 9.9 and my delay problem was resolved. I do not believe you will resolve the problem with a software fix but I guess it is worth a try.

I factory reset the reciever this weekend because I noticed my FL channel was super low on audio output. Well, that fixed it. Sound and video are synced perfectly now. I don't know why that happened over time, but something went goofey. Now I await my 805 fw update. Wondering if I need to even do the A35 update now.
Crawlinta is offline  
post #4582 of 4877 Old 01-20-2010, 02:25 PM
Member
 
tre74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I am not getting 1080p/24Hz to display on my TV when using the HD A-35 set to up to 1080p/24Hz. It simply shows 1080p. I also have an OPPO BDP-83 Blu-ray player and when setting that player to play at 1080p/24Hz my TV recognizes it and the input display shows 1080p/24Hz. I'm wondering if the HD A-35 is functioning properly. Anybody know anything about this issue?
tre74 is offline  
post #4583 of 4877 Old 01-20-2010, 02:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
snowghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by tre74 View Post

I am not getting 1080p/24Hz to display on my TV when using the HD A-35 set to up to 1080p/24Hz. It simply shows 1080p. I also have an OPPO BDP-83 Blu-ray player and when setting that player to play at 1080p/24Hz my TV recognizes it and the input display shows 1080p/24Hz. I'm wondering if the HD A-35 is functioning properly. Anybody know anything about this issue?

I've had it happen on both my XA2 and A-35 and I think it's related to Firmware v4.0.

If the OSD says 1080P in addition to your TV, even though you know it's set at 24P in the player's Setup, then go back into the Toshiba Setup and toggle 24P off and back on which cures the problem.

It only happens very sporadically with my 2 players.

"The best long distance runners eat raw meat, run naked and sleep in the snow."
snowghost is offline  
post #4584 of 4877 Old 01-20-2010, 02:52 PM
Member
 
tre74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowghost View Post

I've had it happen on both my XA2 and A-35 and I think it's related to Firmware v4.0.

If the OSD says 1080P in addition to your TV, even though you know it's set at 24P in the player's Setup, then go back into the Toshiba Setup and toggle 24P off and back on which cures the problem.

It only happens very sporadically with my 2 players.

I tried switching it back and forth. No change. Both the player and TV display 1080p and not 1080p/24Hz
tre74 is offline  
post #4585 of 4877 Old 01-20-2010, 03:30 PM
 
Splicer010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Swap HDMI cables with the Oppo.
Splicer010 is offline  
post #4586 of 4877 Old 01-20-2010, 04:13 PM
Member
 
tre74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splicer010 View Post

Swap HDMI cables with the Oppo.

Swapped. Although it looks a bit better overall, there is no change in the display of 1080p to 1080p/24Hz.
tre74 is offline  
post #4587 of 4877 Old 02-02-2010, 05:04 AM
Member
 
BakeApples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi everyone

I have a question regarding this player, are there any differances between the A35 model and the european model E35? The reason i`m asking is because i live in Sweden and i just recently bought this player (A35) from a friend of mine but didn`t really take notice that it was the american model of the HDDVD player that i bought.

Should i try to get the E35 model instead?
BakeApples is offline  
post #4588 of 4877 Old 02-02-2010, 05:43 AM
Member
 
Viking61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You can flash the A35 with the EP35 "dirty" firmware, and it will be just like an European EP35. It will even be regionfree for standard DVD afterwards.

It's a bit scary procedure, but if you follow the instructions to the letter it is smooth sailing.
Viking61 is offline  
post #4589 of 4877 Old 02-05-2010, 01:38 AM
Member
 
d3adpool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viking61 View Post

You can flash the A35 with the EP35 "dirty" firmware, and it will be just like an European EP35. It will even be regionfree for standard DVD afterwards.

It's a bit scary procedure, but if you follow the instructions to the letter it is smooth sailing.

any other advantages other than region free dvd playback?
d3adpool is offline  
post #4590 of 4877 Old 02-05-2010, 02:36 AM
Member
 
Viking61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by d3adpool View Post

any other advantages other than region free dvd playback?

Not really.

The American A35 and the European EP35 are basically the same player. The only difference is in the firmware. The A35 is locked to region 1 for standard DVD and has only NTSC ouput. The EP35 is out of the box locked to region 2 for standard DVD and has PAL output as default but will output NTSC when playing NTSC discs. It is possible with a hacked firmware to flash the A35 with EP35 firmware and vice versa. There is as mentioned before also available a regionfree firmware for the EP35.
Viking61 is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off