HD-DVD Firmware links for all models - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 162 Old 09-12-2011, 09:32 AM
Member
 
jay_l_a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jruser View Post

FYI, all of the links in the first post were dead since Toshiba updated their support site. I added new links for all of the models, though they only host the newest versions now.

Thanks, I'd noticed these were dead a few weeks ago. You never know when you might need these.
jay_l_a is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 162 Old 01-08-2012, 06:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
bslep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Royalton, Ohio
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
My brother-in-law has an A1 with the original firmware. Does anyone have the 4.0 frimware for the A1 on a disc that they want to sell? Please pm me if so. Thanks.
bslep is offline  
post #153 of 162 Old 01-15-2012, 01:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
koan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by bslep View Post

My brother-in-law has an A1 with the original firmware. Does anyone have the 4.0 frimware for the A1 on a disc that they want to sell? Please pm me if so. Thanks.

You can find a link to the 4.0 firmware in the first post. You can also find it at http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/t...t/jsp/home.jsp (Downloads tab/DVD&Blu-Ray). Also has a pdf with installation instructions.
koan is offline  
post #154 of 162 Old 08-09-2013, 08:42 PM
Newbie
 
Himicane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have the .iso or .zip files for the A-20, I have 2.7 and 4.0, but I was trying to get others in an attempt to watch blood diamond. I updated from a firmware version that I cannot remember to 2.8, and then to 4.0 and still cannot watch blood diamond. Any links would be soooo much appreciated.

Regards,
Himicane is offline  
post #155 of 162 Old Yesterday, 10:43 PM
Member
 
hotrodguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Woodland Hills, CA.
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Calling all Toshiba HD-DVD owners! (2014)

Hey fellow AVSers,

I see many of the other threads here are quite old and I've checked the links to their firmware updates which seem to be inactive. Well I may have a solution.

Like myself, I'm sure many of you guys still have a Toshiba HD-DVD players that are in use somewhere in your home. I have the Toshiba HD-A2 and the HD-A30, one of which had firmware version 1.0 and the other had version 1.7. During my recent research I found that Toshiba had issued a version 4.0 in 2008/2009, as seen in other threads here, but now it seems like these links don't work.

I did see someone selling discs on ebay recently with version 4.0 but they were located in the UK and between the disc and shipping, I figured I could find it myself locally here in the U.S. and save some money. Well I did actually find an active link for version 4.0 on Toshiba's website, who'd a thought? The only problem I was having was that version 4.0 was Windows XP based and after several failed attempts on two different MACs and three different PC's, I came to the conclusion that the only way to burn the ISO disc image correctly and have it work on my players was to use an old XP based computer. That was the harder part until I came across one still in use here at work, so I gave it a shot and it worked perfectly. I updated my firmware on both players and they work better and have much faster load times.





So post a reply here and let me know what you think and what model you have so I can start the research. I think this could make many Toshiba HD-DVD owners very happy, what do you think?

Thanks.

hotrodguy

Mod Edit: Sales edited


Last edited by teachsac; Today at 12:39 PM. Reason: Sales
hotrodguy is online now  
post #156 of 162 Old Yesterday, 10:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Pauma Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have an A2 sitting in the closet as I only have three discs, all concerts, that I own. Can anyone say what the advantage is to updating. Since I rarely use it improvements in load times, etc., are not significant. Any chance picture improvements would be there?

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #157 of 162 Old Today, 05:59 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,558
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 153
You can use CDBurnerXP on later versions of windows to burn the disc.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #158 of 162 Old Today, 11:05 AM
KOA
Advanced Member
 
KOA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 925
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I have an A2 and a bunch of titles. Recently got a new TV so I thought I get it out and watch some of those movies. Over HDMI I get freezes on The Searchers and Bourne about 2/3 the way through. Never got it on components. Tried to download from v4 from Toshiba's but couldn't make a disc. So I am interested if this would help play these titles. Maybe it's just bad WB discs, but I'm interested.
KOA is online now  
post #159 of 162 Old Today, 12:31 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,558
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 153
I had trouble with Bourne 3 originally about 15-20 minutes from the end. Ended getting the trilogy on Blu for $16 on sale. use CDBurnerXP for burning firmware discs. Worked every time for me.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #160 of 162 Old Today, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinema13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 133
I might be interested.

cinema13 is online now  
post #161 of 162 Old Today, 12:42 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,558
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Please remember that AVS Site Administrators do not allow any personal sales or advertising outside of the classifieds.

No-one needs to purchase firmware or discs. Download the firmware and create a disc using CDBurnerXP. It is a free program.

Thanks,

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is offline  
post #162 of 162 Old Today, 09:14 PM
Member
 
hotrodguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Woodland Hills, CA.
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
Please remember that AVS Site Administrators do not allow any personal sales or advertising outside of the classifieds.

No-one needs to purchase firmware or discs. Download the firmware and create a disc using CDBurnerXP. It is a free program.

Thanks,

S~
Understood, I was just checking to see if there was interest here before posting in the classifieds.

I did not know about CDBurnerXP, thanks for the heads up. Consider this offer withdrawn.

hrg

hotrodguy is online now  
Reply HD DVD Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off