How HD-A30's Upconverting? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 51 Old 04-16-2008, 08:35 PM
Member
 
maxxonline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone. I posted this in the really long HD-A3/30 thread so I thought I might post this here as well for those that dont usually check that thread.

I seem to be running into an issue and wondered if it was a problem with the unit or if I just don't understand how these things work. I just bought an HD-A30 about two weeks ago on sale. I brought it home and went through updating the firmware and since then have been watching HD-DVD's perfectly on it (I picked up some HD-DVD's on sale as well).

So tonight I put in Enchanted on SD-DVD for my wife to watch and noticed that the resolution listed under display and on the front screen on the player showed 480p. I was confused??? Why 480p when I have the player hooked up to my 61" Samsung TV through an HDMI cable.

So I stopped the movie and went into setup. The setup is set for max of 1080p. So why is the SD-DVD only showing as 480p? Any thoughts on this or am I just not understanding whats going on?

I did a search for this type of problem on the thread and found this -
02-11-08, 06:07 PM
amarkow
Senior Member
Before I put in my HDMI cable, my A-35 showed all SD-DVDs at 480P. With the HDMI, they all go to the maximum I set on the unit (720P).

So on his A35 he was only getting 480p on the SD-DVD's until he switched to an HDMI cable. Well I already have that so what gives???

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
maxxonline is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 51 Old 04-16-2008, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Robert D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4,083
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxxonline View Post

Hello everyone. I posted this in the really long HD-A3/30 thread so I thought I might post this here as well for those that dont usually check that thread.

I seem to be running into an issue and wondered if it was a problem with the unit or if I just don't understand how these things work. I just bought an HD-A30 about two weeks ago on sale. I brought it home and went through updating the firmware and since then have been watching HD-DVD's perfectly on it (I picked up some HD-DVD's on sale as well).

So tonight I put in Enchanted on SD-DVD for my wife to watch and noticed that the resolution listed under display and on the front screen on the player showed 480p. I was confused??? Why 480p when I have the player hooked up to my 61" Samsung TV through an HDMI cable.

So I stopped the movie and went into setup. The setup is set for max of 1080p. So why is the SD-DVD only showing as 480p? Any thoughts on this or am I just not understanding whats going on?

I did a search for this type of problem on the thread and found this -
02-11-08, 06:07 PM
amarkow
Senior Member
Before I put in my HDMI cable, my A-35 showed all SD-DVDs at 480P. With the HDMI, they all go to the maximum I set on the unit (720P).

So on his A35 he was only getting 480p on the SD-DVD's until he switched to an HDMI cable. Well I already have that so what gives???

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Could be a number of things causing the problem. Like a HDCP issue with your HDTV or your HDTV may not accept 1080p even though it will display 1080p (some older Samsung's have this problem.

I would try setting the player to output 1080i (also make sure 24hz is not enabled) and see it that works for you.
Robert D is offline  
post #33 of 51 Old 04-17-2008, 04:36 PM
Member
 
TxStetson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually, I have basicly the same setup as you, and I have noticed this on a few different SD DVD's also. Only certain ones do this, and it is usually older ones. I have 2 SD copies of the first Harry Potter, and one of them is always 480p, and the other is 180i. I have also noticed that most of the british TV series discs I get from netflix only play in 480p.

Finally!!! Purple at last?
TxStetson is offline  
post #34 of 51 Old 04-19-2008, 12:09 PM
Member
 
maxxonline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxStetson View Post

Actually, I have basicly the same setup as you, and I have noticed this on a few different SD DVD's also. Only certain ones do this, and it is usually older ones. I have 2 SD copies of the first Harry Potter, and one of them is always 480p, and the other is 180i. I have also noticed that most of the british TV series discs I get from netflix only play in 480p.

Hmm, that is interesting. Well I decided to test the player to see if it was the Enchanted SD DVD disk or if the player would only output 480p on all SD DVD'S. I first put in Riddick in HD DVD to make sure the output would change back to 1080p and it did. I then popped in Total Recall on SD DVD and the output resolution stayed at 1080p.

