HD-DVD Authoring to DVD -/+ Media - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1475 Old 04-22-2006, 10:26 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaron.s View Post

digitalfx -

Thanks for figuring this out! I was begining to get worried that people would be a little upset with me ever since I started this thread and recommended DVDMF5....

I've been having fun making discs of my Sony HDR-HC1 HD home movies and just thrilled I have a way to burn them on a disk and enjoy them in this great new player.

Good luck all!

Aaron

Aaron, great to see you again on the forums and you always start and participate so helpfully in the most interesting threads.

Did you p/u any commercial HD DVDs yet?

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 12:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 182
I've been so vocal to everyone about being determined to wait out the HD DVD/Blu-ray format war that I hate to admit this, but this thread has made me consider buying an HD DVD player.

I have the Sony HDR-HC1 camcorder, too, and being able to burn my edited pieces to HD DVD for quick and easy playback is pretty tempting. Of course, I can do that with the MyHD card and regular DVD media on the computer (which is connected to my home theater projector), so I'll probably keep my vow, but this is a really interesting thread.

Thanks, Aaron, and all the other contributors. This is thought provoking. It has the feel of that time when creating DVDs first looked to be something mere mortals could hope to do (that is, someone with less than a quarter million dollars to spend on DVD authoring hardware and software). But this is HD, and that makes it even more exciting.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #93 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 01:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Jeff Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, lots of experimenting going on over here. So far, H.264 and WMV9 are a no go. Ulead converts them to MPEG2, so they aren't native. On the Mac side, DVD Studio Pro doesn't except WMV files and Compressor limits H.264 to 720p. Even at 720p, my XA1 recognizes the file as MPEG4AVC but only plays for a second or two and then errors. I also tried converting files with Main Concepts H.264 encoder, which will do 1080p. Ulead tells me that it contains no video file and DVD Studio Pro says it's an incompatible format. So far right now, it looks like MPEG2 is the only real way to go. I could be wrong, but has anyone else had better luck?

Blu-ray Insider -- Compression and Authoring
Jeff Williams is offline  
post #94 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 06:27 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aaron.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Yonkers, NY
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Robert -

I bought Serenity on Tuesday the 18th at Best Buy (stopped by the store first but you didn't have them) - and it looks GREAT on mt 60" Sony at home.

I did drop off a DVD of the HD Footage I shot at the store on Saturday the 15th -- did you have a chance to look at it???

I've finally burned my first dual-layer 40 minute disk of HD footage from my trip to Arizona last November at it looks stunning!

Will stop by the store this week and see if you're there!

Aaron


Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

Aaron, great to see you again on the forums and you always start and participate so helpfully in the most interesting threads.

Did you p/u any commercial HD DVDs yet?

-Robert


Sony KF-60XBR800 60" Grand Wega II
Sony STR-DA5200ES Receiver
Sony Playstation 3
Sony BDP-S1 Blu-Ray Player
Toshiba HD-A1 HD-DVD Player
HR10-250 HD DirecTivo
aaron.s is offline  
post #95 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 09:33 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I also burned a 40 minute DL of my HDR-HC1. Movement cause a lot of jitter in the pq. Non-moving shots look great. Any ideas on how to fix the jitter? It is not present when I was video directly from the HDR-HC1.

Kipp
Are you boozen & cruisin the AVS? Join us here ---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8&page=1&pp=60 good times! www.illinoiscarry.org www.nra.org
Kipp Jones is offline  
post #96 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 11:58 AM
Member
 
Kolosos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Williams View Post

OK, lots of experimenting going on over here. So far, H.264 and WMV9 are a no go. Ulead converts them to MPEG2, so they aren't native. On the Mac side, DVD Studio Pro doesn't except WMV files and Compressor limits H.264 to 720p. Even at 720p, my XA1 recognizes the file as MPEG4AVC but only plays for a second or two and then errors. I also tried converting files with Main Concepts H.264 encoder, which will do 1080p. Ulead tells me that it contains no video file and DVD Studio Pro says it's an incompatible format. So far right now, it looks like MPEG2 is the only real way to go. I could be wrong, but has anyone else had better luck?

Hi what exactly you mean with "then errors" ? does it display a message or just freezes the frame or does it show strange colors and blocks ?
Kolosos is offline  
post #97 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 12:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Jeff Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When trying H.264, I get a black screen but it displays the seconds going by on the front of the unit. I was able to hit the display button on the remote to see that it was reading MPEG4AVC. I then looked back at the unit and the display said ERROR. All that only took a few seconds. I did notice while I was at Best Buy that the demo disc they are running is encoded as MPEG4AVC so it will decode it. Maybe all that is needed is to find the right configuration of settings before it works.

Blu-ray Insider -- Compression and Authoring
Jeff Williams is offline  
post #98 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 01:05 PM
Newbie
 
faust005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the best software for authoring HD DVD's? Would it be DVD Studio Pro, Adobe Encore, or something else...
faust005 is offline  
post #99 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
When I read that the H.264 doesn't seem to work, I decided to try a different approach. Using VideoReDo, I'm converting a .TP file to MPEG and lowering the bitrate and trying to fit an hour onto a single layer. I can get 40 minutes into a 3912753 KB file, which will fit onto a single layer. This is with a bit rate of 13 MBps. I'm having a problem forcing VideoReDo to use a lower bit rate.

