National Geographic - Relentless Enemies Compatibility Issue On A2,XA2 and 360 Drive? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 62 Old 03-28-2007, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
TWISTED BULLET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just recieved Relentless Enemies HD DVD on National Geographic, tested it out on my 360 HD Drive and it say's cannot read disc error. I thought to myself, thats weird, I also then tried playing the disc on my new XA2 and I get an 8 numerical code on the front of the player, and the disc fails to play. I al;so have an A2 and the same problem exists.

Funnily enough I do own an A1 HD DVD player also, tried the disc on that player and it worked perfectly fine.

Has anyone else had the same compatibility problem with the new next gen players? Do we need another firmware update from Toshiba and Microsoft or is this an isolated incident?


Any info is most welcome.

TWISTED BULLET is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 62 Old 03-28-2007, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I only have an A1 and will have this today from two sources, Netflix and Amazon.com. I think I will watch the rental and then determine if I will keep it.

Did you watch the whole thing on your A1? If so:

How long is the movie?
How is the PQ and sound?
Is it a keeper in your opinion?

Thanks and I hope you solve the mystery of the disc not playing in the other two players.
jbug is offline  
post #3 of 62 Old 03-28-2007, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
khwiggins2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Clarksburg, MD
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The firmware is newer in the 2nd gen players. Why would they have troubles that they 1st gen do not?

"We've done the impossible, and that makes us mighty!" - Captain Malcolm Reynolds
khwiggins2 is offline  
post #4 of 62 Old 03-28-2007, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Thuppu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I hope it is only a bad disc... This HD DVD is on order for me to, and should be here this week. I have the xbox add-on...
Thuppu is offline  
post #5 of 62 Old 03-28-2007, 11:28 AM
Member
 
anim8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i watched this disc last night from Netflix. played fine on my A1. some of the shots are unbelievably sharp!

the program is about 90 minutes in length, narrated by jeremy irons. not a bad watch, overall. glad i rented it, because outside of demo material, i probably wouldn't revisit it anytime soon. i thought it was about different "relentless enemies", not just lions and water buffalo in africa. it was a good program, but a little bit long at 90 minutes.

if they release more titles, with varying subject matter, i might revisit it (i have a problem with collecting things).

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Steven Soderbergh's 'King of the Hill' on Blu-Ray.
That's all I want... Is that so much to ask?
anim8r is offline  
post #6 of 62 Old 03-28-2007, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
TWISTED BULLET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbug View Post

I only have an A1 and will have this today from two sources, Netflix and Amazon.com. I think I will watch the rental and then determine if I will keep it.

Did you watch the whole thing on your A1? If so:

How long is the movie?
How is the PQ and sound?
Is it a keeper in your opinion?

Thanks and I hope you solve the mystery of the disc not playing in the other two players.


It's 90 mins long, haven't had a chance to see the picture and sound yet, because I only got it working on my A1 which is setup to a poor viewing device.


Just to let you guys know, I have all the latest firmware updates for the 360 HD DVD Drive, and the new next gen Toshiba HD DVD players...


WARNER BROTHERS???

TWISTED BULLET is offline  
post #7 of 62 Old 03-28-2007, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
applejackaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: In a Joshua tree forest
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If this works just like Discovery Australia, the only solution is to be a pirate. Add on + HTPC and DumpHD from Doom9 and then it will play.

I did try a new Australia disc and it made no difference! Come on toshiba, we need to be able to play these standard mode discs.
applejackaz is offline  
post #8 of 62 Old 03-28-2007, 04:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 576
I'm glad it's not just me having problems with Relentless Enemies. I had the same problem with my A2, XA2 and add on. While the A1 played it without any problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TWISTED BULLET View Post

I just recieved Relentless Enemies HD DVD on National Geographic, tested it out on my 360 HD Drive and it say's cannot read disc error. I thought to myself, thats weird, I also then tried playing the disc on my new XA2 and I get an 8 numerical code on the front of the player, and the disc fails to play. I al;so have an A2 and the same problem exists.

Funnily enough I do own an A1 HD DVD player also, tried the disc on that player and it worked perfectly fine.

Has anyone else had the same compatibility problem with the new next gen players? Do we need another firmware update from Toshiba and Microsoft or is this an isolated incident?


Any info is most welcome.


39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #9 of 62 Old 03-29-2007, 07:03 AM
Member
 
mb2696's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by applejackaz View Post

If this works just like Discovery Australia, the only solution is to be a pirate. Add on + HTPC and DumpHD from Doom9 and then it will play.

I did try a new Australia disc and it made no difference! Come on toshiba, we need to be able to play these standard mode discs.