So I thought well it must be the Enchanted DVD because Total Recall worked just fine. I then put in Enchanted again and the resolution stayed at 1080p according to the front led panel on the A30.

So what gives??? Well today my wife wanted to watch Becoming Jane (I think thats the name) in SD DVD. So I powered on the A30 and put in the disk and I get a message saying that the player cannot output in high resolution so it is going to change it. Then the player changes itself to 480p. So now I'm like ok I don't get it at all. If I hit the "info" button on my Samsung remote it shows the display resolution of 1920x1080 @60hz so I assume I am getting a 1080p signal on the TV even though the A30 only shows 480p on the front led panel.

So it sounds like you have this same type of problem. Anyone else run into this?

When my wife is through watching her movie in a little bit I will do more testing. I will take out the movie, put in another HD DVD, see if the resolution changes on the front led again, and then put the SD DVD back in to see if it stays at 1080p or changes back to 480p.
maxxonline is offline  
post #35 of 51 Old 04-19-2008, 01:03 PM
Member
 
maxxonline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well as I stated before on my original post, I did post this same thing in the A30/35 thread and here is what was said there -

Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post

I get the feeling that you believe that your DVD player is changing the resolution from 480i to 1080p. It's not. What it's doing is taking the SD material stored on the DVD in 480i and then using an algorithm to guess what the additional resolution would have looked like if the source material was actually 1080p.

If your DVD player were to output either 480i, or de-interlace the SD content and output 480p, your TV would finish the conversion. The Toshiba may do a better job of converting SD to be played on your 1080p set, but that isn't always the case.

I think that what Smarty-pants wrote is correct. You are just seeing a glitch in the message that the A30 is displaying. The fact that your TV is reporting a 1080p input source confirms that to be the case.

You're fine.

So I guess everything is working as it should. I am still going to do some test and see what I get.
maxxonline is offline  
post #36 of 51 Old 05-24-2008, 01:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
whitestang06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMCHAN View Post

It works great on 1080p24 when it play on SD.
The picturelooks great like near HD.

I've had the same results, but I've had some issues with some DVDs having parts that slow down and get "stuttery." Only had video related issues on two discs, meaning virtually everything works fine at 1080p24.

However, I did discover something interesting tonight. I got curious and started comparing the different resolutions with Star Wars EP.III. What I found was that, at least in my case, the 720p output is every bit the equal of, if not better than, 1080p24 when it comes to upconverting. This held true with other SD material, as well. This certainly wasn't the case with my A2, which had a better image in 1080i.

For HD DVD, however, there is no substitute for the 1080p24 output of this player.
whitestang06 is offline  
post #37 of 51 Old 05-25-2008, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
joemama127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a PS3, HD-XA2 and an A30.....the A30 slays the PS3 for dvd upconversion and matches the HD-XA2 except for cases of problem dvd's where the Reon Picture controls of the XA2 come in handy. Basically, better than any reasonably priced upconverting player you can buy today..

"The quickest way to get over your fear of plasma is to actually own *one"- joemama127

*or 3 :)
joemama127 is offline  
post #38 of 51 Old 05-26-2008, 05:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
s2mikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I am convinced after a few weeks of using the A30 in place of my A2 that the upconversion is better on the A30. It just "tightens" things up a little better. Its not night & day, more like early evening & late night, but it is noticeable on the best SD discs.

Very happy with the A30 thus far. I bought it as a backup but wanted to use it so it just didnt sit there for months on end. Glad I swapped it into my system. It will likely stay and the A2 will be the emergency backup.

s2mikey is offline  
post #39 of 51 Old 02-28-2009, 10:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
ooms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Striderprime00 View Post

From what I hear, 1080P at 24fps doesn't work so well with SD DVD. A future firmware might fix this.

