The official AVS Guide to HD DVD Authoring. - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 3176 Old 09-19-2006, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 157
My HD DVD of Enterprise plays video just the way I watched it on my 622, but without audio. MyHD doesn't play audio from this file, either. Anyone else record this from Dish and getting similar results?

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 3176 Old 09-19-2006, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,780
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Joe, I've run into the same issues. Happened with "Rush Hour 2" off TNT-HD. No sound. But, when I use the HD-A1's analog output, I do get two-channel sound.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #363 of 3176 Old 09-21-2006, 05:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobkart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to this Topic I was able to get this to work, I just tried a disc I burned over at Best Buy and it plays on their Toshiba HD-A1.

Workflow in case anyone is interested:

- Transfer HDV from Sony HDR-HC3 to PC via HDVSplit.
- Convert from Transport Stream to Program Stream via VLC.
- Author to HD-DVD folder using Ulead MovieFactory 5 Plus (trial version).
- Burn to standard DVD (4.7GB) using Nero 7's Xbox-compatible mode (that's the step I didn't know how to do until I was directed to this Topic from VideoHelp.com).

Thanks to Joseph Clark and everyone else who helped for the detailed instructions!
bobkart is offline  
post #364 of 3176 Old 09-22-2006, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Eugene157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Springs area
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Is there a utility that will measure bitrate, file type etc?

Gene
Eugene157 is offline  
post #365 of 3176 Old 09-22-2006, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene157 View Post

Is there a utility that will measure bitrate, file type etc?

Gene

Google TSReader Lite or HDTVtoMPEG2.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #366 of 3176 Old 09-22-2006, 09:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Eugene157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Springs area
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Thank you Joe for this item and all the other work.
I do not have a HD-DVD player yet, still waiting for the price to come to app $350.

Of particular interest was the item from BOBKART, using VLC and Nero7 .So burning seems
to get simpler, only one piece of software ,Nero7, needs to be purchased.

I was under the impression that the Sony cameras, I have the HC1, allready put out a PS.
Tried converting a MPEG2 file yesterday via VLC but it did not say PS at the end. After downloading the TS reader I should know more.

Thanks all for your work and publishing it here, hope that HD-DVD will win the format battle, at any rate I rather make a $400 mistake then a $900 one. And being able to burn my HC1 video is the number 1 reason for buying. Second would be playing Netflix HD DVDs.

Is BD able to play red DVDs in HD ?

Gene
Eugene157 is offline  
post #367 of 3176 Old 09-22-2006, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene157 View Post

Is BD able to play red DVDs in HD ?

On a PC, yeah. Players apparently don't.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #368 of 3176 Old 09-22-2006, 03:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

On a PC, yeah. Players apparently don't.

Have you seen the new Roxio Easy Media Creator 9 software? I believe it claims to support BDAV authoring to red laser media. I may be wrong, but I think I read that somewhere.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #369 of 3176 Old 09-22-2006, 04:09 PM
Member
 
Taxidermista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

Have you seen the new Roxio Easy Media Creator 9 software? I believe it claims to support BDAV authoring to red laser media. I may be wrong, but I think I read that somewhere.

OMG, these are great news if confirmed! Let's take a look.
Taxidermista is offline  
post #370 of 3176 Old 09-23-2006, 03:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

Have you seen the new Roxio Easy Media Creator 9 software? I believe it claims to support BDAV authoring to red laser media. I may be wrong, but I think I read that somewhere.

Interesting! Thanks for the heads up, I'll look into it.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #371 of 3176 Old 09-23-2006, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here you go, a small gallery of shots from Roxio Creator 9's Video options:
http://saitti.kuvat.fi/kuvat/Roxio9/

I'll try to create a BD next. I have a bad feeling about this, actually: judging by the available options it looks like multichannel audio is not supported at all, and everything will be re-encoded no matter what. And what's up with that forced 25fps for NTSC, huh?

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #372 of 3176 Old 09-23-2006, 05:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Roxio refuses to burn a BD on a DVD-/+R disc - even if the disc is in a BD writer. So much for that.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #373 of 3176 Old 09-23-2006, 06:26 AM
Member
 
Taxidermista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

Roxio refuses to burn a BD on a DVD-/+R disc - even if the disc is in a BD writer. So much for that.

