I bought my A2 on 11/2/07 and it has stopped working. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 03:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jdohman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Frisco Texas
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I get my A2 home today and hook it up to my Pioneer profhd1 and my yamaha rxZ9 and it is working great. 3/4 of the way threw transformers it locks up and will not respond to anything even holding the power key on the unit. I unplugged the unit and plugged it back in and nothing. It says welcome and will not do anything else. I am going to try to leave it unplugged for a couple of hours. Hopefully that will reset it and I will not have to try to battle the wolves and get a new one.

This just seems to be my luck. My A2 at my finance's house has never had a problem. But I get mine home on my nice system and lasts less than 2 hours. Same thing happened with my blu ray player. First the HDMI stopped working and now the thing will only read regular dvd's and not BD's

If anyone else has had this problem and has a fix please let me know.


My player specs
Pulled it out of the box.
Made in China
Made in July 2007
Not sure on the firmware. Whatever they come with out of the box
jdohman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
unclewebb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you upgrade the firmware to v2.5 before trying out your new player? Players stuck at the WELCOME screen usually have to go back or in for service. Other users might benefit knowing what firmware you were using and any other details about your player like made in China or Japan.
unclewebb is offline  
post #3 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jarod M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdohman View Post

I get my A2 home today and hook it up to my Pioneer profhd1 and my yamaha rxZ9 and it is working great. 3/4 of the way threw transformers it locks up and will not respond to anything even holding the power key on the unit. I unplugged the unit and plugged it back in and nothing. It says welcome and will not do anything else. I am going to try to leave it unplugged for a couple of hours. Hopefully that will reset it and I will not have to try to battle the wolves and get a new one.

This just seems to be my luck. My A2 at my finance's house has never had a problem. But I get mine home on my nice system and lasts less than 2 hours. Same thing happened with my blu ray player. First the HDMI stopped working and now the thing will only read regular dvd's and not BD's

If anyone else has had this problem and has a fix please let me know.

Did you install the newest firmware before playing a movie? I would recommend that everyone do so before watching anything, because the firmware on many of these players was quite outdated. My firmware for my new A2 was 1.2 before updating it to 2.5. It is also possible that you got a dud.
Jarod M is offline  
post #4 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 04:45 PM
aod
Advanced Member
 
aod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: On location
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
UPDATE your FIRMWARE. The "Whatever they come with out of the box" isn't going to work with Transformers. The update is easy.

http://tacp.toshiba.com/tacpassets-i...ngfirmware.asp

aod is offline  
post #5 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
[DT]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vilano Beach, FL
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aod View Post

UPDATE your FIRMWARE. The "Whatever they come with out of the box" isn't going to work with Transformers. The update is easy.

http://tacp.toshiba.com/tacpassets-i...ngfirmware.asp

Interesting! I hooked mine up today and it's been running Transformers over and over (and it even moved into some of the supplemental materials).

Haven't had any issues - maybe I got one with the newer firmware?

~DT

"In the end, life and business are about human connections. And computers are about trying to murder you in a lake. And to me, the choice is easy."
~Michael Scott
[DT] is offline  
post #6 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 04:51 PM
aod
Advanced Member
 
aod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: On location
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I should have put "usually" after Transformers. The only downside to selling tens of thousands of players is that those people find this site and post that the player doesn't work and do no research as to why. Firmware update will solve most if not all the issues everyone is having.

aod is offline  
post #7 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
DedicatedHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i also had 1.2..

i watched a few clips of transformers, king cong, blood diamond, and hulk and then upgraded firmware

haven't had a problem yet but havent sat thru a whole movie?!

I did have a problem connecting ethernet and had to burn the update
DedicatedHT is offline  
post #8 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
[DT]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vilano Beach, FL
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by aod View Post

Ok, I should have put "usually" after Transformers. The only downside to selling tens of thousands of players is that those people find this site and post that the player doesn't work and do no research as to why. Firmware update will solve most if not all the issues everyone is having.

Oh thanks, not a problem! I was thinking Transformers had some definitive compatibility issue. I'm D/L'ing the latest firmware anyway, figured it would probably be better to stay current (even though I haven't experienced any problems with my one and only HD-DVD).

"In the end, life and business are about human connections. And computers are about trying to murder you in a lake. And to me, the choice is easy."
~Michael Scott
[DT] is offline  
post #9 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 04:55 PM
aod
Advanced Member
 
aod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: On location
Posts: 655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not a problem. It's an easy user friendly fix.

aod is offline  
post #10 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 05:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sisko197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And people doubted that J6P is going to have problems understanding the importance and directions as to why/how to download the firmware updates? Heaven forbid someone without a router and/or the Internet buy one of these expecting to watch any new disc...

Priced at $99, that's the crowd Toshiba's hoping for, but first experiences like these won't win any format war. And this is a consumer who SHOULD know better. There are many, many more than that who 1) don't know what avsforum is and 2) don't use the internet.

