HD-DVD Authoring to DVD -/+ Media - Page 49 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1441 of 1475 Old 01-12-2008, 01:47 AM
Newbie
 
yaroslav_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyrax View Post

However, I didn't know that any US stations were broadcasting MPEG4. As far as I know, they're all doing MPEG2 and at the bitrates you're talking about they all look terrible. The 720P stations can get away with slightly lower bitrates, but the 1080I stations need as high as possible. At 16000 they start to look OK, but still have lots of obvious problems. At 19000 most of the problems are minimal, but still show up in live, action sports.

The fact is that I live in Ukraine and the few existing European HD broadcasters here are using MPEG 4 compression for HD transmissions. I came across the site (don't remember right now its adress) where one can get dinamic picture of bitrates for each Sat channel. So Polish version of Discovery HD has bitrates only from 8000 to 12000 KB/s (Mpeg 4), but quite nice picture on my 1368*765 Pioneer plasma (quality depends more on the content rather than on bitrate). The same about German Anix HD, Pro7 HD, Sat 1 HD and Polish Nsport HD. So, I'd be really satisfied with a possibility to author HD DVD discs with bitrates down to 10000 or even 8000, but only with MPEG 4 compression.
yaroslav_s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1442 of 1475 Old 01-25-2008, 12:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
v1rtu0s1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n0rth3rn 1ll1n01s
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey folks, I burned a 1920x1080 broadcast to DVD+R, 25,000 kb/s for the video bitrate as reported by ffmpeg. It's actually from HEROES last episode which I recorded via QAM256.

Anyways, the audio on all my test burns are stuttering. Is it because I'm using DVD+R? Video playback is smooth but gets affected when audio stutters. To fix it, I will have to pause it. Then once I play it again, audio becomes fine.

I will try a different 1920x1080 source mpeg file.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
v1rtu0s1ty is offline  
post #1443 of 1475 Old 01-25-2008, 06:38 AM
Senior Member
 
bato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by v1rtu0s1ty View Post

Hey folks, I burned a 1920x1080 broadcast to DVD+R, 25,000 kb/s for the video bitrate as reported by ffmpeg. It's actually from HEROES last episode which I recorded via QAM256.

Anyways, the audio on all my test burns are stuttering. Is it because I'm using DVD+R? Video playback is smooth but gets affected when audio stutters. To fix it, I will have to pause it. Then once I play it again, audio becomes fine.

I will try a different 1920x1080 source mpeg file.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Did you edit commercials? If it fit in a DVD+R (not dual layer) then is not 25000kb/s. You can use Videoredo to cut commercials and the end it will tell you the bitrate, you can save the file changing the bitrate to a lower number if the real bitrate is not that high (say 15000). Then you can try again.

From the official AVS guide to HD DVD authoring they recommend that if you burn DVD+R then select bittseting to DVD-ROM but if you burn DVD+R then you select physical booktype to keep it as DVD+R DL. I just burn a DVD+R DL 2 days ago that the booktype changed to DVD-ROM and I get stutter at start and a hard freeze (had to unplug the unit), burn again without booktype change and it played flawless.

Again, burn:
- DVD+R with booktype DVD-ROM
- DVD+R DL without booktype (keep the physical booktype)
bato is offline  
post #1444 of 1475 Old 01-25-2008, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
v1rtu0s1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n0rth3rn 1ll1n01s
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bato View Post

Did you edit commercials? If it fit in a DVD+R (not dual layer) then is not 25000kb/s. You can use Videoredo to cut commercials and the end it will tell you the bitrate, you can save the file changing the bitrate to a lower number if the real bitrate is not that high (say 15000). Then you can try again.

From the official AVS guide to HD DVD authoring they recommend that if you burn DVD+R then select bittseting to DVD-ROM but if you burn DVD+R then you select physical booktype to keep it as DVD+R DL. I just burn a DVD+R DL 2 days ago that the booktype changed to DVD-ROM and I get stutter at start and a hard freeze (had to unplug the unit), burn again without booktype change and it played flawless.