It doesn't let you to make an iso file?
Taxidermista is offline  
post #374 of 3176 Old 09-23-2006, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taxidermista View Post

It doesn't let you to make an iso file?

Nope, directly to disc or not at all.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #375 of 3176 Old 09-23-2006, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

Roxio refuses to burn a BD on a DVD-/+R disc - even if the disc is in a BD writer. So much for that.

Disappointing. Thanks for checking that out. So, we're still out of luck with low cost red laser Blu-ray authoring. This is the kind of issue I expected we'd run into with this next gen DVD stuff. It does, however, make the HD DVD process that much more valuable, and surprising.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #376 of 3176 Old 09-23-2006, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Eugene157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Springs area
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Wonder if I should buy a HD-DVD player now while the present version can play red HD DVDs.
Or is that feature mandatory in the HD-DVD format?.
I sure do not want to make a 20 min HD home movie and burn it on a $30 25GB DVD.

Gene
Eugene157 is offline  
post #377 of 3176 Old 09-23-2006, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
ludeboy12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wheeling, WV
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wow i just picked up a firewire cable and tried this whole process for the first time with Star Wars EP3 and oh my its amazing.

thank you sooo much for the guide.

-Lude
ludeboy12 is offline  
post #378 of 3176 Old 09-23-2006, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene157 View Post

Wonder if I should buy a HD-DVD player now while the present version can play red HD DVDs.
Or is that feature mandatory in the HD-DVD format?.
I sure do not want to make a 20 min HD home movie and burn it on a $30 25GB DVD.

Gene

I don't know the answer to that question, but if anyone is buying a DVD player these days, the A1 can be had for about $400 if you look around. It's a pretty easy decision. Having the capability to burn your own work makes it worth it. Great point about the high cost of BD and HD DVD media. That's going to be true for quite some time.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #379 of 3176 Old 09-23-2006, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by ludeboy12 View Post

wow i just picked up a firewire cable and tried this whole process for the first time with Star Wars EP3 and oh my its amazing.

thank you sooo much for the guide.

Welcome to the club. Enjoy!

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #380 of 3176 Old 09-23-2006, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Grandmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

Here you go, a small gallery of shots from Roxio Creator 9's Video options:
http://saitti.kuvat.fi/kuvat/Roxio9/

I'll try to create a BD next. I have a bad feeling about this, actually: judging by the available options it looks like multichannel audio is not supported at all, and everything will be re-encoded no matter what. And what's up with that forced 25fps for NTSC, huh?

Isn't it the case that the NTSC and PAL options are for standard definition content only? ATSC appears to be the US-standard digital delivery system, DVB the European standard.

What is weird is that there appears to be support for resolutions I've never seen before - eg 720 lines interlaced. But there appears to be no support for 60fps 720p! Also 720p/30 isn't an official resolution the last time I looked.

I'm wondering if you could create the BDAV titleset on a rewritable Blu-Ray disk, then burn the data onto a DVD-R. I guess the only way to find out would be to find someone with the Blu-Ray drive to give it a whirl.

Isn't it the case with BDAV that you get no menu options?


Still no AVC based authoring solutions, I note. My hopes are pinned on Apple, ironically, but *still* no firm news on DVD Studio Pro 5 Hopefully the release of the HD-DVD add-on for 360 and of course PS3 will get some thumbs out of asses.
Grandmaster is offline  
post #381 of 3176 Old 09-23-2006, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grandmaster View Post

I'm wondering if you could create the BDAV titleset on a rewritable Blu-Ray disk, then burn the data onto a DVD-R. I guess the only way to find out would be to find someone with the Blu-Ray drive to give it a whirl.

I have a BD-burner here, but no BD media. Well, to be honest, I've got the Blu-ray demodisc which is a 25GB BD-RE, but I need to give it back, so better not mess with it.

Quote:


Isn't it the case with BDAV that you get no menu options?