I hope Toshiba's got their customer support numbers FULLY stocked.
Sisko197 is offline  
post #11 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 05:05 PM
 
tutelary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Darlington, SC
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I updated my january unit and it works fine. transformers is hot sh*t!
tutelary is offline  
post #12 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 05:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
XBRSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bay Area, Ca.
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sisko197 View Post

Priced at $99, that's the crowd Toshiba's hoping for, but first experiences like these won't win any format war.

Ah.....you will find simular issues in the BluRay forum, trust. My damn Sony BluRay has been the repair shop for 30 days come tomorrow and i'm gettin pretty pissed about it.

Sharp Elite Pro 60

Pioneer Elite VSX-52 Receiver

Pioneer Elite  BDP-62FD BluRay

XBRSteve is offline  
post #13 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GmanAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ridgewood, NJ
Posts: 1,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdohman View Post

I get my A2 home today and hook it up to my Pioneer profhd1 and my Yamaha rxZ9 and it is working great. 3/4 of the way threw transformers it locks up and will not respond to anything even holding the power key on the unit. I unplugged the unit and plugged it back in and nothing. It says welcome and will not do anything else. I am going to try to leave it unplugged for a couple of hours. Hopefully that will reset it and I will not have to try to battle the wolves and get a new one.

This just seems to be my luck. My A2 at my finance's house has never had a problem. But I get mine home on my nice system and lasts less than 2 hours. Same thing happened with my blue ray player. First the HDMI stopped working and now the thing will only read regular dvd's and not BD's

If anyone else has had this problem and has a fix please let me know.


My player specs
Pulled it out of the box.
Made in China
Made in July 2007
Not sure on the firmware. Whatever they come with out of the box

Sorry to hear your plight

With some of the newer movies like Transformers, some A2s have locked up due to older fw version and the persistent memory being full.

Is your TR disc out?

Try this:
  1. Turn player on, let it go through whatever screens or boot sequence it does.

  2. Turn the player off (remote or pressing once the on/off button), keep it plugged into the a/c outlet

  3. The light around the on /off button is red now.

  4. Press the button down continuously for approx 30 seconds, at the end the light flickers then stays on the red color (off).

  5. Unplug the cord from A/C outlet, plug back in.

  6. If disc is still in start the player by pressing the "load/eject" button on remote

  7. Once there is no disc in the tray, go to the set-up menu and proceed to update your firmware to 2.5

Hope this helps

Cheers
GmanAVS is offline  
post #14 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
efjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 1,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sisko197 View Post

And people doubted that J6P is going to have problems understanding the importance and directions as to why/how to download the firmware updates? Heaven forbid someone without a router and/or the Internet buy one of these expecting to watch any new disc...

Just how well do you think J6P they would have handled the firmware upgrade required for the Samsung and LG players for FF and Day After Tomorrow? And possibly future br titles with 1.1 and more advanced features?
efjay is offline  
post #15 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Guys, I am having some freezing with my player. Happened once right at the very beginning of the Matrix Reloaded, then, about 30 minutes into King Kong. It makes no weird sounds, just FREEZES and I have to unplug it to shut it down. I have updated it to 2.5, did so before doing ANYTHING else, but this is kinda bugging me.

Any ideas?

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #16 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 06:05 PM
Member
 
daninfamous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I watched transformers out of the box.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aod View Post

UPDATE your FIRMWARE. The "Whatever they come with out of the box" isn't going to work with Transformers. The update is easy.

http://tacp.toshiba.com/tacpassets-i...ngfirmware.asp


110" DIY screen and lossless audio makes me never want to leave the basement.
daninfamous is offline  
post #17 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 06:24 PM
Member
 
DLAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cape Coral FL
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by daninfamous View Post

I watched transformers out of the box.

Me too.

Bought my A2 at Walmart (03/07 Japan) bought it home, hooked it up to via hmdi & optical and watched the entire movie. After the move was done I checked the firmware (1.3) and updated it to 2.5

PS3 and A2 - just want my HD
DLAZ is offline  
post #18 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
doogiehowser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sisko197 View Post

And people doubted that J6P is going to have problems understanding the importance and directions as to why/how to download the firmware updates? Heaven forbid someone without a router and/or the Internet buy one of these expecting to watch any new disc...

Priced at $99, that's the crowd Toshiba's hoping for, but first experiences like these won't win any format war. And this is a consumer who SHOULD know better. There are many, many more than that who 1) don't know what avsforum is and 2) don't use the internet.

I hope Toshiba's got their customer support numbers FULLY stocked with english-speaking reps.

I work with computers all day and the last thing I want to do is download firmware and do updates on my free time.

