HD-DVD Authoring to DVD -/+ Media - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 01:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

Hey, guys, where are all the posts about success with 720p?

Personally, I've been asleep Time difference is a b****.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 04:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kinda OT, but anyway: I got so excited about all these developments, I purchased Avid Liquid 7 Pro editing system. Wish I could've afforded the Chrome HD/SDI kit, but heck, I'm not made of money.

Now busy locating 720p content for testing, will report later.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #813 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 07:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

Kinda OT, but anyway: I got so excited about all these developments, I purchased Avid Liquid 7 Pro editing system. Wish I could've afforded the Chrome HD/SDI kit, but heck, I'm not made of money.

Now busy locating 720p content for testing, will report later.

You mean you actually sleep? I thought there were 24 hours of daylight in Finland this time of year.

I'd be interested in an Avid Liquid Pro 7 review down the line. I use Premiere Pro with the Aspect HD plug-in for real time HDV editing. I'd especially like to hear about their implementation of real time HDV - and how it holds up with multiple generations and compositing.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #814 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 08:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Grandmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chaps,

I've authored what I hope to be the first dual-format HD-DVD/Blu-Ray DVD. As the 'Nero Trick' appears to work for both formats, I've given it a go by using the dummy VIDEO_TS job, then incoporated both Blu-Ray (1080i) and HD-DVD (720p) titlesets on one disk. Bitrate for the MPEG2s is around 25mbps, peaking at 28mbps.

Click here to download. UnRAR, burn with ImgBrn, DVD Decrypter, or Alcohol 120%.

If you HD-DVD and Blu-Ray people could give it a try that would be great. It would be superb for my business to be able offer multiformat disks as my videos tend to be rather short.


texmex - how about updating your patcher to patch Blu-Ray too?
Grandmaster is offline  
post #815 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 09:15 AM
Senior Member
 
texmex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandmaster View Post

texmex - how about updating your patcher to patch Blu-Ray too?

I'd love to. Tell me what I need to do. What stream formats does MF5 accept for BR authoring without re-encoding? Are we talking about a patch for 720p on Blu-Ray? That may be tough right now - WiFi put us over the top with HD-DVD because we had a valid 720p IFO to analyze. I don't know how we'd get our hands on a valid 720p Blu-Ray authored folder.
texmex is offline  
post #816 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 09:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandmaster View Post

Chaps,

I've authored what I hope to be the first dual-format HD-DVD/Blu-Ray DVD. As the 'Nero Trick' appears to work for both formats, I've given it a go by using the dummy VIDEO_TS job, then incoporated both Blu-Ray (1080i) and HD-DVD (720p) titlesets on one disk. Bitrate for the MPEG2s is around 25mbps, peaking at 28mbps.

Click here to download. UnRAR, burn with ImgBrn, DVD Decrypter, or Alcohol 120%.

If you HD-DVD and Blu-Ray people could give it a try that would be great. It would be superb for my business to be able offer multiformat disks as my videos tend to be rather short.


texmex - how about updating your patcher to patch Blu-Ray too?

I'll burn it to disc and try it at a local Best Buy in the Samsung player. That's how I got into this in the first place.

On a sour note, I tried to create some HD DVDs of Lost and Desperate Housewives and Lost and they wouldn't work. They froze up your patcher, texmex, just like many of my MPEGs do MF5 if I convert .ts to MPEG with VideoRedo or HDTVtoMPEG2. (That STILL isn't working for me. Womble MPEG2VCR is the only .ts to MPEG2 converter that works consistently for me. I love VideoRedo and would like to be able to use it.)

Fox and ESPN shows work just fine. Since no one else here seems to have these issues, I think there must be some sort of problem with my hardware/software configurations.

Any way, texmex, you could look at a segment of one of my Lost clips and see if you spot anything ugly?

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #817 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

You mean you actually sleep? I thought there were 24 hours of daylight in Finland this time of year.

I know my ramblings make it look like I never sleep...

Quote:


I'd be interested in an Avid Liquid Pro 7 review down the line.

I'll keep that in mind. I should get my hands on it next Monday. Enough OT for now

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #818 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandmaster View Post

I've authored what I hope to be the first dual-format HD-DVD/Blu-Ray DVD.

Holy cow! I'll download it and will give it a try.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #819 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

...just like many of my MPEGs do MF5 if I convert .ts to MPEG with VideoRedo or HDTVtoMPEG2. (That STILL isn't working for me. Womble MPEG2VCR is the only .ts to MPEG2 converter that works consistently for me. I love VideoRedo and would like to be able to use it.)

I know this isn't helping, but... I haven't had a single problem with streams cut with either VideoRedo or H2M. Womble products I've had nothing but grief with, however. Aren't PCs wonderful?

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #820 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandmaster View Post

If you HD-DVD and Blu-Ray people could give it a try that would be great.

I'm happy to report the disc works fine in my HD-XA1. Wroom wroom!

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #821 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Grandmaster, you know what? If your hybrid works in Samsung as well... who needs a combo player or the unification of BD and HD DVD? We've got the unified format right here!

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #822 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Grandmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excellent! Now we just need a Blu-Ray report
Grandmaster is offline  
post #823 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Grandmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

Grandmaster, you know what? If your hybrid works in Samsung as well... who needs a combo player or the unification of BD and HD DVD? We've got the unified format right here!

Well it'll be great for me and my promotional vids, but a DVD-9 can only hold 32 minutes of this level of video, so 15 minutes per format as you have to mirror the video files for each format.
Grandmaster is offline  
post #824 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:06 AM
Member
 
brosnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandmaster View Post

...
If you HD-DVD and Blu-Ray people could give it a try that would be great.