it does now. not sure if it was the 4.0 fw or an earlier one. just watched the 2003 DVD Special Edition of Underworld and playback was 1080/24. It looked awesome.
ooms is offline  
post #40 of 51 Old 03-14-2009, 06:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
webphilosopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hadn't used my A30 in quite a while, since my XA2 does my heavy lifting. I decided that it was time to go ahead and update the A30's firmware to 4.0. I was stunned: The upconversion of the A30 looked superb. Frankly, it looked as good as that of the XA2 with a high quality DVD. It did not look that good before I updated the firmware. I thought it would look softer than the XA2. It didn't. It was crisp, clear. The colors were excellent as well. And, for HD DVD's, playback is superb. Upgrade the A30 to 4.0, and you get outstanding bang for the buck in DVD players.
webphilosopher is offline  
post #41 of 51 Old 03-14-2009, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by webphilosopher View Post

I hadn't used my A30 in quite a while, since my XA2 does my heavy lifting. I decided that it was time to go ahead and update the A30's firmware to 4.0. I was stunned: The upconversion of the A30 looked superb. Frankly, it looked as good as that of the XA2 with a high quality DVD. It did not look that good before I updated the firmware. I thought it would look softer than the XA2. It didn't. It was crisp, clear. The colors were excellent as well. And, for HD DVD's, playback is superb. Upgrade the A30 to 4.0, and you get outstanding bang for the buck in DVD players.

Out of curiosity, what's your output resolution? 1080i, 1080p, 1080p/24?

I've always had mine on 1080i for upconverting because several had mentioned that the deinterlacing was not good on these players.
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #42 of 51 Old 03-14-2009, 11:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
whitestang06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkozlow3 View Post


I've always had mine on 1080i for upconverting because several had mentioned that the deinterlacing was not good on these players.

It deinterlaces the DVD before converting to 1080i, anyway. The deinterlacing issue only arises on 1080p60 for HD DVDs.
whitestang06 is offline  
post #43 of 51 Old 03-15-2009, 04:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Quentin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthWest USA
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your HDTV can be a stumbling block here. If it doesn't fully process 1080p24 or even 1080p60 then having the A30 output 1080i may work better and reduce judder.

2008 Samsung HLxxA650/Series 6 DLP Thread/FAQ
HD DVDs: 235
BD: 20
DVD: Too Many!

Free Men Do Not Ask Permission to Bear Arms
Quentin2 is offline  
post #44 of 51 Old 03-16-2009, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
brettwf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Huntsville, AL (Monorovia area)
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My resolution is set to 720p for a 720p Samsung DLP. I have been satisfied w/ the upconversion. Superbit movies look very nice.

Brettwf
brettwf is offline  
post #45 of 51 Old 03-16-2009, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jkozlow3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Can someone explain what the recommended settings for a display that accepts 1080p/24 are for both:

HDDVD
SDDVD

I am confused about the deinterlacing issues I have read about with this player. I thought all the deinterlacing was poor and the recommended setting was therefore 1080i and to let your display do the deinterlacing. If this is not the case, someone please explain when this "issue" is relevant.

Should I use 1080p/24 some of the time (i.e. HDDVD only), all of the time (HD & SD) or never? When are the deinterlacing artifcats noticeable - 1080p/60 only?

Thanks!
jkozlow3 is offline  
post #46 of 51 Old 03-21-2009, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Randomcreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkozlow3 View Post

Can someone explain what the recommended settings for a display that accepts 1080p/24 are for both:

HDDVD
SDDVD

I am confused about the deinterlacing issues I have read about with this player. I thought all the deinterlacing was poor and the recommended setting was therefore 1080i and to let your display do the deinterlacing. If this is not the case, someone please explain when this "issue" is relevant.

Should I use 1080p/24 some of the time (i.e. HDDVD only), all of the time (HD & SD) or never? When are the deinterlacing artifcats noticeable - 1080p/60 only?

Thanks!

if recommendation is to set output to 1080i and let display do deinterlacing, then what is the advantage of the A30 over the A20? Which of these doe s24hz 1080p better with HD DVD?
Randomcreek is offline  
post #47 of 51 Old 03-21-2009, 09:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Quentin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthWest USA
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a difficult issue and it depends on how your HDTV handles 24 frames. Most recent TVs accept 1080p24 but many convert it to 1080p60. In this case you're likely better off setting the player to 1080p60 or even 1080i. Often you can't get a clear answer on what your TV does so it's best to test for yourself. See how fast action, camera pans and scrolling credits are handled at each setting.

