HD DVD movie screenshot thread...[big files] - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1352 Old 01-27-2007, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gooki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What Clarence said.

I'm doing 1080p screen dumps from a Dell laptop. Currently using Power DVD as the software player, but am investigating other players to see if there is a quality difference (for the better).

International HDDVD Screenshot Archive (Full 1080p Images): www.hdmovies.co.nz
gooki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1352 Old 01-27-2007, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eightninesuited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto, Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mmm, Meryl Streep in Deer Hunter HD, I forgot how great she looked back then.

No animals were harmed in the creation of this sentence.
eightninesuited is offline  
post #183 of 1352 Old 01-27-2007, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schils's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
TOTAL noob at this, but here goes...

I just wanted to add a shot of how well the A2 upscales since the HD stuff has been so well covered (AMAZING images thus far ). Not telling anyone here something they don't already know or that hasn't been stated numerous times, but man, a really fine/clean SD transfer can at least *approach* HD quality, even older titles.

Hitachi 65F710A+A2:



Peace

My Setup | Night | Bedroom

Latest Blu-Rays Bought: This is The End, The Conjuring, The World's End, You're Next, Thor 2, Gravity, Noah, Cpt. America Winter Soldier, Godzilla, Big Bang Season 7, Texas Chainsaw 40th, Edge of Tomorrow, Kingpin, Snowpiercer
Schils is offline  
post #184 of 1352 Old 01-27-2007, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Brad26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do post these screen shots
Brad26 is offline  
post #185 of 1352 Old 01-27-2007, 09:39 PM
Member
 
BigJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schils View Post

TOTAL noob at this, but here goes...

I just wanted to add some more shots of how well the A2 upscales since the HD stuff has been so well covered (AMAZING images thus far ). Not telling anyone here something they don't already know or that hasn't been stated numerous times, but man, the really fine/clean SD transfers can *approach* HD quality, even older titles...here's a couple of my fav's.

Hitachi 65F710A+A2:


[

Peace

Is that from Shawshank? Looks good, I can't wait for the hd dvd.
BigJeff is offline  
post #186 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 01:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gooki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Talk about a pain in the ass to screen dump, but here they are.

King Kong
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK1.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK2.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK3.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK4.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK5.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK6.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK7.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK8.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK9.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK10.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK13.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK14.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK15.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK16.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK17.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK18.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/kk11.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/kk12.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/KK23.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/kk19.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/kk20.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/kk21.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/kk22.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/kk24.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/kk25.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/kk26.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/kk27.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/kk28.jpg
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/hddvd/King%20Kong/kk29.jpg

International HDDVD Screenshot Archive (Full 1080p Images): www.hdmovies.co.nz
gooki is offline  
post #187 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 02:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Schils's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NW Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJeff View Post

Is that from Shawshank? Looks good, I can't wait for the hd dvd.

Yep, Shawshank...I wish they'd release that bad boy in HD already, its gonna be a nice one no doubt, I think it was "supposed" to be out last year even, not sure what happened.

My Setup | Night | Bedroom

Latest Blu-Rays Bought: This is The End, The Conjuring, The World's End, You're Next, Thor 2, Gravity, Noah, Cpt. America Winter Soldier, Godzilla, Big Bang Season 7, Texas Chainsaw 40th, Edge of Tomorrow, Kingpin, Snowpiercer
Schils is offline  
post #188 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 03:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nightfly13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ranchi, India
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gooki View Post

Talk about a pain in the ass to screen dump, but here they are.

Fantastic job. Worth the 30mb download What a great looking film (if not my favorite plot/pacing-wise). One thought though. Is it me, or does the skyline look pretty CG? I mean of course it is, but it looks fake-CG (like Spiderman movies) to me. The night cityscape looks great, though.
nightfly13 is offline  
post #189 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 04:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scitek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cartersville, GA
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nightfly13 View Post

Fantastic job. Worth the 30mb download What a great looking film (if not my favorite plot/pacing-wise). One thought though. Is it me, or does the skyline look pretty CG? I mean of course it is, but it looks fake-CG (like Spiderman movies) to me. The night cityscape looks great, though.

Actually, the giant gorilla looked more CG-ish to me.
scitek is offline  
post #190 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 03:33 PM
Member
 
bad_karma24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some more comparisons. Again, they're not exact, etc, etc. Thanks again gooki!

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y26...arma24/kk1.jpg (HD)
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y26...arma24/kk2.jpg (SD)
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y26...arma24/kk3.jpg (HD)
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y26...arma24/kk4.jpg (SD)
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y26...arma24/kk5.jpg (HD)
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y26...arma24/kk6.jpg (SD)
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y26...arma24/kk7.jpg (HD)
http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y26...arma24/kk8.jpg (SD)

"President Bush is driving on our lawn. He must be lost." (The Simpsons)
bad_karma24 is offline  
post #191 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tahustvedt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here are a couple of screenshots I made. Obviously it looks much better in real life.

BenQ PE8700+ projector
2 m wide Euroscreen motorized screen
HTPC - C2D E6400 - Radeon X1950 PRO - PDVD7U
Cat5 VGA cable



tahustvedt is offline  
post #192 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tim Glover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Monroe, LA
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Outstanding pics of Kong Gooki...big ones, but fantastic job indeed.

Also nice on the Corpse Bride shots too, Tahustvedt.
Tim Glover is offline  
post #193 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 06:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Clarence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Virginia Projector: G90 CRT
Posts: 8,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahustvedt View Post

Here are a couple of screenshots I made. Obviously it looks much better in real life.

BenQ PE8700+ projector
2 m wide Euroscreen motorized screen


Those KK screenshots are very nice, tahustvedt!