Again, burn:
- DVD+R with booktype DVD-ROM
- DVD+R DL without booktype (keep the physical booktype)

Yes, I cut the commercials using VideoRedo. Even when all the commercials were removed, the file still wouldn't fit my DVD+R(see pic below). What I had to do is VideoRedo it again and took the first 30 mins.

On that link which I followed, it mentions that on some machines, BookType can't be set. Mine can't be set(bummer) So I saw another post here from someone to use DVD-video rather than DVD(udf). Same results.

So I was thinking that maybe, the mpg file that VideoRedo created is bad. I uploaded it to my mythtv box and I used mplayer to play. It was very smooth and complete 5.1 ac3 audio.

So I don't know what I am doing wrong. I'll buy a few DVD-R disc later.

See video date rate
v1rtu0s1ty is offline  
post #1445 of 1475 Old 01-25-2008, 11:17 AM
Senior Member
 
bato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only thing is to try DVD-R and to make it fit you can try super mpeg2 transcoder.
bato is offline  
post #1446 of 1475 Old 01-25-2008, 11:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
GodobeHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I can confirm that from my testing the only way to get rid off the stutter on A3 is to use DVD-R. With DVD+Rs, no matter what method you used to burn, it seems to stutter in A3.

Another interesting note to keep in mind, so far all HDDVD players have been Toshiba. The only other two HDDVD players out there are LG and Samsung HDDVD/BD combo players. On them the bad news is that all DVD+/-R with 25mpbs content will stutter.
GodobeHD is offline  
post #1447 of 1475 Old 01-25-2008, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by v1rtu0s1ty View Post

Yes, I cut the commercials using VideoRedo.

Did you also set the VideoReDo option, as described below?
-------------
In the main menu, select Tools>Options. Hold down the shift key as you click on "Options." This will bring up one additional selection - "Add GOP Timecode to all GOPs... .") Click on this and change the value to "True."
------------
On my HD-A1 AC3 stutters if I do not...
Hyrax is offline  
post #1448 of 1475 Old 01-25-2008, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
v1rtu0s1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n0rth3rn 1ll1n01s
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodobeHD View Post

Yes, I can confirm that from my testing the only way to get rid off the stutter on A3 is to use DVD-R. With DVD+Rs, no matter what method you used to burn, it seems to stutter in A3.

Another interesting note to keep in mind, so far all HDDVD players have been Toshiba. The only other two HDDVD players out there are LG and Samsung HDDVD/BD combo players. On them the bad news is that all DVD+/-R with 25mpbs content will stutter.

I'm excited. I'll get some DVD-Rs later. I'll keep you posted tonight.
v1rtu0s1ty is offline  
post #1449 of 1475 Old 01-25-2008, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
v1rtu0s1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n0rth3rn 1ll1n01s
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyrax View Post

Did you also set the VideoReDo option, as described below?
-------------
In the main menu, select Tools>Options. Hold down the shift key as you click on "Options." This will bring up one additional selection - "Add GOP Timecode to all GOPs... .") Click on this and change the value to "True."
------------
On my HD-A1 AC3 stutters if I do not...

Yep, I did.
v1rtu0s1ty is offline  
post #1450 of 1475 Old 01-25-2008, 11:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
DCSholtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Brooklyn Heights, OH
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone tried doing this using a Mac? If so how? I couldn't find how to searching each of the threads. Thanks.

Dan Sholtis


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DCSholtis is offline  
post #1451 of 1475 Old 01-26-2008, 08:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by v1rtu0s1ty View Post

Yes, I cut the commercials using VideoRedo. Even when all the commercials were removed, the file still wouldn't fit my DVD+R(see pic below).

I have gone another step with VRD. Cut off the end credits (usually squeezed anyway and I save for later seperately) and sometimes the beginning recap (recap for idiots in many cases). Additionally, the repetative cast and credits intro section (30 to 60 seconds on some shows), usually has no bearing on the episode. I get "Heroes" down to a single disk per episode this way.

