Just got HD-A2 and cant figure out problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2007, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MrDeflation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did a search on all the threads but didn't see my problem listed.


Just got an HD-A2 and hooked it up to my CRT SD TV while I am waiting on delivery of a HDTV Plasma. I just wanted to test the HD-A2 to see if it works properly in regular sd-dvd format.

I have it (correctly) hooked up via component cables and for the life of me I cannot even the get menu to appear.

A purple fuzzy scroll appears when the player is turned on. I can't get the menu to appear to even set the output at 480. I tried playing a known good dvd and I have the same purple fuzzy scroll screen and zero audio.

I don't know what else to try next.


Any ideas?


Thanks
MrDeflation is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-22-2007, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 3,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Try composite cable to start out with. Do you know whether your component input on your CRT works and at what resolution? Also I'm sure you know this but, component is 3 video cables for red, green, and blue signal and composite cable is a single cable typically with yellow connector for video.

Addicted to shiny round discs with HD content

My Home Theater
My Movie Collection
BDP-83 EAP (second group)
xradman is offline  
Old 11-22-2007, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
MrDeflation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xradman View Post

Try composite cable to start out with. Do you know whether your component input on your CRT works and at what resolution? Also I'm sure you know this but, component is 3 video cables for red, green, and blue signal and composite cable is a single cable typically with yellow connector for video.

Much thanks for the heads up.....


Sorry for the brain fart.

I had the composite cables connected to the component input on the CRT.

Fixed..... works awesome so far. I am able to play SD DVD's. Except I am still trying the get the HD-A2 menu to come on screen.


Thanks again and happy holiday!
MrDeflation is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off