Yup, no menus.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #382 of 3176 Old 09-23-2006, 04:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Clarence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Virginia Projector: G90 CRT
Posts: 8,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Great thread! Recording your own HD-DVD is the best thing in the world for assembling HD demo clips.

My single-layer DVD's work fine, but I haven't had any luck with Verbatim DL.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene157 View Post

Is there a utility that will measure bitrate, file type etc?

VideoReDo (Tools menu... "Show Video Program Info" [Ctrl+L]) or Media Player Classic.

Also, in Ulead MovieFactory, right-click on the video clip and choose "Media Clip Properties".


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Clarence is offline  
post #383 of 3176 Old 09-23-2006, 05:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clarence View Post

Great thread! Recording your own HD-DVD is the best thing in the world for assembling HD demo clips.

My single-layer DVD's work fine, but I haven't had any luck with Verbatim DL.


VideoReDo (Tools menu... "Show Video Program Info" [Ctrl+L]) or Media Player Classic.

Also, in Ulead MovieFactory, right-click on the video clip and choose "Media Clip Properties".

It's likely your burner, rather than the discs. If you can do manual bitsetting, set to DVD-ROM. If not, you'll probably need a different DL burner. The Plextor 750 works, as does the NEC 3550A, among many others. I've had no luck with any of my Pioneer burners (108, 109, 110) for DL burning. The NEC can be found online very inexpensively.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
post #384 of 3176 Old 09-24-2006, 02:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can recommend any of the Nec 35xx series, and Pioneer 111 works fine as well.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #385 of 3176 Old 09-24-2006, 08:07 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Clarence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Virginia Projector: G90 CRT
Posts: 8,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

It's likely your burner, rather than the discs. If you can do manual bitsetting, set to DVD-ROM. If not, you'll probably need a different DL burner. The Plextor 750 works, as does the NEC 3550A, among many others. I've had no luck with any of my Pioneer burners (108, 109, 110) for DL burning. The NEC can be found online very inexpensively.

Thanks... I've got several other DVD burners, so I'll try a different one next time.

FWIW, in Device Manager the DVD burner that didn't work on DL for me is "HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GCA-4166B" (aka HP740?) in a HP xw4300. The media was Verbatim DVD+R DL.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Clarence is offline  
post #386 of 3176 Old 09-24-2006, 10:07 AM
Member
 
Taxidermista's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clarence View Post

FWIW, in Device Manager the DVD burner that didn't work on DL for me is "HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GCA-4166B" (aka HP740?) in a HP xw4300. The media was Verbatim DVD+R DL.

... aka LG GCA-4166B
Taxidermista is offline  
post #387 of 3176 Old 09-24-2006, 05:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Clarence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Virginia Projector: G90 CRT
Posts: 8,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I made a HD-DVD with 10 various concert clips, but the sound levels were off on 3...
2 were way too loud, 1 was much softer than the rest.

I tried using VideoReDo... Tools... Adjust Audio... Output Volume... 1.0x -> 1.5x or 0.7x
when I converted from .ts to .mpg

But when I burned the disc, all 3 adjusted tracks came out with zero sound.

Any suggestions?

Has anybody tried "Normalize audio" in MovieFactory? I'll try that next.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Clarence is offline  
post #388 of 3176 Old 09-24-2006, 06:43 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Clarence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Virginia Projector: G90 CRT
Posts: 8,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clarence View Post

Has anybody tried "Normalize audio" in MovieFactory? I'll try that next.

Good news, bad news...

Good news: "Normalize audio" decreased the loud tracks and increased the volume on the quieter track

Bad news: I only get L+R audio


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Clarence is offline  
post #389 of 3176 Old 09-25-2006, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Eugene157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Springs area
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Broke down and ordered a A1 from VE.
It specifies HDDVD-R pb , HDDVD+R is not mentioned.
Any potential problems burning HD to +R ?

Gene
Eugene157 is offline  
post #390 of 3176 Old 09-25-2006, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene157 View Post

Broke down and ordered a A1 from VE.
It specifies HDDVD-R pb , HDDVD+R is not mentioned.
Any potential problems burning HD to +R ?

Gene

I don't think I've burned a single DVD that's not +R. They work just fine.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is offline  
Reply HD DVD Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off