I haven't been able to get this to work with any tools at all. AnyDVD doesn't work (reports as NOT aacs protected for some reason), and the Doom9 tools can't get a key. (xbox 360 addon + powerdvd 7.1)
mb2696 is offline  
post #10 of 62 Old 03-29-2007, 05:38 PM
Member
 
Hodnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the same problem with my 360 addon... what a PIA.... i just want to watch this!!!

Sony 60" XBR2 SXRD
Sony XBR2 Stand
Onkyo HT-S790 7.1 w/ Atlantic Universal Speaker Stands
Xbox360 Elite w/ HD-DVD Drive / Nintendo Wii / Comcast / OTA
HD DVDs: 70
Hodnick is offline  
post #11 of 62 Old 03-29-2007, 05:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 576
We'll probably need to wait for another update before we'll be able to play them.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #12 of 62 Old 03-29-2007, 05:57 PM
Member
 
Hodnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

We'll probably need to wait for another update before we'll be able to play them.

waiting for updates make baby jesus cry

Sony 60" XBR2 SXRD
Sony XBR2 Stand
Onkyo HT-S790 7.1 w/ Atlantic Universal Speaker Stands
Xbox360 Elite w/ HD-DVD Drive / Nintendo Wii / Comcast / OTA
HD DVDs: 70
Hodnick is offline  
post #13 of 62 Old 03-30-2007, 06:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
tbass2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have an A2 and this won't play, i get the stupid code also. Has anyone gotten this to play on anything besides an A1?
tbass2k is offline  
post #14 of 62 Old 03-30-2007, 06:39 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I understand the problem, somehow three Discovery HD DVD titles were authorized in the basic mode and all G2 and the xBox adaptor will not read HD DVDs authorized in Basic mode.

Not sure why it is different, but the G1 stand alone machines have code in them that permits them to pay disc authorized in wither basic or enhanced.

A firmware upgrade, version 1.5 will be out by the end of May to fix this so the discs will work fine once we get the next firmware upgrade.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #15 of 62 Old 03-31-2007, 05:41 AM
Member
 
Hodnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

As I understand the problem, somehow three Discovery HD DVD titles were authorized in the basic mode and all G2 and the xBox adaptor will not read HD DVDs authorized in Basic mode.

Not sure why it is different, but the G1 stand alone machines have code in them that permits them to pay disc authorized in wither basic or enhanced.

A firmware upgrade, version 1.5 will be out by the end of May to fix this so the discs will work fine once we get the next firmware upgrade.

-Robert

Is the May release for the A2 and the 360 addon? Or just the A2?

Sony 60" XBR2 SXRD
Sony XBR2 Stand
Onkyo HT-S790 7.1 w/ Atlantic Universal Speaker Stands
Xbox360 Elite w/ HD-DVD Drive / Nintendo Wii / Comcast / OTA
HD DVDs: 70
Hodnick is offline  
post #16 of 62 Old 03-31-2007, 07:29 AM
Member
 
cinedream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it's the same here, error code for this disc on the E1 and XE1 (same as A2 and XA2).

It's definitively not the disc, but the player that needs an update !
Let's all wait for a new software. update, 1.4 that is...

Greetings,

Nicolas

Enjoy HD-DVD - don't get Rayed !
cinedream is offline  
post #17 of 62 Old 03-31-2007, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
TWISTED BULLET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

As I understand the problem, somehow three Discovery HD DVD titles were authorized in the basic mode and all G2 and the xBox adaptor will not read HD DVDs authorized in Basic mode.

Not sure why it is different, but the G1 stand alone machines have code in them that permits them to pay disc authorized in wither basic or enhanced.

A firmware upgrade, version 1.5 will be out by the end of May to fix this so the discs will work fine once we get the next firmware upgrade.

-Robert


Whats the difference between the 2 modes? Apart from not being able to play, do we see any differences in PQ?

Why aren't these issues thought of before hand?

TWISTED BULLET is offline  
post #18 of 62 Old 04-01-2007, 08:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Greg Matty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am so sick of this crap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I get an error code 4086 4203 and this is on a 2nd generation $500 player!!! According to Robert we have to wait for May for a firmware upgrade assuming this is the same issue as the three Discovery DVD's he is talking about. If this is a basic/advanced authoring issue, how the hell did Toshiba come up with the butt-backwards idea or releasing a 2nd generation player that won't read an HD-DVD authored in basic mode? Un-fuc*in believable!

Why does Toshiba/HD-DVD insist on nailing their own coffin shut? The only thing worse than a lack of titles are titles which are released and can't be watched.

BTW, did anyone else notice that HD-Scape DVD sampler got pushed back yet again?