I took a picture of that same airplane scene last month on my friend's 12-foot (4m) wide screen:



Did you pause the movie for the screenshot? Every time I paused, I got the red time line bar... I couldn't find a button on the remote to get rid of it.
Clarence is offline  
post #194 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Xylon is offline  
post #195 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gooki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bad_karma24 - thanks for those King Kong SD screen shoots - it's been a while sice i watched SD and had forgotten how poor it can be.

Clarence - not quite the same frame as your one above but prety close:
http://david2k.orcon.net.nz/kk11.jpg

International HDDVD Screenshot Archive (Full 1080p Images): www.hdmovies.co.nz
gooki is offline  
post #196 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 06:40 PM
Member
 
Brad26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would some one Please Tell me how to post Screen shots!!!!!!!!!!
Brad26 is offline  
post #197 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 07:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Whiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Gooki, can you check which screen capture program you use? I'm trying to do some shots myself, but can't find anything that will actually capture the overlay.
Whiggles is offline  
post #198 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brad26 View Post

Would some one Please Tell me how to post Screen shots!!!!!!!!!!

Use www.imageshack.us
Xylon is offline  
post #199 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 07:17 PM
Member
 
Brad26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xylon View Post

Use www.imageshack.us

ok thanks
Brad26 is offline  
post #200 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 09:13 PM
Member
 
Brad26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here some shots of MI3. My camra is not that great and im not good at taking pictures but here is a Few shots








Brad26 is offline  
post #201 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 09:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Clarence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Virginia Projector: G90 CRT
Posts: 8,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xylon View Post

He did not use the xbox360 add on.

Neither did I... I have the Toshiba HD-A1 and the X360 add-on.

But the pictured red bar was using pause on a HD-A1.
Clarence is offline  
post #202 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 10:29 PM
Member
 
bad_karma24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gooki View Post

bad_karma24 - thanks for those King Kong SD screen shoots - it's been a while sice i watched SD and had forgotten how poor it can be.

Not a problem. Unfortunately its making me want HD more and more .

"President Bush is driving on our lawn. He must be lost." (The Simpsons)
bad_karma24 is offline  
post #203 of 1352 Old 01-28-2007, 11:02 PM
Member
 
Brad26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here some more shots from King Kong.
I am also using the 360 add on with a 7205 projector.





Brad26 is offline  
post #204 of 1352 Old 01-29-2007, 12:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gooki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Posts: 3,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whiggles - i had been using Belltech CaptureXT until i came across King Kong, and found it won't capture out of PowerDVD when playing a raw VC1 stream (only way i could get KK to play).

So ended up using Capture Professional v6 for King Kong. One odd thing you will notice is my KK screenshots are actually 1088P so may bot be 1:1 pixel mapped.

I'll start doing some quality tests between different players (WinDVD, PowerDVD 6.5/7.1) and the various screen capture apps when i get a few hours spare.

Cheers.

International HDDVD Screenshot Archive (Full 1080p Images): www.hdmovies.co.nz
gooki is offline  
post #205 of 1352 Old 01-29-2007, 03:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tahustvedt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clarence View Post

Those KK screenshots are very nice, tahustvedt!

I took a picture of that same airplane scene last month on my friend's 12-foot (4m) wide screen:

Did you pause the movie for the screenshot? Every time I paused, I got the red time line bar... I couldn't find a button on the remote to get rid of it.

I'm using a HTPC with the XBOX 360 HD-DVD drive and PowerDVD 7 Ultra so I don't get a time line bar when I pause.

I noticed your screenshot earlier and actually spent lots of time yesterday looking for the same scene with the plane in it.
tahustvedt is offline  
post #206 of 1352 Old 01-29-2007, 07:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Clarence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern Virginia Projector: G90 CRT
Posts: 8,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahustvedt View Post

I noticed your screenshot earlier and actually spent lots of time yesterday looking for the same scene with the plane in it.

That's one advantage of the red timeline bar... it should've made it a lot easier to find the same scene... "Chapter 49... 02:51:57"
Clarence is offline  
post #207 of 1352 Old 01-29-2007, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scitek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cartersville, GA
Posts: 1,244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I like the timeline bar. It's a FEATURE. LOL.
scitek is offline  
post #208 of 1352 Old 01-29-2007, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Whiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gooki View Post

Whiggles - i had been using Belltech CaptureXT until i came across King Kong, and found it won't capture out of PowerDVD when playing a raw VC1 stream (only way i could get KK to play).

So ended up using Capture Professional v6 for King Kong. One odd thing you will notice is my KK screenshots are actually 1088P so may bot be 1:1 pixel mapped.

I'll start doing some quality tests between different players (WinDVD, PowerDVD 6.5/7.1) and the various screen capture apps when i get a few hours spare.

Cheers.

Many thanks. I've been disabling the overlay and just doing a normal printscreen but I get the impression that some downscaling is going on when I do this. Will look into other options.

In the meantime, here are some screengrabs from Serenity (UK version):

http://whiggles.landofwhimsy.com/funbag/hdserenity1.jpg
http://whiggles.landofwhimsy.com/funbag/hdserenity2.jpg
http://whiggles.landofwhimsy.com/funbag/hdserenity3.jpg
http://whiggles.landofwhimsy.com/funbag/hdserenity4.jpg
http://whiggles.landofwhimsy.com/funbag/hdserenity5.jpg
http://whiggles.landofwhimsy.com/funbag/hdserenity6.jpg
Whiggles is offline  
post #209 of 1352 Old 01-29-2007, 10:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Whiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whiggles is offline  
Reply HD DVD Software

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off