HD-DVD Authoring to DVD -/+ Media - Page 37 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1081 of 1475 Old 07-16-2006, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by docchak View Post

Hello all,
I have a star wars attack of the clone, that has been on my hard drive for a while, it's already in 1280 x 1080i , I beleve, I recorded it from cable box, I no longer have that set up. It will not load onto VS 10 +, it just cause the program to hang, any suggestion? It's the only file that behaves this way. All the other records are from nextcom r 5000 and has no problem converting to hd dvd.

Give it time and it will probably load. Some low bitrate shows of mine take an hour or more to load.
Hyrax is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1082 of 1475 Old 07-16-2006, 08:21 PM
Member
 
monkeyboy1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by texmex View Post

There are conflicting reports about MF5 and 5.1 - some are able to author with the 5.1 intact, others report MF5 downconverting the 5.1 to 2.0. AC3 5.1 is not a listed feature in MF5, while it is in VS10+, so ULead might have pulled 5.1 support from MF5 to boost sales of VS10+ (just a theory, no proof). I'm using VS10+, so others using MF5 will have to chime in here on their 5.1 experiences. When commenting, it would be very helpful to include the version number of MF5/VS10+ in your post.

texmex

Thanks for the quick feedback!

So with using VS10+ you have successfully transferred 5.1 audio into your HD-DVD projects? What I would like to know is if it truly works with VS10+ before i drop the c-note on a license. MF5 was a freebie.

Which leads to another puzzle, Womble DVD finally upgraded to 5.1 support with it latest version, but it is hit and miss with finding the 5.1 stream info in files I get off of the HR10. The streams are definitely in the files because I can stream them through my HTPC with 5.1, but if i load the same file into Womble it says it's just a MPEG-2 audio stream, not AC3 5.1.

Actually while writing this I thought of something... Is the header info that you are fixing with your program carrying the audio type info as well? If so is this something you could add a switch or selection so that programs will see the AC3 5.1 audio correctly.

Thanks again,

mb101

mb1010
monkeyboy1010 is offline  
post #1083 of 1475 Old 07-16-2006, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevenjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DC Metro area USA
Posts: 2,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

Steve,

Ulead is crucial to the process, because it can author HD DVD discs -- for both HD DVD and DVD-R/+R media. I'm not very familiar with Vegas, but I believe it doesn't offer HD DVD authoring.

Thanks. I'm not sure about Vegas 6 myself and need to spend more time with it. It looks it will import my HDV tapes and other formats including importing, as well as, rendering and exporting H.264 video to all common frame rates including NTSC, PAL, 24p, Apple iPod video, AVC/Mpeg-4 for PSP, etc. It will also export HDV back to tape. I guess I'll just have to play around with it and figure out what it can and can't do.

In the meantime, I'll try loading VS v5 and see if it will work. If not, I'll get VS v10+ and just use it.

...Steve
"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

 


My 3D-BD/BD/HD-DVD/DVD collection and HT gear

stevenjw is offline  
post #1084 of 1475 Old 07-16-2006, 10:39 PM
Senior Member
 
texmex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A new version of HDPatch is pretty much ready, but I haven't had time to test it and don't want to throw it out here untested (look for it sometime tomorrow). 1088 patching speed is much improved, but still not where I'd like it to be. Now that I have a better handle on the MPEG specs, I'll probably code part of the next release (after this one) into a low level library to speed things up. As a reminder, there are several alternatives to using HDPatch for patching 1088 streams: fix1088 or HDTV2MPEG for transport streams, DVDPatcher for program streams.
texmex is offline  
post #1085 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 01:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyboy1010 View Post

So with using VS10+ you have successfully transferred 5.1 audio into your HD-DVD projects?

Yes, several times.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #1086 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 01:58 AM
vsv
Advanced Member
 
vsv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeyboy1010 View Post


Actually while writing this I thought of something... Is the header info that you are fixing with your program carrying the audio type info as well? If so is this something you could add a switch or selection so that programs will see the AC3 5.1 audio correctly.

Thanks again,

mb101

Right direction, monkeyboy1010. Need manipulation with headers not only for mpeg2 but also with ac3 5.1 too. And one more thought: Use the AC3 filter and play with adjustment.
vsv is offline  
post #1087 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 03:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PeterS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 2,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 25
With VS10+ can I author an HD-DVD using MPEG-4 and 5.1 audio?