THE PLAYER SHOULD WORK OUT OF THE BOX

JSP pops open a cold beer and puts a movie in that does not work. Does anyone think JSP wants to get off his comfortable sofa and stop drinking so he can find instructions on the internet on how to update the firmware? He'll start at google and end up at porn and the player will not get updated.
doogiehowser is offline  
post #19 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 06:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
imprez25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've had my a2 for two months now and I still have yet to update the firmware. (I can't seem to get a disc to burn properly )
imprez25 is offline  
post #20 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trgraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sisko197 View Post

And people doubted that J6P is going to have problems understanding the importance and directions as to why/how to download the firmware updates? Heaven forbid someone without a router and/or the Internet buy one of these expecting to watch any new disc...

Priced at $99, that's the crowd Toshiba's hoping for, but first experiences like these won't win any format war. And this is a consumer who SHOULD know better. There are many, many more than that who 1) don't know what avsforum is and 2) don't use the internet.

I hope Toshiba's got their customer support numbers FULLY stocked with english-speaking reps.

You guys need to find an issue that doesn't apply to both sides players. This is getting pretty lame. Of course I guess it does apply more to players that are actually selling.
trgraphics is offline  
post #21 of 44 Old 11-02-2007, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hunter844's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cabot, AR
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by imprez25 View Post

I've had my a2 for two months now and I still have yet to update the firmware. (I can't seem to get a disc to burn properly )

I've tried multiple burning software and downloaded from the suggested ISO files here at this site. I can't get it to do anything. I guess tommorrow I go on the hunt for some new CD-R disks.

Went to the Toshiba website and the update downloads so horribly slow. Perhaps it's because 100,000 JSP's are pounding the server at the same time. Not to complain but you would think that they would have had their crap together for this thing.

My brother called me today...wanted to know why his Blu Ray disc won't play in his new HD-A2. I told him he's trying to make a BetaMax work in a VCR and he started to understand. He used to be so tech savy before 3 kids and a wife
Hunter844 is offline  
post #22 of 44 Old 11-03-2007, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by jblank74 View Post

Guys, I am having some freezing with my player. Happened once right at the very beginning of the Matrix Reloaded, then, about 30 minutes into King Kong. It makes no weird sounds, just FREEZES and I have to unplug it to shut it down. I have updated it to 2.5, did so before doing ANYTHING else, but this is kinda bugging me.

Any ideas?

Never got a response to this, anyone care to comment or share some ideas on what I should do?

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #23 of 44 Old 11-03-2007, 08:08 AM
 
plazman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 6,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try the Matrix reloaded disk and see if it freezes again. If yes. I would return the unit. If not, then I would attribute it to a glitch. Since this happened on 2 different disks I am not attributing it to the disks....after you update, I have found it helps to reboot the player by unplugging to reset everything.
plazman is offline  
post #24 of 44 Old 11-03-2007, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
darwin316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jblank74 View Post

Never got a response to this, anyone care to comment or share some ideas on what I should do?

I suggest try re-initializing the player. If it happens again, call Toshiba.
darwin316 is offline  
post #25 of 44 Old 11-03-2007, 08:10 AM
 
plazman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 6,313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its funny that Sisko who is a blu-blood posts his opinion about an HD DVD player he does not even own. How strange is that!
plazman is offline  
post #26 of 44 Old 11-03-2007, 08:34 AM
 
quickfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NorthEast Tennessee
Posts: 1,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The average Joe will end up taking the player back if this happens .....thus making it a bad experience with HDDVD


solution::::::::: have firmware upgrade put on all new released HDDVD's!!!!!!

That way your player can update via the HDDVD itself.....within seconds!!
quickfire is offline  
post #27 of 44 Old 11-03-2007, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by darwin316 View Post

I suggest try re-initializing the player. If it happens again, call Toshiba.

It locked up twice more, once at the beginning of King Kong and also at the beginning of U-571. It's going back to Wal-Mart, they are holding one for me, but I am extremely disappointed that any machine made in 2007 would freeze like this, even after the firmware updates. Maybe I just got a lemon, but it seems like this has been pretty common after doing some Google searches.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #28 of 44 Old 11-03-2007, 09:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Cole5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: CA
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WM should have handed out v2.5 disks with every player. Probably would have saved alot of calls to tech support.
Cole5 is offline  
post #29 of 44 Old 11-03-2007, 09:39 AM
Member
 
Gary Hudson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I agree that firmware upgrade discs included with the walmart purchases would be a wise strategy. Many casual users are not going to be prepared to download and burn an iso image to upgrade their machine. If the movies won't play they will simply return it.
Gary Hudson is offline  
post #30 of 44 Old 11-03-2007, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
efjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 1,553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by plazman View Post

Its funny that Sisko who is a blu-blood posts his opinion about an HD DVD player he does not even own. How strange is that!

You cant have an HD DVD good news thread without someone from the BR side trying to post FUD.
efjay is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off