HD-DVD Authoring to DVD -/+ Media - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 1475 Old 07-09-2006, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by texmex View Post

Probably because you don't have the .NET framework installed. You can download it from the Microsoft update site. Let me know if that isn't the problem.

Please forgive. where would I find that? I didn't see it in the guide.

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 1475 Old 07-09-2006, 10:19 PM
Senior Member
 
texmex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalfreakNYC View Post

Please forgive. where would I find that? I didn't see it in the guide.

try here:

.NET Framework

The guide is not complete yet...
texmex is offline  
post #993 of 1475 Old 07-09-2006, 10:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks so much! Worked like a charm.

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #994 of 1475 Old 07-10-2006, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc D Carra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just thought I would mention something that happened on the weekend. I made a 720P HD-DVD of Finding Nemo, which looked spectacular. It played with the Toshiba A1 set to 1080i, but looked far better, of course, at 720P. After watching it, I forgot to switch the player back to 1080i, and my girlfriend & I watched a couple more home-made HD-DVDs (Stand by Me , and Superman II, both 1080i), and the picture still looked incredible. I had heard horror stories of how bad 1080i stuff looked with the player set to 720p, but on my Panny Plasma, it was really hard to tell the difference.

Marc.

MDC
Marc D Carra is offline  
post #995 of 1475 Old 07-10-2006, 08:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Marc,

How much of each of those movies are you able to fit on one DL DVD?

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #996 of 1475 Old 07-10-2006, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc D Carra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalfreakNYC View Post

Marc,

How much of each of those movies are you able to fit on one DL DVD?

Finding Nemo was split between a DL and a single layer, Stand by Me fit on one DL, and Superman II, needed to be split between 2 DL. I always choose an appropriate split, like a fade out or scene change. Makes for a good intermission

Marc.

MDC
Marc D Carra is offline  
post #997 of 1475 Old 07-10-2006, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Marc, you got the 1000th post! Congrats!

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #998 of 1475 Old 07-10-2006, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc D Carra View Post

Finding Nemo was split between a DL and a single layer, Stand by Me fit on one DL, and Superman II, needed to be split between 2 DL. I always choose an appropriate split, like a fade out or scene change. Makes for a good intermission

Marc.

I might have to check out Stand By Me.

I can sync up that DTS track from the Superbit disc.

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #999 of 1475 Old 07-10-2006, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc D Carra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalfreakNYC View Post

I might have to check out Stand By Me.

I can sync up that DTS track from the Superbit disc.


It was a close squeeze with the DD2.0 track. I think it was 8.04 gig. Nice bitrate, nonetheless though. Picture looked fabulous. Much better than the DVD. The DTS track would put it onto 2 discs, but the sound would be sweet!

Marc.

MDC
Marc D Carra is offline  
post #1000 of 1475 Old 07-10-2006, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc D Carra View Post

It was a close squeeze with the DD2.0 track. I think it was 8.04 gig. Nice bitrate, nonetheless though. Picture looked fabulous. Much better than the DVD. The DTS track would put it onto 2 discs, but the sound would be sweet!

Marc.

I'm not so much concerned with the DTS track as it being an official 5.1 track. They went back to the original elements (as opposed to it just being a remix). I liked it a lot and was highly impressed. Might have to do some work on it myself.

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #1001 of 1475 Old 07-10-2006, 12:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
KoolKiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 721
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc D Carra View Post

I had heard horror stories of how bad 1080i stuff looked with the player set to 720p, but on my Panny Plasma, it was really hard to tell the difference. Marc.

What is the native resolution of your Panny? eg. If it is 720p then it may just mean that their is no visibally discernable difference between the Toshiba's and the Panny's 1080->720 downscaling.
KoolKiwi is offline  
post #1002 of 1475 Old 07-10-2006, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc D Carra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoolKiwi View Post

What is the native resolution of your Panny? eg. If it is 720p then it may just mean that their is no visibally discernable difference between the Toshiba's and the Panny's 1080->720 downscaling.


