HD DVD -Not Ready for Plug and Play?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 11-28-2007, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rick peterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: detroit burbs, mi.
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would really like to get an HD DVD player for my first foray into this media but after reading all the posts here about required updates and downloading problems etc., it sounds like I am heading into a computer related hassle that I am not looking forward to. I am not the right age or profession to enjoy that. Isn't there ready to go player for HD DVD yet?

I also realize that forums like this are often under represented by contented people since forums often serve as a place to solve problems. But it looks as though all these players need to be updated regularly and it doesn't always go well.

Should I wait or is this going to be perpetual?

Thanks,
ep
rick peterson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 11-28-2007, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
b.greenway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Neither format is at the point you're describing, probably wont be for some time to come.
b.greenway is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 11-28-2007, 04:00 PM
Senior Member
 
AZHTGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would say the amount of updates are directly related to new features that are added to titles nowadays when it comes to the lower line players (A2, A3) so you usually don't have to worry about these too often. In fact I have had buddies with A2's that have never updated their player but of course they don't use any of the web enabled content either (no full time ethernet hookup).
AZHTGeek is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 11-28-2007, 04:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rynberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Posts: 2,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you don't want to deal with any of those things, I suggest you wait another few years. Or you could just buy one now and deal with it. Registering with Toshiba and getting firmware CDs to put into the player is hardly difficult to deal with.
rynberg is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 11-28-2007, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
HIPAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NE Pa
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would say the hassle is optional. I'm using my HD-A3 as it came out of the box and have not seen it do anything crazy yet.

--- CHAS

If it ain't broke, fix it till it is.
HIPAR is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 11-28-2007, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Z06_Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you know, I felt the same way as the OP(still do). I was going to sit firmly on the sidelines until the technology matures.

My decision to finally jump in was made easier by the fact that i want to purchase my LAST SD DVD player. One that will present my DVD's in the best possible manner. After looking and reading everything I could get my hands on, I ordered a Tosh XA2(as well as 15 HD DVD titles!)

For me, the HD DVD capability is an added bonus. If I run into compatibility issues between components, HDMI handshaking problems, etc., I'll deal with them, but the primary purpose of this machine is going back through my library of DVD's and watching them over again, but with Reon enhancement this time around, and from what everybody says about the upconversion quality of this machine, I can't wait.

don't know if that rationale could help you or not
Z06_Pilot is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 11-28-2007, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
smackman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rick peterson View Post

I would really like to get an HD DVD player for my first foray into this media but after reading all the posts here about required updates and downloading problems etc., it sounds like I am heading into a computer related hassle that I am not looking forward to. I am not the right age or profession to enjoy that. Isn't there ready to go player for HD DVD yet?

I also realize that forums like this are often under represented by contented people since forums often serve as a place to solve problems. But it looks as though all these players need to be updated regularly and it doesn't always go well.

Should I wait or is this going to be perpetual?

I would not wait. I am 50 years old and really its not a hassle. Toshiba will eventually send you a Software revision disk to upgrade your software. You just sign up for it and they will send it in the mail. Their should be paperwork for this in the box. Upgrading via ethernet is simple. You do not have to be a Electronics specialist in HD DVD. I am a Industrials disabled Electronic Technician but you will not have any more problems that most have anyway that has this HD DVD player. I have had 0 issues since my purchase in November 2007 and I have software 2.7. Take the red pill; You will love it. You have a backbone in this forum. These men are the best.
smackman1 is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 11-28-2007, 04:42 PM
Member
 
Desertcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rynberg View Post

Registering with Toshiba and getting firmware CDs to put into the player is hardly difficult to deal with.

I think that comment is the real key for the original poster and many people out there. Registered users will get any firmware update CDs in the mail from Toshiba within a few weeks of release (for free).

So going with that approach, it's not entirely plug-and-play but it is as simple as inserting a CD, selecting "yes" with your remote control, walking away for about 10 minutes, and hitting the power button to restart. That's not much more complicated than watching a movie.

Those of us that like to get these things immediately can deal with all of that stuff like downloads over ethernet or burning the ISO to CD, but it's mostly about immediate gratification than a requirement for all HD DVD owners.
Desertcat is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 11-28-2007, 05:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael Mullis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Abingdon, MD
Posts: 3,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With all due respect to the OP, is there any way to simply run a network cable from your router to where your HD DVD player would be? Because if you can get past that step, you're pretty much done with the hassle. The rest is all handled automatically by the player.

It's not what you are making it out to be.
Michael Mullis is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 11-28-2007, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 52
My view is that if you are sufficiently technical to find this place and post then you are definitely up to the task of maintaining firmware on your player. You can always call Toshiba and they will send you the latest firmware release on cd. If you can't power up the player and insert a disc then you are beyond help anyway... you got here, you posted, you can update your firmware.

Just another blank signature.
gtgray is online now  
post #11 of 20 Old 11-28-2007, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
moviegeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Receiving a CD from Toshiba is iffy,I'm still waiting on mine for v2.3.
I couldn't wait so I downloaded the ISO and burned a CD,couldn't be easier.
OP:As for updating being a hassle I bet you have updated the BIOS,the drivers or Windows on your PC...how hard was that?
moviegeek is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 11-28-2007, 06:19 PM
Member
 
AVRoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Land of the Loonie
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Didn't they just go green and say they wouldn't send out fw CDs anymore. I saw a thread on that last night on DHC or here. Wonder if that is for new owners, or all. Downloading and burning ISO is a little challenge, while the networking can be as well (since its not default out of the box to get an IP like it should be).