Just tried in 2 players:

Tosh A1 - video plays fine, looks pretty good. Audio has dropouts.
Sony BluRay laptop - does not play. Pressing play on the WINDVD BD player spins up the disk then silently does nothing. Maybe it won't do the "opposite color laser trick"

Of course on the laptop motivated folks can use VLC to play the m2t or evo files directly, so the Samsung player is more relevant (don't have one).

Mike
brosnan is offline  
post #825 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Grandmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah that's a shame.

Interesting about the audio drop-outs... will have to look into that one. Ulead is converting the audio as Canopus Procoder can only create MPEG2 program streams with MPEG2 audio. I really need to get it to leave it as is.

Can Ulead import MPEG2 material other than program streams?
Grandmaster is offline  
post #826 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:13 AM
Senior Member
 
texmex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

Any way, texmex, you could look at a segment of one of my Lost clips and see if you spot anything ugly?

If you can put up a clip somewhere I can grab it I'll take a look.
texmex is offline  
post #827 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:17 AM
Member
 
brosnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandmaster View Post

Can Ulead import MPEG2 material other than program streams?

It often accepts compliant mpeg2 transport streams and creates a program stream for you before proceeding.

Mike
brosnan is offline  
post #828 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:17 AM
Senior Member
 
Grandmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the disk is still worth a punt on the Samsung player... it's authored identically to the one that did work so unless it takes exception to other data on the disk it should work.
Grandmaster is offline  
post #829 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:20 AM
Member
 
brosnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandmaster View Post

Interesting about the audio drop-outs...

Actually this might be a bit rate issue. Upon comparison to VLC I now think the video stutterred a bit on the Tosh A1 (I thought that was a style thing). The bikes were real smooth on VLC. So maybe the bit rate is high enough that the A1 can't stream off the red laser channel fast enough. That might also mess the audio.

Mike
brosnan is offline  
post #830 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 182
I had the same issues with my A1. Video plays fine, but audio drops out, first a little, then altogether.

I'm headed out in a few minutes and I'll give it a try in a Samsung Blu-ray player at Best Buy.

Thanks, texmex. I'll create a brief clip later.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #831 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by brosnan View Post

Actually this might be a bit rate issue. Upon comparison to VLC I now think the video stutterred a bit on the Tosh A1 (I thought that was a style thing). The bikes were real smooth on VLC. So maybe the bit rate is high enough that the A1 can't stream off the red laser channel fast enough. That might also mess the audio.

I don't think that's the issue. The earlier clip I got from Grandmaster was about 30mbps and audio and video both played well.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #832 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:30 AM
Newbie
 
stratman544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I usually lurk, but this new 720p capability is significant! Texmex, quite an effort for someone who currently doesn't even have a player!! I've had immediate success with short clips. However, any mpg clip over 2 gigs chokes up HDPatch (I get overflow error message at the start of processing).
stratman544 is offline  
post #833 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brosnan View Post

It often accepts compliant mpeg2 transport streams and creates a program stream for you before proceeding.

Never ever for me it hasn't.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #834 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

I had the same issues with my A1. Video plays fine, but audio drops out, first a little, then altogether.

Oops! I don't think I had the amp on at all when I tried the disc. I'll have another go, with audio this time.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #835 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandmaster View Post

Well it'll be great for me and my promotional vids, but a DVD-9 can only hold 32 minutes of this level of video, so 15 minutes per format as you have to mirror the video files for each format.

And maybe I was just kiddin', you know?

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #836 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:49 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
cal87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 1,283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
One thing I don't understand is why some files take forever to load into the timeline. Most files - you select it, and you're ready to make or image or folders in seconds. With others, sometimes you are waiting 15 min or longer - and there is no re-encoding going on as far as I can tell. Initially, I thought it was 1088 issue, but now I can't tell. It may explain why people are having differing success with VideoReDo/Womble/HDTVtoMPEG2. There must be something else going on as far as why Ulead likes some files better than others.
Any ideas, anyone?
cal87 is online now  
post #837 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
texmex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stratman544 View Post

I usually lurk, but this new 720p capability is significant! Texmex, quite an effort for someone who currently doesn't even have a player!! I've had immediate success with short clips. However, any mpg clip over 2 gigs chokes up HDPatch (I get overflow error message at the start of processing).

Did you grab the latest version (0.2.02)? v0.2.01 has the bug you're describing. Latest version is here:

HDPatch v0.2.02

If you have the v0.2.02 and still have problems let me know.
texmex is offline  
post #838 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandmaster View Post

Interesting about the audio drop-outs...

I re-tested the disc, this time with the amp on, and yeah, there are audio drop-outs. First two seconds are fine, then there's a 1/2 second drop-out, audio comes back for approx. a second and then drops out permanently.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #839 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc D Carra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This 720P stuff is quite a breakthrough! I'm going to try to author my 720P recording of Finding Nemo, and I will report back with the results I get...

Marc.

MDC
Marc D Carra is offline  
post #840 of 1475 Old 06-30-2006, 01:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Grandmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very interesting about the audio. I'm suspecting that it could be down to Ulead converting the audio back into LPCM. I'll have a fiddle about and see what I can do about that. There must be a way of putting my own uncompressed audio, or AC3, into the program stream instead.

Considering how small the audio bandwidth is for two channel stereo, I think you'd be seeing stuttering video *and* audio if it were a bitrate issue.
Grandmaster is offline  
Reply HD DVD Software

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off