The official AVS Guide to HD DVD Authoring. - Page 2 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 3176 Old 07-31-2006, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RockStrongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok.....im experiencing the audio synch issue in Womble and the terribly long load times in MF5 from VideoRedo files. Woof.

Im gonna play around with it some more tonite. So far, ive just had one successful creation in the past 3 or 4 days (since I started this).

Check out my iPhone apps!! -
Vurgood Apps
My HD Disc Collection
RockStrongo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 3176 Old 07-31-2006, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

You visited the Multisession tab and selected No Multisession first, right?

Joe, a brief edit to the guide: it's an Options pull-down, not a checkbox.

It's a checkbox in my version. I'll have to upgrade to the latest version.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #33 of 3176 Old 07-31-2006, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So.California
Posts: 3,540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 28
pteittinen, I'll go back and check that. Am I correct in going straight to the Ulead program with my HC3 HD camcorder footage?
Blasst is online now  
post #34 of 3176 Old 07-31-2006, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
texmex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

texmex, when you get back from vacation, maybe you could take a look at some MPEGs created by the two programs and check for significant differences?

Sounds like a plan!
texmex is offline  
post #35 of 3176 Old 07-31-2006, 07:33 PM
Senior Member
 
texmex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blasst View Post

pteittinen, I'll go back and check that. Am I correct in going straight to the Ulead program with my HC3 HD camcorder footage?

I don't have a test stream with me (and I should know this anyway, b/c I have the HC1), but I believe that HDV streams are transport streams. Technically, you may need to convert your HC3 footage to a program stream before importing into Ulead, but others have reported limited success pulling in transport streams. Usually it's as simple as changing the extension to "*.mpg". If Ulead doesn't like your HDV streams, convert them to program streams using Womble or VideoRedo.
texmex is offline  
post #36 of 3176 Old 07-31-2006, 09:07 PM
Member
 
galaxy_jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

You could try Ron's test patterns at http://www.w6rz.net/

OK, tried that, no luck. Same problem. I am about 99.9% sure I am doing everything right. Followed each step.

Can I pay someone a couple of bucks for a known good disc. That would
rule out my player (no problems with it so far and I am pretty sure the
firmware is up to date.)
galaxy_jason is offline  
post #37 of 3176 Old 07-31-2006, 09:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
cal87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 1,288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quick question.

How do you know for sure that MF5 is keeping a DD5.1 soundtrack or converting it to DD2.0?
cal87 is online now  
post #38 of 3176 Old 07-31-2006, 11:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by texmex View Post

Sounds like a plan!

Great. Have we definitely decided on a way to upload sample files to you?

Also, please put your PayPal info into the next post. I want to express my gratitude for your generosity here in helping with these issues. It's much appreciated.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #39 of 3176 Old 07-31-2006, 11:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by cal87 View Post

Quick question.

How do you know for sure that MF5 is keeping a DD5.1 soundtrack or converting it to DD2.0?

Receivers often report 5.1 when they play it. The other way is just to listen to a file you know has 5.1 and note whether the sound is coming from the appropriate places. If you can find it, the InHD test patterns also contain 5.1 audio, which you can simply use to find out if the speakers are outputting the correct sound. I actually have an HD DVD of the InHD and HDNet test patterns (1.35 GB). I'm just not sure about the legality of posting it.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #40 of 3176 Old 08-01-2006, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,995
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Tried my first 720p TS file last night... When I open it with MPEG2VCR, it takes a long time to load & splits the movie over many segments. I get a bunch of windows with segments of the movie. Is this normal for a 720p TS file? Should I be doing something different? Thanks.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
post #41 of 3176 Old 08-01-2006, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RockStrongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I got my issue to work. First, I was having an issue with MPEG2VCR getting out of sync with the audio. With VideoRedo, it was making files that wouldnt load in MF5.

So, I added a step. First, I run through VideoRedo, if it wont load in MF5, I run it through MPEG2VCR and then it seems to work fine. I havent had the audio sync issue yet.

It sucks that you have to add a step, but it seems to work. I tried VideoRedo's quickstream fix also, but the results werent as good as running it through MPEG2VCR.

Check out my iPhone apps!! -
Vurgood Apps
My HD Disc Collection
RockStrongo is offline  
post #42 of 3176 Old 08-01-2006, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RockStrongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone gotten a TS that has multiple audio sources? I have one that says it has 2. How can I strip one off?

Check out my iPhone apps!! -
Vurgood Apps
My HD Disc Collection
RockStrongo is offline  
post #43 of 3176 Old 08-01-2006, 06:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
cal87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 1,288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockStrongo View Post

Has anyone gotten a TS that has multiple audio sources? I have one that says it has 2. How can I strip one off?