"Read Less, More TV." - Dr. Gregory House

"That which can not be questioned, can not be trusted." - Me

The Metropolis Home Theater

Blue Smoke Entertainment Systems - Affiliated
PeterS is offline  
post #1088 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 03:37 AM
Newbie
 
y_no_ho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My HD DVD detect the disc is CD, and can't paly image
i use MF5 create HDDVD_TS folder
the files have

HV000I01.BUP
HV000I01.IFO
HV001M02.EVO
HV001I01.BUP
HV001I01.IFO
HV001T01.EVO

Then open Nero 6 create new DVDvideo
drop a empty VIDEO_TS.VOB into red VIDEO_TS
drop HDDVD_TS and HV**** files into this DVDvideo

so the DVDvideo disc has three folder
VIDEO_TS
HDDVD_TS
AUDIO_TS

Nero completes burn the files, then i put in my Toshiba's HDDVD player
Why can't play the image ? and it detect the disc is CD.

What wrong with me ? Please kindly advise ? Thank you
y_no_ho is offline  
post #1089 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 03:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterS View Post

With VS10+ can I author an HD-DVD using MPEG-4 and 5.1 audio?

No. Both Ulead apps accept MPEG-2 (1440x1080 and 1920x1080) only. That said, you can open a bunch of other file formats, but Ulead then converts (re-compresses) the file, which leads to less than optimal results. It can also take a heck of a long time.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #1090 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 03:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by y_no_ho View Post

My HD DVD detect the disc is CD, and can't paly image
i use MF5 create HDDVD_TS folder

Something's definitely gone wrong with either the authoring or the burning, if the Tosh sees the disc as a CD.

I suggest you try the alternative method I mentioned earlier: select DVD-ROM (UDF) compilation, enable Xbox Compatibility Mode and drop the HDDVD_TS directory into the root of the compilation, then burn.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #1091 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 03:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PeterS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 2,340
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I understand it reads MPEG-2 TS files, but can it convert these to MPEG-4 files for HD-DVD. This should, hopefully, allow for better compression.

"Read Less, More TV." - Dr. Gregory House

"That which can not be questioned, can not be trusted." - Me

The Metropolis Home Theater

Blue Smoke Entertainment Systems - Affiliated
PeterS is offline  
post #1092 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 04:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterS View Post

I understand it reads MPEG-2 TS files, but can it convert these to MPEG-4 files for HD-DVD. This should, hopefully, allow for better compression.

Nope. Ulead re-encodes files to MPEG-2, so no matter what you can get it to open, the resulting HD DVD disc contains MPEG-2.

Also, as a default, Ulead prefers Program Streams. Some folks have successfully given it Transport Streams, but Ulead converts them into Program Streams.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #1093 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 07:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
GodobeHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by y_no_ho View Post

My HD DVD detect the disc is CD, and can't paly image
i use MF5 create HDDVD_TS folder
the files have

HV000I01.BUP
HV000I01.IFO
HV001M02.EVO
HV001I01.BUP
HV001I01.IFO
HV001T01.EVO

Then open Nero 6 create new DVDvideo
drop a empty VIDEO_TS.VOB into red VIDEO_TS
drop HDDVD_TS and HV**** files into this DVDvideo

so the DVDvideo disc has three folder
VIDEO_TS
HDDVD_TS
AUDIO_TS

Nero completes burn the files, then i put in my Toshiba's HDDVD player
Why can't play the image ? and it detect the disc is CD.

What wrong with me ? Please kindly advise ? Thank you

I had the same problem. Then I discovered that only Nero with versions higher than 6.3 will burn the HD DVDs correctly (at least in my case). Is your Nero 6.0 or 6.3 higher?
GodobeHD is offline  
post #1094 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mrwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


So with using VS10+ you have successfully transferred 5.1 audio into your HD-DVD projects? What I would like to know is if it truly works with VS10+ before i drop the c-note on a license. MF5 was a freebie.

I have both. The HD-DVD parts seems to be the same in both. I get 5.1 audio with both apps, if the source includes it. MF5 is WAY easier to use. I had to actually go to the manual to find out how to do hd-dvds in VS10+. I only use MF5 now.

FWIW, MF5 doesn't like 25hz content. Wants to convert it to 60hz.
mrwilson is offline  
post #1095 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 04:52 PM
Member
 
HeelPhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, thanks everyone for this amazing thread so far! I have been following the thread for a while now and I finally got my Hd-A1 yesterday afternoon. And last night I successfully burned my first HD-DVD with 1080i material. So, my next quest was to burn 720p material (gotta get some Lost on HD-DVD!).

