does anyone else have this problem with hdmi? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-23-2007, 10:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ejmonkey3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so about 40 days ago i bought a toshiba hd-a20. i use hdmi. about 10 days ago. i couldnt get anythign to work. i kept on getting a non supported data thing on my tv. i called toshiba and asked them to send me a replacement and they asked me before we do that we should double check something. so he asked me to hook up a/v cables or componet and see if it works. i hook up my a/v cables and to my amazement it does. so then i have to initialize the set up, and then restart the machine. so i asked him whats up with, is there something wrong with my hdmi port. he says no, and gives me some bs explanation. i then ask him so am i going to have to do this frequently, or is it fixed for ever. the tech guy was like well you may have to deal several times depending on use if this happens. im like well theres something wrong with your product because i shouldnt have to be doing this if your so called hdmi is auto. hes like well sir that is hdmi, not toshiba. since then i had do to it once more yesterday and it was very stubborn. i want to know if this a known issue or maybe just mine, because if its mine im going to call toshiba and say that the a/v cabes, anything doesnt work and i want a new one. i can't believe this type of service im getting from toshiba. it makes me so sick that i think to never buy one of there products. i have both hd and blu-ray players and the blu-ray player has never had one issue and it loads faster. i cant believe how long it takes for these hd-dvd to boot up and play a standard dvd or hd-dvd. my blu ray player boots up and is playing a movie like 15X faster. anyone esle notice this or is this just mine again. anyways thanks in advance who an help me.
ejmonkey3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-23-2007, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
louthewiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Brooklyn U.S.A.
Posts: 4,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Did you upograde the firmware that was supposed to correct the hdmi problem?
louthewiz is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-23-2007, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ejmonkey3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yup and once i did the initilize set up again the first thing i did was update the firmware again.
ejmonkey3 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 11-23-2007, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,816
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 200
What's your Blu Ray player? From what I've heard and read, standalone BD players are as slow and problematic, especially the ones from Samsung. If you have a PS3, then you should compare it to XBox 360 HD DVD Add On. Both are comparable.

We're still in the infant stage of Hi Def players. Players from both camps are less than stable and slow.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-23-2007, 10:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ejmonkey3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yea one of my blu ray players is the ps3 and its fatser than the stand alone one but not by much.
ejmonkey3 is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off