You can run it through HDTVtoMPEG2 and check or check off which audio you want.
cal87 is online now  
post #44 of 3176 Old 08-01-2006, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RockStrongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cal87 View Post

You can run it through HDTVtoMPEG2 and check or check off which audio you want.

Awesome....I havent seen these with multiple audio tracks yet, so I wasnt sure.

Gracias.

Check out my iPhone apps!! -
Vurgood Apps
My HD Disc Collection
RockStrongo is offline  
post #45 of 3176 Old 08-01-2006, 09:23 AM
Member
 
christefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
............If someone will post a workflow for VS10+ I'll add it. I think someone did in the original thread, but I'd appreciate a refresher. (I have VS10+, so I can test the workflow easily myself.) As far as VideoRedo is concerned, I have version 445 and my auto web check of the site tells me it's the latest. Which version do you use?

I've been using version 475 buy they're up to 382 Beta at this point, been talking to a support person over there and they report no problems working with VideoReDo files to Ulead MF5 and should be ok with VS10 also, link to the beta versions is listed below-steve


http://www.videoredo.net/beta/
christefan is offline  
post #46 of 3176 Old 08-01-2006, 10:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by christefan View Post

............If someone will post a workflow for VS10+ I'll add it. I think someone did in the original thread, but I'd appreciate a refresher. (I have VS10+, so I can test the workflow easily myself.) As far as VideoRedo is concerned, I have version 445 and my auto web check of the site tells me it's the latest. Which version do you use?

I've been using version 475 buy they're up to 382 Beta at this point, been talking to a support person over there and they report no problems working with VideoReDo files to Ulead MF5 and should be ok with VS10 also, link to the beta versions is listed below-steve


http://www.videoredo.net/beta/

I'd really like to get to the bottom of my problem with VideoRedo. I downloaded 481 yesterday, but had no luck with it, either. Now I see 482 is up. I'll try it and see if it works any better. As I reported yesterday, with 481 I got exactly the same results as earlier versions. The workflow goes from water to mollasses. I didn't even let it go after about half an hour, since that pace for my workflow just isn't something I can live with. With Womble, the water flows again, with exactly the same original .ts file and the same edit points.

Are those of you who are having success with VideoRedo setting parameters differently in Options... ? If so, please share. I always answer yes during the install to the question about using Movie Factory. I'm going to go to the VideoRedo site and report my problems. Maybe I just have a strange combination of software that's interfering with VideoRedo files in MF5.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #47 of 3176 Old 08-01-2006, 02:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
cal87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 1,288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

Receivers often report 5.1 when they play it. The other way is just to listen to a file you know has 5.1 and note whether the sound is coming from the appropriate places. If you can find it, the InHD test patterns also contain 5.1 audio, which you can simply use to find out if the speakers are outputting the correct sound. I actually have an HD DVD of the InHD and HDNet test patterns (1.35 GB). I'm just not sure about the legality of posting it.

I'm pretty sure I'm hearing 5.1 sound, but my receiver does not specify. I just wanted to verify somehow. I forgot about the INHD - I have that and will try it out.

Is it proper to assume that if MY version of MF5 keeps the 5.1 audio on this disc, that it would apply to all of my compilations? Or might certain titles be converted to 2.0? Just trying to decide if I need to switch to VS10+.
cal87 is online now  
post #48 of 3176 Old 08-01-2006, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RockStrongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For AVI sources, do I just convert it to a transport stream first or can I go directly to mpeg2?

Check out my iPhone apps!! -
Vurgood Apps
My HD Disc Collection
RockStrongo is offline  
post #49 of 3176 Old 08-01-2006, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by cal87 View Post

I'm pretty sure I'm hearing 5.1 sound, but my receiver does not specify. I just wanted to verify somehow. I forgot about the INHD - I have that and will try it out.

Is it proper to assume that if MY version of MF5 keeps the 5.1 audio on this disc, that it would apply to all of my compilations? Or might certain titles be converted to 2.0? Just trying to decide if I need to switch to VS10+.

As long as the video doesn't re-encode, your audio should be retained as 5.1. If it re-encodes, it downconverts it to 2.0.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #50 of 3176 Old 08-01-2006, 03:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockStrongo View Post

For AVI sources, do I just convert it to a transport stream first or can I go directly to mpeg2?

Skip the .ts step if you can. It's unnecessary. All you need is the MPEG.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #51 of 3176 Old 08-01-2006, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,995
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 78
So, does anyone know what to do if opening a TS file in MPEG-VCR results in many segments of a movie? Is there a way to open it as one piece?