As most have said, you would only need to update if you run into a new disk where you see issues, but those seem to be mostly behind us this year, and now it is mostly tweaks and extra features. I think the next generations will get more and more like this.
AVRoe is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 11-28-2007, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
ilovenola2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Orleans, LA USA
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVRoe View Post

Didn't they just go green and say they wouldn't send out fw CDs anymore. I saw a thread on that last night on DHC or here. Wonder if that is for new owners, or all. Downloading and burning ISO is a little challenge, while the networking can be as well (since its not default out of the box to get an IP like it should be).

As most have said, you would only need to update if you run into a new disk where you see issues, but those seem to be mostly behind us this year, and now it is mostly tweaks and extra features. I think the next generations will get more and more like this.

Just today I called to get the 2.7 update for my A-20 which has never been updated by me. The person was pleasant, informative, courteous and helpful. She double-checked my info and will have the update cd out to me via FedEx right away. I felt properly taken care of. It was good to experience professional customer service on the phone again. Thanks to Toshiba for it! (Now let's see how quickly I get that update cd!)
ilovenola2 is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 11-28-2007, 06:42 PM
Senior Member
 
unclewebb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Forums tend to exaggerate problems. Most of the recent issues have been because Toshiba has been working hard to add extra features to these players and with the latest firmware, there aren't a lot of major problems left to fix.

With a second generation player, update it once to firmware 2.7 and you're done. Toshiba will send you the update disc by mail for free. All you have to do is put it in your player and push the OK button and within 15 minutes your player is updated. You don't need a network engineer, you don't need to learn how to burn a disc and you don't even need a computer.

Reading through the forums I constantly come across users that have issues because they haven't bothered to read the manual. They are very well written and tell you exactly how to hook these things up depending on your display and receiver.

If you ever do run into troubles then you have the helpful folks at AVS to cover your butt and answer any questions you have. If you have a HDTV and like movies then you'll be very happy with taking the plunge.

Edit: If Toshiba can't get a disc to you in a reasonable amount of time then send me $2 to cover postage and I'll be happy to send you one.
unclewebb is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 12-09-2007, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rick peterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: detroit burbs, mi.
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ended up with a Toshiba A30 and had absolutley no problem doing the update with an ethernet connection. I did call to ask how long it should take becasue after 20 minutes I was wondering if it was stuck. No problem, the numbers on the players display were telling me the progress of the download, I just didn't know it.

So thanks to all.

Thanks,
ep
rick peterson is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 12-09-2007, 11:46 AM
Member
 
Bob58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dothan, AL
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Updatable firmware is a fact of life for most newer consumer electronics.

That is only going to get more prevelent in the near future.

Many folks find this an irritant and confusing but it's actually a good thing.

At least there is now the opportunity for manufacturers to choose to make improvements when issues arise. There have always been issues with consumer electronics and, until the advent of user upgradable firmware, the buyer was stuck with those issues until they replaced the unit with something else.

While many folks here will disagree, I generally stick with the following philosophy when it comes to firmware updates:

I always immediately update the firmware when I buy a new CE device because it will, invariably, be shipped with a very old version.

But, after that...

I never update until the new firmware has been "vetted" by the early adopters (unless I have a critical issue that must be fixed ASAP)

and, maybe, more importantly...

If it ain't broke, I don't "fix" it.
Bob58 is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 12-09-2007, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Star56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: In my armed redoubt deep in the mountains of northern Ohio
Posts: 3,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by HIPAR View Post

I would say the hassle is optional. I'm using my HD-A3 as it came out of the box and have not seen it do anything crazy yet.

--- CHAS

Same for me. My A2 and A3 came out of the box and into my rack. No updates...play fine.

42" in the dining room.
50" in the bedroom
80" in the living room

65" in the family room
106" in the family room


"There is another system"

Video Modes: SDTV-EDTV-XGA-HDTV-3D
All HD Modes: Blu Ray, HD DVD, DVHS

Star56 is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 12-09-2007, 12:27 PM
Member
 
chili555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Carolina, by the lake
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've certainly had a plug-n-play experience with my HD-A2. I don't know what age you have to be to feel confident about updating your firmware; I'm 64. I figured if I was confident enough to put a DVD in the tray, I was confident enough to put the firmware disc in the tray. I clicked "Yes" on the screen and waited about 10 minutes. Went perfectly.

My only real trouble is waiting till my Social Security check comes so I can get 4-5 new discs!
chili555 is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 12-09-2007, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rick peterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: detroit burbs, mi.
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So Bob58, if I leave myself connected can they shoot downloads that go automatic or do I have to initiate for them?

Thanks,
ep
rick peterson is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 12-09-2007, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SbWillie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: War Eagle,Oklahoma
Posts: 3,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
NO updates done on my A3 and it's working fine(month after purchase)...except for dealing with scatched discs. Much more sensitive than regular dvd players on that issue!
SbWillie is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off