It's a 50" so I think the native reslolution is 1368 x768. The scaler in it is great so that may account for what I'm seeing. I'll do some more comparisions and I just may leave the Toshiba A1 set to 720p from now on. I'll have to see what the 1080p mastered 'pre-recorded' stuff looks like at 720p. Thats where the problem may lie.

Wow, 1000th post in this thread, eh? It's really growing. Just like HD-DVD , bigger and better everyday!

Marc.

MDC
Marc D Carra is offline  
post #1003 of 1475 Old 07-11-2006, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
docchak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hopewell, VA
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello guys,

Do we have any post on how to author HD disc for Blue Ray, Samsung? I gather it's not possible ,,,yet????
docchak is offline  
post #1004 of 1475 Old 07-11-2006, 03:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by docchak View Post

Hello guys,

Do we have any post on how to author HD disc for Blue Ray, Samsung? I gather it's not possible ,,,yet????

We had one report earlier of a successful burn for the Samsung, but nothing since. I've tried a few of Grandmaster's tests and so far have had no success with them.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #1005 of 1475 Old 07-11-2006, 05:35 PM
Member
 
dsss12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Texmex, thanks again for your great utility. I was wondering if you were still working on a new rev that would incorporate more efficient 1088 patching for the whole file?
dsss12 is offline  
post #1006 of 1475 Old 07-11-2006, 06:07 PM
Senior Member
 
texmex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsss12 View Post

Texmex, thanks again for your great utility. I was wondering if you were still working on a new rev that would incorporate more efficient 1088 patching for the whole file?

Yes - I'm very close to getting a new revision out that "correctly" parses both transport and program streams (instead of reading every byte - ugh). Unfortunately, I'm buried in real work right now. Hopefully I'll have something out by the end of the weekend. The good news is that my Tosh finally arrived, so I can actually test discs myself. To give you an idea of just how busy I am at the moment: the Tosh has been sitting on the living room floor for 4 days, still sealed in the box...

texmex
texmex is offline  
post #1007 of 1475 Old 07-11-2006, 06:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

We had one report earlier of a successful burn for the Samsung, but nothing since. I've tried a few of Grandmaster's tests and so far have had no success with them.

I recall reading a post in the BluRay forum that HD disks will not play unless they were encrypted (is the offical encryption called AACS?). They may have been talking about video on Blu-Ray disks, but I thought it was a bad sign.
Hyrax is offline  
post #1008 of 1475 Old 07-11-2006, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Please forgive such a newbie question:

I'm re-encoding some of the quicktime files with TMPGenc to make them playable. Obviously I'm setting it to the following:

1920x1080
16x9 Display
non-interlace
high profile & high level

Now, which framerate should i use? 29.97 or 23.97?

The tests that I did had a smoother picture with 23.97 but I would assume that I'd have to use a 3:2 pulldown if i end up using it, no?

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #1009 of 1475 Old 07-11-2006, 09:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
GodobeHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by docchak View Post

Hello guys,

Do we have any post on how to author HD disc for Blue Ray, Samsung? I gather it's not possible ,,,yet????

Actually the process for BD is identical to HDDVD. Simply drag the BDMV folder created by the MF5 into the Nero instead of HVDVD_TS and then you have a HD disk that will play in Samsung.
I posted a thread in BD software forum a few weeks ago that seemed to have generated little interest.
The reason is so obvious: very few AV enthusiasts would keep the Sammy player to make use of any of those disks, myself included. And those who do keep the Sammy probably care so little about spending an amount like $1000 that a home made BD disk would seem ridiculous for its effort involved.
GodobeHD is offline  
post #1010 of 1475 Old 07-12-2006, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mrwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the record, I think I solved my stuttering playback problem. Don't use hdtv2mpeg to convert .ts to .mpg (or ulead apps for that matter). VideoRedo (save as function) is the only thing I can get to work. Others have said Womble works too.
mrwilson is offline  
post #1011 of 1475 Old 07-12-2006, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrwilson View Post

For the record, I think I solved my stuttering playback problem. Don't use hdtv2mpeg to convert .ts to .mpg (or ulead apps for that matter). VideoRedo (save as function) is the only thing I can get to work. Others have said Womble works too.