Greg
Greg Matty is offline  
post #19 of 62 Old 04-01-2007, 09:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 576
And this has happend with the PS3 on BD. A title would play on every BD player except the PS3. You had to get a replacement disc for similar reasons. The HD DVD problem will be corrected with the next firmware update.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #20 of 62 Old 04-02-2007, 07:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
ctiq21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
So are we getting an update for the 360 addon that will fix the issue?
ctiq21 is offline  
post #21 of 62 Old 04-02-2007, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 59
I think this problem may not be Toshiba's fault. Why didn't Discovery or NG check the disks to see if they played before they were shipped?
rwestley is offline  
post #22 of 62 Old 04-02-2007, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rover2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 2,690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwestley View Post

I think this problem may not be Toshiba's fault. Why didn't Discovery or NG check the disks to see if they played before they were shipped?

Not sure about the Discovery titles (Thread title - National Geographic - Relentless Enemies Compatibility Issue On A2,XA2 and 360 Drive? ) but this plays fine on the A1.
As per a poster above, this title is awsome, i can't wait for more
rover2002 is offline  
post #23 of 62 Old 04-02-2007, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lord Flatus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Vista, CA
Posts: 2,354
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Get a grip people. You are on the "bleeding edge" and have chosen to be the guinea pigs that sort out these types of issues by purchasing brand new technology.

Relax.

Take a deep breath.

It will all be okay eventually.
Lord Flatus is online now  
post #24 of 62 Old 04-02-2007, 12:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Greg Matty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rhett_in_SoCal View Post

Get a grip people. You are on the "bleeding edge" and have chosen to be the guinea pigs that sort out these types of issues by purchasing brand new technology.

Relax.

Take a deep breath.

It will all be okay eventually.

We understand that but this is affecting 2nd generation players, not 1st generation and first run discs.

With so few good documentary titles out there, having waited for two months for this title only to be disappointed is a major let down.

Gre
Greg Matty is offline  
post #25 of 62 Old 04-02-2007, 12:21 PM
 
DTV TiVo Dealer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Posts: 4,878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is being fixed with firmware 1.5, due in May '07.

-Robert
DTV TiVo Dealer is offline  
post #26 of 62 Old 04-02-2007, 03:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Greg Matty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DTV TiVo Dealer View Post

This is being fixed with firmware 1.5, due in May '07.

-Robert

Doesn't it seem really backwards that this wasn't included in firmware 1.0.0.0.0.0.0.?

Greg
Greg Matty is offline  
post #27 of 62 Old 04-02-2007, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
P. Anthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbass2k View Post

I have an A2 and this won't play, i get the stupid code also. Has anyone gotten this to play on anything besides an A1?

It won't play on my A2 either (just updated my player to 1.3), and I also get that strange code (4086 4203). This makes me so mad that I can just spit.

Supporter of 3-D, so let's all play in harmony!
P. Anthony is offline  
post #28 of 62 Old 04-02-2007, 06:39 PM
Member
 
JDMxB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't understand those saying "relax". If I go out to a store, and purchase an HD-DVD, is it too much to ask to have it actually PLAY like advertised???

I'm returning my unopened copy of Relentless Enemies tomorrow...it's ridiculous that I've paid for something that does not play as advertised.
JDMxB is offline  
post #29 of 62 Old 04-02-2007, 07:04 PM
Member
 
blueenergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Matty View Post

I am so sick of this crap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I get an error code 4086 4203 and this is on a 2nd generation $500 player!!! According to Robert we have to wait for May for a firmware upgrade assuming this is the same issue as the three Discovery DVD's he is talking about. If this is a basic/advanced authoring issue, how the hell did Toshiba come up with the butt-backwards idea or releasing a 2nd generation player that won't read an HD-DVD authored in basic mode? Un-fuc*in believable!

Why does Toshiba/HD-DVD insist on nailing their own coffin shut? The only thing worse than a lack of titles are titles which are released and can't be watched.

BTW, did anyone else notice that HD-Scape DVD sampler got pushed back yet again?

Greg

Wow some people are not cut out to be "early" adopter! Since both HD-DVD and Blu-Ray are less than 1% of the total DVD market we are still very early in this brand new technology. There will be some bugs along the way just be glad that some (like this one) can be address with firmware updates. Last year Toshiba worked very hard to resolve numerous issue with the first gen players. As more studios begin to release new titles there may be new issues to deal with. Hopefully things will stabilize going into the holiday season.

I would love to see this title and many more from National Geographic but we will have to wait until May for Gen 2 players.
blueenergy is offline  
post #30 of 62 Old 04-02-2007, 09:57 PM
Senior Member
 
cjsm250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
About the update. Do you need a continiously on internet connection to get the update? I have a (slow) DSL connection, and I have to connect each time I boot up or log off.
cjsm250 is offline  
Reply HD DVD Software

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off