The burning process and patching process (thanks texmex for the patch utility!) went well for the HD-DVD. When viewing the final DVD on the HD-A1, everything was perfect for about the first 10 minutes or so, then I started losing audio sync by a slight amount. Not that bad, but enough to notice. I have searched the thread for audio sync issues and I see it's been discussed particularly with 720p sources. I see some people suggested using VideoReDo instead of Womble to convert to a program stream. Is this the answer? Or is there another solution for the audio sync issue?
HeelPhan is offline  
post #1096 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 07:00 PM
Newbie
 
y_no_ho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

Something's definitely gone wrong with either the authoring or the burning, if the Tosh sees the disc as a CD.

I suggest you try the alternative method I mentioned earlier: select DVD-ROM (UDF) compilation, enable Xbox Compatibility Mode and drop the HDDVD_TS directory into the root of the compilation, then burn.


Thanks pteittinen
i try your method , but my HD DVD still detect CD.
i used VideoReDo Plus and MF5 authoring my HDDVD files

Quote:
Originally Posted by GodobeHD View Post

I had the same problem. Then I discovered that only Nero with versions higher than 6.3 will burn the HD DVDs correctly (at least in my case). Is your Nero 6.0 or 6.3 higher?


My nero version is 6.6.1.4, is it enough ?
y_no_ho is offline  
post #1097 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

Thanks for all of the great information so far! Quick question, I'm using mpeg video wizard to convert my ts files to an mpeg program stream. The files input smoothly into ulead, but the resulting hd disc has some issues. At the ts join points, there is pixelization and scene break up at the scene changes where one ts file would be transitioning to the next. Running through videoredo does not create this issue, but the resulting mpeg stream takes forever to recognize and process via ulead. Any ideas what might be causing the frame corruption at ts change point? Mpeg2repair doesn't indicate any issues, although mpeg video wizard indicates some gop size issues (not sure if these are valid on an HD mpeg2 stream?)

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Adam
Furious is offline  
post #1098 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by y_no_ho View Post

Thanks pteittinen
i try your method , but my HD DVD still detect CD.
i used VideoReDo Plus and MF5 authoring my HDDVD files
My nero version is 6.6.1.4, is it enough ?

I am using the same version (6.6.1.4) and it works fine for me. Perhaps it is the media. What are you using?
Hyrax is offline  
post #1099 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeelPhan View Post

When viewing the final DVD on the HD-A1, everything was perfect for about the first 10 minutes or so, then I started losing audio sync by a slight amount.

Did you cut out the ads? MPEG doesn't edit very well sometime and audio synch is often the result. One of the nice things about VideoReDo is that you can use it to adjust the audio synch.
Hyrax is offline  
post #1100 of 1475 Old 07-17-2006, 10:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
uzun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is HDTVtoMPEG2 ok to use in converting .ts files into mpg files for use with ULead movie Factory? Or does one need to buy the other software just to convert .ts files
uzun is offline  
post #1101 of 1475 Old 07-18-2006, 12:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by uzun View Post

Is HDTVtoMPEG2 ok to use in converting .ts files into mpg files for use with ULead movie Factory? Or does one need to buy the other software just to convert .ts files

No and yes/no, depending on which application you want to use for the conversion.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #1102 of 1475 Old 07-18-2006, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mrwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
H2M is ok for combining TS files but Not for converting the to PS streams (mpg). You'll need video redo or womble for that.
mrwilson is offline  
post #1103 of 1475 Old 07-18-2006, 10:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Take a wild F&*king guess!
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ok, here are my results thus far. Strange but good. I cannot use Video Redo, only Womble will make working streams for me. Anything done with VR basically crashed MF. So far, I have only made single layer but want to experiment with a few DL just for ha ha's. Strange thing though. With regards to 1088 streams, I recently attempted to convert a stream (of a recent tape dump I made) of The Rundown. I capped it from cable yet the stream reads as a 1088. Any ideas??

How is the latest HDpatch with patching the full stream? Faster?
Darrin is offline  
post #1104 of 1475 Old 07-18-2006, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mrwilson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Use the latest Hdtv2Mpeg to convert those to 1080i. FYI, I'm using VR ver. 2.2.1.445 Jan 8 '06
mrwilson is offline  
post #1105 of 1475 Old 07-18-2006, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
texmex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrin View Post

I capped it from cable yet the stream reads as a 1088. Any ideas??

How is the latest HDpatch with patching the full stream? Faster?