By saving the cut pieces as data files, I preserve the future option to recreate the whole show but when watching successive shows, I prefer to skip those parts anyway. I know what happened 15 minutes ago and I don't need reminding who the actors are, and I definitely don't need the coming spoilers and voiceovers on the unreadable credits. (OK, in HD maybe you can read squeezed credits as long as your local station didn't drop to SD for promos, but the commercial disk sets probably aren't going to have "Next On ... either)

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is online now  
post #1452 of 1475 Old 01-26-2008, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rezzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCSholtis View Post

Anyone tried doing this using a Mac? If so how? I couldn't find how to searching each of the threads. Thanks.

If you mean editing captured .mpg/.ts/.m2t files of TV shows, Mpeg Streamclip should do the trick nicely.

As far as authoring, DVD Studio Pro 4 is the only current way to burn compliant HD DVD discs (to DVD-R) on the Mac. I think DVDSP4 only comes bundled in a rather expensive suite anymore, otherwise I'd snatch it up.

"I knew you'd say that"...*BLAM!*
rezzy is offline  
post #1453 of 1475 Old 01-26-2008, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
alluringreality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by MovieSwede View Post

Is there any program that support HD DVD encoding with 23,976 fps or 24 fps.

Since I shoot in 25P, convert to 29,97 is not an option. But 23,976 is.

I think HD DVD at 24p involves some sort of pulldown and is contained in a 29.97 stream. If you were to add pulldown using another program in the format that HD DVD is expecting you might be able to get Ulead to pass the file unaltered. That is our plan anyway for the calibration disk. For an actual 24p video file, it's not supported by HD DVD and Ulead will want to convert it even for Blu-ray which does allow 24p video without using pulldown.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alluringreality is online now  
post #1454 of 1475 Old 01-26-2008, 10:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by bato View Post

Did you edit commercials? If it fit in a DVD+R (not dual layer) then is not 25000kb/s. You can use Videoredo to cut commercials and the end it will tell you the bitrate, you can save the file changing the bitrate to a lower number if the real bitrate is not that high (say 15000). Then you can try again.

From the official AVS guide to HD DVD authoring they recommend that if you burn DVD+R then select bittseting to DVD-ROM but if you burn DVD+R then you select physical booktype to keep it as DVD+R DL. I just burn a DVD+R DL 2 days ago that the booktype changed to DVD-ROM and I get stutter at start and a hard freeze (had to unplug the unit), burn again without booktype change and it played flawless.

Again, burn:
- DVD+R with booktype DVD-ROM
- DVD+R DL without booktype (keep the physical booktype)

You should use "physical disc type" for all + media (DVD+R and DVD+R DL). This has been proven time and time again to be the best method to remove stuttering.


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 & 93 (ISO firmware), Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is online now  
post #1455 of 1475 Old 01-26-2008, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
fatherom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Boston area, MA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodobeHD View Post

Yes, I can confirm that from my testing the only way to get rid off the stutter on A3 is to use DVD-R. With DVD+Rs, no matter what method you used to burn, it seems to stutter in A3.

Another interesting note to keep in mind, so far all HDDVD players have been Toshiba. The only other two HDDVD players out there are LG and Samsung HDDVD/BD combo players. On them the bad news is that all DVD+/-R with 25mpbs content will stutter.

This is not necessarily always the case...yes, you're right, it may depend on content. But I have authored dozens of homebrew discs. I use DVD+R and DVD+R DLs with the book type set to "physical disc type" and I never get stuttering on my A2 or A3.

YMMV.

Chris


Epson 5020UB (won on AVSForum!) on Elite Sable 16:9 100", Oppo BDP-83 & 93 (ISO firmware), Dune HD Base 3.0, Darblet, Sony MDR-DS7500 Wireless Surround Headphones & Onkyo TX-SR707
fatherom is online now  
post #1456 of 1475 Old 01-26-2008, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

No, you cannot. Only 1920x1080 and 1440x1080. Either MPEG2 or MPEG4 is available. No DD+ either, only plain DD.