With the right TV and cables a 1080p24 player is great to have but if you can't take advantage of that then a 1080i player is all you need unless you'll be upgrading your TV in the near future.

2008 Samsung HLxxA650/Series 6 DLP Thread/FAQ
HD DVDs: 235
BD: 20
DVD: Too Many!

Free Men Do Not Ask Permission to Bear Arms
Quentin2 is offline  
post #48 of 51 Old 03-21-2009, 05:40 PM
Senior Member
 
Randomcreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quentin2 View Post

This is a difficult issue and it depends on how your HDTV handles 24 frames. Most recent TVs accept 1080p24 but many convert it to 1080p60. In this case you're likely better off setting the player to 1080p60 or even 1080i. Often you can't get a clear answer on what your TV does so it's best to test for yourself. See how fast action, camera pans and scrolling credits are handled at each setting.

With the right TV and cables a 1080p24 player is great to have but if you can't take advantage of that then a 1080i player is all you need unless you'll be upgrading your TV in the near future.

Excellent! So any discussion of the 1080p/24 output picture quality needs to be in the context of the display devices ability to accept / process the native 24P signal. My projector will accept 1080i/24Hz signal and displays it at 96Hz (essentially 4:4 processing) to LCOS-based panel). So, inferring from what you said, I should do well with A30's 1080p/24P output and not have to dumb-down the output to 1080i for best picture quality, correct? Would this be equally correct for both HD-DVDs and Std. def DVDs?
Randomcreek is offline  
post #49 of 51 Old 03-21-2009, 10:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Quentin2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NorthWest USA
Posts: 812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well normally you like to see 5:5 and 120Hz but it's hard to argue with your math, 96 is an even multiple of 24 so it looks like the A30 would be a nice fit for you. (You did mean 1080p24 not 1080i24? The A30 can't do 1080i24.)

The A30 will do 24 frames from SD DVD too even though that's been reported as a bug. Works, though - I've tried it myself.

2008 Samsung HLxxA650/Series 6 DLP Thread/FAQ
HD DVDs: 235
BD: 20
DVD: Too Many!

Free Men Do Not Ask Permission to Bear Arms
Quentin2 is offline  
post #50 of 51 Old 03-22-2009, 03:16 PM
Member
 
1inxs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kamas, Utah
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary McCoy View Post

Sorry to end the endless stream of praise, but my A30 will occaisionally choke on a standard DVD and lose audio/video sync, by as much as 2 seconds.

This happens when there is a scratch on the disk (I rent from NetFlix). The firmware is current. The only cure is to eject the disk and navigate back through the scene selection to the scene after the defect.

These defective disks can typically be played in my old Panasonic RP-62 (480p over component), where the same defect shows up as a momentary freeze and then playback continues after skipping a frame or two. The PS3 will also freeze at the same spot, and when it recovers it has no audio/video sync issues.

I only had my system get out of sync twice. To resync I chapter forward once and back once and it's fixed. Takes about 2 seconds.
1inxs is offline  
post #51 of 51 Old 03-22-2009, 06:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Randomcreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quentin2 View Post

Well normally you like to see 5:5 and 120Hz but it's hard to argue with your math, 96 is an even multiple of 24 so it looks like the A30 would be a nice fit for you. (You did mean 1080p24 not 1080i24? The A30 can't do 1080i24.)

The A30 will do 24 frames from SD DVD too even though that's been reported as a bug. Works, though - I've tried it myself.

yes, I meant the projector accepts 1080p/24hz and displays it at 1080p/96hz (with 4:4 processing). What happens when you output SD DVD at 1080p/24Hz? How's the picture? Does it work same as with HD disks to smooth the picture some? So movie DVDs are mastered at 480P/24hz ? Then 3:2 is used when pulling info off the disk so it can be output at 60Hz for 99% of the displays out there, correct? Or am I missing something?
Randomcreek is offline  
Reply HD DVD Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off