Is there anyway to get around the amazingly slow performance of Ulead 5? It creates a file called HV001T01.EVO. Is this just a renamed MPEG file?
Hyrax is offline  
post #100 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by faust005 View Post

What is the best software for authoring HD DVD's? Would it be DVD Studio Pro, Adobe Encore, or something else...

I'm looking at the trial version of Sony's DVD authoring software. The trial version has so many limitations that it may not work. I certainly want to know that it will work before I buy it.

Sony trial software link:
http://www.sonymediasoftware.com/dow...p1.asp?catid=1
Hyrax is offline  
post #101 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 02:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Chris Blount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Maybe I missed it in this thread but I'm having a problem with Ulead MF5.

I capture the video from my HC-3 into MF5. When I have more than one video to place in the timeline, the program crashes when I try to create the HD-DVD. Anyone else see this?

When I have just one video in the timeline, the HD-DVD directory is created without a problem and the resulting DVD comes out great and plays fine.

Any ideas?

Chris Blount
Chris Blount is offline  
post #102 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyrax View Post

...
Using VideoReDo, I'm converting a .TP file to MPEG and lowering the bitrate and trying to fit an hour onto a single layer.
...

I cannot fit an hour onto a single layer(yet) , but I was able to get 47 minutes onto a single layer DVD-R disk.

I'm going to take this disk to my local Tweeter during the week and see if it will play.

If this actually plays on an HD DVD player it will be amazing. The process is rather simple, so I can easily see using this to timeshift TV shows once I figure out how to fit 60 minutes on a layer. The only PITA portion of the process is that it takes so long for Ulead to load the file.

Because of the lower bitrate, this is obviously not a solution for creating pristine copies of your movies. But it is a way to create 'good enough' copies of stuff that you don't care that much about.

VideoReDo will read .tp, .ts, and other formats. There is a 15 day trial period for it. You can get it at www.videoredo.com
Hyrax is offline  
post #103 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,312
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 34




Custom HD DVD of The Incredibles that I recorded off of Starz HD.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Liaison at SpectraCal
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #104 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by top100 View Post

I hope to find better software for this. Ulead software is bloatware full with bugs like always.

Yes, it is buggy. But it works. It is pretty amazing that there is any software package that actually allows us to do this. Who really would have though that we'd be able to burn our own HD-DVD disks so soon?
Hyrax is offline  
post #105 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 10:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,496
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyrax View Post

Yes, it is buggy. But it works. It is pretty amazing that there is any software package that actually allows us to do this. Who really would have though that we'd be able to burn our own HD-DVD disks so soon?

Amen, and this probably means that other software for HD DVD authoring will follow soon. It's a really good sign of how much faster the tools to edit and author HD are likely to appear than they did for DVD.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #106 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 10:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gruson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DALLAS, TX
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GREAT thread!

So to confirm, we can convert our .TS files to dual-layered DVDs and the Toshiba will then play them back fine? WOW
Gruson is offline  
post #107 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 10:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,312
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Hopefully this will reduce the amount of PMs I have been getting

My HD .ts to HD DVD conversion workflow:

Start with a HD .ts file (must be 1920x1080i)

Open it with Womble's MPEG-VCR

in the window that shows the movie (in Mpeg-vcr) , press the save button.

then select Mpeg2 Program stream as the save format.

Open the program stream with Ulead's

DVD Movie Factory 5 or Videostudio 10 (REQ if you want 5.1 audio)

then create your HD DVD (use 1920x1080 , upper field first, DD 2.0 or 5.1)

DO NOT USE NERO TO BURN THE ISO!

I Use IMGburn/DVD Decrypter to burn the ISO's



Tyler Pruitt - Technical Liaison at SpectraCal
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #108 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 10:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gruson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DALLAS, TX
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys!

I am going to try it right now.
Gruson is offline  
post #109 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 10:39 PM
Member
 
The Trout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My method is pretty much what was described earlier in the thread.

1) Use HDTVtoMPEG2 to convert the .TS to an Mpeg-2 file.

2) Use Ulead MF5 to create the HD-DVD files - I burn them to a folder, as opposed to making an ISO.

3) Use Nero (yes, Nero) to create a new DVD-Video project.

4) Put your HD-DVD folder in the root of the DVD and put a blank video_ts.vob file into the video_ts folder.

5) Burn, ignoring all the warnings that pop up.

So far, this was worked really well for me. Some findings so far are that you can get around 35 to 40 minutes of 1080i video on a single layer DVD. I'm hoping that I can get an entire 720p movie onto on a dual layer, but time will tell.
The Trout is offline  
post #110 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 10:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gruson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DALLAS, TX
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A couple of questions.

When I open VideoStudio 10, how do I tell it I want to make an HD DVD? It looks like it is trying to go to standard DVD resolution....I am using the trial version if that matters...which I think it probably does...right?