So, the plug-in (I already own Nero 8 Ultra.) will allow me to burn AVC or VC-1 1080i (likely transcoded from MPEG2 or WMV) onto a DVD-R to play back in my HD DVD player?
allargon is offline  
post #1457 of 1475 Old 01-26-2008, 08:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
GodobeHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post

...I have authored dozens of homebrew discs. I use DVD+R and DVD+R DLs with the book type set to "physical disc type" and I never get stuttering on my A2 or A3.

YMMV.

Chris

Chris, I imagine we are talking about the 25 mbps HDV content, right?
GodobeHD is offline  
post #1458 of 1475 Old 01-27-2008, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wittangamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another point to consider: Movie Factory tries to recode anything higher than 20 mbps. Not only does that take forever, but it can introduce lip-sync and stutter problems. I make it a habit to check with HDpatch and if necessary patch the first header to 18 or so. Then MF will accept it as compliant and those problems are avoided.
wittangamo is offline  
post #1459 of 1475 Old 01-27-2008, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MovieSwede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Gothenburg
Posts: 6,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by alluringreality View Post

I think HD DVD at 24p involves some sort of pulldown and is contained in a 29.97 stream. If you were to add pulldown using another program in the format that HD DVD is expecting you might be able to get Ulead to pass the file unaltered. That is our plan anyway for the calibration disk. For an actual 24p video file, it's not supported by HD DVD and Ulead will want to convert it even for Blu-ray which does allow 24p video without using pulldown.

Any tip what the spec should be if im gonna be able to import the movie?

I-frames, profiles etc?
MovieSwede is offline  
post #1460 of 1475 Old 01-27-2008, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
dangerdoc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by allargon View Post

So, the plug-in (I already own Nero 8 Ultra.) will allow me to burn AVC or VC-1 1080i (likely transcoded from MPEG2 or WMV) onto a DVD-R to play back in my HD DVD player?


The answer is yes but Nero makes it not very usefull. They do not allow coding at less that 15 megabits/sec. Frequently when starting with broadcast MPEG2, the storage needed is often more than the original file.

Right now Nero and the plug in was a $80 waste of money for me.
dangerdoc1 is offline  
post #1461 of 1475 Old 02-06-2008, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
v1rtu0s1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n0rth3rn 1ll1n01s
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey folks,

It's just the other day that I got a DVD-R. And yes, the culprit was my DVD+R. I've already burned 1920x1080 and 1280x720 mythtv recordings without any issues. I didn't even run HDPatch for the 1280x720.

Here are the steps I used.


1.) Display info about the video you want to put on HDDVD disc

[root@localhost recordings]# ffmpeg -i 3161_20071115210000.mpg
Input #0, mpegts, from '3161_20071115210000.mpg':
Duration: 00:59:57.2, start: 51005.482411, bitrate: 10506 kb/s
Program 1
Stream #0.0[0x800]: Video: mpeg2video, yuv420p, 1280x720 [PAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], 25000 kb/s, 59.94 tb(r)
Stream #0.1[0x801]: Audio: ac3, 48000 Hz, 5:1, 384 kb/s


2.) Convert ts format to ps using ffmpeg but don't resize resolution, just do copy

[root@localhost recordings]# ffmpeg -i 3161_20071115210000.mpg -t 3300 -vcodec copy -acodec copy jewel.vob


3.) Rename the vob file to mpg so that MF can see it

[root@localhost recordings]# mv jewel.vob jewel.mpg


4.) Display info about the file you converted to make sure everything is still intact. The file is jewel.mpg

[root@localhost recordings]# ffmpeg -i jewel.mpg
Input #0, mpeg, from 'jewel.mpg':
Duration: 00:55:00.5, start: 0.500000, bitrate: 10422 kb/s
Stream #0.0[0x80]: Audio: ac3, 48000 Hz, 5:1, 384 kb/s
Stream #0.1[0x1e0]: Video: mpeg2video, yuv420p, 1280x720 [PAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], 25000 kb/s, 59.94 tb(r)


5.) Opened Movie Factory and created a new HDDVD disc. Then I followed the instructions on one of the HDDVD authoring thread.