I haven't posted the latest HDPatch yet, and even when I do DVDPatcher is still faster. You can download it here: DVDPatcher . Once you've converted to program stream (*.mpg), launch DVDPatcher and open your file. Here are the settings:
Bitrate: choose custom and set it to the value matching "MPEG2 Info" above (something like 15000000)
AspectRatio: Presumably you'll leave this at 16:9
HorizontalSize: choose "Custom" and set it to the correct size from "MPEG2 Info" (should be 1920, 1440 or 1280).
VerticalSize: choose "Custom" and set it to 1080
Framerate: leave this set to 29.97
Patch: Entire File

At some point, either before or after you hit "Patch Now", you'll get a warning about changing VerticalSize. It will ask "Do you know what you do?" - click "Yes". You may then need to hit "Patch Now" again. Verify your values then click "Start". Now it will warn you that you're changing VerticalSize and asks "Abort Patch?" - click "No". Patching will commence.

DVDPatcher is very fast, which is why I haven't released the HDPatch update yet (I'm jealous and trying to match the speed). Let me know if you have any problems.

texmex

p.s. Joe - you may want to stash this post as it may find a place somewhere in the guide as an alternative to HDPatch.
texmex is offline  
post #1106 of 1475 Old 07-18-2006, 11:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Take a wild F&*king guess!
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrwilson View Post

Use the latest Hdtv2Mpeg to convert those to 1080i. FYI, I'm using VR ver. 2.2.1.445 Jan 8 '06

Not sure off hand which version of VR I have but....I do think it's an older version. I'll have to check hdtv2mpeg as well but with both programs, I have been unable to create a compliant stream for MF5. Womble has been working flawlessly but I do like other options and I like hdtv2mpeg and use it a lot.
Darrin is offline  
post #1107 of 1475 Old 07-18-2006, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Take a wild F&*king guess!
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by texmex View Post

I haven't posted the latest HDPatch yet, and even when I do DVDPatcher is still faster. You can download it here: DVDPatcher . Once you've converted to program stream (*.mpg), launch DVDPatcher and open your file. Here are the settings:
Bitrate: choose custom and set it to the value matching "MPEG2 Info" above (something like 15000000)
AspectRatio: Presumably you'll leave this at 16:9
HorizontalSize: choose "Custom" and set it to the correct size from "MPEG2 Info" (should be 1920, 1440 or 1280).
VerticalSize: choose "Custom" and set it to 1080
Framerate: leave this set to 29.97
Patch: Entire File

At some point, either before or after you hit "Patch Now", you'll get a warning about changing VerticalSize. It will ask "Do you know what you do?" - click "Yes". You may then need to hit "Patch Now" again. Verify your values then click "Start". Now it will warn you that you're changing VerticalSize and asks "Abort Patch?" - click "No". Patching will commence.

DVDPatcher is very fast, which is why I haven't released the HDPatch update yet (I'm jealous and trying to match the speed). Let me know if you have any problems.

texmex

p.s. Joe - you may want to stash this post as it may find a place somewhere in the guide as an alternative to HDPatch.


Thanks a bunch for the info Tex!! I already downloaded DVDpatcher this past weekend. I didn't have luck with the one file I tried but maybe I converted the .ts before I converted to an mpeg. don't remember. I will give it a go again in the next few days. So far, I am VERY impressed with the quality of these "home made" discs on the Toshiba.

General question. I understand DL discs are hit and miss. Can somebody who has created/burnt a LOT of discs (preferably DL discs) please post on this? I have a LOT of movies that would fit on dual layer!!

Thanks,
Darrin
Darrin is offline  
post #1108 of 1475 Old 07-18-2006, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
los seres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 1,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A little off topic but informative.

Introduction to HD DVD Authoring
los seres is offline  
post #1109 of 1475 Old 07-18-2006, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrin View Post

I understand DL discs are hit and miss. Can somebody who has created/burnt a LOT of discs (preferably DL discs) please post on this?

It's quite simple really.

1) Use Grade A media from reputable companies such as Verbatim and Maxell.
2) Never ever burn at higher speed than the media is specced for, even if the burner supports higher speeds.
3) Use a good DVD burner, such as the NEC 35xx series. Other good ones: BenQ 1640/1650/1655 and Pioneer DVR-111/A11.

If you absolutely need to use Grade B media, a good DVD burner is quite simply essential. With Grade A media you can get good results with less-than-brilliant DVD burners.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #1110 of 1475 Old 07-18-2006, 04:29 PM
Member
 
HeelPhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyrax View Post

Did you cut out the ads? MPEG doesn't edit very well sometime and audio synch is often the result. One of the nice things about VideoReDo is that you can use it to adjust the audio synch.

I did cut out the adds. I did redo my .ts to program stream using VideoRedo and it seemed to clear up the audio problems in the first DVD I tried. Then I tried another and the audio sync started getting off by about 25 minutes in. It got pretty bad by about 35 minutes, so for the heck of it I paused the movie then un-paused it. The audio sync'd back up! IS this a normal occurence?
HeelPhan is offline  
Reply HD DVD Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off