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
post #52 of 3176 Old 08-01-2006, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RockStrongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok....I tried feeding the avi into MF5 but when it plays, it shows up as green....do I need to convert it to mpeg2 first? It says its compression is xvid mpeg4 24bits 1920x800.

Any ideas on what I need to do to get this in the proper format?

Check out my iPhone apps!! -
Vurgood Apps
My HD Disc Collection
RockStrongo is offline  
post #53 of 3176 Old 08-01-2006, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Joseph Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 10,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

So, does anyone know what to do if opening a TS file in MPEG-VCR results in many segments of a movie? Is there a way to open it as one piece?

Strange. That's never happened to me. Don't know if it will work, but try this. When you open the file, do it in the Clip List. Hit f6 after entering MPEG2VCR and select the file. Then hit OK. It should come up as a single file in MPEG2VCR for you to edit.

Joe Clark

Joseph Clark is online now  
post #54 of 3176 Old 08-02-2006, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RockStrongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone tried this beta software yet??

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...e/default.aspx

Check out my iPhone apps!! -
Vurgood Apps
My HD Disc Collection
RockStrongo is offline  
post #55 of 3176 Old 08-02-2006, 08:39 AM
Member
 
galaxy_jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by galaxy_jason View Post

OK, tried that, no luck. Same problem. I am about 99.9% sure I am doing everything right. Followed each step.

Can I pay someone a couple of bucks for a known good disc. That would
rule out my player (no problems with it so far and I am pretty sure the
firmware is up to date.)


Bump, anyone willing to help
galaxy_jason is offline  
post #56 of 3176 Old 08-02-2006, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockStrongo View Post

Anyone tried this beta software yet??

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...e/default.aspx

Someone mentioned in the other thread. All I remember was that it is still definitely Beta software - there were rumors of it taking 24 hours to encode a movie.

Along those lines I read a review of the Falcon-NW computer based on the Core 2 Duo Extreme chip. They said that it took their Pentium 4 machine 4 hours to encode a 8 GB DVD with Nero Recode. It took 12 minutes on the Core 2 Duo machine. I thought that sounded like an upgrade I may need to make.
Hyrax is offline  
post #57 of 3176 Old 08-02-2006, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RockStrongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Clark View Post

Skip the .ts step if you can. It's unnecessary. All you need is the MPEG.

Anyone know of a good program to convert AVI to MPEG2? I wanna do this BEFORE opening it in Ulead. That said, how good is Ulead's encoding??

I tried using the avi in Ulead and created an iso with hd folders (im sure it reencoded it as mpeg2), BUT it had no sound. I thought the picture didnt really look as good as the avi.

The avi in question is xvid mpeg4 1920x800 with one ac3 and one DTS track.

Check out my iPhone apps!! -
Vurgood Apps
My HD Disc Collection
RockStrongo is offline  
post #58 of 3176 Old 08-02-2006, 10:15 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
cal87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 1,288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockStrongo View Post

Anyone know of a good program to convert AVI to MPEG2? I wanna do this BEFORE opening it in Ulead. That said, how good is Ulead's encoding??

I tried using the avi in Ulead and created an iso with hd folders (im sure it reencoded it as mpeg2), BUT it had no sound. I thought the picture didnt really look as good as the avi.

The avi in question is xvid mpeg4 1920x800 with one ac3 and one DTS track.

You might try ProCoder. It has a pretty easy to use interface, especially using the wizard.

I just used it to convert a 720p wmv file. Finally got a good quality result (as opposed to using Ulead or other format converters). However, it took 12 hours to do a 2-pass VBR encode.
cal87 is online now  
post #59 of 3176 Old 08-02-2006, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RockStrongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cal87 View Post

You might try ProCoder. It has a pretty easy to use interface, especially using the wizard.

I just used it to convert a 720p wmv file. Finally got a good quality result (as opposed to using Ulead or other format converters). However, it took 12 hours to do a 2-pass VBR encode.

Ouch....this AVI is almost 20gb (and its just the first of 3 ), so I bet it will take a looooong time to encode.

I might have to install these apps on my second computer and just let it run.

EDIT - Im hoping when I remove the AC3 track with VirtualDub that it will be under 16gb so I can put it on 2 dl dvd-rs.

Check out my iPhone apps!! -
Vurgood Apps
My HD Disc Collection
RockStrongo is offline  
post #60 of 3176 Old 08-03-2006, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,995
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Don't know if this has been posted already, but you guys can get $5 off when buying Ulead's DVD Movie Factory 5 using the coupon code MONKEY.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HD DVD Software

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off