6.) Burn DVD-UDF using Nero.
v1rtu0s1ty is offline  
post #1462 of 1475 Old 03-08-2008, 01:57 AM
Newbie
 
frothybeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am keen to try the 'HD on DVD-R' method shown in this thread posted by Joseph Clark. All my computer HD sources are in .mkv container format. Can anyone point me to the most elegant way to convert/use my mkv files into any of the formats accepted by Womble MPEG2VCR? I have tried a program called 'MKV to AVI Converter' but I stopped the process when the file went past 40GB during conversion (an episode of LOST). Something tells me creating such huge files is doing it wrong...
Appreciate any advice.
frothybeer is offline  
post #1463 of 1475 Old 03-08-2008, 02:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
DavidEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wichita, KS, USA
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now that HD-DVD is a "dead format" it is a shame that a request thread could not be created for 'ISO',s so people like myself that don't have the correct hardware to process the files could request media files they could burn themselves...

Unlike my former networked "Replay-TV PVR" or the new "Griffen HD/HDMI-PVR" which uses media cards (no 5.1 but read there will be a software update to allow for 5.1?).. I have yet to find/read how to get HD/5.1 files off of a DirecTVHD+DVR.

--David
DavidEC is offline  
post #1464 of 1475 Old 03-08-2008, 05:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So.California
Posts: 3,500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Just in case you gentlemen didn't notice, there is a main "sticky" thread for this at the top of the HD DVD Software page.......

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=705146

The Mod Squad: New vs. Classic TV Series Opening
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Blasst is offline  
post #1465 of 1475 Old 03-11-2008, 10:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
angelo913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post

You should use "physical disc type" for all + media (DVD+R and DVD+R DL). This has been proven time and time again to be the best method to remove stuttering.

I have had my A1 HD DVD player for almost 2 years in the past I've always used booktype DVD-ROM for both DVD and HD DVD for home created videos that played find on the A1. About 2 weeks ago I received my XA2 and my 2nd XA2 today only to find out that all my DVD+R DL HD DVDs stutter.

I did a quick search on the forum and found this post. I changed the booktype to "physical disc type" and re-burned my HD DVDs and now playback perfectly!

Thank-You!
...Angelo

2x HD-XA2 firmware 3.0
1x HD-A1 firmware 3.0
HD DVD movies: 141
angelo913 is offline  
post #1466 of 1475 Old 03-30-2008, 09:50 AM
Member
 
dts1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if i have a movie in wmv and want to convert it to mpeg2 which would you guys say would be a good converter to use.
thanks
dts1 is offline  
post #1467 of 1475 Old 03-31-2008, 01:16 AM
Member
 
potnoodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatherom View Post

This is not necessarily always the case...yes, you're right, it may depend on content. But I have authored dozens of homebrew discs. I use DVD+R and DVD+R DLs with the book type set to "physical disc type" and I never get stuttering on my A2 or A3.

YMMV.

Chris

This is no use in the EP-30 as sold in the UK (last f/w 2.0) which requires the BookType to be DVD-ROM for DVD+R DLs or the player simply rejects the disc.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...6#post13513606
potnoodles is offline  
post #1468 of 1475 Old 04-02-2008, 05:07 AM
Member
 
dts1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone care to help me on that ? i asked
thanks
dts1 is offline  
post #1469 of 1475 Old 04-02-2008, 05:43 AM
Member
 
potnoodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dts1 View Post

anyone care to help me on that ? i asked
thanks



Nero Vision 4 or 5
or
Elecard Converter Studio AVC HD Edition

These can output HD mpeg2 up to 1920 x 1080 (which may not be what you want - who can tell from a post with as little info as that)


Both do a decent job
potnoodles is offline  
post #1470 of 1475 Old 04-02-2008, 06:37 AM
Member
 
dts1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my post above was this, if i have a movie in wmv and want to convert it to mpeg2 which would you guys say would be a good converter to use.
thanks

i have a 720p file with dts sound that is in avi and wmv that i want to put onto a disc
thanks
dts1 is offline  
Reply HD DVD Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off