(I bought VideoStudio 8 a while back so am hesitant to buy 10 already).

Thanks.
Gruson is offline  
post #111 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 11:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,312
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gruson View Post

A couple of questions.

When I open VideoStudio 10, how do I tell it I want to make an HD DVD? It looks like it is trying to go to standard DVD resolution....I am using the trial version if that matters...which I think it probably does...right?

(I bought VideoStudio 8 a while back so am hesitant to buy 10 already).

Thanks.

Click on the "share" tab

then select "create disc"

then when the disc creation window opens, change the project from DVD to HD DVD

its getting late, so I wont be able to post any screen shots til tomorrow

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Liaison at SpectraCal
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #112 of 1475 Old 04-23-2006, 11:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gruson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DALLAS, TX
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
THanks Wifi!!!

I just made a small test disc and it worked!

What is strange is no audio over optical but fine over the analog outputs.

It's late and I will try a real disc tomorrow....will post pics too and hopefully figure out the audio issue.

On another note, has anyone even heard when the first true HD-DVD burners and media will be available? just wondering
Gruson is offline  
post #113 of 1475 Old 04-24-2006, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gruson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DALLAS, TX
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well,

I just tried a larger .TS file.

It works but I am seeing some jitter/jerkiness, especially when someone walks or moves fast. No pixelation, just jitter. Audio still only works via analog and not optical (normal HD-DVD discs work with both).

I used Nero to burn so will try another program later today, after work.
Gruson is offline  
post #114 of 1475 Old 04-24-2006, 07:55 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post


DO NOT USE NERO TO BURN THE ISO!

I Use IMGburn/DVD Decrypter to burn the ISO's



I am just curious on the reasoning for not using Nero???

Kipp
Are you boozen & cruisin the AVS? Join us here ---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8&page=1&pp=60 good times! www.illinoiscarry.org www.nra.org
Kipp Jones is offline  
post #115 of 1475 Old 04-24-2006, 08:37 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gruson View Post

Well,

I just tried a larger .TS file.

It works but I am seeing some jitter/jerkiness, especially when someone walks or moves fast. No pixelation, just jitter. Audio still only works via analog and not optical (normal HD-DVD discs work with both).

I used Nero to burn so will try another program later today, after work.

I have the same jitter issue. Anyone know if this is just related to Nero or the conversion process?

Kipp
Are you boozen & cruisin the AVS? Join us here ---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8&page=1&pp=60 good times! www.illinoiscarry.org www.nra.org
Kipp Jones is offline  
post #116 of 1475 Old 04-24-2006, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
casenpt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Crown Point, IN, USA (55 Miles from Chicago)
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the jitter happens on motion and pans, then it probably is a field dominance issue. Look for an option to switch it. I don't have the software you are using, but if there is an option, it would be either upper or lower. Just use the oposite of what you've been using.

Casey Mershon
casenpt1 is offline  
post #117 of 1475 Old 04-24-2006, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gruson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: DALLAS, TX
Posts: 1,707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by casenpt1 View Post

If the jitter happens on motion and pans, then it probably is a field dominance issue. Look for an option to switch it. I don't have the software you are using, but if there is an option, it would be either upper or lower. Just use the oposite of what you've been using.


Thanks, I will try lower after work.
Gruson is offline  
post #118 of 1475 Old 04-24-2006, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc D Carra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post





Custom HD DVD of The Incredibles that I recorded off of Starz HD.


Are you seeing any jitter or jerkiness during playback of this disc??

Marc.

MDC
Marc D Carra is offline  
post #119 of 1475 Old 04-24-2006, 09:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Kipp Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 11,785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


If the jitter happens on motion and pans, then it probably is a field dominance issue. Look for an option to switch it. I don't have the software you are using, but if there is an option, it would be either upper or lower. Just use the oposite of what you've been using.



Would that be on the conversion software or burning software? The video plays back perfect from the Sony HD cam so I know it is not the source material.

Kipp
Are you boozen & cruisin the AVS? Join us here ---> http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...8&page=1&pp=60 good times! www.illinoiscarry.org www.nra.org
Kipp Jones is offline  
post #120 of 1475 Old 04-24-2006, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kipp Jones View Post

Would that be on the conversion software or burning software? The video plays back perfect from the Sony HD cam so I know it is not the source material.

Try playing the MPEG file on your computer in a full screen - you'll have to look closely for jitter on a smaller screen, but you should be able to see it. If the MPEG file jitters, then it is introduced by the conversion process before you feed it into MF 5.

You should have the 'do not convert compatible files option' turned on in MF 5. This should mean that little is being done to the file when it is being written to the HD-DVD folder. I looked for 'field dominance' in the MF5 options and didn't see it.

The reason I'm looking at using Sony's Vegas software to create my MPEG files for the HD-DVDs is that it can do a great job on keeping action smooth. I used it to create a DVD from a .TS recording of superbowl XXIX and it was most impressive. I tried Nero and MF 3 and it was not at all smooth. I assume Adobe's software would do a good job as well. Unfortunately, Vegas costs $600.
Hyrax is offline  
Reply HD DVD Software

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off