Every time I try and use VideoReDo, it crashes.

I use a different program that totally escapes me at the moment.

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #1012 of 1475 Old 07-12-2006, 03:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalfreakNYC View Post

Every time I try and use VideoReDo, it crashes.

I use a different program that totally escapes me at the moment.

I love VideoRedo but have had zero success getting files to load properly into MF5 with the MPEG2s it creates. Womble MPEG2VCR is the only program that works for me consistently.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #1013 of 1475 Old 07-12-2006, 03:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
cal87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 1,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalfreakNYC View Post

Every time I try and use VideoReDo, it crashes.

I use a different program that totally escapes me at the moment.

Are you using the latest version of VideoReDo. This version did not work for me.

I use the previous version, which works fine for me. This version cannot join ts files. The latest version does join ts files, but the output gets garbled for me.

I'm at work so I don't remember the exact version numbers.
cal87 is online now  
post #1014 of 1475 Old 07-12-2006, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cal87 View Post

Are you using the latest version of VideoReDo. This version did not work for me.

I use the previous version, which works fine for me. This version cannot join ts files. The latest version does join ts files, but the output gets garbled for me.

I'm at work so I don't remember the exact version numbers.

Nope. Mine is older. It constantly asks me to upgrade.

Crashes every time I specify that I want to open a TS file. Others are fine.

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #1015 of 1475 Old 07-12-2006, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
suprmallet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've read through most of this thread, but not all of it, so forgive me if this has already been answered:

Has anyone been able to author discs using Mac-compatible software? Has anyone used Final Cut Pro to make a quicktime file, then converted that quicktime file to another format and used a Mac-compatible burning program such as Roxio or DVD Studio Pro to make a DVD that the Toshiba will read in high definition?

You have thirteen hours in which to solve the labyrinth, before your baby brother becomes one of us... forever.
suprmallet is offline  
post #1016 of 1475 Old 07-12-2006, 04:49 PM
Member
 
edbetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Weehawken, NJ USA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thread is absolutely the best.. I have been immersed in trying to duplicate what all of you "bleeding edgers" have accomplished so far. I have successfully captured using DVHS/converted to mpeg2 using womble/and authored using MF5 but the Burning to DVD has me in a quandry. Nero 7 (Just downloaded latest level) does not show the "Enable Xbox compatibility mode" in the Options pull-down. If I go ahead and continue, it seams to work fine until the end when several error messages appear and it fails. The messages are:

Internal Target Failure
Stopping Conversion
Unable to recover TOC
Could not perform end of Disc-at-once
Burn Process Failed

This happens at the very end of the burn.
I have tried 3 different captures with the same result.
Would this have anything to do with the unavailability of the Xbox message?
Any other ideas?

Thanks
Ed Betty
edbetty is offline  
post #1017 of 1475 Old 07-12-2006, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ed, at first read it sounded to me like a bad burn, nothing else. Then I re-read the first two lines, and yeah, it might be possible the error is caused by the Xbox option being unavailable. Nero tries to convert files to DVD Video format if it deems the files incompatible. Those two lines seem to point in the direction that Nero gets all confused during the conversion stage and gives up.

Which version of Nero 7 are you using? Ultra, Premier or something else?

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #1018 of 1475 Old 07-12-2006, 05:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrwilson View Post

For the record, I think I solved my stuttering playback problem. Don't use hdtv2mpeg to convert .ts to .mpg (or ulead apps for that matter).

Yeah, it was mentioned earlier in this thread that H2M should not be used for .ts to mpeg conversion, as that feature doesn't work very well.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #1019 of 1475 Old 07-12-2006, 05:19 PM
Member
 
edbetty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Weehawken, NJ USA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using Ultra (Only one available for Trial download)..

Ed
edbetty is offline  
post #1020 of 1475 Old 07-12-2006, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using Ultra as well. Hmmm. And you've selected the DVD-ROM (UDF) Compilation, not the DVD-Video Compilation?

Could it be possible that the Xbox compatibility mode option is not available in the Trial version?

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
Reply HD DVD Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off